DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 35-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. A streamlined analysis of claim 35 follows.
STEP 1
Regarding claim 35, the claim recites a series of steps or acts, including calculating a likelihood that the patient suffers from a blast brain injury based on at least one of age, gender, and eye conjugacy. Thus, the claim is directed to a process, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
STEP 2A, PRONG ONE
The claim is then analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exception. The step of calculating a likelihood that the patient suffers from a blast brain injury based on at least one of age, gender, and eye conjugacy sets forth a judicial exception. This step describes a mathematical concept. Thus, the claim is drawn to a Mental Process, which is an Abstract Idea.
STEP 2A, PRONG TWO
Next, the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim fails to recite an additional element or a combination of additional elements to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limitation on the judicial exception. The calculation of the likelihood that the patient suffers from a blast brain injury does not provide an improvement to the technological field, the method does not effect a particular treatment or effect a particular change based on the calculated likelihood, nor does the method use a particular machine to perform the Abstract Idea.
STEP 2B
Next, the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine whether any element, or combination of elements, is sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the exception. Claim 35 recites a step of analyzing eye movement of the at least one eye of the patient in response to the visual stimulus on the display and comparing to a baseline which is another abstract idea in the form of a mental process. Besides the Abstract Ideas, the claim recites additional steps of providing a display for presenting a visual stimulus and a camera; seating the patient a predetermined distance away from the display; presenting a video on the display to the patient; and tracking eye movement of at least one eye of the patient using the camera as the subject watches the video on the display and responds to the visual stimulus. Obtaining eye tracking data using a video display is well-understood, routine and conventional activity for those in the field of medical diagnostics. Further, the presenting, seating, and tracking steps are each recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to insignificant presolution activity, e.g., mere data gathering step necessary to perform the Abstract Idea. When recited at this high level of generality, there is no meaningful limitation, such as a particular or unconventional step that distinguishes it from well-understood, routine, and conventional data gathering and comparing activity engaged in by medical professionals prior to Applicant's invention. Furthermore, it is well established that the mere physical or tangible nature of additional elements such as the obtaining and comparing steps do not automatically confer eligibility on a claim directed to an abstract idea (see, e.g., Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 134 S.Ct. 2347, 2358-59 (2014)).
Consideration of the additional elements as a combination also adds no other meaningful limitations to the exception not already present when the elements are considered separately. Unlike the eligible claim in Diehr in which the elements limiting the exception are individually conventional, but taken together act in concert to improve a technical field, the claim here does not provide an improvement to the technical field. Even when viewed as a combination, the additional elements fail to transform the exception into a patent-eligible application of that exception. Thus, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself. The claim is therefore drawn to non-statutory subject matter.
The dependent claims also fail to add something more to the abstract independent claims as they generally recite method steps pertaining to data gathering and Abstract Ideas. Claims 36-37 recite mere data gathering steps necessary to perform the Abstract Idea. Claims 38-43 are abstract ideas in the form of mental processes or mathematical concepts. The steps recited in the independent claims maintain a high level of generality even when considered in combination with the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 35-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samadani (US 20160278716 A1 – previously cited) in view of Rennaker (US 20150245766 A1– previously cited).
In regards to claim 35 Samadani teaches a method for identifying whether a patient has been exposed to a blast or a pressure wave or a sonic wave by ([0148]):
(a) providing a display for presenting a visual stimulus and a camera ([0191][0264]);
(b) seating the patient a predetermined distance away from the display ([0372]);
(c) presenting a video on the display to the patient ([0265]);
(d) tracking eye movement of at least one eye of the patient using the camera as the subject watches the video on the display and responds to the visual stimulus ([0262]);
(e) analyzing eye movement of the at least one eye of the patient in response to the visual stimulus on the display and comparing to a baseline ([0030]);
(f) calculating a likelihood that the patient suffers from a blast brain injury based on eye conjugacy ([0147-0148]).
Samadani fails to teach calculating a blast impact score. Rennaker teaches calculating a blast impact score based on the movement of a user’s pupil ([0011] “numeric score indicative of a level of impairment” is a blast impact score). It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Samdani to include a step of calculating a score indicative of a level of impairment in order to track subtle changes in neurophysiological status (Rennaker [0005]).
