DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s argument/remarks filed on November 04, 2025, claims 1-6 are pending and an action on the merits is as follows.
Applicant's arguments with respect to amended claims have been fully considered but are moot in view of a new ground(s) of rejection. Applicant has amended claims 1, 2, 5, 6 and added claims 7-9.
Per amendment of the claims, the rejection of claim 6 under 35 U.S.C. 101 had been withdrawn.
Response to Argument
Regarding applicant arguments with respect to the amendment of claim 1, (page 8, par. 3 – page 9, par. 2), the argument is moot in view of a new ground of rejection. Applicant is kindly invited to view the rejection below to view the new ground of rejection, cited section and motivation to combine.
Regarding applicant arguments with respect to the amendment of claim 2 (page 9, par. 3 – page 11, par. 1), the examiner respectfully disagreed with applicant allegation. First, the argument is moot in view of a new ground of rejection. Second, argument related to Hironori reference is moot because applicant had cited paragraph 53 related to setting vehicle equipment for unregistered user without considering the sections cited on the Office Action. Applicant is kindly invited to view the rejection below to view the new ground of rejection, cited section and motivation to combine.
Regarding applicant arguments with respect to the new added claims 7-9, (page 11, par. 2 – 3), the argument is moot in view of a new ground of rejection. Applicant is kindly invited to view the rejection below to view the new ground of rejection, cited section and motivation to combine.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cockings et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0070758 A1) in view of Hironori et al. (JP 2017-052409 A – Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 1, Cockings et al. disclose an apparatus for enabling storing of user input vehicle setting comprising
a storage device (e.g., a memory 104 – par. 58) configured to store a program and setting information of an automatic adjustment function which is a function for automatically adjusting a state of the equipment (e.g., the memory configured to store (i) program instruction(s) (par. 59) and (ii) one or more user input vehicle setting (par. 58), such that the vehicle apparatus automatically adjust setting of the vehicle to setting previously selected by the user (par. 3 and 63) – for instance, adjust the position of the driver’s seat in readiness for the user entering the vehicle (par. 72 and 78)); and
a hardware processor (e.g., electronic processor 103 – par. 59),
wherein the hardware processor (e.g., electronic processor 103 – par. 59)
manages the setting information in association with a user of the mobile object (e.g., vehicle 201 – par. 63 and Figure 2) by executing the program stored in the storage device (e.g., electronic processor 103 stores and retrieves data indicative of one or more vehicle setting of identified user(s) (par. 58, 72, 75, 77-78, 87) by executing program instruction(s) stored in the memory),
registers user information about the user and the setting information of the equipment in the storage device (e.g., storing the user input vehicle setting associated with an identified user – par. 6, 13, 58, 78, 96),
identifies the user of the mobile object (e.g., determining the identity of a first user (par. 58)), and
acquires the setting information of the equipment associated with the identified user from the storage device (e.g., retrieving data indicative of one or more setting stored in the memory 104 associated with the user / primary electronic device - par. 72 ) to set the equipment based on the acquired setting information (e.g., providing the retrieved data to the vehicle system; for instance, seat system 207 adjusts the position of the seat in readiness for the user – par. 72 and 77).
Cockings et al. disclose a mechanism / process for retrieving data indicative of one or more setting stored in the memory that is associated with a user (par. 72)), such that the vehicle apparatus automatically adjust setting of the vehicle to setting previously selected by the user (par. 3 and 63) – for instance, adjust the position of the driver’s seat in readiness for the user entering the vehicle (par. 72 and 78)) (limitation: which is the setting information of the equipment associated with first user information registered in advance and used in the previous operation of the automatic adjustment function).
However, Cockings et al. failed to specifically disclose wherein the hardware processor acquires first setting information from the storage device and registers the acquired first setting information in association with second user information different from the first user information.
However, Hironori et al. teach a vehicle setting device configured to allow a user (e.g., user C) to register setting for vehicle devices – for instance, seat position (par. 5 and 38) – using set button 140 and registration button(s) (141-143) (par. 26-27 and 30); wherein the user is allowed to partially duplicate previously registered vehicle setting of other user (e.g., user A) by first reading out the user A setting (using registration and set buttons) and second pressing the registration button (par. 27-28 and Figure 3). Figure 3 show a vehicle setting table 160 comprising users A, B and C having similar content of vehicle device setting (Figure 3 and par. 36-40).
