DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to Korean Patent Application No. 10-2023-0100704, filed on 8/1/2023.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 9/28/26, have been fully considered but are not persuasive, except where noted below.
Applicant states that the abstract has been amended (page 11).
It is respectfully submitted that the amendment merely broadly recites a purported benefit of the invention involving saving electricity. This only very generally alludes to the actual invention. Applicant’s argument is therefore not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument with regard to the claim objections (page 11) is persuasive and the claims are no longer objected to.
Applicant’s argument with regard to 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) (page 12) is persuasive and the claims are no longer interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) and rejected on related grounds. However, note that new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) are presented below.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 (pages 12-15) are moot in view of the newly cited reference, Chik.
Applicant argues that Hashimoto does not teach that the output variable includes information about power saving start and end times (page 14).
It is respectfully submitted that Hashimoto teaches this feature because Hashimoto describes that by being controlled by the main controller 6, the ON/OFF switching device 22 switches between ON state and OFF state. Each of the unit U is supplied with electric power when corresponding ON/OFF switching device 22 is ON state… main controller 6 comprises a CPU (central processing unit) 23, a memory device 24, and a scheduler 25, which functions through execution of programs stored in the memory device 24 by the CPU 23. The scheduler 25 includes a counter 26 that counts number of times of substrate processing by each of the processing unit MPC. The scheduler 25 prepares a time chart representing an operation scheme for the plurality of units based on a production information in a manner such that all of the steps that is to be carried out by the plurality of units according to the processing details included in the processing informations, is completed by the end time limit. And the main controller 6, by controlling a plurality of ON/OFF switching devices according to time chart, makes a plurality of unit U operate by supplying electric power thereto — the figures show the number of sheets/products and start/end times [0047-0050, Figs. 4-9]. It is also noted that the current claim language merely requires output information about ‘a power saving start time of the power saving process device, and a power saving end time of the power saving process device’ not that scheduler 25 prepare a ‘time chart’ as suggested by Applicant’s argument (page 14). Applicant’s argument is therefore not persuasive.
For at least these reasons, the rejection of the claims is maintained.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it does not conform to the content guidelines. Specifically, the abstract fails to adequately describe the actual invention — it merely broadly alludes to a purported benefit of the invention. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claim 1 recites ‘a power management system’ and ‘a manufacturing execution system’, evidently to evoke concrete physical structures that are known to one having ordinary skill in the art. However, the specification only supports the broad concepts of ‘a management unit’ and ‘a tool control unit’ — not the specific ‘power management system’ or ‘manufacturing execution system’ hardware now claimed. Therefore these elements constitute new matter because they are not described in the application as originally filed.
Independent claim 11 recites similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected based on the same rationale.
Claims depending on any of the above rejected claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) as they inherit all of the characteristics of the claim from which they depend.
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 4, this claim recites ‘a laser irradiation unit configured to irradiate a laser to a product’. However, it is clear from the specification/PGPub [0110] and corresponding claim 14 that the laser irradiates the product and not a laser ‘to a product’ and the claim language, at least, raises issues as to the intended meaning of the limitation — e.g. ‘irradiate a laser to a product’ and is thus indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10-11, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20130178971 (hereinafter Hashimoto) in view of Quiros et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220026884 (hereinafter Quiros) and further in view of Chik et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20070244592 (hereinafter Chik).
