Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/16/2026 have been fully considered and they are persuasive.
Double Patenting
Claim 11 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12024887B2 in view of Kraska (US5552261A).
U.S. Patent No.12024887B2 claim 1.
Present application (18583998) claims 11, claim 11 depends from claim 1.
A method of producing a granulated product from photopolymer printing plate materials, the method comprising the steps of:
sorting the photopolymer printing plate materials based on an identifiable property;
grinding photopolymer printing plate materials to particles; and
screening the particles to remove particles above a certain size to produce the granulated product;
wherein the photopolymer printing plate materials comprise used photocured or photopolymerized flexographic printing elements comprising one or more cured photopolymer layers on a support layer, and
wherein the support layer is not removed from the one or more photopolymer layers prior to the grinding step.
A method of producing a granulated product from photopolymer printing plate materials, the method comprising the steps of:
sorting the photopolymer printing plate materials based on an identifiable property;
b) optionally, shredding or chipping the photopolymer printing plate materials to reduce the size of the photopolymer printing plate materials to smaller chips or shreds having a relatively uniform size;
c) subjecting the photopolymer printing plate materials to UV-C light from a UV-C light source for a period of time, whereby the photopolymer printing plate materials are rendered less tacky and more brittle;
d) grinding the photopolymer printing plate materials to particles; and
e) screening the particles to remove particles above a certain size to produce the granulated product.
wherein photopolymer printing plate materials comprise used photocured or photopolymerized flexographic printing elements comprising one or more cured photopolymer layers on a support layer.
11. (Original) The method according to claim 1, wherein the support layer is not removed from the one or more photopolymer layers prior to the grinding step.
With respect to the additional features recited in present application claim 1, U.S. Patent No.12024887B2 claim 1 fails to recited subjecting the photopolymer printing plate materials to UV-C light from a UV-C light source for a period of time, whereby the photopolymer printing plate materials are rendered less tacky and more brittle.
However, Michael discloses subjecting the photopolymer printing plate materials to UV-C light from a UV-C light source for a period of time, whereby the photopolymer printing plate materials are rendered less tacky and more brittle (paragraph 0025);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of U.S. Patent No.12024887B2 by subjecting the photopolymer printing plate materials to UV-C light from a UV-C light source for a period of time as taught by Kraska, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)]. Thereby having subjecting the photopolymer printing plate materials to UV-C light from a UV-C light source for a period of time, whereby the photopolymer printing plate materials are rendered less tacky and more brittle.
Or,
However, Kraska discloses subjecting the photopolymer printing plate materials to UV-C light from a UV-C light source for a period of time (claim 1: actinic radiation, and as known in the art, actinic radiation explicitly includes the short-wavelength UV-C band);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of U.S. Patent No.12024887B2 by subjecting the photopolymer printing plate materials to UV-C light from a UV-C light source for a period of time as taught by Kraska, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)]. Thereby having subjecting the photopolymer printing plate materials to UV-C light from a UV-C light source for a period of time, whereby the photopolymer printing plate materials are rendered less tacky and more brittle.
Claim 11 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12024887B2 in view of Kraska (US5552261A).
U.S. Patent No.12024887B2 claim 1.
Present application (18583998) claim 29, claim 29 depends from 18.
A method of producing a granulated product from photopolymer printing plate materials, the method comprising the steps of:
sorting the photopolymer printing plate materials based on an identifiable property;
grinding photopolymer printing plate materials to particles; and
screening the particles to remove particles above a certain size to produce the granulated product;
wherein the photopolymer printing plate materials comprise used photocured or photopolymerized flexographic printing elements comprising one or more cured photopolymer layers on a support layer, and
wherein the support layer is not removed from the one or more photopolymer layers prior to the grinding step.
A method of producing a granulated product from photopolymer printing plate materials, the method comprising the steps of:
a) optionally, shredding or chipping the photopolymer printing plate materials to reduce the size of the photopolymer printing plate materials to smaller chips or shreds having a relatively uniform size;
b) subjecting the photopolymer printing plate materials to UV-C light from a UV-C light source for a period of time, whereby the photopolymer printing plate materials are rendered less tacky and more brittle;
c) grinding the photopolymer printing plate materials to particles; and
screening the particles to remove particles above a certain size to produce the granulated product;
wherein photopolymer printing plate materials comprise used photocured or photopolymerized flexographic printing elements comprising one or more cured photopolymer layers on a support layer.
