DETAILED ACTION
This is the final Office action and is responsive to the papers filed 05/07/2026. The amendments filed on 05/07/2026 have been entered and considered by the examiner. Claims 1-10 are currently pending and examined below. Claims 1-3, 6 and 8-9 have been amended. Claim 10 has been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, filed 05/07/2026, with respect to the abstract have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the abstract has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 11, filed 05/07/2026, with respect to claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) have been acknowledged. The Examiner has partially removed the 112(f) analysis.
The term "communicator" is subject to 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) (or pre-AIA § 112, sixth paragraph) interpretation, it does not explicitly use the word "means" but acts as a functional "nonce word" coupled with functional language ("configured to perform communication...").
Applicant's arguments, see pages 11-13, filed 05/07/2026, with respect to claims 1-9 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejections of 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 103 of claims 1-9 have not been withdrawn.
In particular, in page 12 of the Applicant’s Argument, the Applicant argues that with respect to Claims 1, 8 and 9 “Kawamata fails to disclose the claimed setting/non-set process especially in relation to travel information.”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. State of the vehicle is related to vehicle travel and Kawamata discloses that settings may be reflected based on conditions relating to the state of the user and/or the state of the vehicle. Hence, Kawamata discloses “when the non-set in-vehicle equipment is a first vehicle equipment which does not affect driving of the vehicle when the user set value is set for the non- set in-vehicle equipment on the basis of the setting instruction, set the user set value for the non-set in-vehicle equipment regardless of the travel information; and when the non-set in-vehicle equipment is a second vehicle equipment which affects driving of the vehicle when the user set value is set for the non-set in-vehicle equipment on the basis of the setting instruction, set the user set value for the non-set in-vehicle equipment on the basis of the travel information” as set forth in claims 1, 8 and 9.
In particular, in page 12 of the Applicant’s Argument, the Applicant argues that with respect to Claim 10 “Kawamata fails to disclose, teach, or suggest such a suspending process of the setting of the user set values set forth in claim 10”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kawamata discloses that setting may be reflected if only all conditions are met. If all conditions are not met, then the setting is not reflected i.e. suspended. Thus, Kawamata discloses “wherein, when a setting instruction for instructing to set the user set value for the non-set in-vehicle equipment is input by the user, the processor is further configured to execute the program set the user set value for the non-set in-vehicle equipment where the setting of the user set values is suspended on the basis of the travel information” as set forth in claim 10.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a communicator configured to perform communication between the in-vehicle equipment” in claims 3 and 6 (as communicator 120 in Fig. 1 and its corresponding paragraphs of the as-filed specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawamata et al. (JP 2023022577 A; hereinafter Kawamata).
Regarding claim 1, Kawamata discloses:
An in-vehicle equipment setup device (Fig. 1: HCU 3) for performing setting for activating in-vehicle equipment ([0031] vehicle devices built into the vehicle) mounted in a vehicle (Fig. 1: vehicle system 1) for each user of the vehicle ([0007] a vehicle setting device and a vehicle setting method that are capable of appropriately setting and reflecting personalized items while taking into consideration safety and user convenience.), the in-vehicle equipment setup device comprising:
a processor; and
a storage (Fig. 1: data storage unit 18) storing user setting information including setting information on settings of in-vehicle equipment desired by a user for each user ([0040] The data storage unit 18 has a database 18a. The database 18a stores the above-mentioned personalized items together with personal identification information.),
wherein the processor is configured to execute a program to:
set a set value indicated by the setting information included in the user setting information of a selected user for the corresponding in-vehicle equipment ([0047] the setting reflection unit 20 reflects the setting of the mth personalized item in the personalization reflection destination device 30);
acquire a current set value which is a set value currently set from the in-vehicle equipment ([0048] when there is a personalized item whose setting has not been reflected, the Examiner notes a current value has to have been obtained and a comparison made beforehand between the current value and the setting to know that the current value is different from the setting to update to reflect the setting);
