DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 25 Nov 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-12 and 14-16 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 24 Sept 2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the multiple valve bodies each include a lever arm pivotally mounted to the housing, the lever arm including first and second ends opposite one another, the first end engaging the cam profile, and the second end supporting a seal configured to move between the open and closed positions in response to the cam profile” from Claim 14, along with the “wherein the disc is a first disc, the cam profile is a first cam profile, and comprising a second disc having a second cam profile, the multiple valve bodies operatively connected to the first and second cam profiles to be selectively movable between open and closed positions in response thereto, wherein the first and second discs are respectively driven by first and second drive lugs” from Claim 1, from which Claim 14 depends must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1, line 14 “between open and closed positions” should likely read “between the open and closed positions”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitations “wherein the multiple valve bodies each include a lever arm pivotally mounted to the housing, the lever arm including first and second ends opposite one another, the first end engaging the cam profile, and the second end supporting a seal configured to move between the open and closed positions in response to the cam profile”. This limitation is unclear because it is unclear how the lever arm operates and functions with the first and second discs with first and second cam profiles recited in independent Claim 1. This limitation lacks support in the application as originally filed and therefore is being treated as new matter.
Claims 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the opening" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitations “wherein the multiple valve bodies each include a lever arm pivotally mounted to the housing, the lever arm including first and second ends opposite one another, the first end engaging the cam profile, and the second end supporting a seal configured to move between the open and closed positions in response to the cam profile”. This limitation is unclear because it is unclear how the lever arm operates and functions with the first and second discs with first and second cam profiles recited in independent Claim 1. Therefore, this limitation is unclear.
Additionally, the limitations of Claim 14 lack antecedent basis within the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 9-10 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gould et al (US 4570663).
Regarding Claim 1, Gould et al disclose a distributor valve1 (Figures 6-12) for a vehicle cooling system2. The valve comprising:
a housing (3) providing multiple ports (via 10) in fluid communication with a cavity (within the housing);
a disc (71 generally) arranged within the cavity (Figure 6) and configured to be rotatable about an axis (about 52), the disc (71 generally) including a cam profile (Figures 7 and 12; Col 7, lines 7-14);
multiple valve bodies (56) operatively interconnected to the cam profile (Figure 6; Col 7, lines 15-23), each of the multiple valve bodies provided at corresponding one of the multiple ports (Figure 6 at 10) and configured to be selectively movable between open and closed positions in response to the cam profile (Col 7, lines 15-23), wherein any of the multiple ports having its respective valve body in the open position being in fluid communication with the cavity (Col 7, lines 7-14), and any of the multiple ports having its respective valve body in the closed position being fluidly blocked from the cavity (Col 7, lines 15-23);
and wherein the disc is a first disc (Figure 7), the cam profile is a first cam profile (Figure 7), and comprising a second disc (53) having a second cam profile (Col 7, lines 7-14), the multiple valve bodies operatively connected to the first and second cam profiles to be selectively movable between open and closed positions in response thereto (Figure 7; Col 7, lines 7-23), wherein the first and second discs are respectively driven by first (79) and second (80) drive lugs (Figure 7).
Regarding Claim 3, Gould et al disclose where the cam profile (of disc 71 shown in Figure 12) is configured to slideably engage the valve body (Figure 6), the cam profile includes at least one peak (71-A) and at least one valley (75) interconnected by a ramped surface (74).
Regarding Claim 4, Gould et al disclose where the at least one valley (75) corresponds to the open position (Figure 6; Col 7, lines 24-30), and the at least one peak corresponds to the closed position (Figure 6; Col 7, lines 24-30).
Regarding Claim 9, Gould et al disclose where one of the disc and the housing includes a pilot (the housing provides a pilot as shown in Figure 9 on hosing part 6 into which shaft 52 is inserted), and the other of the disc and the housing includes a collar (73 in Figure 6, located on the disc) that is nested with the pilot to provide a bearing (Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 10, Gould et al disclose wherein the first (79) and second (80) drive lugs are concentric with one another (Figures 6-7).
Regarding Claim 16, Gould et al disclose where the first (79) and second (80) drive lugs are connected to a common actuator (Figure 6 to the impeller).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gould et al (US 4570663) in view of Carson et al (US 3040777).
Regarding Claim 2, Gould et al disclose the valve comprising an actuator (the impeller shown in Figure 6) and a gear train (27 generally in Figure 6), the actuator mounted to the housing (Figure 6) and coupled to the disc via the gear train (Figure 6), but fails to expressly disclose where the actuator includes a motor.
Carson et al teach a fluid rotary valve (Figure 1) with an actuator where the actuator includes a motor (Col 7, lines 7-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuator of Gould et al with the motor as taught by Carson et al for the advantage of combining prior art elements according to known methods (the motor of Carson et al, where Carson et al recognize that a motor or turbine may be utilized for the turbine of Gould et al) to yield predictable results (to power the rotary/distribution valve).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gould et al (US 4570663) in view of Brown, Jr (US 2575940).
Regarding Claim 11, Gould et al disclose all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly disclose a seal arranged in the opening between one of the first and second drive lugs and the housing.
Brown Jr teaches a disc (20) with a drive lug (7), a housing (17) and an actuator (41) with a seal (22) arranged in the opening between the drive lug (7) and the housing (17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drive lug of Gould et al with the seal as taught by Brown Jr for the advantage of keeping the interaction between the drive lug and the housing watertight, as taught by Brown Jr (Col 2, lines 28-30).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable as obvious over Gould et al (US 4570663).
Regarding Claim 12, Gould et al disclose all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly teach where at least one of the multiple ports is provided without a valve body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a port without a valve body, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to allow unrestricted flow of fluid from between two or more ports.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment has overcome the rejection of record. However, a new ground of rejection is applied to the amended claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 is allowed.
Claim 15 is indicated as allowed for claiming, along with the entirety of the claim limitations, “a spring arranged between the housing and the first end and configured to bias the lever arm into engagement with the cam profile”. This limitation is neither anticipated by, nor rendered obvious over, the prior art of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE GARDNER/
Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/REINALDO SANCHEZ-MEDINA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753
1 The recitation of the actual fluid handled (here: coolant) has been given no patentable weight in the apparatus claims, MPEP 2115.
2 The recitation “for a vehicle cooling system” has not been given patentable weight because the recitation occurs in the preamble. A preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951).