As Cockings et al. disclose an apparatus enable storing of a setting of the vehicle for the first user 211 (par. 27, 87, 96) in relation with one or more setting of the vehicle stored for the second user 212 (par. 78, 13 and 73) such that driver’s seat position is adjusted based on primary identifier of the first user and its stored setting of the vehicle (par. 72 ), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the processor for storing user input vehicle setting, as taught by Cockings et al., such that the processor allows a new user to register setting for vehicle devices by partially duplicating previously registered vehicle setting of other user (e.g., user A) via registration and set buttons, in view of Hironori et al., with reasonable expectation of success, since doing so would have achieved the benefit of providing an unregistered user who has not registered vehicle settings with appropriate vehicle settings that are at least partially different from the initial vehicle settings (par. 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 2, Cockings et al. disclose an apparatus for enabling storing of user input vehicle setting comprising
a storage device (e.g., a memory 104 – par. 58) configured to store a program and setting information of the equipment (e.g., the memory configured to store (i) program instruction(s) (par. 59) and (ii) one or more user input vehicle setting (par. 58), such that the vehicle apparatus automatically adjust setting of the vehicle to setting previously selected by the user (par. 3 and 63) – for instance, adjust the position of the driver’s seat in readiness for the user entering the vehicle (par. 72 and 78)); and
a hardware processor (e.g., electronic processor 103 – par. 59),
wherein the hardware processor (e.g., electronic processor 103 – par. 59)
manages the setting information in association with a user of the mobile object (e.g., vehicle 201 – par. 63 and Figure 2) by executing the program stored in the storage device (e.g., electronic processor 103 stores and retrieves data indicative of one or more vehicle setting of identified user(s) (par. 58, 72, 75, 77-78, 87) by executing program instruction(s) stored in the memory),
registers user information about the user and the setting information of the equipment in the storage device (e.g., storing the user input vehicle setting associated with an identified user – par. 6, 13, 58, 78, 96 ),
identifies the user of the mobile object (e.g., determining the identity of a first user (par. 58)), and
acquires the setting information of the equipment associated with the identified user from the storage device (e.g., retrieving data indicative of one or more setting stored in the memory 104 associated with the user / primary electronic device - par. 72 ) to set the equipment based on the acquired setting information (e.g., providing the retrieved data to the vehicle system; for instance, seat system 207 adjusts the position of the seat in readiness for the user – par. 72 and 77).
Cockings et al. disclose a mechanism / process for retrieving data indicative of one or more setting stored in the memory that is associated with a user (par. 72)), such that the vehicle apparatus automatically adjust setting of the vehicle to setting previously selected by the user (par. 3 and 63) – for instance, adjust the position of the driver’s seat in readiness for the user entering the vehicle (par. 72 and 78)) (limitation: which is the setting information of the equipment associated with first user information registered in advance).
However, Cockings et al. failed to specifically disclose wherein the hardware processor acquires first setting information from the storage device, and registers setting information having the same content as the setting information associated with the first user information in association with the second user information when the second user information is newly registered.
However, Hironori et al. teach a vehicle setting device configured to allow a user (e.g., user C) to register setting for vehicle devices – for instance, seat position (par. 5 and 38) – using set button 140 and registration button(s) (141-143) (par. 26-27 and 30); wherein the user is allowed to partially duplicate previously registered vehicle setting of other user (e.g., user A) by first reading out the user A setting (using registration and set buttons) and second pressing the registration button (par. 27-28 and Figure 3). Figure 3 show a vehicle setting table 160 comprising users A, B and C having similar content of vehicle device setting (Figure 3 and par. 36-40).
As Cockings et al. disclose an apparatus enable storing of a setting of the vehicle for the first user 211 (par. 27, 87, 96) in relation with one or more setting of the vehicle stored for the second user 212 (par. 78, 13 and 73) such that driver’s seat position is adjusted based on primary identifier of the first user and its stored setting of the vehicle (par. 72 ), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the processor for storing user input vehicle setting, as taught by Cockings et al., such that the processor allows a new user to register setting for vehicle devices by partially duplicating previously registered vehicle setting of other user (e.g., user A) via registration and set buttons, in view of Hironori et al., with reasonable expectation of success, since doing so would have achieved the benefit of providing an unregistered user who has not registered vehicle settings with appropriate vehicle settings that are at least partially different from the initial vehicle settings (par. 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 3, Cockings et al. disclose an apparatus and method for enabling storing of user input vehicle setting, wherein the equipment is a seat provided in the mobile object (e.g., vehicle comprising seat – par. 63-64), wherein the setting information of the equipment is seat position setting information for setting a position of the seat (e.g., enabling automated movement of the driver's seat, to position the seat forwards and backwards, to raise, lower or to tilt the seat, and so on under the control of an ECU (par. 63) based on stored vehicle setting associated with the identified user – par. 6, 13, 58, 78. 96).
