DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/02/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the second light-emitting device" in the first line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the second light-emitting device" in the second line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 is rejected because it depends on the rejected claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yeon et al. (US 2022/0139999 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, an apparatus (Fig. 3), comprising: a plurality of light-emitting devices (125/122 of SP1, SP2 and SP3; [0046]) for emitting light of a first color (blue; [0045]), wherein the plurality of light-emitting device (125/122 of SP1, SP2 and SP3) comprises a first light-emitting device (125/122 of SP2; [0046]) comprising a light-emitting structure (125; [0046]) for emitting light of the first color (blue; [0046]) and a semiconductor layer (122; [0046]) fabricated on the light-emitting structure (125), and wherein the first light-emitting device (125/122 of SP2) is bonded to a conductive pad (285P; [0064-0065]); and a light-emitting device (145/142; [0050]) for emitting light of a second color (green; [0050]), wherein the light-emitting device for emitting light of the second color (145/142) is fabricated on a semiconductor layer (122) of the first light-emitting device (125/122 of SP2).
Regarding claim 2, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the light-emitting device for emitting light of the second color (145/142) is electrically connected to the conductive pad (285P; [0055, 0064-0065]).
Regarding claim 3, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the light-emitting device for emitting light of the second color (145/142) is bonded to the semiconductor layer (122) of the first light-emitting device for emitting light of the first color (125/122 of SP2) through a bonding layer (136; [0053]) comprising a conductive material (Ag; [0053]).
Regarding claim 4, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 3, further comprising a conductive via (165B; [0055]) fabricated in the first light-emitting device (125/122 of SP2) of the plurality of light-emitting devices (125/122 of SP1, SP2 and SP3) for emitting light of the first color (blue).
Regarding claim 5, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 3, wherein sidewalls (the top horizontal sidewalls) of the light-emitting structure (125) and the semiconductor layer (122) of the first light-emitting device for emitting light of the first color (125/122 of SP2) are coated with a conductive layer (131 of ITO; [0054]).
Regarding claim 6, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the second light-emitting device for emitting light of the second color (145/142) is electrically connected to the conductive pad (285P) through the conductive layer (131) and the bonding layer (136; see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a light-conversion structure (192; [0048]) that converts light emitted by third light-emitting device (125/122 of SP3) of the plurality of light-emitting devices (125/122 of SP1, SP2 and SP3) for emitting light of the first color (blue) into light of a third color (red; [0048]).
Regarding claim 8, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the light-conversion structure (192) comprises a plurality of quantum dots ([0048]).
Regarding claim 9, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 8, further comprising an electrode layer (180; [0057]), wherein the electrode layer (180) is fabricated on the second light-emitting device for emitting light of the second color (145/142), the third light-emitting device (125/122 of SP3) of the plurality of light-emitting devices (125/122 of SP1, SP2 and SP3) for emitting light of the first color (blue), and a fourth light-emitting device (125/122 of SP1) of the plurality of light-emitting devices (125/122 of SP1, SP2 and SP3) for emitting light of the first color (blue).
Regarding claim 10, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 9, further comprising a plurality of metal sidewalls (155s; [0061]) fabricated on the electrode layer (180).
Regarding claim 11, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a substrate (250; [0063]), wherein the plurality of light-emitting devices (125/122 of SP1, SP2 and SP3) for emitting light of the first color (blue) is bonded to the substrate (250; bonded through 280).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, filed 02/02/2026, overcome the rejections to claims 1-11 under 35 U.S.C. 112. The rejections to claims 1-11 under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Xu et al. (US 20220068994 A1) teach a display panel including two light emitting diodes emitting lights with different colors in one pixel separated by reflective components.
/HSIN YI HSIEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899 2/16/2026