compare the acquired current set value with a user set value which is a set value indicated by the setting information included in the user setting information of the selected user ([0048] when there is a personalized item whose setting has not been reflected, the Examiner notes a current value has to have been obtained and a comparison made beforehand between the current value and the setting to know that the current value is different from the setting to update to reflect the setting); and
notify the user of at least information on settings of the in-vehicle equipment ([0048] When the process is to be ended, the notification control unit 21 controls a notification as to whether or not the reflection of the settings of the personalized items has been completed. Furthermore, when there is a personalized item whose setting has not been reflected, the notification control unit 21 controls a notification that the personalized item setting cannot be reflected.),
wherein, when there is non-set in-vehicle equipment which is in-vehicle equipment of which the user set value is different from the current set value according to a result of the comparison ([0048] when there is a personalized item whose setting has not been reflected), the processor is further configured to execute the program to notify that there is non-set in-vehicle equipment on the basis of travel information including a traveling state of the vehicle ([0040] The judgment conditions indicate the state of each sensor or switch detected by the detection unit 4a, the state of the vehicle which is a combination of these, the state of the user described above, or other conditions. The personalized items are in a state where they can be set and reflected, provided that all of the judgment conditions are met., [0047] if even a part of the judgment conditions is not met, the mth personalized item is not set and reflected., [0048] the notification control unit 21 controls a notification that the personalized item setting cannot be reflected.), and
wherein, when a setting instruction for instructing to set the user set value for the non-set in-vehicle equipment is input by the user ([0058] It is preferable that the setting reflecting unit 20 determines the timing for reflecting the settings of the personalized items based on the results of acquisition by the state acquiring unit 11, and then reflects the settings.), the processor is further configured to execute the program to:
when the non-set in-vehicle equipment is a first vehicle equipment which does not affect driving of the vehicle when the user set value is set for the non-set in-vehicle equipment on the basis of the setting instruction, set the user set value for the non-set in-vehicle equipment regardless of the travel information ([0040] “The database 18a also holds conditions for determining whether or not the settings of personalized items based on personalized items or changes thereto should be reflected. In the data storage unit 18. a large number of personalized items and the conditions for determining whether or not the settings can be reflected are stored in a table as shown in FIG. The judgment conditions indicate the state of each sensor or switch detected by the detection unit 4a, the state of the vehicle which is a combination of these, the state of the user described above, or other conditions.”, the Examiner notes that settings may be reflected based on conditions relating to the state of the user and not the state of the vehicle); and
when the non-set in-vehicle equipment is a second vehicle equipment which affects driving of the vehicle when the user set value is set for the non-set in-vehicle equipment on the basis of the setting instruction, set the user set value for the non-set in-vehicle equipment on the basis of the travel information ([0052] “if it is determined that the vehicle state values required for the judgment conditions, specifically the sensor and switch states, change in less than the aforementioned 3 seconds and do not satisfy the judgment conditions, the HCU 3 will not reflect the settings of the personalization items without adjusting the fore-aft position of the seat. This ensures the safety of the user.”).
Regarding claim 2, Kawamata discloses:
wherein the processor is configured to execute the program to acquire the current set value and to compare the current set value with the user set value after the vehicle has started ([0006] Due to various circumstances, there are cases where the settings of the personalized items cannot be reflected in time before the user starts driving the vehicle, [0048] when there is a personalized item whose setting has not been reflected, the Examiner notes a current value has to have been obtained and a comparison made beforehand between the current value and the setting to know that the current value is different from the setting to update to reflect the setting).
