DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the application filed on June 18, 2025 in which claims 1-17 are pending in the application. Claims 1 and 9 are in independent form.
Priority
This application is a CON of PCT/JP2022/031470 filed on August 20, 2022 associated with JP2021-135963 filed August 23, 2021.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2021-135963 filed on August 23, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 21, 2024 and March 25, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are made.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 3-4, 9 and 11-12 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, line 4 recites “program, and…”; it appears that this should be changed to “program; and…”.
Claim 4, line 5 recites “all of drive programs”; it appears that this should be changed to “all drive programs”.
Claim 9, line 2 recites “each of terminals in a hub”. It appears that this should be changed to “each of a plurality of terminals in a hub”.
Claim 11, line 11 recites “all of drive programs”; it appears that this should be changed to “all drive programs”.
Claim 12, line 13 recites “all of drive programs”; it appears that this should be changed to “all drive programs”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 8, 11, 12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8, line 4 recites the limitation "to an outside of the master hub". It is unclear what “an outside” represents. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11, lines 14-15 recites the limitation "to an outside of the first…". It is unclear what “an outside” represents. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12, line 3 recites the limitation "to an outside...". It is unclear what “an outside” represents. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16, line 5 recites “assigning a coefficient inherent in the probe thereto”; it is unclear what is meant by “thereto”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim(s) 11, 12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted steps are:
Claim 11, lines 15-16 recites the limitation "and a dependent hub which is serially dependent from the master hub". Since the claim recites a series of steps, it is unclear which step this limitation relates to.
Claim 12, line 14 recites the limitation “and all other master dependent systems distal from the nearest…”. Since the claim is transmitting data, it is unclear how this limitation relates to the previous recitations in the claim.
Claim 16, lines 14-15 recites “comparing by a comparison unit, between the numerical value of the detected data calibrated by the calibration unit and a threshold value. It is unclear what the purpose of the recited comparison is in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Youssi et al. (US 2017/0322169 A1).
As per claim 1, Youssi discloses a connector hub system comprising:
a sensing device for detecting a physical quantity, a chemical quantity, a change amount, and/or a condition, of a monitored target [Para 0016, “Sensors (provided within lumber stacks), wherein such sensors are (1) battery powered and wirelessly communicate measurements indicative of, e.g., the moisture content of the wood adjacent to and/or between metal plates provided in an electrical circuit with the sensors and the wood between the plates”];
a hub connected to the sensing device and having terminals to input detected data from the sensing device [Para 0079, [0087], “…each sensor 20 wirelessly communicates with a corresponding hub 24 for transmitting, e.g., the following data to the corresponding hub 24…”];
a controller mounted in the hub and containing a processor and a storage [Para 0086; “The controller 28 may be connected to each of the wireless hubs 24 via a cable or wire… The communication between a controller 28 and a hub 24 is two-way…”];
a data memory in the storage for storing the detected data collected from the sensing device [Para 0113; “This data storage 84 is used to store data packets (or data therefrom) received from the sensors 20.”]; and
a connector configured on the hub so as to detachably connect between the hub and another hub; [Para 0086; “…there is an exchange of information between the hubs 24 themselves (e.g., via wireless communications such as WIFI or Bluetooth, or an Ethernet cable connection)…hubs to be daisy-chained…”];
wherein the data memory in the hub is communicatively connected to a monitoring device for monitoring the detected data from the sensing device [Para 0086; “…controller 28 may be collocated with one of the hubs 24. The communication between a controller 28 and a hub 24 is two-way…”]. It is to be noted that the hub data memory is ultimately connected to a controller/monitoring device.; and
the monitoring device is connected in series to the plurality of hubs and monitors a nearest hub closest to the monitoring device for observing all of the detected data input to the plurality of hubs [Para 0087; “Such communication between hubs 24 allows these hubs to be daisy-chained so that data can be sent from hub to hub (e.g., for a potentially large number of hubs such as twenty hubs). Accordingly, when the hubs 24 are daisy-chained, the direct connection between, e.g., the hub in kiln #2 and the controller 28 can be dispensed with if the hub 24 in kiln #1 is configured to transfer designated communications between the hub 24 of kiln #2 and the controller 28.”].
Youssi therefore teaches a plurality of sensing devices, a plurality of hubs, hub-to-hub communication, and aggregation/relay of sensor data to a monitoring/controller device. The designation of one hub as a “nearest hub” and another as an “end hub” is merely a positional description resulting from the serial arrangement and does not impart patentable structure where the underlying series-connected hub arrangement is already taught.