However, Cockings et al. failed to specifically disclose wherein the hardware processor associates a copy of seat position setting information associated with the first user information with seat position setting information of the second user information.
However, Hironori et al. teach a vehicle setting device configured to allow a user (e.g., user C) to register setting for vehicle devices – for instance, seat position (par. 5 and 38) – using set button 140 and registration button(s) (141-143) (par. 26-27 and 30); wherein the user is allowed to duplicate previously registered vehicle setting of other user (e.g., user A) by first reading out the user A setting (using registration and set buttons) and second pressing the registration button (par. 27-28 and Figure 3), which covers copying the seat position setting information associated with the first user information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the processor for storing user input vehicle setting, as taught by Cockings et al., such that the processor allows a new user to register setting for vehicle devices by duplicating previously registered vehicle setting of other user (e.g., user A) via registration and set buttons, in view of Hironori et al., with reasonable expectation of success, since doing so would have achieved the benefit of providing an unregistered user who has not registered vehicle settings with appropriate vehicle settings that are at least partially different from the initial vehicle settings (par. 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 5, Cockings et al. disclose a method for enabling storing of user input vehicle setting comprising:
managing, by a setting device (e.g., electronic processor 103 – par. 59) for setting equipment provided in a mobile object (e.g., vehicle 201 – par. 63 and Figure 2), setting information of an automatic adjustment function which is a function for automatically adjusting a state of the equipment (e.g., vehicle automatically adjusts setting of the vehicle to setting previously selected by the user (par. 3 and 63) – for instance, adjust the position of the driver’s seat in readiness for the user entering the vehicle (par. 72 and 78)) in association with a user of the mobile object in a storage device configured to store the setting information (e.g., electronic processor 103 stores and retrieves data from a memory 104 indicative of one or more vehicle setting of identified user(s) (par. 58, 72, 75, 77-78, 87);
registering, by the setting device e.g., electronic processor 103 – par. 59), user information about the user and the setting information of the equipment in the storage device (e.g., storing the user input vehicle setting associated with an identified user – par. 6, 13, 58, 78, 96 );
identifying, by the setting device (e.g., electronic processor 103 – par. 59), the user of the mobile object (e.g., determining the identity of a first user (par. 58));
acquiring, by the setting device (e.g., electronic processor 103 – par. 59), the setting information of the equipment associated with the identified user from the storage device (e.g., retrieving data indicative of one or more setting stored in the memory 104 associated with the user / primary electronic device - par. 72 ) to set the equipment based on the acquired setting information (e.g., providing the retrieved data to the vehicle system; for instance, seat system 207 adjusts the position of the seat in readiness for the user – par. 72 and 77).
Cockings et al. disclose a mechanism / process for retrieving data indicative of one or more setting stored in the memory that is associated with a user (par. 72)), such that the vehicle apparatus automatically adjust setting of the vehicle to setting previously selected by the user (par. 3 and 63) – for instance, adjust the position of the driver’s seat in readiness for the user entering the vehicle (par. 72 and 78)) (limitation: which is the setting information of the equipment associated with first user information registered in advance and used in the previous operation of the automatic adjustment function).
However, Cockings et al. failed to specifically disclose wherein acquiring, by the setting device, first setting information from the storage device in the registration of the setting information and registering the acquired first setting information in association with second user information different from the first user information.
However, Hironori et al. teach a vehicle setting device configured to allow a user (e.g., user C) to register setting for vehicle devices – for instance, seat position (par. 5 and 38) – using set button 140 and registration button(s) (141-143) (par. 26-27 and 30); wherein the user is allowed to partially duplicate previously registered vehicle setting of other user (e.g., user A) by first reading out the user A setting (using registration and set buttons) and second pressing the registration button (par. 27-28 and Figure 3). Figure 3 show a vehicle setting table 160 comprising users A, B and C having similar content of vehicle device setting (Figure 3 and par. 36-40).