Regarding claim 1, Hashimoto teaches an apparatus for manufacturing a display device [0001 — The present invention relates to a substrate processing apparatus for processing substrate and an electric power source management method of managing electric power supply therefor. Examples of substrates to be processed include semiconductor substrates, glass substrates for liquid crystal displays, glass substrates for plasma displays, substrates for FEDs (field emission displays; 0046, Fig. 4 — a substrate processing apparatus], the apparatus comprising:
a processor including a first process line including a plurality of first process devices configured to perform a first process, and a second process line including a plurality of second process devices configured to perform a second process [0041-0044, Figs. 2 and 4 — processing block 5 comprises a plurality of (for example, eight) processing units MPC… FIG. 4, a chemical supply unit CC1 at one side supplies chemical liquids to four processing units MPC 1 to 4, and a chemical supply unit CC2 at another side supplies chemical liquids to four processing units MPC 5 to 8; 0068 — Chemical liquid processing, rinse processing, and dry processing are sequentially carried out in the processing units MPC 1 to 4. (1-4, 2-4, 3-4, 4-4)]; and
a controller configured to control the processor, wherein each of the plurality of first process devices and the plurality of second process devices is configured to operate in a power saving mode [0050, Fig. 4 — main controller 6 comprises a CPU (central processing unit) 23, a memory device 24, and a scheduler 25, which functions through execution of programs stored in the memory device 24 by the CPU 23. The scheduler 25 includes a counter 26 that counts number of times of substrate processing by each of the processing unit MPC. The scheduler 25 prepares a time chart representing an operation scheme for the plurality of units based on a production information in a manner such that all of the steps that is to be carried out by the plurality of units according to the processing details included in the processing informations, is completed by the end time limit. And the main controller 6, by controlling a plurality of ON/OFF switching devices according to time chart, makes a plurality of unit U operate by supplying electric power thereto.; 0015 — It is possible to further decrease consumption of electric power because a number of chemical liquid supply units in a non-operation condition is at a maximum], and
the controller includes:
a power management system configured to generate an input variable including a target number of products to be processed during a predefined time duration in the first process line, a target number of products to be processed during the predefined time duration in the second process line, a number of the plurality of first process devices, a number of the plurality of second process devices [0050, Fig. 4 — main controller 6 comprises a CPU (central processing unit) 23, a memory device 24, and a scheduler 25, which functions through execution of programs stored in the memory device 24 by the CPU 23. The scheduler 25 includes a counter 26 that counts number of times of substrate processing by each of the processing unit MPC. The scheduler 25 prepares a time chart representing an operation scheme for the plurality of units based on a production information in a manner such that all of the steps that is to be carried out by the plurality of units according to the processing details included in the processing informations, is completed by the end time limit. And the main controller 6, by controlling a plurality of ON/OFF switching devices according to time chart, makes a plurality of unit U operate by supplying electric power thereto — the figures show the number of sheets/products and start/end times and the number of devices];
a scheduler configured to receive the input variable from the power management system and output an output variable to the power management system [0050, Fig. 4 — main controller 6 comprises a CPU (central processing unit) 23, a memory device 24, and a scheduler 25, which functions through execution of programs stored in the memory device 24 by the CPU 23. The scheduler 25 includes a counter 26 that counts number of times of substrate processing by each of the processing unit MPC. The scheduler 25 prepares a time chart representing an operation scheme for the plurality of units based on a production information in a manner such that all of the steps that is to be carried out by the plurality of units according to the processing details included in the processing informations, is completed by the end time limit. And the main controller 6, by controlling a plurality of ON/OFF switching devices according to time chart, makes a plurality of unit U operate by supplying electric power thereto]; and
a tool control (TC) unit configured to receive the output variable from the power management system and control the processor according to the output variable, wherein the output variable includes information about a power saving process device operating in a power saving mode among the plurality of first process devices and the plurality of second process devices, a power saving start time of the power saving process device, and a power saving end time of the power saving process device [0047-0050, Figs. 4-9 — By being controlled by the main controller 6, the ON/OFF switching device 22 switches between ON state and OFF state. Each of the unit U is supplied with electric power when corresponding ON/OFF switching device 22 is ON state… main controller 6 comprises a CPU (central processing unit) 23, a memory device 24, and a scheduler 25, which functions through execution of programs stored in the memory device 24 by the CPU 23. The scheduler 25 includes a counter 26 that counts number of times of substrate processing by each of the processing unit MPC. The scheduler 25 prepares a time chart representing an operation scheme for the plurality of units based on a production information in a manner such that all of the steps that is to be carried out by the plurality of units according to the processing details included in the processing informations, is completed by the end time limit. And the main controller 6, by controlling a plurality of ON/OFF switching devices according to time chart, makes a plurality of unit U operate by supplying electric power thereto — the figures show the number of sheets/products and start/end times].