As per claim 3, Youssi discloses the connector hub system according to claim 1, wherein the monitoring device includes one or more selected from a personal computer, a mobile device, a smartphone, a mobile phone, a tablet, a programmable logic controller, and a dedicated device or board having a monitoring program, and the monitoring device, via wired or wireless communication, is capable of updating, rewriting, or changing a threshold value and a program stored in the storage of the hub [Para 0019; “…a PLC or PC (as these terms are defined above) having various specialized computer programmatic instructions for (a) controlling the wood monitoring process and (b) computing, e.g., estimated current wood moisture content and/or predicting a resulting substantially steady state moisture content within the wood after drying.”].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youssi et al. (US 2017/0322169 A1) in view of Howard et al. (US 2021/0107538 A1).
As per claim 2, Youssi discloses the claimed invention as detailed above in claim 1. Youssi further discloses the connector hub system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of hubs comprises at least the nearest hub and an end hub connected to the nearest hub; [Para 0087; “…when the hubs 24 are daisy-chained, the direct connection between, e.g., the hub in kiln #2 and the controller 28 can be dispensed with if the hub 24 in kiln #1 is configured to transfer designated communications between the hub 24 of kiln #2 and the controller 28.”].
Youssi teaches a data memory in the nearest hub… which stores all of the detected data collected from the plurality of hubs [Para 0116; each hub receives sensor data and store the received data in RAM before transmitting the data to the controller; Youssi further teaches that, in a daisy-chain configuration, one hub can transfer communications originating from another hub to the controller as detailed above]. Hubs can relay data, but there is no explicit description of “whole data memory” in the nearest hub storing all data from all hubs.
Therefore, Youssi does not specifically teach “the data memory in the nearest hub is a whole data memory which stores all of the detected data collected from the plurality of hubs”.
Howard teaches the data memory in the nearest hub stores all of the detected data collected from the plurality of hubs [Para 0014; “…each of the distributed computer processing systems is communicatively connected to the centralized computer processing system, and a data acquisition hub communicatively connected to one or more of databases and a plurality of sensors associated with the one or more locomotives or other components of the train and configured to acquire real-time and historical configuration, structural, and operational data in association with inputs derived from real time and historical contextual data…”]. The specification describes a whole memory as a memory which stores past and present data (Para 0022). As such, Howard teaches aggregation of data from multiple sensing nodes in a data memory at a hub.
Youssi and Howard are in the same field of endeavor as they are both in the sensor monitoring art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable.
In particular, once Youssi’s daisy-chain arrangement is used to relay data from multiple hubs through a common upstream hub, storing the received aggregate data in the upstream/nearest hub rather than immediately discarding the data after relay would have been a routine storage-design choice. The claimed “whole data memory” would therefore have been an obvious implementation of the known hub RAM and data aggregation functions of Youssi and Howard.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teachings of Youssi to include a data memory in the nearest hub is a whole data memory as taught by Howard to provide the hub nearest the monitoring/controller device with sufficient memory to retain the aggregate detected data received through the series-connected hubs.
Modification would have provided the predictable advantages of permitting the monitoring device to obtain the data associated with the plurality of hubs from a single nearest hub, reducing repeated communications with the individual hubs, and maintaining a consolidated data set for subsequent processing as taught by Diehl ([0002]-[0003]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youssi et al. (US 2017/0322169 A1) and Chafee (US 9,323,235 B2) in view of Diehl at al. (US 2021/0083968 A1).
As per claim 4, Youssi discloses the connector hub system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of hubs comprises at least the nearest hub and an end hub connected to the nearest hub [Para 0087; “Such communication between hubs 24 allows these hubs to be daisy-chained so that data can be sent from hub to hub (e.g., for a potentially large number of hubs such as twenty hubs). Accordingly, when the hubs 24 are daisy-chained, the direct connection between, e.g., the hub in kiln #2 and the controller 28 can be dispensed with if the hub 24 in kiln #1 is configured to transfer designated communications between the hub 24 of kiln #2 and the controller 28.”].
Youssi, therefore, teaches a plurality of sensing devices, a plurality of hubs, hub-to-hub communication, and aggregation/relay of sensor data to a monitoring/controller device. The designation of one hub as a “nearest hub” and another as an “end hub” is merely a positional description resulting from the serial arrangement and does not impart patentable structure where the underlying series-connected hub arrangement is already taught;
the storage in the nearest hub contains a memory which stores all of drive programs to control controllable drive devices connected to the plurality of hubs [Para 0116; each hub receives sensor data and store the received data in RAM before transmitting the data to the controller; Youssi further teaches that, in a daisy-chain configuration, one hub can transfer communications originating from another hub to the controller as detailed above]. Hubs can relay data, but there is no explicit description of “whole drive memory” in the nearest hub storing all of drive programs to control controllable drive devices.
Therefore, Youssi does not specifically teach “a whole drive memory which stores all of drive programs to control controllable drive devices”.