Regarding claim 3, Kawamata discloses:
further comprising a communicator ([0013] HCU 3 is composed of a microcomputer having communication circuits) configured to perform communication between the in-vehicle equipment and a travel information presentation device for presenting the travel information of the vehicle to the user ([0033] The mobile terminal 6 is configured to perform wireless communication with the mobile terminal communication unit 14, [0035] By executing the vehicle application on the mobile terminal 6, the user can issue a control command regarding the vehicle, Information about the vehicle can be obtained from the ECUs 2 to 5 of the vehicle),
wherein the processor is configured to execute the program to:
acquire the current set value via the communicator ([0048] when there is a personalized item whose setting has not been reflected, the Examiner notes a current value has to have been obtained and a comparison made beforehand between the current value and the setting to know that the current value is different from the setting to update to reflect the setting); and
acquire current travel information which is the travel information currently presented to the user by the travel information presentation device via the communicator ([0020] HCU 3 includes a state acquisition unit 11, [0021] the state acquisition unit 11 can also acquire the state in which the vehicle is currently placed), and
wherein the processor is configured to execute the program not to notify that there is non-set in-vehicle equipment when the acquired current travel information satisfies a first condition ([0060 ] it is advisable to notify the user of the setting update at a timing when it is determined that safety is higher than a predetermined level based on the user state and the vehicle state, the Examiner notes the setting update will not be notified when the safety condition is lower than a predetermined level).
Regarding claim 6, Kawamata discloses:
wherein the processor is configured to execute the program to:
acquire the current travel information via the communicator after the setting instruction has been input ([0029] The driving scene will change when triggered by the above-mentioned timing, and the HCU 3 can detect changes in the vehicle state when triggered by the above-mentioned timing while acquiring the vehicle state using the status acquisition unit 11, and can change the control content before or after these triggers.);
suspend setting of the user set value for the non-set in-vehicle equipment when the acquired current travel information does not satisfy a second condition ([0040] The personalized items are in a state where they can be set and reflected, provided that all of the judgment conditions are met), and
notify that setting of the user set value for the non-set in-vehicle equipment is suspended ([0044] The notification control unit 21 notifies the result of reflection, that is, whether or not the personalized items have been reflected.).
Regarding claim 7, Kawamata discloses:
wherein the second condition is that the current travel information is the travel information indicating that a traveling speed of the vehicle is zero ([0027] The timing at which the vehicle speed sensor detects that the vehicle speed becomes zero while the shift range is not in the parking position.).
Regarding claim 8, Kawamata discloses:
An in-vehicle equipment setup method that is performed by a computer ([0013] a microcomputer) of an in-vehicle equipment setup device (Fig. 1: HCU 3) for performing setting for activating in-vehicle equipment ([0031] vehicle devices built into the vehicle) mounted in a vehicle (Fig. 1: vehicle system 1) for each user of the vehicle ([0007] a vehicle setting device and a vehicle setting method that are capable of appropriately setting and reflecting personalized items while taking into consideration safety and user convenience.), the in-vehicle equipment setup method comprising:
setting, out of user setting information which is stored in a storage (Fig. 1: data storage unit 18) and includes setting information on settings of in-vehicle equipment desired by a user for each user ([0040] The data storage unit 18 has a database 18a. The database 18a stores the above-mentioned personalized items together with personal identification information.), a set value indicated by the setting information included in the user setting information of a selected user for the corresponding in-vehicle equipment ([0047] the setting reflection unit 20 reflects the setting of the mth personalized item in the personalization reflection destination device 30);
acquiring a current set value which is a set value currently set from the in- vehicle equipment ([0048] when there is a personalized item whose setting has not been reflected, the Examiner notes a current value has to have been obtained and a comparison made beforehand between the current value and the setting to know that the current value is different from the setting to update to reflect the setting);
comparing the acquired current set value with a user set value which is a set value indicated by the setting information included in the user setting information of the selected user ([0048] when there is a personalized item whose setting has not been reflected, the Examiner notes a current value has to have been obtained and a comparison made beforehand between the current value and the setting to know that the current value is different from the setting to update to reflect the setting); and