29. (New) The method according to claim 20, wherein the support layer is not removed from the one or more photopolymer layers prior to the grinding step.
With respect to the additional features recited in present application claim 18, U.S. Patent No.12024887B2 claim 1 fails to recited subjecting the photopolymer printing plate materials to UV-C light from a UV-C light source for a period of time, whereby the photopolymer printing plate materials are rendered less tacky and more brittle.
However, Michael discloses subjecting the photopolymer printing plate materials to UV-C light from a UV-C light source for a period of time, whereby the photopolymer printing plate materials are rendered less tacky and more brittle (paragraph 0025);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of U.S. Patent No.12024887B2 by subjecting the photopolymer printing plate materials to UV-C light from a UV-C light source for a period of time as taught by Kraska, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)]. Thereby having subjecting the photopolymer printing plate materials to UV-C light from a UV-C light source for a period of time, whereby the photopolymer printing plate materials are rendered less tacky and more brittle.
Or,
However, Kraska discloses subjecting the photopolymer printing plate materials to UV-C light from a UV-C light source for a period of time (claim 1: actinic radiation, and as known in the art, actinic radiation explicitly includes the short-wavelength UV-C band);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of U.S. Patent No.12024887B2 by subjecting the photopolymer printing plate materials to UV-C light from a UV-C light source for a period of time as taught by Kraska, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)]. Thereby having subjecting the photopolymer printing plate materials to UV-C light from a UV-C light source for a period of time, whereby the photopolymer printing plate materials are rendered less tacky and more brittle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-11, 25-26, 27-28 and 29 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 is rejected because it depends from cancelled claim 2.
As best understood and for the purpose of the examination, claim 7 is interpreted as depending from claim 1.
Claim 8 is rejected because it depends from claim 7.
Claim 9 is rejected because it depends from cancelled claim 2.
As best understood and for the purpose of the examination, claim 9 is interpreted as depending from claim 1.
Claim 10 is rejected because it depends from claim 9.
Claim 11 is rejected because it depends from cancelled claim 2.
As best understood and for the purpose of the examination, claim 11 is interpreted as depending from claim 1.
Claim 25 is rejected because it depends from cancelled claim 20.
As best understood and for the purpose of the examination, claim 25 is interpreted as depending from claim 18.
Claim 26 is rejected because it depends from claim 25.
Claim 27 is rejected because it depends from cancelled claim 20.
As best understood and for the purpose of the examination, claim 27 is interpreted as depending from claim 18.
Claim 28 is rejected because it depends from claim 27.
Claim 29 is rejected because it depends from cancelled claim 20.
As best understood and for the purpose of the examination, claim 29 is interpreted as depending from claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kraska (US5552261A).
Regarding claim 1, Kraska discloses method of producing a granulated product from photopolymer printing plate materials (abstract, claim 3, and col.2 last 11 lines- col.3 line 7), the method comprising steps of:
a) sorting the photopolymer printing plate materials based on an identifiable property (col.2 lines 11-25);
b) optionally, shredding or chipping the photopolymer printing plate materials to reduce the size of the photopolymer printing plate materials to smaller chips or shreds having a relatively uniform size;
c) subjecting the photopolymer printing plate materials to UV-C light from a UV-C light source for a period of time, whereby the photopolymer printing plate materials are rendered less tacky and more brittle (claim 1: actinic radiation, and as known in the art, actinic radiation explicitly includes the short-wavelength UV-C band);
d) grinding the photopolymer printing plate materials to particles (col.2 lines 11-25); and
e) screening the particles to remove particles above a certain size to produce the granulated product (col.6 lines 2-3).
wherein photopolymer printing plate materials comprise used photocured or photopolymerized flexographic printing elements comprising one or more cured photopolymer layers on a support layer (abstract, claim 3, and col.2 last 11 lines- col.3 line 7).