Chaffee teaches a whole drive memory which stores all of drive programs to control controllable drive devices [Col. 2, line 56 – Col. 3, line l; Chaffee discloses an industrial control system in which a controller communicates with a plurality of remote motor drives over an industrial control network. The controller includes memory storing a control program, and the control program provides motion-control instructions to the plurality of motor drives. The reference further teaches centralized control of multiple distributed drives and coordination of motion operations among the drives.]
Youssi and Chaffee are in the same field of endeavor as they are both in the distributed automation and control systems art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Youssi such that the memory associated with a master or hub controller stores the plurality of drive/control programs used by the devices associated with the plurality of hubs, as taught by Chaffee.
Motivation would have provided centralized storage and management of the motion-control programs for the distributed devices, thereby facilitating coordinated control, program management, updating, and execution of motion operations across the distributed system. Such a modification would have a predictable use of known centralized control-program storage in the distributed controller architecture of Youssi and would have yielded the predictable result of permitting a controller/hub to access and administer the programs used by the distributed drives as taught by Chaffee (Col. 2, lines 49-55).
Youssi and Chaffee do not specifically teach the monitoring device is connected to the whole drive memory and monitors all of the drive programs stored in the whole drive memory as recited in the claim.
Diehl discloses the monitoring device is connected to the whole drive memory and monitors all of the drive programs stored in the whole drive memory [Para 0043; “The controller 250 may acquire and process data from the sensors … and perform operations on a vehicle such as changing a speed, turning, or changing lanes.”].
Youssi, Chaffee and Diehl are in the same field of endeavor as they are both in the the distributed automation and control systems art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teachings of Youssi and Chaffee to include a monitoring device is connected to the whole drive memory and monitors all of the drive programs stored in the whole drive memory as taught by Diehl to provide the hub nearest the monitoring/controller device with sufficient memory to retain the aggregate detected data received through the series-connected hubs.
Modification would have provided the predictable advantages of permitting the monitoring device/controller to obtain the data associated with the plurality of hubs and operate the vehicle based on data from the sensors and to operate the daisy chain communication network, providing an efficient and robust communication system between sensors as taught by Diehl (Para 0002).
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youssi et al. (US 2017/0322169 A1) in view of Diehl at al. (US 2021/0083968 A1) and Ootsuka (US 2007/0070112 A1).
As per claim 5, Youssi discloses the connector hub system according to claim 1, wherein the processor of the controller comprises:
an AD conversion unit to convert the detected data from an analog signal into a digital signal, the AD conversion unit inputting the detected data as the analog signal from the sensing device through the terminal of the hub [Para 0091, 0098; “The sensor 20 includes a micro-processor 40 having firmware installed therein for performing at least the following tasks: (i) transmitting stack 32 moisture related data, e.g., when such data has changed in some meaningful way, and (ii) changing the moisture data sampling rate, e.g., the sample rate may be reduced during ‘non-critical’ wood drying stages).” “An analog-digital converter component 56 … receives analog electrical signal input from the battery 54 indicative of the useful additional life in the battery for powering the sensor 20.”];
a digital receiving unit to receive the detected data as the digital signal from the AD conversion unit and from the sensing device through the terminal of the hub [Para 0091, 0098; “The sensor 20 includes a micro-processor 40 having firmware installed therein for performing at least the following tasks: (i) transmitting stack 32 moisture related data, e.g., when such data has changed in some meaningful way, and (ii) changing the moisture data sampling rate, e.g., the sample rate may be reduced during ‘non-critical’ wood drying stages).” “An analog-digital converter component 56 … receives analog electrical signal input from the battery 54 indicative of the useful additional life in the battery for powering the sensor 20.”]; a storing unit to store the detected data from the digital receiving unit into an individual data memory in the storage [Para 0091, 0098; “The sensor 20 includes a micro-processor 40 having firmware installed therein for performing at least the following tasks: (i) transmitting stack 32 moisture related data, e.g., when such data has changed in some meaningful way, and (ii) changing the moisture data sampling rate, e.g., the sample rate may be reduced during ‘non-critical’ wood drying stages).” “An analog-digital converter component 56 … receives analog electrical signal input from the battery 54 indicative of the useful additional life in the battery for powering the sensor 20.”];
Although Youssi discloses a comparison unit to compare between a numerical value of the detected data from the digital receiving unit or from the individual data memory [Para 0120; Upon receiving the measurements/readings, he microprocessor 40 determines if it has exceeded a maximum time limit between wireless transmissions of data packets to its hub 24.”].
Youssi does not specifically teach comparing the value with a threshold value stored in a threshold database of the storage; a drive command unit, based on a result obtained by the comparison unit, to output a drive signal to a controllable drive device connected to the terminal of the hub.