notifying the user of that there is non-set in-vehicle equipment on the basis of travel information including a traveling state of the vehicle ([0040] The judgment conditions indicate the state of each sensor or switch detected by the detection unit 4a, the state of the vehicle which is a combination of these, the state of the user described above, or other conditions. The personalized items are in a state where they can be set and reflected, provided that all of the judgment conditions are met., [0047] if even a part of the judgment conditions is not met, the mth personalized item is not set and reflected., [0048] the notification control unit 21 controls a notification that the personalized item setting cannot be reflected.) when there is non-set in-vehicle equipment which is in-vehicle equipment of which the user set value is different from the current set value according to a result of the comparison ([0048] when there is a personalized item whose setting has not been reflected),
wherein, when a setting instruction for instructing to set the user set value for the non-set in-vehicle equipment is input by the user ([0058] It is preferable that the setting reflecting unit 20 determines the timing for reflecting the settings of the personalized items based on the results of acquisition by the state acquiring unit 11, and then reflects the settings.), the in-vehicle equipment setup method further comprises:
when the non-set in-vehicle equipment is a first vehicle equipment which does not affect driving of the vehicle when the user set value is set for the non- set in-vehicle equipment on the basis of the setting instruction, setting the user set value for the non-set in-vehicle equipment regardless of the travel information ([0040] “The database 18a also holds conditions for determining whether or not the settings of personalized items based on personalized items or changes thereto should be reflected. In the data storage unit 18. a large number of personalized items and the conditions for determining whether or not the settings can be reflected are stored in a table as shown in FIG. The judgment conditions indicate the state of each sensor or switch detected by the detection unit 4a, the state of the vehicle which is a combination of these, the state of the user described above, or other conditions.”, the Examiner notes that settings may be reflected based on conditions relating to the state of the user and not the state of the vehicle); and
when the non-set in-vehicle equipment is a second vehicle equipment which affects driving of the vehicle when the user set value is set for the non-set in-vehicle equipment on the basis of the setting instruction, setting the user set value for the non-set in-vehicle equipment on the basis of the travel information ([0052] “if it is determined that the vehicle state values required for the judgment conditions, specifically the sensor and switch states, change in less than the aforementioned 3 seconds and do not satisfy the judgment conditions, the HCU 3 will not reflect the settings of the personalization items without adjusting the fore-aft position of the seat. This ensures the safety of the user.”).
Regarding claim 9, Kawamata discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium ([0013] a non-transitive tangible storage medium) storing a program, the program causing a computer ([0013] a microcomputer) of an in-vehicle equipment setup device (Fig. 1: HCU 3) for performing setting for activating in-vehicle equipment mounted in a vehicle ([0031] vehicle devices built into the vehicle) for each user of the vehicle ([0007] a vehicle setting device and a vehicle setting method that are capable of appropriately setting and reflecting personalized items while taking into consideration safety and user convenience.) to perform:
setting, out of user setting information which is stored in a storage (Fig. 1: data storage unit 18) and includes setting information on settings of in-vehicle equipment desired by a user for each user ([0040] The data storage unit 18 has a database 18a. The database 18a stores the above-mentioned personalized items together with personal identification information.), a set value indicated by the setting information included in the user setting information of a selected user for the corresponding in-vehicle equipment ([0047] the setting reflection unit 20 reflects the setting of the mth personalized item in the personalization reflection destination device 30);
acquiring a current set value which is a set value currently set from the in- vehicle equipment ([0048] when there is a personalized item whose setting has not been reflected, the Examiner notes a current value has to have been obtained and a comparison made beforehand between the current value and the setting to know that the current value is different from the setting to update to reflect the setting);
comparing the acquired current set value with a user set value which is a set value indicated by the setting information included in the user setting information of the selected user ([0048] when there is a personalized item whose setting has not been reflected, the Examiner notes a current value has to have been obtained and a comparison made beforehand between the current value and the setting to know that the current value is different from the setting to update to reflect the setting); and