Regarding claim 18, Kraska discloses method of producing a granulated product from photopolymer printing plate materials (abstract, claim 3, and col.2 last 11 lines- col.3 line 7), the method comprising steps of:
b) optionally, shredding or chipping the photopolymer printing plate materials to reduce the size of the photopolymer printing plate materials to smaller chips or shreds having a relatively uniform size;
c) subjecting the photopolymer printing plate materials to UV-C light from a UV-C light source for a period of time, whereby the photopolymer printing plate materials are rendered less tacky and more brittle (claim 1: actinic radiation, and as known in the art, actinic radiation explicitly includes the short-wavelength UV-C band);
d) grinding the photopolymer printing plate materials to particles (col.2 lines 11-25); and
e) screening the particles to remove particles above a certain size to produce the granulated product (col.6 lines 2-3).
wherein photopolymer printing plate materials comprise used photocured or photopolymerized flexographic printing elements comprising one or more cured photopolymer layers on a support layer (abstract, claim 3, and col.2 last 11 lines- col.3 line 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-19 and 21-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michael (EP2767377A1 attached NPL, English Machine translation) in view of Kraska (US5552261A).
Regarding claim 1 and 16-17, Michael discloses a method of producing a granulated product from photopolymer printing plate materials (paragraphs 0005-0007 and 0034-0040), the method comprising steps of:
a) sorting the photopolymer printing plate materials based on an identifiable property (paragraphs 0022, 0026 and 0034);
b) optionally, shredding or chipping the photopolymer printing plate materials to reduce the size of the photopolymer printing plate materials to smaller chips or shreds having a relatively uniform size (paragraph 0025);
c) subjecting the photopolymer printing plate materials to UV-C light from a UV-C light source for a period of time, whereby the photopolymer printing plate materials are rendered less tacky and more brittle (paragraph 0025);
d) grinding the photopolymer printing plate materials to particles; and e) screening the particles to remove particles above a certain size to produce the granulated product (paragraph 0027: further processed into granules; the process of granules is known in art having steps of grinding then sieving to separate the desired size fraction).
Regarding claim 1 and 16-17, Michael does not disclose wherein photopolymer printing plate materials comprise used photocured or photopolymerized flexographic printing elements comprising one or more cured photopolymer layers on a support layer; and wherein an anti-tack agent is added to the granulated product after step e); and wherein the anti-tack agent is selected from the group consisting of fumed silica, talc, mica, clay, carbonate, zinc stearate, magnesium stearate, calcium stearate, potassium stearate, stearic acid, liquid lubricants, emulsified wax, and calcium silicate.
Kraska teaches a method of producing a granulated product from photopolymer printing plate materials, the method comprising wherein photopolymer printing plate materials comprise used photocured or photopolymerized flexographic printing elements comprising one or more cured photopolymer layers on a support layer (abstract, claim 3, and col.2 last 11 lines- col.3 line 7); and
an anti-tack agent is added to a granulated product; and wherein the anti-tack agent is selected from the group consisting of fumed silica, talc, mica, clay, carbonate, zinc stearate, magnesium stearate, calcium stearate, potassium stearate, stearic acid, liquid lubricants, emulsified wax, and calcium silicate (col.4 lines 8-14).
Both of the prior arts of the prior arts of Michael and Kraska are related to a method of producing a granulated product from photopolymer printing plate materials;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of U.S. Patent No.12024887B2 by subjecting the photopolymer printing plate materials to UV-C light from a UV-C light source for a period of time; and an anti-tack agent is added to a granulated product; and wherein the anti-tack agent is selected from the group consisting of fumed silica, talc, mica, clay, carbonate, zinc stearate, magnesium stearate, calcium stearate, potassium stearate, stearic acid, liquid lubricants, emulsified wax, and calcium silicate as taught by Kraska, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)]. Thereby having subjecting the photopolymer printing plate materials to UV-C light from a UV-C light source for a period of time, whereby the photopolymer printing plate materials are rendered less tacky and more brittle; and wherein an anti-tack agent is added to the granulated product after step e); and wherein the anti-tack agent is selected from the group consisting of fumed silica, talc, mica, clay, carbonate, zinc stearate, magnesium stearate, calcium stearate, potassium stearate, stearic acid, liquid lubricants, emulsified wax, and calcium silicate.
