Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 7544574 B2; henceforward as ‘574 in view of Qian (2007/0003019).
1. A console device (Figure 1 in ‘574 shows a console 30)comprising: an operation assembly (container 12 in figure 1) comprising a plurality of operation sections configured to designate a position of each of four X-ray aperture blades (Figure 2 shows movable X-ray aperture 20 composed of aperture blades elements 21, 22, 23,24) included in an X-ray aperture (aperture 25) that limits an irradiation range of an X-ray (Each blade element 21-24 is made of a flat lead blade to block or limit X-rays) with which a subject is irradiated from an X-ray tube (X-ray source 11), a display (display 32) section configured to indicate a first irradiation range formed by the X-ray aperture (paragraph 32 says the image generation function 353 generates an X-ray fluoroscopic image corresponding to area 41 in real time and displays it on the display 32. The area 41 is inherently formed by the X-ray aperture 20. Figure 7 further shows imaging range 50 (or first irradiation range) to be area 41), and processing circuitry configured to control, according to an operation on the operation assembly, a position of a corresponding X-ray aperture blade and cause the X-ray aperture to form a second irradiation range (Figure 3 illustrates processing circuitry 35 to include a setting function 351 that sets an imaging range. The ability of setting multiple irradiation ranges is clearly an inherent function of the setting function 35 ).
‘574 lacks explicit teaching of the operation assembly (responsible for FOV selection) being provided in the console device.
Qian teaches the operation assembly being provided in the console device. (Qian, [0021])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to provide FOV controls within the operating console as a convenient location for said control.
2. The console device according to claim 1, wherein two of the operation sections of the plurality of operation sections are disposed on at least one of a back side and a front side of the display section when viewed from an operator of the console device, and two of the operation sections of the plurality of operation sections are disposed on at least one of a left side and a right side of the display section when viewed from the operator (Figure 2).
3. The console device according to claim 2, wherein the two operation sections disposed on at least one of the back side and the front side of the display section respectively correspond to an X-ray aperture blade on a left side of an X-ray image displayed by the X-ray diagnostic apparatus and an X-ray aperture blade on a right side of the X-ray image, and the two operation sections disposed on at least one of the left side and the right side of the display section respectively correspond to an upper X-ray aperture blade and a lower X-ray aperture blade of the X-ray image displayed by the X-ray diagnostic apparatus (Figure 2).
4. The console device according to claim 1, wherein a size of the first irradiation range is greater than or equal to a size of the second irradiation range (this limitation is clearly within the ability of the setting function 351).
5. The console device according to claim 4, wherein the size of the first irradiation range is a size when the X-ray aperture is fully opened (this limitation is clearly within the ability of the setting function 351).
6. The console device according to claim 2, wherein the two operation sections disposed on at least one of the back side and the front side of the display section are movable to a left side and a right side as viewed from the operator, and the two operation sections disposed on at least one of the left side and the right side of the display section are movable to a back side and a front side as viewed from the operator (Figure 2).
7. The console device according to claim 6, wherein each of the operation sections is a slider (Figure 2).
10. The console device according to claim 1, further comprising an imparting section (Input interface 31) that is configured to impart a click feeling to an operator through the operation assembly when a size of an irradiation field reaches a predetermined size (Paragraph 16 under “DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS” says the input interface 31 could be a trackball, switch button or mouse, commonly known to include a click feeling to an operator) .
12. The console device according to claim 10, wherein the predetermined size includes a plurality of sizes. (varying aperture sizes is within the ability of the setting function 351. Note paragraph 9 under “DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS”. ”It is possible to change the position and size of the irradiation area corresponding to the opening 25” )
13. The console device according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to be able to control positions of the X-ray aperture such that a center of the second irradiation range is different from a center of the first irradiation range, according to an operation on the operation section (Figure 3 shows the setting function 351 being part of the processor circuitry 35 sets the size of X-ray irradiation area. Paragraph 41 under “DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS says the aperture drive circuit 26, being part of the interlocking control function 352 which is an integral part of the processing circuitry 35, moves the position of aperture 25. Thus, any position it moves, that should correspond to the description as claimed).
14. The console device according to claim 1, further comprising a designation section that is configured to designate a predetermined size of an irradiation field, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to control positions of the X-ray aperture according to the designation of the size of the irradiation field by the designation section, and to cause the X-ray aperture to form the second irradiation range corresponding to the irradiation field of the size designated by the designation section, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to move the operation assembly to a position corresponding to the second irradiation range in conjunction with formation of the second irradiation range (paragraphs 37-38 suggest that the operation of the setting function 351 to inherently include a designation section as claimed) .
15. The console device according to claim 1, wherein the display section is configured to indicate the first irradiation range by a physical frame (note figures 7 and 8).
16. The console device according to claim 1, wherein the display section is configured to indicate the first irradiation range by an image (Paragraph 34 under ‘DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS).
19. An X-ray diagnostic apparatus (Figure 1) comprising: an X-ray tube (X-ray source 11)configured to irradiate a subject with an X-ray; an X-ray detector (X-ray detector 13)configured to detect an X-ray that has passed through the subject; an X-ray aperture comprising four X-ray aperture blades (Figure 2) configured to limit an irradiation range of an X-ray with which the subject is irradiated from the X-ray tube; and a console device, wherein the console device (Figure 1) comprises an operation assembly comprising a plurality of operation sections (setting function 351, interlocking control function 352;aperture drive circuit 26) configured to designate a position of each of the four X-ray aperture blades, a display section (display 32) configured to indicate a first irradiation range formed by the X-ray aperture, and processing circuitry configured to control, according to an operation on the operation assembly, a position of a corresponding X-ray aperture blade and cause the X-ray aperture to form a second irradiation range.
20. A method of operating an irradiation field (Paragraph 1 under “DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS” mentions a method for controlling an X-ray diagnostic), the method comprising: designating (paragraphs 37-38 suggest that the operation of the setting function 351 to inherently include a designation section as claimed), by an operation assembly, a position of each of four X-ray aperture blades (Figure 2) included in an X-ray aperture that limits an irradiation range of an X-ray with which a subject is irradiated from an X-ray tube; indicating, by a display section (display 32), a first irradiation range formed by the X-ray aperture; and controlling, according to an operation on the operation assembly, a position of a corresponding X-ray aperture blade and causing the X-ray aperture to form a second irradiation range.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of ‘574 and Qian further teaches the X-ray aperture is provided in an imaging device that is configured to image a subject using X-rays, and the console device is communicably connected to the imaging device. (‘574, throughout, Qian, [0021])
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 7544574 B2; henceforward as ‘574 as applied to claims 1, 2 and 6 above, in view of Qian and further in view of CN 209734772 U henceforward as ‘772.
As set forth above, ‘574 teaches a console device with an operation assembly comprising a plurality of operation sections configured to designate a position of each four X-ray aperture blades. However, ‘574 does not teach a rail disposed in parallel with one side of the first irradiation range as required by claims 8 and 9.
Figure 2 of ‘772 shows a plurality of operation with at least four blades slidably being guided on guide rails.
With the advance of the operation shown in ‘772, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to slidably mount the blades shown in ‘574 using the operation of ‘772. The motivation would be to simplify the overall construction of the operation sections of ‘574.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to teach the limitation of claim 11. the prior art of record does not teach a second display section for indicating a second irradiation range as such required by claim 17. The prior art of record further fails to teach a slider and operations that operates in the manner as required by claim 18.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWIN C GUNBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884