Ootsuka discloses comparing the value with a threshold value stored in a threshold database of the storage [Para 0148; “The storage circuit 212 comprises: an A/D converter (A/D conversion circuit) 214 which converts the peak value determined by the peak value determination circuit 210 into digital data; a CPU 218 which stores the peak value (digital data) in a memory 216 … a D/A converter (D/A conversion circuit) 220; Para 0150; a threshold value changing circuit 222 … a comparing circuit 224 which compares the threshold value … with the sensor signal …”]
Youssi and Ootsuka are in the same field of endeavor as they are both in the distributed automation and control systems art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable.
Ootsuka expressly teaches comparing a sensor signal with a threshold value. In particular, its signal processing unit includes a threshold-value changing circuit and a comparing circuit that compares the threshold value with a sensor signal. The reference further explains that an evaluation is made based on the result of the comparison.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teachings of Youssi to include comparing the value with a threshold value stored in a threshold database of the storage as taught by Ootsuka because both systems process sensor-derived numerical data and use the processed sensor information to determine an operating condition or control action.
Modification would have provided the predictable advantages of permitting the comparison unit to acquire a comparison result to determine an operating condition or control action, thereby providing an improved determination accuracy as taught by Ootsuka (Para 0016-0017).
Youssi and Ootsuka do not specifically teach a drive command unit, based on a result obtained by the comparison unit, to output a drive signal to a controllable drive device connected to the terminal of the hub as recited in the claim.
Diehl discloses a drive command unit, based on a result obtained by the comparison unit, to output a drive signal to a controllable drive device connected to the terminal of the hub [Para 0043; “The controller 250 may acquire and process data from the sensors … and perform operations on a vehicle such as changing a speed, turning, or changing lanes.”].
Youssi, Ootsuka and Diehl are in the same field of endeavor as they are both in the distributed automation and control systems art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teachings of Youssi and Ootsuka to include a drive command unit, based on a result obtained by the comparison unit, to output a drive signal to a controllable drive device connected to the terminal of the hub as taught by Diehl to provide the hub nearest the monitoring/controller device with sufficient memory to retain the aggregate detected data received through the series-connected hubs.
Modification would have provided the predictable advantages of permitting the monitoring device/controller to obtain the data associated with the plurality of hubs and operate the vehicle based on data from the sensors and to operate the daisy chain communication network, providing an efficient and robust communication system between sensors as taught by Diehl (Para 0002).
As per claim 6, Youssi discloses the connector hub system according to claim 5, further comprising a calibration unit to calibrate the detected data by applying a coefficient stored in a calibration database, wherein the comparison unit compares between the numerical value of the calibrated detected data and the threshold value in the threshold database [Para 0102; “…the analog measurements component(s) 48 measures capacitance, resistance and temperature, and at least for the capacitance and resistance value, calibration values provided by the micro-processor 40 are used, wherein such calibration values are well known in the art for calibrating capacitance and resistance of the wood between the metal plate 36 pairs connected to the sensor 20.”].
As per claim 7, Youssi discloses the connector hub system according to claim 5, further comprising a data transmission unit to transmit the detected data from the digital receiving unit to an outside of the hub for storing or accumulating the detected data [Para 0089, 0113; “This data storage 84 is used to store data packets (or data therefrom) received from the sensors 20.” “…the hub will, in turn, put the data in a buffer and subsequently relay the data to the controller 28.”].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youssi et al. (US 2017/0322169 A1) in view of Campbell (US 2020/0412571 A1).
As per claim 8, Youssi discloses the claimed invention as detailed above in claim 1. Youssi does not specifically teach the connector hub system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of hubs comprises: a master hub with an auxiliary communication device capable of wired or wireless communication to an outside of the master hub; and a slave hub which is serially dependent from the master hub and has no auxiliary communication device; wherein the master hub and slave hub constitute a series of master-slave system; and the processor of the slave hub comprises a data transmission unit to transmit to at least the master hub, the detected data collected from the sensing device.
Campbell teaches wherein the plurality of hubs comprises: a master hub with an auxiliary communication device capable of wired or wireless communication to an outside of the master hub [Para 0004, each networked device may communicate with the automation control and monitoring systems via wired or wireless communication networks; Para 0007; The switching circuitry may only communicatively couple the first point-to-point sensor to a communication channel shared with each of the plurality of point-to-point sensors and the controller in response to receiving the control signal.] and
a slave hub which is serially dependent from the master hub and has no auxiliary communication device [Para 0007; The switching circuitry may only communicatively couple the first point-to-point sensor to a communication channel shared with each of the plurality of point-to-point sensors and the controller in response to receiving the control signal.; Para 0008; The number of clock pulses may include a first number of accessing circuits positioned in the daisy chain network between the controller and the first accessing circuit plus one];
wherein the master hub and slave hub constitute a series of master-slave system [Para 0008; The number of clock pulses may include a first number of accessing circuits positioned in the daisy chain network between the controller and the first accessing circuit plus one]; and
the processor of the slave hub comprises a data transmission unit to transmit to at least the master hub, the detected data collected from the sensing device [Para 0006; the logic high signal may be used in coupling the first point-to-point sensors to a communication channel via the switching circuitry. The controller may also transmit or receive data via the communication channel during a time interval that corresponds to when the logic high signal is provided to the switching circuitry].