Regarding claim 18 and 32-33, Michael discloses a method of producing a granulated product from photopolymer printing plate materials (paragraphs 0005-0007 and 0034-0040), the method comprising steps of:
a) optionally, shredding or chipping the photopolymer printing plate materials to reduce the size of the photopolymer printing plate materials to smaller chips or shreds having a relatively uniform size (paragraph 0025);
b) subjecting the photopolymer printing plate materials to UV-C light from a UV-C light source for a period of time, whereby the photopolymer printing plate materials are rendered less tacky and more brittle (paragraph 0025);
c) grinding the photopolymer printing plate materials to particles; and d) screening the particles to remove particles above a certain size to produce the granulated product (paragraph 0027: further processed into granules; the process of granules is known in art having steps of grinding then sieving to separate the desired size fraction).
Regarding claim 18 and 32-33, Michael does not disclose wherein photopolymer printing plate materials comprise used photocured or photopolymerized flexographic printing elements comprising one or more cured photopolymer layers on a support layer; and wherein an anti-tack agent is added to the granulated product after step d); and wherein the anti-tack agent is selected from the group consisting of fumed silica, talc, mica, clay, carbonate, zinc stearate, magnesium stearate, calcium stearate, potassium stearate, stearic acid, liquid lubricants, emulsified wax, and calcium silicate.
Kraska teaches a method of producing a granulated product from photopolymer printing plate materials, the method comprising wherein photopolymer printing plate materials comprise used photocured or photopolymerized flexographic printing elements comprising one or more cured photopolymer layers on a support layer (abstract, claim 3, and col.2 last 11 lines- col.3 line 7); and
an anti-tack agent is added to a granulated product; and wherein the anti-tack agent is selected from the group consisting of fumed silica, talc, mica, clay, carbonate, zinc stearate, magnesium stearate, calcium stearate, potassium stearate, stearic acid, liquid lubricants, emulsified wax, and calcium silicate (col.4 lines 8-14).
Both of the prior arts of the prior arts of Michael and Kraska are related to a method of producing a granulated product from photopolymer printing plate materials;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of U.S. Patent No.12024887B2 by subjecting the photopolymer printing plate materials to UV-C light from a UV-C light source for a period of time; and an anti-tack agent is added to a granulated product; and wherein the anti-tack agent is selected from the group consisting of fumed silica, talc, mica, clay, carbonate, zinc stearate, magnesium stearate, calcium stearate, potassium stearate, stearic acid, liquid lubricants, emulsified wax, and calcium silicate as taught by Kraska, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)]. Thereby having subjecting the photopolymer printing plate materials to UV-C light from a UV-C light source for a period of time, whereby the photopolymer printing plate materials are rendered less tacky and more brittle; and an anti-tack agent is added to a granulated product; and wherein an anti-tack agent is added to the granulated product after step d); and wherein the anti-tack agent is selected from the group consisting of fumed silica, talc, mica, clay, carbonate, zinc stearate, magnesium stearate, calcium stearate, potassium stearate, stearic acid, liquid lubricants, emulsified wax, and calcium silicate.
Regarding claim 3, Michael discloses wherein the step of shredding or chipping is performed (paragraph 0025).
Therefore, the modification of Michael in view of Kraska teaches the limitations of claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Michael discloses wherein the steps are performed in order (paragraph 0025).
Therefore, the modification of Michael in view of Kraska teaches the limitations of claim 4.
Regarding claims 5 and 23, Michael in view of Kraska does not disclose wherein the steps of grinding and screening are repeated at least once.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to Michael add the steps of grinding and screening as many times as needed to produce the desired product.
Regarding claims 6 and 24, Michael view of Kraska does not disclose wherein the screened particles above the certain size comprise polyethylene terephthalate, wherein the polyethylene terephthalate is in the form of flakes or particles (paragraph 0035);
Michael does not disclose having a size between about 3 mm and about 10 mm;
However, choosing the size of the openings of the screening is known in art and a matter routine design engineering design choice that depends on the required product size as desired;
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select the size of the openings of the screening as desired, including a size between about 3 mm and about 10 mm; in order to obtain product with specific size as desired.
Regarding claim 7, Michael discloses wherein the one or more cured photopolymer layers comprise a binder selected from styrene-isoprene-styrene and styrene-butadiene- styrene (paragraphs 0003 and 0007).