As Cockings et al. disclose an apparatus enable storing of a setting of the vehicle for the first user 211 (par. 27, 87, 96) in relation with one or more setting of the vehicle stored for the second user 212 (par. 78, 13 and 73) such that driver’s seat position is adjusted based on primary identifier of the first user and its stored setting of the vehicle (par. 72 ), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the processor for storing user input vehicle setting, as taught by Cockings et al., such that the processor allows a new user to register setting for vehicle devices by partially duplicating previously registered vehicle setting of other user (e.g., user A) via registration and set buttons, in view of Hironori et al., with reasonable expectation of success, since doing so would have achieved the benefit of providing an unregistered user who has not registered vehicle settings with appropriate vehicle settings that are at least partially different from the initial vehicle settings (par. 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 6, Cockings et al. disclose a memory device 104 for storing program instructions to be executed by a processor (par. 59) for a vehicle 201(par. 63 and Figure 2) to:
manage setting information of an automatic adjustment function which is a function for automatically adjusting a state of the equipment (e.g., vehicle automatically adjusts setting of the vehicle to setting previously selected by the user (par. 3 and 63) – for instance, adjust the position of the driver’s seat in readiness for the user entering the vehicle (par. 72 and 78)) in association with a user of the mobile object in a storage device configured to store the setting information (e.g., electronic processor 103 stores and retrieves data from a memory 104 indicative of one or more vehicle setting of identified user(s) (par. 58, 72, 75, 77-78, 87);
register user information about the user and the setting information of the equipment in the storage device (e.g., storing the user input vehicle setting associated with an identified user – par. 6, 13, 58, 78, 96 );
identify the user of the mobile object (e.g., determining the identity of a first user (par. 58));
acquiring the setting information of the equipment associated with the identified user from the storage device (e.g., retrieving data indicative of one or more setting stored in the memory 104 associated with the user / primary electronic device - par. 72 ) to set the equipment based on the acquired setting information (e.g., providing the retrieved data to the vehicle system; for instance, seat system 207 adjusts the position of the seat in readiness for the user – par. 72 and 77).
Cockings et al. disclose a mechanism / process for retrieving data indicative of one or more setting stored in the memory that is associated with a user (par. 72)), such that the vehicle apparatus automatically adjust setting of the vehicle to setting previously selected by the user (par. 3 and 63) – for instance, adjust the position of the driver’s seat in readiness for the user entering the vehicle (par. 72 and 78)) (limitation: which is the setting information of the equipment associated with first user information registered in advance and used in the previous operation of the automatic adjustment function).
However, Cockings et al. failed to specifically disclose wherein the setting device is caused to acquire first setting information from the storage device in the registration of the setting information and register the acquired first setting information in association with second user information different from the first user information.
However, Hironori et al. teach a vehicle setting device configured to allow a user (e.g., user C) to register setting for vehicle devices – for instance, seat position (par. 5 and 38) – using set button 140 and registration button(s) (141-143) (par. 26-27 and 30); wherein the user is allowed to partially duplicate previously registered vehicle setting of other user (e.g., user A) by first reading out the user A setting (using registration and set buttons) and second pressing the registration button (par. 27-28 and Figure 3). Figure 3 show a vehicle setting table 160 comprising users A, B and C having similar content of vehicle device setting (Figure 3 and par. 36-40).
As Cockings et al. disclose an apparatus enable storing of a setting of the vehicle for the first user 211 (par. 27, 87, 96) in relation with one or more setting of the vehicle stored for the second user 212 (par. 78, 13 and 73) such that driver’s seat position is adjusted based on primary identifier of the first user and its stored setting of the vehicle (par. 72 ), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the processor for storing user input vehicle setting, as taught by Cockings et al., such that the processor allows a new user to register setting for vehicle devices by partially duplicating previously registered vehicle setting of other user (e.g., user A) via registration and set buttons, in view of Hironori et al., with reasonable expectation of success, since doing so would have achieved the benefit of providing an unregistered user who has not registered vehicle settings with appropriate vehicle settings that are at least partially different from the initial vehicle settings (par. 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 7, Cockings et al. disclose an apparatus and method for enabling storing of user input vehicle setting, wherein the equipment is a seat provided in the mobile object (e.g., vehicle comprising seat – par. 63-64), wherein the setting information of the equipment is seat position setting information for setting a position of the seat (e.g., enabling automated movement of the driver's seat, to position the seat forwards and backwards, to raise, lower or to tilt the seat, and so on under the control of an ECU (par. 63) based on stored vehicle setting associated with the identified user – par. 6, 13, 58, 78. 96).