But Hashimoto fails to clearly specify generating an input variable comprising processing speed of the plurality of process devices.
However, Quiros teaches generating an input variable comprising processing speed of the plurality of process devices [0013-0018 — The machine intelligence in the level 1 coordination systems 140 may make adjustments to any part of the manufacturing plan, e.g., based on resource availability, capacity, speed, reliability, or other characteristic of the devices and systems in the industrial environment 100, and also based on physical properties of the components and environments on which the worker systems execute their tasks. For instance, the level 1 coordination system 140 may reorder or replace tasks that are not achievable with substitute tasks that are currently achievable].
Hashimoto and Quiros are analogous art. They relate to industrial control systems.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above apparatus, as taught by Hashimoto, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Quiros.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to enable coordination between manufacturing devices, as suggested by Quiros [0013-0018].
But the combination of Hashimoto and Quiros fails to clearly specify a manufacturing execution system.
However, Chik teaches a manufacturing execution system configured to control a tool [0007 — One technique for improving the operation of a semiconductor processing line includes using a factory wide control system such as manufacturing execution systems (MES) to automatically control the operation of the various process tools.].
Hashimoto, Quiros and Chik are analogous art. They relate to industrial control systems.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above apparatus, as taught by the combination of Hashimoto and Quiros, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Chik.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve the operation of the industrial control system, as suggested by Chik [0007]. In addition, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the known manufacturing execution system of Chik for the known tool control unit of Hashimoto for the predictable result of an apparatus for manufacturing a display device that utilizes a manufacturing execution system.
Regarding claim 11, Hashimoto teaches method of manufacturing a display device [0001 — The present invention relates to a substrate processing apparatus for processing substrate and an electric power source management method of managing electric power supply therefor. Examples of substrates to be processed include semiconductor substrates, glass substrates for liquid crystal displays, glass substrates for plasma displays, substrates for FEDs (field emission displays; 0046, Fig. 4 — a substrate processing apparatus], the method comprising:
performing, by a processor, a process, the processor including a first process line including a plurality of first process devices configured to perform a first process and a second process line including a plurality of second process devices configured to perform a second process [0041-0044, Figs. 2 and 4 — processing block 5 comprises a plurality of (for example, eight) processing units MPC… FIG. 4, a chemical supply unit CC1 at one side supplies chemical liquids to four processing units MPC 1 to 4, and a chemical supply unit CC2 at another side supplies chemical liquids to four processing units MPC 5 to 8; 0068 — Chemical liquid processing, rinse processing, and dry processing are sequentially carried out in the processing units MPC 1 to 4. (1-4, 2-4, 3-4, 4-4)];
generating, by a power management system, an input variable including a target number of products to be processed during a predefined time duration in the first process line, a target number of products to be processed during the predefined time duration in the second process line, a number of the plurality of first process devices, a number of the plurality of second process devices [0050, Fig. 4 — main controller 6 comprises a CPU (central processing unit) 23, a memory device 24, and a scheduler 25, which functions through execution of programs stored in the memory device 24 by the CPU 23. The scheduler 25 includes a counter 26 that counts number of times of substrate processing by each of the processing unit MPC. The scheduler 25 prepares a time chart representing an operation scheme for the plurality of units based on a production information in a manner such that all of the steps that is to be carried out by the plurality of units according to the processing details included in the processing informations, is completed by the end time limit. And the main controller 6, by controlling a plurality of ON/OFF switching devices according to time chart, makes a plurality of unit U operate by supplying electric power thereto — the figures show the number of sheets/products and start/end times and the number of devices]; and
receiving, by a tool control (TC) unit, an output variable from the power management system and controlling the processor according to the output variable, wherein the output variable includes information about a power saving process device operating in a power saving mode among the plurality of first process devices and the plurality of second process devices, a power saving start time of the power saving process device, and a power saving end time of the power saving process device [0047-0050, Figs. 4-9 — By being controlled by the main controller 6, the ON/OFF switching device 22 switches between ON state and OFF state. Each of the unit U is supplied with electric power when corresponding ON/OFF switching device 22 is ON state… main controller 6 comprises a CPU (central processing unit) 23, a memory device 24, and a scheduler 25, which functions through execution of programs stored in the memory device 24 by the CPU 23. The scheduler 25 includes a counter 26 that counts number of times of substrate processing by each of the processing unit MPC. The scheduler 25 prepares a time chart representing an operation scheme for the plurality of units based on a production information in a manner such that all of the steps that is to be carried out by the plurality of units according to the processing details included in the processing informations, is completed by the end time limit. And the main controller 6, by controlling a plurality of ON/OFF switching devices according to time chart, makes a plurality of unit U operate by supplying electric power thereto — the figures show the number of sheets/products and start/end times].