In regards to claim 36 modified Samadani teaches the method according to claim 35,wherein at least about 100,000 samples of eye position are obtained (Samadani [0154]).
In regards to claim 37 modified Samadani teaches the method according to claim 35, wherein eye movement is tracked for a period of from about 30 to about 500 seconds (Samadani [0154]).
In regards to claim 38 modified Samadani teaches the method according to claim 35,wherein analyzing eye movement of the at least one eye comprises generating and plotting pairs of (x,y) values representing two components of instantaneous angle of pupil reflection (horizontal, vertical) over a period of time (Samadani [0200]).
In regards to claim 39 modified Samadani teaches the method according to claim 35,wherein analyzing eye movement of the at least one eye comprises generating a figure that reflects a trajectory traveled by the at least one eye (Samadani [0193]).
In regards to claim 40 modified Samadani teaches the method according to claim 35. further comprising identifying the patient as having eye movement of a first eye that is significantly different from eye movement of a second eye by identifying patients having a movement measure outlying the bell curve of normal (Samadani [0293] and claim 7).
In regards to claim 41 modified Samadani teaches the method according to claim 35. Samdani fails to teach further comprising calculating a blast impact score, and wherein a blast impact score of greater than or equal to 10.75 indicates the presence of a blast brain injury. ([0011] “numeric score indicative of a level of impairment” is a blast impact score).
Claim(s) 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samadani (US 20160278716 A1– previously cited) in view of Rennaker (US 20150245766 A1– previously cited) as applied to claim 41, in view of Kirk (Generation and Analysis of Blast Waves from a Compressed Air-Driven Shock Tube– previously cited).
In regards to claim 42 modified Samadani teaches the method according to claim 41. Modified Samadani fails to explicitly teach correlating the blast impact score with the patient's distance from a blast epicenter. Inherently the higher the blast impact score, the higher the impact the patient suffered. Kirk teaches that intensity of a blast wave’s shock front decays exponentially with distance to the explosion (Figure 1). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary kill in the art, to determine that the blast impact score of modified Samadani correlates to the distance from the blast epicenter as the blast epicenter outputs the highest force and it decays the further the distance is from the epicenter.
Examiner’s Note
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Baxter (Pituitary Dysfunction after Blast Traumatic Brain Injury: The UK BIOSAP Study – previously cited) teaches a blast impact score, and wherein a blast impact score of greater than 10.75 indicates the presence of a blast brain injury (table 2 ISS in blast related TBI patients is 20-45).
In regards to claim 43, none of the prior art teaches or suggests, either alone or in combination, a device or method wherein the blast impact score is calculated to be equal to exp(y)/(1+exp(y))*100, where y=-2.569133882+0.01245639*age-0.517373229*gender 16.57131011*conjvarXtop+0.057694955*age*gender-2060.801989*gender*conjvarXtop, where gender is 1 if male, and 0 if female, in combination with the other steps. While claim 43 contains no prior art rejections, it is not in condition for allowance due to its rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant contends that the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 is moot. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Steps (a)-(c) of claim 35 merely recites insignificant presolution activity, e.g., mere data gathering step necessary to perform the Abstract Idea. Regarding claims (d)-(e) Applicant contends that a human mind could not perform steps (d)-(e) as they are performed in real-time simultaneously. Examiner contends that the claims as written do not teach steps (d)-(e) being performed simultaneously. Applicant contends step (f) requires a calculation which would then make it a mathematical concept which is also an abstract idea. Furthermore, the blast impact score is merely calculated and does not effect a particular treatment or change like the example cited by the applicant. Examiner suggests amending claim 35 to include “enrolling the patient to in therapy and/or advising avoid re-injury based on the blast impact score being greater than a threshold” as taught by paragraph [0032] and Fig.4 of the provided specification in order to overcome the 101 rejection.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 04/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 35-40 under Samadani (US 20160278716 A1 – previously cited) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Samadani (US 20160278716 A1 – previously cited) in view of Rennaker (US 20150245766 A1– previously cited).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUCY EPPERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ADAM J EISEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791