Youssi and Campbell are in the same field of endeavor as they are both in the distributed automation and control systems art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable.
Campbell discloses a distributed sensing system including a plurality of probe hubs interconnected in a daisy chain arrangement. Each probe hub is configured to communicate with sensor probes and with another probe hub in the chain. In particular, Campbell describes a probe hub that operates as master with respect to sensor probes connected to that probe hub and operates as a slave with respect to an upstream probe hub.
Campbell further teaches that the probe hubs may be connected in a daisy chain , such that a first probe hub communicates with a subsequent probe hub and sensor information obtained by the downstream probe hubs is communicated through the chain toward an upstream or master device. Thus, the system provides a hierarchical master/slave communication arrangement among a plurality of hubs. The probe hubs process, manage, and/or transmit measurement information obtained from the sensing devices. Campbell also teaches communication between the probe hub network and an external monitoring or remote system.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the communication interface of the master/upstream probe hub may be implemented using an auxiliary communication device to provide an additional communication path between the hub network and the external monitoring system.
Alternatively, providing such an auxiliary communication device would have been an obvious modification because adding an additional communication interface to the master hub would permit the master hub to communicate with an external monitoring system while maintaining the existing master/slave communication path among the daisy-chained probe hubs. Sucha modification would have been a predictable use of known communication interface technology and would have yielded the predictable result of providing an additional communication path for sensor information.
Claim(s) 9, 10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youssi et al. (US 2017/0322169 A1) in view of McLaughlin et al. (US 10248601 B2).
As per claim 9, Youssi discloses a control method for a connector hub system, comprising steps of:
detecting by a plurality of sensing devices, a physical quantity, a chemical quantity, a change amount, and/or a condition, of a monitored target [Para 0016; “Sensors (provided within lumber stacks), wherein such sensors are (1) battery powered and wirelessly communicate measurements indicative of, e.g., the moisture content of the wood adjacent to and/or between metal plates provided in an electrical circuit with the sensors and the wood between the plates…”];
converting by an AD conversion unit, the detected data from an analog signal into a digital signal, the AD conversion unit inputting the detected data as the analog signal through the terminals of the hub [Para 0098; “An analog-digital converter component 56…”];
receiving by a digital receiving unit, the detected data as the digital signal from the AD conversion unit and from the plurality of sensing devices through the terminals of the hub [Para 0114; “…micro-processor 88 for storing and accessing data packets received from sensors 20…”];
storing by a storing unit, the detected data from the digital receiving unit into an individual data memory of a storage [Para 0113; “This data storage 84 is used to store data packets (or data therefrom) received from the sensors 20.”];
comparing by a comparison unit, between a numerical value of the detected data from the digital receiving unit or from the individual data memory and a threshold value stored in a threshold database of the storage [Para 0033; “…the micro-processor 40 compares the results from the calculations of step 640 with one or more corresponding thresholds set by the operator (by the controller 28 without operator selection of such calculations) for determining if one or more of the certain conditions associated with these thresholds are satisfied.”]; and
wherein the connector hub system comprises a monitoring device connected in series to a plurality of hubs [Para 0087, “…when the hubs 24 are daisy-chained, the direct connection between, e.g., the hub in kiln #2 and the controller 28 can be dispensed with if the hub 24 in kiln #1 is configured to transfer designated communications between the hub 24 of kiln #2 and the controller 28.”], and
the monitoring device monitors a nearest hub closest to the monitoring device for observing all of the detected data input to the plurality of hubs [Para 0087, “…when the hubs 24 are daisy-chained, the direct connection between, e.g., the hub in kiln #2 and the controller 28 can be dispensed with if the hub 24 in kiln #1 is configured to transfer designated communications between the hub 24 of kiln #2 and the controller 28.”].
Youssi does not specifically teach assigning a terminal type to each of terminals in a hub, the terminal type being any of a digital input, an analog input, a digital output, or an analog output; inputting detected data from the plurality of sensing devices through the terminals assigned with the terminal types; and based on a result obtained by the comparison unit, outputting by a drive command unit, a drive signal to controllable drive devices connected to the terminals of the hub as recited in the claim.