But Hashimoto fails to clearly specify generating an input variable comprising processing speed of the plurality of process devices.
However, Quiros teaches generating an input variable comprising processing speed of the plurality of process devices [0013-0018 — The machine intelligence in the level 1 coordination systems 140 may make adjustments to any part of the manufacturing plan, e.g., based on resource availability, capacity, speed, reliability, or other characteristic of the devices and systems in the industrial environment 100, and also based on physical properties of the components and environments on which the worker systems execute their tasks. For instance, the level 1 coordination system 140 may reorder or replace tasks that are not achievable with substitute tasks that are currently achievable].
Hashimoto and Quiros are analogous art. They relate to industrial control systems.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Hashimoto, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Quiros.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to enable coordination between manufacturing devices, as suggested by Quiros [0013-0018].
But the combination of Hashimoto and Quiros fails to clearly specify a manufacturing execution system.
However, Chik teaches a manufacturing execution system configured to control a tool [0007 — One technique for improving the operation of a semiconductor processing line includes using a factory wide control system such as manufacturing execution systems (MES) to automatically control the operation of the various process tools.].
Hashimoto, Quiros and Chik are analogous art. They relate to industrial control systems.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above apparatus, as taught by the combination of Hashimoto and Quiros, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Chik.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve the operation of the industrial control system, as suggested by Chik [0007]. In addition, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the known manufacturing execution system of Chik for the known tool control unit of Hashimoto for the predictable result of a method of manufacturing a display device that utilizes a manufacturing execution system.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Hashimoto, Quiros and Chik all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Hashimoto teaches the plurality of second process devices are each configured to perform the second process on the product on which the first process has been performed, and the first process is different from the second process [0061 — In the processing unit MPC 1 to 8, a chemical liquid processing, rinse processing, and dry processing are sequentially carried out.; 0068-0069 — Chemical liquid processing, rinse processing, and dry processing are sequentially carried out in the processing units MPC 1 to 4. (1-4, 2-4, 3-4, 4-4)].
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Hashimoto, Quiros and Chik all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Hashimoto teaches performing, via the plurality of second process devices, the second process on the product on which the first process has been performed, wherein the first process is different from the second process [0061 — In the processing unit MPC 1 to 8, a chemical liquid processing, rinse processing, and dry processing are sequentially carried out.; 0068-0069 — Chemical liquid processing, rinse processing, and dry processing are sequentially carried out in the processing units MPC 1 to 4. (1-4, 2-4, 3-4, 4-4)].
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Hashimoto, Quiros and Chik in view of Tomine U.S. Patent Publication No. 20060175553 (hereinafter Tomine).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Hashimoto, Quiros and Chik teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Hashimoto teaches that each of the plurality of first process devices and the plurality of second process devices, a power saving in the power saving mode is adjusted and the output variable further includes a power saving of the power saving process device [0047-0050, Figs. 4-9 — By being controlled by the main controller 6, the ON/OFF switching device 22 switches between ON state and OFF state. Each of the unit U is supplied with electric power when corresponding ON/OFF switching device 22 is ON state… main controller 6 comprises a CPU (central processing unit) 23, a memory device 24, and a scheduler 25, which functions through execution of programs stored in the memory device 24 by the CPU 23. The scheduler 25 includes a counter 26 that counts number of times of substrate processing by each of the processing unit MPC. The scheduler 25 prepares a time chart representing an operation scheme for the plurality of units based on a production information in a manner such that all of the steps that is to be carried out by the plurality of units according to the processing details included in the processing informations, is completed by the end time limit. And the main controller 6, by controlling a plurality of ON/OFF switching devices according to time chart, makes a plurality of unit U operate by supplying electric power thereto — the figures show the number of sheets/products and start/end times].