However, Cockings et al. failed to specifically disclose wherein the hardware processor associates a copy of seat position setting information associated with the first user information with seat position setting information of the second user information.
However, Hironori et al. teach a vehicle setting device configured to allow a user (e.g., user C) to register setting for vehicle devices – for instance, seat position (par. 5 and 38) – using set button 140 and registration button(s) (141-143) (par. 26-27 and 30); wherein the user is allowed to duplicate previously registered vehicle setting of other user (e.g., user A) by first reading out the user A setting (using registration and set buttons) and second pressing the registration button (par. 27-28 and Figure 3), which covers copying the seat position setting information associated with the first user information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the processor for storing user input vehicle setting, as taught by Cockings et al., such that the processor allows a new user to register setting for vehicle devices by duplicating previously registered vehicle setting of other user (e.g., user A) via registration and set buttons, in view of Hironori et al., with reasonable expectation of success, since doing so would have achieved the benefit of providing an unregistered user who has not registered vehicle settings with appropriate vehicle settings that are at least partially different from the initial vehicle settings (par. 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 8, Cockings et al. disclose a method for enabling storing of user input vehicle setting comprising:
managing, by a setting device (e.g., electronic processor 103 – par. 59) for setting equipment provided in a mobile object (e.g., vehicle 201 – par. 63 and Figure 2), setting information of the equipment (e.g., vehicle automatically adjusts setting of the vehicle to setting previously selected by the user (par. 3 and 63) – for instance, adjust the position of the driver’s seat in readiness for the user entering the vehicle (par. 72 and 78)) in association with a user of the mobile object in a storage device configured to store the setting information (e.g., electronic processor 103 stores and retrieves data from a memory 104 indicative of one or more vehicle setting of identified user(s) (par. 58, 72, 75, 77-78, 87);
registering, by the setting device e.g., electronic processor 103 – par. 59), user information about the user and the setting information of the equipment in the storage device (e.g., storing the user input vehicle setting associated with an identified user – par. 6, 13, 58, 78, 96 );
identifying, by the setting device (e.g., electronic processor 103 – par. 59), the user of the mobile object (e.g., determining the identity of a first user (par. 58));
acquiring, by the setting device (e.g., electronic processor 103 – par. 59), the setting information of the equipment associated with the identified user from the storage device (e.g., retrieving data indicative of one or more setting stored in the memory 104 associated with the user / primary electronic device - par. 72 ) to set the equipment based on the acquired setting information (e.g., providing the retrieved data to the vehicle system; for instance, seat system 207 adjusts the position of the seat in readiness for the user – par. 72 and 77).
Cockings et al. disclose a mechanism / process for retrieving data indicative of one or more setting stored in the memory that is associated with a user (par. 72)), such that the vehicle apparatus automatically adjust setting of the vehicle to setting previously selected by the user (par. 3 and 63) – for instance, adjust the position of the driver’s seat in readiness for the user entering the vehicle (par. 72 and 78)) (limitation: which is the setting information of the equipment associated with first user information registered in advance).
However, Cockings et al. failed to specifically disclose wherein acquiring, by the setting device, first setting information from the storage device, and registering setting information having the same content as the first user information in association with the second user information when the second user information is newly registered.
However, Hironori et al. teach a vehicle setting device configured to allow a user (e.g., user C) to register setting for vehicle devices – for instance, seat position (par. 5 and 38) – using set button 140 and registration button(s) (141-143) (par. 26-27 and 30); wherein the user is allowed to partially duplicate previously registered vehicle setting of other user (e.g., user A) by first reading out the user A setting (using registration and set buttons) and second pressing the registration button (par. 27-28 and Figure 3). Figure 3 show a vehicle setting table 160 comprising users A, B and C having similar content of vehicle device setting (Figure 3 and par. 36-40).