notifying the user of that there is non-set in-vehicle equipment on the basis of travel information including a traveling state of the vehicle ([0040] The judgment conditions indicate the state of each sensor or switch detected by the detection unit 4a, the state of the vehicle which is a combination of these, the state of the user described above, or other conditions. The personalized items are in a state where they can be set and reflected, provided that all of the judgment conditions are met., [0047] if even a part of the judgment conditions is not met, the mth personalized item is not set and reflected., [0048] the notification control unit 21 controls a notification that the personalized item setting cannot be reflected.) when there is non-set in-vehicle equipment which is in-vehicle equipment of which the user set value is different from the current set value according to a result of the comparison ([0048] when there is a personalized item whose setting has not been reflected),
wherein, when a setting instruction for instructing to set the user set value for the non-set in-vehicle equipment is input by the user ([0058] It is preferable that the setting reflecting unit 20 determines the timing for reflecting the settings of the personalized items based on the results of acquisition by the state acquiring unit 11, and then reflects the settings.), the program further causes the computer for perform:
when the non-set in-vehicle equipment is a first vehicle equipment which does not affect driving of the vehicle when the user set value is set for the non- set in-vehicle equipment on the basis of the setting instruction, setting the user set value for the non-set in-vehicle equipment regardless of the travel information ([0040] “The database 18a also holds conditions for determining whether or not the settings of personalized items based on personalized items or changes thereto should be reflected. In the data storage unit 18. a large number of personalized items and the conditions for determining whether or not the settings can be reflected are stored in a table as shown in FIG. The judgment conditions indicate the state of each sensor or switch detected by the detection unit 4a, the state of the vehicle which is a combination of these, the state of the user described above, or other conditions.”, the Examiner notes that settings may be reflected based on conditions relating to the state of the user and not the state of the vehicle); and
when the non-set in-vehicle equipment is a second vehicle equipment which affects driving of the vehicle when the user set value is set for the non-set in-vehicle equipment on the basis of the setting instruction, setting the user set value for the non-set in-vehicle equipment on the basis of the travel information ([0052] “if it is determined that the vehicle state values required for the judgment conditions, specifically the sensor and switch states, change in less than the aforementioned 3 seconds and do not satisfy the judgment conditions, the HCU 3 will not reflect the settings of the personalization items without adjusting the fore-aft position of the seat. This ensures the safety of the user.”).
Regarding claim 10, Kawamata discloses:
An in-vehicle equipment setup device (Fig. 1: HCU 3) for performing setting for activating in-vehicle equipment ([0031] vehicle devices built into the vehicle) mounted in a vehicle (Fig. 1: vehicle system 1) for each user of the vehicle ([0007] a vehicle setting device and a vehicle setting method that are capable of appropriately setting and reflecting personalized items while taking into consideration safety and user convenience.), the in-vehicle equipment setup device comprising:
a processor; and
a storage (Fig. 1: data storage unit 18) storing user setting information including setting information on settings of in-vehicle equipment desired by a user for each user ([0040] The data storage unit 18 has a database 18a. The database 18a stores the above-mentioned personalized items together with personal identification information.),
wherein the processor is configured to execute a program to:
set a set value indicated by the setting information included in the user setting information of a selected user for the corresponding in-vehicle equipment ([0047] the setting reflection unit 20 reflects the setting of the mth personalized item in the personalization reflection destination device 30);
acquire a current set value which is a set value currently set from the in-vehicle equipment ([0048] when there is a personalized item whose setting has not been reflected, the Examiner notes a current value has to have been obtained and a comparison made beforehand between the current value and the setting to know that the current value is different from the setting to update to reflect the setting);
compare the acquired current set value with a user set value which is a set value indicated by the setting information included in the user setting information of the selected user ([0048] when there is a personalized item whose setting has not been reflected, the Examiner notes a current value has to have been obtained and a comparison made beforehand between the current value and the setting to know that the current value is different from the setting to update to reflect the setting); and
notify the user of at least information on settings of the in-vehicle equipment ([0048] When the process is to be ended, the notification control unit 21 controls a notification as to whether or not the reflection of the settings of the personalized items has been completed. Furthermore, when there is a personalized item whose setting has not been reflected, the notification control unit 21 controls a notification that the personalized item setting cannot be reflected.),