But the combination of Hashimoto, Quiros and Chik fails to clearly specify a degree of power saving in the power saving mode is adjusted to a plurality of levels and the output further includes a degree of power saving of the power saving process device.
However, Tomine teaches a degree of power saving in the power saving mode is adjusted to a plurality of levels and the output further includes a degree of power saving of the power saving process device [0048-0051, Figs. 2-4 — Referring to FIG. 2, the standby mode of the dry etching device 100 are divided into the following four levels: standby-0, standby-1, standby-2 and standby-3. The standby-0 refers to a level at which product processing is ready. The standby-1 to standby-3 refer to a level at which product processing is not ready because part of the devices making up the dry etching device 100 is in a low-energy standby mode or stop mode… more devices are in the low-energy standby mode or stop mode during the standby-2 than the standby-1. Furthermore, more devices are in the low-energy standby mode or stop mode during the standby-3 than the standby-2. This way energy consumption in the standby mode is reduced step by step with the sequentially lowered energy levels; 0082 — the dry etching device 100 corresponds to the semiconductor manufacturing equipment, and the wafer corresponds to the product. Also, the standby-1 and the product processing mode correspond to the "level at which product processing is ready". The standby-1, standby-2 and standby-3 correspond to the "low-energy level at which product processing is not ready" and the "plurality of patterns having different electric power and other energy requirements and different lengths of required time from each other". The controller 60 corresponds to the retrieving part, the comparison part and the controlling part].
Hashimoto, Quiros, Chik and Tomine are analogous art. They relate to industrial control systems.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above apparatus, as taught by the combination of Hashimoto, Quiros and Chik, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Tomine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to maintain low energy consumption and saving energy while dealing with changes to production plans and accounting for restart times, as suggested by Tomine [0086-0088].
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Hashimoto, Quiros and Chik teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Hashimoto teaches that in each of the plurality of first process devices and the plurality of second process devices, adjusting a power saving in the power saving mode, and including a power saving of the power saving process device in the output variable [0047-0050, Figs. 4-9 — By being controlled by the main controller 6, the ON/OFF switching device 22 switches between ON state and OFF state. Each of the unit U is supplied with electric power when corresponding ON/OFF switching device 22 is ON state… main controller 6 comprises a CPU (central processing unit) 23, a memory device 24, and a scheduler 25, which functions through execution of programs stored in the memory device 24 by the CPU 23. The scheduler 25 includes a counter 26 that counts number of times of substrate processing by each of the processing unit MPC. The scheduler 25 prepares a time chart representing an operation scheme for the plurality of units based on a production information in a manner such that all of the steps that is to be carried out by the plurality of units according to the processing details included in the processing informations, is completed by the end time limit. And the main controller 6, by controlling a plurality of ON/OFF switching devices according to time chart, makes a plurality of unit U operate by supplying electric power thereto — the figures show the number of sheets/products and start/end times].
But the combination of Hashimoto, Quiros and Chik fails to clearly specify adjusting a degree of power saving in the power saving mode to a selected level of a plurality of level and including a degree of power saving of the power saving process device in the output variable.