Therefore, the modification of Michael in view of Kraska teaches the limitations of claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Michael discloses wherein the binder comprises styrene-butadiene-styrene (paragraphs 0003 and 0007).
Therefore, the modification of Michael in view of Kraska teaches the limitations of claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Michael discloses wherein the one or more cured photopolymer layers are processed from liquid photoresins based on ethylenically unsaturated prepolymers selected from the group consisting of unsaturated polyester resins, unsaturated polyurethane resins, unsaturated polyamide resins, and unsaturated poly(meth) acrylate resins (paragraphs 0003 and 0007).
Therefore, the modification of Michael in view of Kraska teaches the limitations of claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, Michael discloses wherein the photoresin comprises an unsaturated polyurethane resin (paragraphs 0003 and 0007).
Therefore, the modification of Michael in view of Kraska teaches the limitations of claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, Michael discloses wherein the identifiable property is selected from the group consisting of type of binder, Shore A hardness of the photopolymer, printing plate gauge, and combinations of one or more of the foregoing (paragraphs 0003 and 0007).
Therefore, the modification of Michael in view of Kraska teaches the limitations of claim 12.
Regarding claims 13-15 and 31, Michael in view of Kraska does not disclose wherein the granulated product has a particle size of less than 20 mm; wherein the granulated product has a particle size of less than 10 mm; and wherein the granulated product has a particle size of less than 5 mm.
However, choosing the size of the openings of the screening is known in art and a matter routine design engineering design choice that depends the required product size as desired;
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select the size of the openings of the screening as desired, including wherein the granulated product has a particle size of less than 20 mm; wherein the granulated product has a particle size of less than 10 mm; and wherein the granulated product has a particle size of less than 5 mm; in order to obtain product with specific size as desired.
Regarding claim 19, Michael discloses further comprising the step of sorting the photopolymer printing plate materials based on an identifiable property prior to step a) (paragraphs 0022, 0026 and 0034).
Therefore, the modification of Michael in view of Kraska teaches the limitations of claim 19.
Regarding claim 21, Michael discloses wherein the step of shredding or chipping is performed (paragraph 0025).
Therefore, the modification of Michael in view of Kraska teaches the limitations of claim 21.
Regarding claim 22, Michael discloses wherein the steps are performed in order (paragraph 0025).
Therefore, the modification of Michael in view of Kraska teaches the limitations of claim 22.
Regarding claim 25, Michael discloses wherein the one or more cured photopolymer layers comprise a binder selected from styrene-isoprene-styrene and styrene-butadiene- styrene (paragraphs 0003 and 0007).
Therefore, the modification of Michael in view of Kraska teaches the limitations of claim 25.
Regarding claim 26, Michael discloses wherein the binder comprises styrene-butadiene- styrene (paragraphs 0003 and 0007).
Therefore, the modification of Michael in view of Kraska teaches the limitations of claim 26.
Regarding claim 27, Michael discloses wherein the one or more cured photopolymer layers are processed from liquid photoresins based on ethylenically unsaturated prepolymers selected from the group consisting of unsaturated polyester resins, unsaturated polyurethane resins, unsaturated polyamide resins, and unsaturated poly(meth)acrylate resins (paragraphs 0003 and 0007).
Therefore, the modification of Michael in view of Kraska teaches the limitations of claim 27.
Regarding claim 28, Michael discloses wherein the photoresin comprises an unsaturated polyurethane resin (paragraphs 0003 and 0007).
Therefore, the modification of Michael in view of Kraska teaches the limitations of claim 28.
Regarding claim 30, Michael discloses wherein the identifiable property is selected from the group consisting of type of binder, Shore A hardness of the photopolymer, printing plate gauge, and combinations of one or more of the foregoing resin (paragraphs 0003 and 0007).
Therefore, the modification of Michael in view of Kraska teaches the limitations of claim 30.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 11 and 29, the closet prior art is Michael (EP2767377A1), however in the opinion of the Examiner that the arts of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitation of “wherein the support layer is not removed from the one or more photopolymer layers prior to the grinding step” in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Claims 11 and 29 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11 and 29 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the double patenting rejection, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725