DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9-12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhong et al (US 2022/0206370; hereinafter referred to as Zhong).
Regarding Claims 1 and 10, Zhong teaches a projector (Figure 1; Projector Cabin 100), comprising:
a sensor (Figure 1; Target Sensor 400); and
a processor (Figure 1; Driving Mainboard 500), coupled to the sensor (Figure 1; Target Sensor 400), wherein
the processor (Figure 1; Driving Mainboard 500) is adapted for obtaining a distance between the sensor (Figure 1; Target Sensor 400) and an object through the sensor (see Paragraph [0030]; wherein it is disclosed that the driving mainboard 500 connected to the target sensor 400 and configured to control a working state of the projector based on the signals, wherein the working state includes a power-on state and a power-off state), and turning on or turning off the projector (Figure 1; Projector Cabin 100) according to the distance and a threshold (see Paragraph [0050]; wherein it is disclosed that when the preset signal of the first signal transmitting tube is detected and the preset signal of the second signal transmitting tube is not detected, and a distance corresponding to the preset signal of the first signal transmitting tube is greater than a preset distance, the projector is controlled to be in the power-on state).
Regarding Claims 2 and 11, Zhong teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 10 as detailed above.
Zhong further teaches in response to the distance being greater than the threshold, the processor (Figure 1; Driving Mainboard 500) turns on the projector (Figure 1; Projector Cabin 100), and in response to the distance being less than or equal to the threshold, the processor (Figure 1; Driving Mainboard 500) turns off the projector (see Paragraph [0050]; wherein it is disclosed that when the preset signal of the second signal transmitting tube is detected and the preset signal of the first signal transmitting tube is not detected, the projector is controlled to be in the power-off state. Further, when the preset signal of the first signal transmitting tube is detected and the preset signal of the second signal transmitting tube is not detected, and a distance corresponding to the preset signal of the first signal transmitting tube is greater than a preset distance, the projector is controlled to be in the power-on state).
Regarding Claims 3 and 12, Zhong teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 10 as detailed above.
Zhong further teaches the threshold comprises a first threshold and a second threshold (see Paragraph [0046]), in response to the distance being greater than the first threshold, the processor (Figure 1; Driving Mainboard 500) turns on the projector (Figure 1; Projector Cabin 100; Paragraph [0046]; wherein it is disclosed that if the distance is greater than the preset distance, then no operation is performed or the projector is controlled to be in the power-on state), and in response to the distance being less than or equal to the second threshold, the processor (Figure 1; Driving Mainboard 500) turns off the projector (Figure 1; Projector Cabin 100; Paragraph [0046]; wherein it is disclosed that if the distance is less than the preset distance, then it is determined that the projector is powered on by mistake in a small space, and the projector is controlled to be in the power-off state), wherein the second threshold is less than the first threshold (see Paragraph [0046]).
Regarding Claims 9 and 18, Zhong teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 10 as detailed above.
Zhong further teaches the projector (Figure 1; Projector Cabin 100) is located in a cavity (see Figures 2-4; wherein the projector is located behind sliding cover 300), and the object is an inner wall of the cavity (see Paragraph [0046]; wherein it is disclosed that when the sliding cover 300 blocks the opto-mechanical lens 200, the projector is considered to be in the power-off state. Since the first signal receiving tube is blocked by the sliding cover 300, signal information from the signal transmitting tube is received only by the second signal receiving tube).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-8 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong et al (US 2022/0206370; hereinafter referred to as Zhong) as applied to claims 1 and 10, in view of Liu et al (US 2020/0310230; hereinafter referred to as Liu).
Regarding Claims 4 and 13, Zhong teaches the limitations of claims 3 and 12 as detailed above.
Zhong does not expressly disclose an input and output device, coupled to the processor, wherein the processor is adapted for receiving a correction command via the input and output device, and in response to the correction command, measuring a maximum value of the distance during a preset time period through the sensor, wherein the processor generates the first threshold according to the maximum value.