However, Tomine teaches adjusting a degree of power saving in the power saving mode to a selected level of a plurality of level and including a degree of power saving of the power saving process device in the output variable [0048-0051, Figs. 2-4 — Referring to FIG. 2, the standby mode of the dry etching device 100 are divided into the following four levels: standby-0, standby-1, standby-2 and standby-3. The standby-0 refers to a level at which product processing is ready. The standby-1 to standby-3 refer to a level at which product processing is not ready because part of the devices making up the dry etching device 100 is in a low-energy standby mode or stop mode… more devices are in the low-energy standby mode or stop mode during the standby-2 than the standby-1. Furthermore, more devices are in the low-energy standby mode or stop mode during the standby-3 than the standby-2. This way energy consumption in the standby mode is reduced step by step with the sequentially lowered energy levels; 0082 — the dry etching device 100 corresponds to the semiconductor manufacturing equipment, and the wafer corresponds to the product. Also, the standby-1 and the product processing mode correspond to the "level at which product processing is ready". The standby-1, standby-2 and standby-3 correspond to the "low-energy level at which product processing is not ready" and the "plurality of patterns having different electric power and other energy requirements and different lengths of required time from each other". The controller 60 corresponds to the retrieving part, the comparison part and the controlling part].
Hashimoto, Quiros, Chik and Tomine are analogous art. They relate to industrial control systems.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by the combination of Hashimoto, Quiros and Chik, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Tomine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to maintain low energy consumption and saving energy while dealing with changes to production plans and accounting for restart times, as suggested by Tomine [0086-0088].
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Hashimoto, Quiros and Chik in view of Fujii et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20060102858 (hereinafter Fujii).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hashimoto, Quiros and Chik teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Hashimoto teaches the power management system [050, Fig. 4 — main controller 6 comprises a CPU (central processing unit) 23, a memory device 24, and a scheduler 25, which functions through execution of programs stored in the memory device 24 by the CPU 23. The scheduler 25 includes a counter 26 that counts number of times of substrate processing by each of the processing unit MPC. The scheduler 25 prepares a time chart representing an operation scheme for the plurality of units based on a production information in a manner such that all of the steps that is to be carried out by the plurality of units according to the processing details included in the processing informations, is completed by the end time limit. And the main controller 6, by controlling a plurality of ON/OFF switching devices according to time chart, makes a plurality of unit U operate by supplying electric power thereto].
But the combination of Hashimoto, Quiros and Chik fails to clearly specify that a power management system is further configured to generate an inquiry signal about a current power saving state of the processor.
However, Fujii teaches that a power management system is further configured to generate an inquiry signal about a current power saving state of the processor [0603 — the processing-machine setting unit 117 confirms whether power is the ON state or the OFF state in each of the second processing machines 5a to 5h, thereby confirming the number of device in the operation state used for the production process of the second processing machine 5. Further, for example, the measuring-machine setting unit 116 confirms whether power is the ON state or the OFF state in each of the measuring machines; 0687 — the processing-machine setting unit 117 transmits the start signal to the data collecting unit 111].
Hashimoto, Quiros, Chik and Fujii are analogous art. They relate to industrial control systems.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above apparatus, as taught by the combination of Hashimoto, Quiros and Chik, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Fujii.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to confirm the operating/power state of each machine, as taught by Fujii [0603].
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Hashimoto, Quiros and Chik teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Hashimoto teaches the power management system [050, Fig. 4 — main controller 6 comprises a CPU (central processing unit) 23, a memory device 24, and a scheduler 25, which functions through execution of programs stored in the memory device 24 by the CPU 23. The scheduler 25 includes a counter 26 that counts number of times of substrate processing by each of the processing unit MPC. The scheduler 25 prepares a time chart representing an operation scheme for the plurality of units based on a production information in a manner such that all of the steps that is to be carried out by the plurality of units according to the processing details included in the processing informations, is completed by the end time limit. And the main controller 6, by controlling a plurality of ON/OFF switching devices according to time chart, makes a plurality of unit U operate by supplying electric power thereto].
But the combination of Hashimoto, Quiros and Chik fails to clearly specify generating, by the power management system, an inquiry signal about a current power saving state of the processor.
However, Fujii teaches generating, by the power management system, an inquiry signal about a current power saving state of the processor [0603 — the processing-machine setting unit 117 confirms whether power is the ON state or the OFF state in each of the second processing machines 5a to 5h, thereby confirming the number of device in the operation state used for the production process of the second processing machine 5. Further, for example, the measuring-machine setting unit 116 confirms whether power is the ON state or the OFF state in each of the measuring machines; 0687 — the processing-machine setting unit 117 transmits the start signal to the data collecting unit 111].
