DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “interface device” and “drive unit” in claim 1; “one or more components” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “the interface device is formed by the construction machine to be refueled and/or the mobile hydrogen refueling station and/or a dispenser unit or vehicle” is indefinite, since the claim defines the interface device being capable of connecting to the construction machine, etc…
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the hydrogen refueling station’s power grid" in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the hydrogen container(s)" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9, 11, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johansen et al. (WO 2023/282764; cited prior art).
Regarding claim 1, the Johansen et al. reference discloses an interface device (23, 24), which is capable of being connected to a construction machine (1) to be refueled, on the one hand, and optionally to a mobile hydrogen refueling station, on the other, or forms a component thereof, wherein the interface device comprises:
a drive unit (25, compressor) or a power transducer (22; Figure 3) designed to provide the drive power for transferring hydrogen from the mobile hydrogen refueling station (2; resupply unit) to the construction machine to be refueled and wherein the interface device is formed by the construction machine to be refueled and/or the mobile hydrogen refueling station and/or a dispenser unit or vehicle, which is designed to supply the mobile hydrogen refueling station and/or the construction machine with the drive power.
Further, “and/or” is being construed as “or”.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the interface device is designed to provide electrical control power (via 24) for the power supply of the hydrogen refueling station's power grid. See Paragraph [0035].
Regarding claim 3, wherein the interface device has means for transmitting data from and/or between the construction machine and/or the mobile hydrogen refueling station. See Paragraph [0035].
Regarding claim 4, wherein the drive unit (25) is designed to provide the drive power by means of hydraulic power, electrical power, pneumatic power or mechanical power. The compressor (25) is electrically driven (para. 0032).
Regarding claim 7, the interface device transfers hydrogen via pipe (23) and compressor (25).
Regarding claims 9, interface device (23) has manually actuated mechanism (29).
Regarding claim 11, the Johansen et al. reference discloses the interface device (23, 24) being connected to a construction machine (1) and a mobile hydrogen refueling station (2). See Figure 1.
Regarding claim 13, interface device (23) has manually actuated mechanism (29). Further, “and/or” is being construed as “or”.
Regarding claim 14, the Johansen et al. reference discloses a system (Figure 1) and a vehicle (1) to be refueled and a mobile hydrogen refueling station (2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johansen et al. in view of Strnad, Jr. (6003568).
Regarding claims 6 and 10, the Johansen et al. reference discloses the invention (discussed) supra, but doesn’t disclose automatically activating the parking brake (as a safety component) of a vehicle connected to the interface device. The Strnad reference discloses another vehicle refueling device having an electric actuator to apply the parking brake when a fuel door is actuated (see col. 2, lines 46 – 62). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the Johansen et al. device to have the parking brake activating system defined above as, for example, taught by the Strnad reference in order to ensure the vehicle being refueled has the parking brake engaged.
Claim(s) 5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johansen et al. in view of Nishigai (10263428).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, the Johansen et al. reference discloses the invention (discussed) supra, but doesn’t disclose wherein the interface device has a power transducer, which is designed to absorb energy from an external energy source and, if necessary, makes this power available for hydrogen transfer after a transformation to a different voltage level, wherein the interface device has a power transducer, which is designed to receive electrical energy from an external energy source and, if necessary, makes this electrical power available for hydrogen transfer after a transformation to a different voltage level. The Nishigai reference discloses a power conversion apparatus having voltage transducers (3a-3e) to step up or stepdown DC output power/input power to a storage battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the Johansen et al. device to have a power transducer as, for example, taught by the Nishigai reference in order to control voltage level of the power.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johansen et al. in view of McKay et al. (9725295).
Regarding claim 8, the Johansen et al. reference discloses the invention (discussed) supra, but doesn’t disclose wherein the interface device is designed to simultaneously fill hydrogen containers of the vehicle. The McKay et al. reference discloses another mobile refueling device (Figure 1) having an interface device (16, 18 and 40) to allow the system to supply fuel through multiple fuel lines (20) to multiple tanks (32) of vehicles (30) to keep the vehicles in continuous operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the Johansen et al. device to have simultaneous filling of multiple tanks as, for example, taught by the McKay et al. reference in order to keep vehicles in continuous operation and decreasing time of refueling.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The Kalala et al. (9815683) reference discloses a mobile refueling device (Figure 2) having an interface, multiple refuelers and electronic stop failsafe.
/TIMOTHY L MAUST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753