Liu discloses a projector (Figure 1; Projection Device 100), comprising: a sensor (Figure 1; Distance Sensor 102); and a processor (Figure 4; Controller 106), coupled to the sensor (see Paragraph [0025]; wherein it is disclosed that the distance sensor 102 may provide the measured distances to the controller 106, and the controller 106 may calculate an average value of the distances and take this average value as the distance between the projection device 100 and the certain area), and further comprising an input and output device (see Paragraph [0041]; wherein it is disclosed that the user may control the projection device 100 to display an on-screen display (OSD) 500 shown in FIG. 5 in the projection image by pressing a relevant function key on the projection device 100 or using various wired, wireless, or remote input devices), coupled to the processor (Figure 4; Controller 106), wherein the processor (Figure 4; Controller 106) is adapted for receiving a correction command via the input and output device (see Paragraph [0042]; wherein it is disclosed that the user may adjust the OSD 600 to move the focus position to be focused in the projection image via a user input device such as the remote control of the projection device 100. After the user adjusts the focus position to a selected position, the projection device 100 may perform a focusing operation based on the selected position to adjust the focal length of the projection device 100), and in response to the correction command, measuring a maximum value of the distance during a preset time period through the sensor (Figure 1; Distance Sensor 102), wherein the processor (Figure 4; Controller 106) generates the first threshold according to the maximum value (see Figure 7; Paragraph [0047]; wherein it is disclosed that the controller 106 may determine whether each of the reference distances is greater than a maximum projection distance (e.g., 2 meters) of the projection device 100 or the maximum measurement range of the distance sensor 102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the projector of Zhong such that the input and output device, coupled to the processor, wherein the processor is adapted for receiving a correction command via the input and output device, and in response to the correction command, measuring a maximum value of the distance during a preset time period through the sensor, wherein the processor generates the first threshold according to the maximum value, as taught by Liu, because doing so would improve the efficiency of the focusing operation and reduce limitations on the mechanical design (see Liu Paragraph [0049]).
Regarding Claims 5 and 14, Zhong as modified by Liu discloses the limitations of claims 4 and 13 as detailed above.
Liu further discloses the processor (Figure 4; Controller 106) is adapted for subtracting an offset value from the maximum value to generate the first threshold (see Figure 7; Paragraph [0047]; wherein it is disclosed that the controller 106 may determine whether each of the reference distances is greater than a maximum projection distance (e.g., 2 meters) of the projection device 100 or the maximum measurement range of the distance sensor 102).
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, Zhong teaches the limitations of claims 3 and 12 as detailed above.
Zhong does not expressly disclose an input and output device, coupled to the processor, wherein the processor is adapted for receiving a correction command via the input and output device, and in response to the correction command, measuring a minimum value of the distance during a preset time period through the sensor, wherein the processor generates the second threshold according to the minimum value.
Liu discloses a projector (Figure 1; Projection Device 100), comprising: a sensor (Figure 1; Distance Sensor 102); and a processor (Figure 4; Controller 106), coupled to the sensor (see Paragraph [0025]; wherein it is disclosed that the distance sensor 102 may provide the measured distances to the controller 106, and the controller 106 may calculate an average value of the distances and take this average value as the distance between the projection device 100 and the certain area), and further comprising an input and output device (see Paragraph [0041]; wherein it is disclosed that the user may control the projection device 100 to display an on-screen display (OSD) 500 shown in FIG. 5 in the projection image by pressing a relevant function key on the projection device 100 or using various wired, wireless, or remote input devices), coupled to the processor (Figure 4; Controller 106), wherein the processor (Figure 4; Controller 106) is adapted for receiving a correction command via the input and output device (see Paragraph [0042]; wherein it is disclosed that the user may adjust the OSD 600 to move the focus position to be focused in the projection image via a user input device such as the remote control of the projection device 100. After the user adjusts the focus position to a selected position, the projection device 100 may perform a focusing operation based on the selected position to adjust the focal length of the projection device 100), and in response to the correction command, measuring a minimum value of the distance during a preset time period through the sensor (Figure 1; Distance Sensor 102), wherein the processor (Figure 4; Controller 106) generates the second threshold according to the minimum value (see Figure 7; Paragraph [0043]; wherein it is disclosed that the controller 106 of the projection device 100 may determine whether there is an object that is less than a preset distance (for example, 3 centimeter) therebetween the projection device 100 in the vicinity of the projection device 100 before obtaining the location point of the focus ring).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the projector of Zhong such that the input and output device, coupled to the processor, wherein the processor is adapted for receiving a correction command via the input and output device, and in response to the correction command, measuring a minimum value of the distance during a preset time period through the sensor, wherein the processor generates the second threshold according to the minimum value, as taught by Liu, because doing so would pause the focusing operation if there is an object that is too close to the projection device in order to prevent an object located near the focus ring from affecting the focusing operation and causing the motor to be damaged (see Liu Paragraph [0043]).
