Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a communication processing unit configured to … (claim 6)
a mode control unit configured to … (claim 6)
a service execution unit configured to … (claim 6)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 4, 6 - 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR20210060906A (which has been provided in the International Search Report. See attached English translations for paragraph numbers cited).
Regarding claim 1, KR20210060906A discloses a method of providing an on-screen automatic response service (ARS) through a voice call auto-reply ([0008] – [0009]; [0026]; [0072]), the method comprising:
receiving a voice call from a mobile terminal ([0064]);
checking whether a software development kit (SDK), which is necessary to execute program location information (URL) for providing an automatic response service (ARS) on the mobile terminal directly without user intervention, is installed ([0072]);
and executing the program location information (URL) directly without user intervention to provide the ARS or providing the program location information (URL) to the mobile terminal and providing the ARS according to an execution command for the program location information (URL) received from a user depending on whether the SDK is installed ([0073]; [0075]; wherein URL would be inherent in web browser; [0049]).
Regarding claim 2, KR20210060906A discloses wherein when the SDK is installed on the mobile terminal, the ARS is provided by allowing the program location information (URL) to be automatically executed on a browser using automatic pop-up ([0079]; [0049]).
Regarding claim 3, KR20210060906A discloses wherein when the SDK is not installed on the mobile terminal, the program location information (URL) is sent to the mobile terminal in the form of a text message and is allowed to be executed on a browser to provide the ARS when the user clicks the program location information (URL) ([0075]; [0083] discloses receiving text message).
Regarding claim 4, KR20210060906A discloses wherein the ARS is implemented as an app for a smartphone, and the app provides an auto pop-up command and auto pop-up information ([0036]; [0073]; wherein pop-up would be equivalent to displayed on the screen).
Claim 6 is similarly analyzed as claim 1, with claim 6 reciting equivalent apparatus limitations. Claim 6 additionally recites a server with various units. Server is disclosed by KR20210060906A ([0018] discloses service server 140; units are inherent since the functions are performed as in claim 1).
Claim 7 is similarly analyzed as claim 2.
Claim 8 is similarly analyzed as claim 3.
Claim 9 is similarly analyzed as claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR20210060906A in view of KR102047497B1 (which has been provided in the International Search Report. See attached English translations for paragraph numbers cited).
Regarding claim 5, KR20210060906A does not disclose the step of checking whether the SDK is installed on the mobile terminal comprises: transmitting a command to the mobile terminal that starts the SDK installed on the mobile terminal, and confirming that the SDK is installed on the mobile terminal if a response to the command is received.
In the same field of endeavor, however, KR102047497B1 discloses:
the step of checking whether the SDK is installed on the mobile terminal comprises: transmitting a command to the mobile terminal that starts the SDK installed on the mobile terminal, and confirming that the SDK is installed on the mobile terminal if a response to the command is received ([0059] - [0060] discloses whether a predetermined application is installed on a device; wherein the SDK application is interpreted as the predetermined application).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the method, as taught by KR102047497B1, in the system of KR20210060906A because confirmation of whether the SDK is installed would allow for automatic responses to calls, thereby bypassing the user. SDK on the phone has further advantages of enhancing security and allowing it to function when there is no network available.
Other Prior Art Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
The following patents/publications are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to how mobile devices handle calls:
Kim et al. (US 20160080558 A1) discloses electronic device and method for displaying phone call content.
Kim et al. (US 20140155039 A1) discloses mobile terminal and method for receiving an incoming call.
Kim (US 8693997 B2) discloses Visual ARS Service System and Method Enabled by Mobile Terminal's Call Control Function.
Contact Information
/ADOLF DSOUZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632