wherein, when traveling of the vehicle has been started before setting of the user set values for the in-vehicle equipment has been completed ([0029] The driving scene will change when triggered by the above-mentioned timing, and the HCU 3 can detect changes in the vehicle state when triggered by the above-mentioned timing while acquiring the vehicle state using the status acquisition unit 11, and can change the control content before or after these triggers.), the processor is further configured to execute the program to suspend the setting of the user set values for the in-vehicle equipment ([0040] The personalized items are in a state where they can be set and reflected, provided that all of the judgment conditions are met),
wherein, when there is non-set in-vehicle equipment which is in-vehicle equipment of which the user set value is different from the current set value according to a result of the comparison ([0048] when there is a personalized item whose setting has not been reflected), the processor is further configured to execute the program to notify that there is non-set in-vehicle equipment on the basis of travel information including a traveling state of the vehicle ([0040] The judgment conditions indicate the state of each sensor or switch detected by the detection unit 4a, the state of the vehicle which is a combination of these, the state of the user described above, or other conditions. The personalized items are in a state where they can be set and reflected, provided that all of the judgment conditions are met., [0047] if even a part of the judgment conditions is not met, the mth personalized item is not set and reflected., [0048] the notification control unit 21 controls a notification that the personalized item setting cannot be reflected.), and
wherein, when a setting instruction for instructing to set the user set value for the non-set in-vehicle equipment is input by the user ([0058] It is preferable that the setting reflecting unit 20 determines the timing for reflecting the settings of the personalized items based on the results of acquisition by the state acquiring unit 11, and then reflects the settings.), the processor is further configured to execute the program set the user set value for the non-set in-vehicle equipment where the setting of the user set values is suspended on the basis of the travel information ([0040] The personalized items are in a state where they can be set and reflected, provided that all of the judgment conditions are met).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamata in view of Shogo (JP 2010086077 A).
Regarding claim 4, Kawamata discloses:
the first condition ([0060] it is advisable to notify the user of the setting update at a timing when it is determined that safety is higher than a predetermined level based on the user state and the vehicle state, the Examiner notes the setting update will not be notified when the safety condition is lower than a predetermined level).
Kawamata does not specifically disclose:
wherein the first condition is that the current travel information is the travel information of a type for calling attention to traveling of the vehicle.
However, Shogo discloses:
wherein the first condition is that the current travel information is the travel information of a type for calling attention to traveling of the vehicle ([0064] The simplest cognitive support output is to display a text message on the monitor 100N informing the driver that a collision warning vehicle is approaching as shown in FIG. 18, the Examiner notes that the driver is notified of a collision warning vehicle approaching (when safety condition is lower than a predetermined level) to make awareness).
Kawamata and Shogo are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicle display control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kawamata’s display control to further incorporate Shogo’s display control for the advantage of not presenting setting update but rather focus on a vehicle approaching which results in safe and accurate driving guidance (Shogo’s [0005]).
Regarding claim 5, Kawamata discloses:
the first condition ([0060] it is advisable to notify the user of the setting update at a timing when it is determined that safety is higher than a predetermined level based on the user state and the vehicle state, the Examiner notes the setting update will not be notified when the safety condition is lower than a predetermined level).
Kawamata does not specifically disclose:
wherein the first condition is that the current travel information is the travel information which is automatically presented to the user by the travel information presentation device.
However, Shogo discloses:
wherein the first condition is that the current travel information is the travel information which is automatically presented to the user by the travel information presentation device ([0064] The simplest cognitive support output is to display a text message on the monitor 100N informing the driver that a collision warning vehicle is approaching as shown in FIG. 18, the Examiner notes that the driver is notified of a collision warning vehicle approaching (when safety condition is lower than a predetermined level) to make awareness).
Kawamata and Shogo are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicle display control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kawamata’s display control to further incorporate Shogo’s display control for the advantage of not presenting setting update but rather focus on a vehicle approaching which results in safe and accurate driving guidance (Shogo’s [0005]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAYSUN WU/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/DONALD J WALLACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665