McLaughlin teaches assigning a terminal type to each of terminals in a hub, the terminal type being any of a digital input, an analog input, a digital output, or an analog output [Para 0007, “…each I/O channel can be configured as an AI (with or without digital communication), AO (with or without digital communication), DI, DO, or PI type via programming of the RTU.”];
inputting detected data from the plurality of sensing devices through the terminals assigned with the terminal types [Para 0017, “The controller module 202 could execute control logic that analyzes sensor data and generates control signals for actuators. The controller module 202 could also execute functions that control the overall operation of the RTU 102, such as functions supporting communications with external devices or systems. The controller module 202 includes any suitable structure for controlling one or more operations of an RTU.” ]; and
based on a result obtained by the comparison unit, outputting by a drive command unit, a drive signal to controllable drive devices connected to the terminals of the hub [Para 0017, “The controller module 202 could execute control logic that analyzes sensor data and generates control signals for actuators. The controller module 202 could also execute functions that control the overall operation of the RTU 102, such as functions supporting communications with external devices or systems. The controller module 202 includes any suitable structure for controlling one or more operations of an RTU.”].
Youssi and McLaughlin are in the same field of endeavor as they are both in the distributed automation and control systems art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teachings of Youssi to include assigning reminal types, inputting detected data from the sensing devices through the terminals and outputting a drive signal to drive devices as taught by McLaughlin because this allows the RTU to be installed in the field without having to first ensure that the appropriate I/O channels are physically inserted into the RTU.
Modification would help to reduce the size, power consumption, and cost of the RTU because once installed in the field, configurable late-binding terminations can be defined for the RTU as taught by McLaughlin (Para 0017).
As per claim 10, Youssi discloses the control method according to claim 9, further comprising a step of transmitting by a data transmission unit, the detected data from the digital receiving unit of one hub to the monitoring device, a cloud storage, a programmable logic controller, and/or another hub, in order to store or accumulate the detected data, wherein the monitoring device includes one or more selected from a personal computer, a mobile device, a smartphone, a mobile phone, a tablet, the programmable logic controller, and a dedicated device or board having a monitoring program [Para 0089, “The hub will, in turn, put the data in a buffer and subsequently relay the data to the controller 28. Once the data is received by the controller 28, the controller stores the data in a database (not shown).”].
Claim 17 is rejected using the same rationale for the rejection of claim 9 above.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youssi et al. (US 2017/0322169 A1) and McLaughlin et al. (US 10248601 B2) in view of Campbell (US 2020/0412571 A1).
As per claim 13, Youssi and McLaughlin disclose the claimed invention as detailed above for claim 9.
Youssi and McLaughlin do not specifically teach the control method according to claim 9, further comprising steps of: transmitting the detected data and a drive program stored in the storage of one hub to another hub via a normal transmission line or via an auxiliary communication device and a wireless transmission line; storing the detected data and the drive program into the storage of the another hub to change a source of the detected data from the one hub to the another hub.
Campbell discloses the control method according to claim 9, further comprising steps of: transmitting the detected data and a drive program stored in the storage of one hub to another hub via a normal transmission line or via an auxiliary communication device and a wireless transmission line [Para 0004; each networked device may communicate with the automation control and monitoring systems via wired or wireless communication networks. With this in mind, it may be useful to improve methods for communication between automation control and monitoring systems and networked devices within industrial automation systems.]; and
storing the detected data and the drive program into the storage of the another hub to change a source of the detected data from the one hub to the another hub [Para 0007; The switching circuitry may only communicatively couple the first point-to-point sensor to a communication channel shared with each of the plurality of point-to-point sensors and the controller in response to receiving the control signal; Para 0006; the logic high signal may be used in coupling the first point-to-point sensors to a communication channel via the switching circuitry. The controller may also transmit or receive data via the communication channel during a time interval that corresponds to when the logic high signal is provided to the switching circuitry].
Youssi and McLaughlin and Campbell are in the same field of endeavor as they are both in the distributed automation and control systems art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable.
Campbell discloses a distributed sensing system including a plurality of probe hubs interconnected in a daisy chain arrangement. Each probe hub is configured to communicate with sensor probes and with another probe hub in the chain. In particular, Campbell describes a probe hub that operates as master with respect to sensor probes connected to that probe hub and operates as a slave with respect to an upstream probe hub.
Campbell further teaches that the probe hubs may be connected in a daisy chain, such that a first probe hub communicates with a subsequent probe hub and sensor information obtained by the downstream probe hubs is communicated through the chain toward an upstream or master device. Thus, the system provides a hierarchical master/slave communication arrangement among a plurality of hubs. The probe hubs process, manage, and/or transmit measurement information obtained from the sensing devices. Campbell also teaches communication between the probe hub network and an external monitoring or remote system.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the communication interface of the master/upstream probe hub may be implemented using an auxiliary communication device to provide an additional communication path between the hub network and the external monitoring system.