As Cockings et al. disclose an apparatus enable storing of a setting of the vehicle for the first user 211 (par. 27, 87, 96) in relation with one or more setting of the vehicle stored for the second user 212 (par. 78, 13 and 73) such that driver’s seat position is adjusted based on primary identifier of the first user and its stored setting of the vehicle (par. 72 ), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the processor for storing user input vehicle setting, as taught by Cockings et al., such that the processor allows a new user to register setting for vehicle devices by partially duplicating previously registered vehicle setting of other user (e.g., user A) via registration and set buttons, in view of Hironori et al., with reasonable expectation of success, since doing so would have achieved the benefit of providing an unregistered user who has not registered vehicle settings with appropriate vehicle settings that are at least partially different from the initial vehicle settings (par. 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 9, Cockings et al. disclose a memory device 104 for storing program instructions to be executed by a processor (par. 59) for a vehicle 201(par. 63 and Figure 2) to:
manage setting information of the equipment (e.g., vehicle automatically adjusts setting of the vehicle to setting previously selected by the user (par. 3 and 63) – for instance, adjust the position of the driver’s seat in readiness for the user entering the vehicle (par. 72 and 78)) in association with a user of the mobile object in a storage device configured to store the setting information (e.g., electronic processor 103 stores and retrieves data from a memory 104 indicative of one or more vehicle setting of identified user(s) (par. 58, 72, 75, 77-78, 87);
register user information about the user and the setting information of the equipment in the storage device (e.g., storing the user input vehicle setting associated with an identified user – par. 6, 13, 58, 78, 96 );
identify the user of the mobile object (e.g., determining the identity of a first user (par. 58));
acquiring the setting information of the equipment associated with the identified user from the storage device (e.g., retrieving data indicative of one or more setting stored in the memory 104 associated with the user / primary electronic device - par. 72 ) to set the equipment based on the acquired setting information (e.g., providing the retrieved data to the vehicle system; for instance, seat system 207 adjusts the position of the seat in readiness for the user – par. 72 and 77).
Cockings et al. disclose a mechanism / process for retrieving data indicative of one or more setting stored in the memory that is associated with a user (par. 72)), such that the vehicle apparatus automatically adjust setting of the vehicle to setting previously selected by the user (par. 3 and 63) – for instance, adjust the position of the driver’s seat in readiness for the user entering the vehicle (par. 72 and 78)) (limitation: which is the setting information of the equipment associated with first user information registered in advance).
However, Cockings et al. failed to specifically disclose wherein the setting device is caused to acquire first setting information, from the storage device, and register setting information having the same content as the first user information in association with the second user information when the second user information is newly registered.
However, Hironori et al. teach a vehicle setting device configured to allow a user (e.g., user C) to register setting for vehicle devices – for instance, seat position (par. 5 and 38) – using set button 140 and registration button(s) (141-143) (par. 26-27 and 30); wherein the user is allowed to partially duplicate previously registered vehicle setting of other user (e.g., user A) by first reading out the user A setting (using registration and set buttons) and second pressing the registration button (par. 27-28 and Figure 3). Figure 3 show a vehicle setting table 160 comprising users A, B and C having similar content of vehicle device setting (Figure 3 and par. 36-40).
As Cockings et al. disclose an apparatus enable storing of a setting of the vehicle for the first user 211 (par. 27, 87, 96) in relation with one or more setting of the vehicle stored for the second user 212 (par. 78, 13 and 73) such that driver’s seat position is adjusted based on primary identifier of the first user and its stored setting of the vehicle (par. 72 ), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the processor for storing user input vehicle setting, as taught by Cockings et al., such that the processor allows a new user to register setting for vehicle devices by partially duplicating previously registered vehicle setting of other user (e.g., user A) via registration and set buttons, in view of Hironori et al., with reasonable expectation of success, since doing so would have achieved the benefit of providing an unregistered user who has not registered vehicle settings with appropriate vehicle settings that are at least partially different from the initial vehicle settings (par. 5 and 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee (US 2018/0162320 A1) is directed to a vehicle configured to record seating position of various components of a vehicle seat associated with a multiple driver.
Pinkelman et al. (US 2018/0345889 A1) is directed to a smart vehicle accommodation device configured to automatically adjust a position of a seat based on user preferences.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.O.P/ Examiner, Art Unit 3656 /KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656