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, Zhong as modified by Liu discloses the limitations of claims 6 and 15 as detailed above.
Liu further discloses the processor (Figure 4; Controller 106) is adapted for adding an offset value to the minimum value to generate the second threshold (see Figure 7; Paragraph [0043]; wherein it is disclosed that the controller 106 of the projection device 100 may determine whether there is an object that is less than a preset distance (for example, 3 centimeter) therebetween the projection device 100 in the vicinity of the projection device 100 before obtaining the location point of the focus ring).
Regarding Claims 8 and 17, Zhong as modified by Liu discloses the limitations of claims 3 and 12 as detailed above.
Zhong does not expressly disclose an input and output device, coupled to the processor, wherein the processor is adapted for receiving a correction command via the input and output device, and in response to the correction command, measuring a maximum value and a minimum value of the distance during a preset time period through the sensor, wherein in response to a ratio of the maximum value to the minimum value being greater than a preset value, the processor generates a first threshold according to the maximum value or generates a second threshold according to the minimum value.
Liu discloses a projector (Figure 1; Projection Device 100), comprising: a sensor (Figure 1; Distance Sensor 102); and a processor (Figure 4; Controller 106), coupled to the sensor (see Paragraph [0025]; wherein it is disclosed that the distance sensor 102 may provide the measured distances to the controller 106, and the controller 106 may calculate an average value of the distances and take this average value as the distance between the projection device 100 and the certain area), and further comprising an input and output device (see Paragraph [0041]; wherein it is disclosed that the user may control the projection device 100 to display an on-screen display (OSD) 500 shown in FIG. 5 in the projection image by pressing a relevant function key on the projection device 100 or using various wired, wireless, or remote input devices), coupled to the processor (Figure 4; Controller 106), wherein the processor (Figure 4; Controller 106) is adapted for receiving a correction command via the input and output device (see Paragraph [0042]; wherein it is disclosed that the user may adjust the OSD 600 to move the focus position to be focused in the projection image via a user input device such as the remote control of the projection device 100. After the user adjusts the focus position to a selected position, the projection device 100 may perform a focusing operation based on the selected position to adjust the focal length of the projection device 100), and in response to the correction command, measuring a minimum value of the distance during a preset time period through the sensor (Figure 1; Distance Sensor 102), wherein the processor (Figure 4; Controller 106) generates the second threshold according to the minimum value (see Figure 7; Paragraph [0043]; wherein it is disclosed that the controller 106 of the projection device 100 may determine whether there is an object that is less than a preset distance (for example, 3 centimeter) therebetween the projection device 100 in the vicinity of the projection device 100 before obtaining the location point of the focus ring).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the projector of Zhong such that the input and output device, coupled to the processor, wherein the processor is adapted for receiving a correction command via the input and output device, and in response to the correction command, measuring a maximum value and a minimum value of the distance during a preset time period through the sensor, wherein in response to a ratio of the maximum value to the minimum value being greater than a preset value, the processor generates a first threshold according to the maximum value or generates a second threshold according to the minimum value, as taught by Liu, because doing so would pause the focusing operation if there is an object that is too close to the projection device in order to prevent an object located near the focus ring from affecting the focusing operation and causing the motor to be damaged (see Liu Paragraph [0043]).
Inquiry
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882