Alternatively, providing such an auxiliary communication device would have been an obvious modification because adding an additional communication interface to the master hub would permit the master hub to communicate with an external monitoring system while maintaining the existing master/slave communication path among the daisy-chained probe hubs. Sucha modification would have been a predictable use of known communication interface technology and would have yielded the predictable result of providing an additional communication path for sensor information.
As per claim 14, Youssi and McLaughlin disclose the claimed invention as detailed above for claim 9. Youssi further discloses monitoring only a master-dependent system nearest to the monitoring device in order to observe all operations of the controllable drive devices connected to the master-dependent systems [Para 0087, Such communication between hubs 24 allows these hubs to be daisy-chained so that data can be sent from hub to hub (e.g., for a potentially large number of hubs such as twenty hubs). Accordingly, when the hubs 24 are daisy-chained, the direct connection between, e.g., the hub in kiln #2 and the controller 28 can be dispensed with if the hub 24 in kiln #1 is configured to transfer designated communications between the hub 24 of kiln #2 and the controller 28.].
Youssi and McLaughlin do not specifically teach the control method according to claim 9, further comprising steps of: controlling each of the controllable drive devices by a plurality of master- dependent systems wirelessly connected to the monitoring device via different transmission lines; wirelessly connecting the plurality of master-dependent systems in series to each other to form a one line.
Campbell teaches the control method according to claim 9, further comprising of:
controlling each of the controllable drive devices by a plurality of master- dependent systems wirelessly connected to the monitoring device via different transmission lines [Para 0004, each networked device may communicate with the automation control and monitoring systems via wired or wireless communication networks; Para 0008, The number of clock pulses may include a first number of accessing circuits positioned in the daisy chain network between the controller and the first accessing circuit plus one];
wirelessly connecting the plurality of master-dependent systems in series to each other to form a one line [Para 0004, each networked device may communicate with the automation control and monitoring systems via wired or wireless communication networks; Para 0008; The number of clock pulses may include a first number of accessing circuits positioned in the daisy chain network between the controller and the first accessing circuit plus one].
Youssi and McLaughlin and Campbell are in the same field of endeavor as they are both in the distributed automation and control systems art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable.
Campbell discloses a distributed sensing system including a plurality of probe hubs interconnected in a daisy chain arrangement. Each probe hub is configured to communicate with sensor probes and with another probe hub in the chain. In particular, Campbell describes a probe hub that operates as master with respect to sensor probes connected to that probe hub and operates as a slave with respect to an upstream probe hub.
Campbell further teaches that the probe hubs may be connected in a daisy chain, such that a first probe hub communicates with a subsequent probe hub and sensor information obtained by the downstream probe hubs is communicated through the chain toward an upstream or master device. Thus, the system provides a hierarchical master/slave communication arrangement among a plurality of hubs. The probe hubs process, manage, and/or transmit measurement information obtained from the sensing devices. Campbell also teaches communication between the probe hub network and an external monitoring or remote system.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the communication interface of the master/upstream probe hub may be implemented using an auxiliary communication device to provide an additional communication path between the hub network and the external monitoring system.
Alternatively, providing such an auxiliary communication device would have been an obvious modification because adding an additional communication interface to the master hub would permit the master hub to communicate with an external monitoring system while maintaining the existing master/slave communication path among the daisy-chained probe hubs. Sucha modification would have been a predictable use of known communication interface technology and would have yielded the predictable result of providing an additional communication path for sensor information.
As per claim 15, Youssi and McLaughlin disclose the claimed invention as detailed above for claim 9.
Youssi and McLaughlin do not specifically teach the control method according to claim 9, further comprising a step of transmitting the detected data from a series of the plurality of hubs to different destinations via auxiliary communication devices of a plurality of master hubs.
Campbell teaches the control method according to claim 9, further comprising a step of transmitting the detected data from a series of the plurality of hubs to different destinations via auxiliary communication devices of a plurality of master hubs [Para 0004, each networked device may communicate with the automation control and monitoring systems via wired or wireless communication networks; Para 0007; The switching circuitry may only communicatively couple the first point-to-point sensor to a communication channel shared with each of the plurality of point-to-point sensors and the controller in response to receiving the control signal.].
Youssi and McLaughlin and Campbell are in the same field of endeavor as they are both in the distributed automation and control systems art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable.
Campbell discloses a distributed sensing system including a plurality of probe hubs interconnected in a daisy chain arrangement. Each probe hub is configured to communicate with sensor probes and with another probe hub in the chain. In particular, Campbell describes a probe hub that operates as master with respect to sensor probes connected to that probe hub and operates as a slave with respect to an upstream probe hub.
