DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, “substance present at least a part of a surface” should read “substance present at at least a part of a surface”.
Regarding claim 2, “substance present at least a part of a surface” should read “substance present at at least a part of a surface”.
Regarding claims 3-11, these claims are objected to due to their dependency on claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 2, Applicant recites, “a nitrogen-containing substance”. It’s unclear if this is the same nitrogen containing substance positively recited in claim 1 or if a new different, distinct nitrogen containing substance is being introduced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hotta (US20220085457A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hotta teaches a secondary battery (paragraph [0190], Figure 3) that comprises of an aqueous electrolyte (paragraph [0109]) and a lithium salt (paragraphs [0111]-[0112]), a positive electrode (paragraph [0173]) made up of a positive electrode active material-containing layer (paragraph [0176]- [0182]) and an aluminum positive electrode current collector that supports the positive electrode active material-containing layer (paragraph [0174]) . This positive electrode active material is also stated to be made up of a binder such polyimide or polyacrylamide (paragraph [0185]), which are nitrogen-containing substances that present on at least a part of a surface of the positive electrode current collector. Hotta also states the presence of a negative electrode (paragraph [0035]).
Regarding claim 2, Hotta teaches the secondary battery of claim 1 and teaches that a composite membrane that is layered onto the positive electrode active material, as shown in Figure 2 and 3 (4, paragraphs [0188] and [0206]). This composite membrane is made up of a polymeric material that is made up of at least 70% of a monomer containing a nitrogen based functional group, such as an amino group, a –CN, and a –N(R)3 (paragraphs [0080]- [0086]). Hatto also teaches the use of lithium nitrate and sodium nitrate as electrolytic salts that are impregnated into the composite membrane and thus touching the positive electrode active material (paragraphs [0109]- [0113]). Therefore, a nitrogen containing substance is at least touching a part of positive electrode active material.
Regarding claim 3, Hotta teaches the secondary battery of claim 1 and teaches the use of lithium nitrate and sodium nitrate as electrolytic salts that are impregnated into the composite membrane (paragraphs [0109]- [0113]).
Regarding claim 5, Hotta teaches the secondary battery of claim 1 and teaches the use of lithium nickel cobalt manganese composite oxide, lithium manganese nickel composite oxide, lithium cobalt composite oxide, and lithium manganese iron composite oxides, like LikFe1−yMnyPO4, where 0<k≤1 and where 0≤y≤1, as positive electrode active material or as compounds capable of obtaining a high positive electrode potential, which would make them good candidates as positive electrode active materials (paragraphs [0178]- [0180]).
Regarding claim 6, Hotta teaches the secondary battery of claim 1 and teaches the use of titanium-containing oxide, niobium titanium composite, and lithium titanium composite oxide as negative electrode active materials (paragraphs [0040]- [0045]).
Regarding claim 7, Hotta teaches the secondary battery of claim 1 and teaches the use of monoclinic titanium-containing oxide, monoclinic lithium titanium composite oxide, and TiNb2O7, which is a monoclinic form of niobium titanium composite (Examples 42-49), as negative electrode active materials (paragraphs [0040]- [0045]).
Regarding claim 8, Hotta teaches the secondary battery of claim 1 and teaches the use of the secondary battery in a battery pack (paragraph [0225]).
Regarding claim 9, Hotta teaches the battery pack of claim 8 and teaches the inclusion of a protective circuit and power distribution terminal (paragraphs [0225]- [0227], Figure 8).
Regarding claim 10, Hotta teaches the battery pack of claim 9 and teaches a plurality of secondary batteries which are connected in series, in parallel, or a combination of the in series, in parallel (paragraphs [0230] and [0235]).
Regarding claim 11, Hotta teaches the battery pack of claim 8 and teaches the use of the battery pack in a stationary power supply (paragraph [0264], Figure 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hotta (US20220085457A1) in view of Burns (US20150056521A1).
Regarding claim 4, Hotta teaches the secondary battery according to claim 1, and teaches the presence of water in the electrolyte, as the battery uses an aqueous electrolyte, and teaches the electrolyte can be a mixture of water and an organic solvent (paragraph [0120]). It does not teach the presence of water within the range of 150 ppm to 100,000 ppm.
Burns teaches a lithium-ion battery with a comprised of positive electrode made up of a positive electrode active material (paragraph [0036]) coating an aluminum or an aluminum alloy positive electrode current (paragraph [0035]) that immersed in an electrolyte made up of water in a concentration of 200 ppm to 2000 ppm (paragraph [0024]-[0025]) and a lithium salt (paragraph [0023]-[0026]). This lithium salt is stated to be a lithium imide salt in a possible embodiment, which would be an example of a nitrogen-containing substance that comes in contact with the positive electrode current collector (paragraph [0028]). Burns also teaches the use of a negative electrode (paragraph [0037]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the teachings of Hoata with Burns to obtain a battery having an electrolyte made up of an organic solvent with a specific concentration of water add to the system to “improved cycle life, high voltage stability, high temperature resiliency, and/or reduced impedance buildup especially at low temperature” (paragraph [0021]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yamaguchi (US20190355984A1) teaches an electrochemical device that includes a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator disposed between the electrodes, where the positive electrode is coated in a barrier layer that is made up of carbon and nitrogen to prevent oxidation of the electrode.
Harada (US20180277834A1) teaches an active material including a titanium-containing composite oxide phase and a carboxyl group-containing carbon coating layer is provided
/M.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/DANIEL P MALLEY JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726