Hashimoto, Quiros, Chik and Fujii are analogous art. They relate to industrial control systems.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by the combination of Hashimoto, Quiros and Chik, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Fujii.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to confirm the operating/power state of each machine, as taught by Fujii [0603].
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Hashimoto, Quiros, Chik and Fujii in view of Maturana et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20050034023 (hereinafter Maturana).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Hashimoto, Quiros, Chik and Fujii teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Hashimoto teaches the power management system [050, Fig. 4 — main controller 6 comprises a CPU (central processing unit) 23, a memory device 24, and a scheduler 25, which functions through execution of programs stored in the memory device 24 by the CPU 23. The scheduler 25 includes a counter 26 that counts number of times of substrate processing by each of the processing unit MPC. The scheduler 25 prepares a time chart representing an operation scheme for the plurality of units based on a production information in a manner such that all of the steps that is to be carried out by the plurality of units according to the processing details included in the processing informations, is completed by the end time limit. And the main controller 6, by controlling a plurality of ON/OFF switching devices according to time chart, makes a plurality of unit U operate by supplying electric power thereto].
Further, Fujii teaches the power management system is further configured to generate the inquiry signal [0603 — the processing-machine setting unit 117 confirms whether power is the ON state or the OFF state in each of the second processing machines 5a to 5h, thereby confirming the number of device in the operation state used for the production process of the second processing machine 5. Further, for example, the measuring-machine setting unit 116 confirms whether power is the ON state or the OFF state in each of the measuring machines; 0687 — the processing-machine setting unit 117 transmits the start signal to the data collecting unit 111].
But the combination of Hashimoto, Quiros, Chik and Fujii fails to clearly specify that the power management system is further configured to generate the signal multiple times at regular time intervals.
However, Maturana teaches that the power management system is further configured to generate the signal multiple times at regular time intervals [0002 — The present invention relates to energy or power-related systems and, more particularly, relates to systems for generating, delivering, routing, storing and/or consuming energy, for example, electrical energy; 0065, Fig. 5 — the LDF(s) 66 regularly communicate with the GDF(s) 64 and provide information thereto, by way of a periodic, "heart-beating" signal or "sanity" check. By providing such regular communications between the LDF(s) 66 and the GDF(s), the robustness of the system is increased.; 0057 — global directory facilitators (GDFs) 64 and one or more local directory facilitators (LDFs) 66].
Hashimoto, Quiros, Chik, Fujii and Maturana are analogous art. They relate to industrial control systems.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above apparatus, as taught by the combination of Hashimoto, Quiros, Chik and Fujii, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Fujii.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to increase the robustness of the system, as taught by Maturana [0065].
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Hashimoto, Quiros, Chik and Fujii teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Fujii teaches generating the inquiry signal [0603 — the processing-machine setting unit 117 confirms whether power is the ON state or the OFF state in each of the second processing machines 5a to 5h, thereby confirming the number of device in the operation state used for the production process of the second processing machine 5. Further, for example, the measuring-machine setting unit 116 confirms whether power is the ON state or the OFF state in each of the measuring machines; 0687 — the processing-machine setting unit 117 transmits the start signal to the data collecting unit 111].
But the combination of Hashimoto, Quiros, Chik and Fujii fails to clearly specify that generating the signal multiple times at regular time intervals.
However, Maturana teaches generating the signal multiple times at regular time intervals [0065, Fig. 5 — the LDF(s) 66 regularly communicate with the GDF(s) 64 and provide information thereto, by way of a periodic, "heart-beating" signal or "sanity" check. By providing such regular communications between the LDF(s) 66 and the GDF(s), the robustness of the system is increased.; 0057 — global directory facilitators (GDFs) 64 and one or more local directory facilitators (LDFs) 66].
Hashimoto, Quiros, Chik, Fujii and Maturana are analogous art. They relate to industrial control systems.
Therefore at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by the combination of Hashimoto, Quiros, Chik and Fujii, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Fujii.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to increase the robustness of the system, as taught by Maturana [0065].
Note that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BERNARD G LINDSAY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119