Campbell further teaches that the probe hubs may be connected in a daisy chain, such that a first probe hub communicates with a subsequent probe hub and sensor information obtained by the downstream probe hubs is communicated through the chain toward an upstream or master device. Thus, the system provides a hierarchical master/slave communication arrangement among a plurality of hubs. The probe hubs process, manage, and/or transmit measurement information obtained from the sensing devices. Campbell also teaches communication between the probe hub network and an external monitoring or remote system.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the communication interface of the master/upstream probe hub may be implemented using an auxiliary communication device to provide an additional communication path between the hub network and the external monitoring system.
Alternatively, providing such an auxiliary communication device would have been an obvious modification because adding an additional communication interface to the master hub would permit the master hub to communicate with an external monitoring system while maintaining the existing master/slave communication path among the daisy-chained probe hubs. Sucha modification would have been a predictable use of known communication interface technology and would have yielded the predictable result of providing an additional communication path for sensor information.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 12 and 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kuo (US 11,366,865) discloses multiple hubs each collecting/storing data, followed by a higher-level system identifying which hubs contain relevant data, retrieving it, and aggregating the data into an aggregated dataset. The reference expressly contemplates sensor data and device state data representing both current and past states.
Smith (US 10,607,475 B1) discloses a hub maintaining preceding packets as historical references while continuously acquiring new sensor samples.
Gregersen (EP 3,559,764 B1) discloses a data hub with a historical data repository. The repository stores operational data obtained from one or more distributed wind turbines, with source information identifying the turbine/plant. The architecture can therefore accumulate historical data originating from multiple lower-level sources.
Ciholas (AU 2008/266,007 B2) discloses a server database maintaining both a “live Tag Data Table” and a “Historical Data Table”, with sensor data coming through hubs.
Li (US 2021/0065891 A1) discloses memory containing short-term and long-term memory used to store substantially real-time and historical quantitative datasets generated by multiple sensors.
Iida (US 11,691,173) discloses there is provided a connector hub system that allows many devices to be connected to a single connector on a host computer or another hub. The system comprises a first portion with a plurality of downstream connectors that are accessible from a surface of the apparatus, a second portion with an upstream connector coupled to the plurality of downstream connectors, and a carabiner clip that is engaged with the first portion and/or the second portion. One or more of the downstream connectors comprise a slot that can receive a first serial bus connector, while the upstream connector comprises a second slot for receiving a second serial bus connector (Para 0016).
Rosca (US 2018/0041582 A1) discloses a method for managing data in an industrial production environment includes executing, by a first embedded controller, programming logic to generate process data based on sensor data collected from one or more production devices in the industrial production environment. Next, the first embedded controller performs a data monitoring process which includes reading the process data and the sensor data during execution of the programming logic and inserting the process data and the sensor data into a controller database in the first embedded controller which is part of a distributed database stored on the first embedded controller and other embedded controllers. The reading of the process data and the sensor data during execution of the programming logic may be triggered, for example, based on changes to the process data or the sensor data or based on a change to one or more monitored I/O flags (Para 0010).
Roy (US 20200319621 A1) discloses network connectivity and remote monitoring and control of pool and spa equipment is provided by way of a plurality of pool connectivity modules that communicate with pool/spa equipment, operating in conjunction with remote pool/spa control logic (001).
Costin (US 20190250611 A1) discloses the vehicle control system includes: (1) a first controller, located as part of the vehicle, comprising a first processor, and communicatively connected to a first set of sensors which generate a first sensor data, and (2) a second controller, located as part of a vehicle, comprising a second processor, wherein the first and second processors are configured to process sensor data and the first controller transmits the first sensor data to the second controller, and wherein the second controller transmits the second sensor data to the first controller (Para 0006).
O’Connell (US 20200278664 A1) discloses industrial controllers may employ I/O modules or devices dedicated to a particular type of electrical signal and function, for example, detecting input AC or DC signals or controlling output AC or DC signals (Para 0008).
Zhao (EP 3957 966 B1) discloses the master module and the plurality of slave sensor detection modules are successively connected in series through the power wire to form the daisy chain sensor monitoring network (Para 0008).
Hayashi (JPH 1020922 A) discloses a sub-controller for controlling an actuator, wherein the main controller comprises: a first storage unit in which a driving program for the sub-controller is stored; download means for downloading the driving program stored in the storage means to the sub-controller according to predetermined conditions (Para 0009). the main controller stores, in the first storage means, a drive program transmitted from another main controller or a computer via a line.
Examiner has cited particular columns/paragraphs/sections and line numbers in the references applied and not relied upon to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
When responding to the Office action, applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the reference(s) cited or the objections made. A showing of how the amendments avoid such references or objections must also be present. See 37 C.F.R. 1.111(c).
When responding to this Office action, applicant is advised to provide the line and page numbers in the application and/or reference(s) cited to assist in locating the appropriate paragraphs.
September 9, 2026
/PIERRE VITAL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2198