DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 12 and 19 are objected to because of informalities.
Claims 1, 12 and 19 recite the phrase: “wherein the first polarized filter layer configured”. It is believed that this phrase was intended to recite: “wherein the first polarized filter layer is configured”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noba et al., WO 2005/002893 A1 (page number citations below are to the English translation retrieved from https://worldwide.espacenet.com/ on January 6, 2026 and provided herewith).
Regarding Claim 1, as best understood, Noba discloses: A tunable anti-glare filter for adjusting an intensity of light passing through the tunable anti-glare filter, the tunable anti-glare filter comprising (the Office notes that the term “comprising” is an open-ended transitional phrase which permits additional elements or features):
a first polarized filter layer configured to rotate about a center axis relative to a substrate (polarizing plate 14 is rotatable, relative to base plate 3, along the inner peripheral surface of a housing portion 10 by pinching and rotating the operation knob 15; pages 3, 4 and FIGS. 1, 2 of Noba); and
a second polarized filter layer that is substantially parallel to the first polarized filter layer and that is fixed relative to the substrate (polarizing film 11 is parallel to polarizing plate 14 and is attached to the inner surface of the housing 10 [and thus also fixed relative to base plate 3]; pages 3, 4 and FIGS. 1, 2 of Noba);
wherein the first polarized filter layer [is] configured to rotate between a first extreme position and a second extreme position that is shifted 90 degrees about the center axis (“clear” setting [high transmittance] when knob 15 is used to rotate polarizing plate 14 to a left-side position of notch window 13, versus a “dark” setting when knob 15 is used to rotate polarizing plate 14 to a right-side position of notch window 13, wherein notch window 13 is formed in a range of about 90 degrees [one-quarter rotation] at an angle from the center; pages 3, 4 and FIGS. 1, 2, 6-8 of Noba).
Regarding Claim 2, Noba discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein, in the first extreme position, the intensity of the light passing through the first polarized filter layer and the second polarized filter layer is substantially unobstructed (“clear” setting [high transmittance] when knob 15 is used to rotate polarizing plate 14 to a left-side position of notch window 13; pages 3, 4 and FIGS. 1, 2 of Noba).
Regarding Claim 3, Noba discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein, in the second extreme position, the intensity of the light passing through the first polarized filter layer and the second polarized filter layer is substantially blocked (“dark” setting when knob 15 is used to rotate polarizing plate 14 to a right-side position of notch window 13; pages 3, 4 and FIGS. 1, 2 of Noba).
Regarding Claim 4, Noba discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: further comprising a retaining ring, wherein the second polarized filter layer is fixedly coupled to the substrate via the retaining ring (movable plate 8, having a circular housing portion 10 therein, contains polarizing film 11 being attached to the inner surface of the housing 10 and thus also fixed relative to base plate 3, but see also shaft 28 of FIGS. 7, 8, wherein polarizing plate 14 may be configured to be rotatable around the shaft 28; pages 3-5 and FIGS. 1, 2, 6-8 of Noba).
Regarding Claim 5, Noba discloses the limitations of Claim 4 and further discloses: wherein the second polarized filter layer, the substrate, and the retaining ring define a cavity (polarizing plate 14 is positioned within a cavity defined by polarizing film 11, base plate 3, and movable plate 8 having a circular housing portion 10 therein; pages 3-5 and FIGS. 1, 2, 6-8 of Noba).
Regarding Claim 6, Noba discloses the limitations of Claim 5 and further discloses: wherein the first polarized filter layer is positioned within the cavity (polarizing plate 14 is positioned within a cavity defined by polarizing film 11, base plate 3, and movable plate 8 having a circular housing portion 10 therein; pages 3-5 and FIGS. 1, 2, 6-8 of Noba).
Regarding Claim 7, Noba discloses the limitations of Claim 6 and further discloses: wherein the first polarized filter layer further comprises a dial tab configured to pass through a dial slot formed in the second polarized filter layer (polarizing plate 14 further comprises operation knob 15 which projects from a dial slot formed in polarizing film 11; pages 3-5 and FIGS. 1, 2, 6-8 of Noba).
Regarding Claim 8, Noba discloses the limitations of Claim 7 and further discloses: wherein the dial slot is an arcuate slot that has an arc length of 90 degrees (notch window 13, having operation knob 15 therein, is formed in an arc length range of about 90 degrees [one-quarter rotation] at an angle from the center; pages 3, 4 and FIGS. 1, 2 of Noba).
Regarding Claim 9, Noba discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein the substrate is a layer of clear, rigid material (base plate 3 may comprise a transparent synthetic resin; page 3 and FIGS. 1, 2 of Noba).
Regarding Claim 10, Noba discloses the limitations of Claim 9 and further discloses: wherein the substrate comprises one or more fasteners to couple the tunable anti-glare filter to a vehicle (base plate 3 may be secured to a vehicle via shaft portions 3a, 3b, stay 5, and holding member 6; page 3 and FIGS. 1, 2 of Noba).
Regarding Claims 1 and 11, as best understood, Noba discloses: A tunable anti-glare filter for adjusting an intensity of light passing through the tunable anti-glare filter, the tunable anti-glare filter comprising (the Office notes that the term “comprising” is an open-ended transitional phrase which permits additional elements or features):
a first polarized filter layer configured to rotate about a center axis relative to a substrate (polarizing plate 14 is rotatable, relative to a vehicle windshield 1, along the inner peripheral surface of a housing portion 10 by pinching and rotating the operation knob 15; pages 3, 4 and FIGS. 1, 2 of Noba); and
a second polarized filter layer that is substantially parallel to the first polarized filter layer and that is fixed relative to the substrate (polarizing film 11 is parallel to polarizing plate 14 and is fixed relative to vehicle windshield 1 via shaft portions 3a, 3b, stay 5, and holding member 6, which retain base plate 3; page 3 and FIGS. 1, 2 of Noba);
wherein the first polarized filter layer [is] configured to rotate between a first extreme position and a second extreme position that is shifted 90 degrees about the center axis (“clear” setting [high transmittance] when knob 15 is used to rotate polarizing plate 14 to a left-side position of notch window 13, versus a “dark” setting when knob 15 is used to rotate polarizing plate 14 to a right-side position of notch window 13, wherein notch window 13 is formed in a range of about 90 degrees [one-quarter rotation] at an angle from the center; pages 3, 4 and FIGS. 1, 2, 6-8 of Noba);
wherein the substrate is a glass component of a vehicle ().
Regarding Claim 12, as best understood, Noba discloses: A tunable anti-glare filter for adjusting an intensity of light passing through the tunable anti-glare filter, the tunable anti-glare filter comprising (the Office notes that the term “comprising” is an open-ended transitional phrase which permits additional elements or features):
a first polarized filter layer configured to rotate about a center axis relative to a substrate (polarizing plate 14 is rotatable, relative to base plate 3, along the inner peripheral surface of a housing portion 10 by pinching and rotating the operation knob 15; pages 3, 4 and FIGS. 1, 2 of Noba); and
a second polarized filter layer that is substantially parallel to the first polarized filter layer and that is fixed relative to the substrate (polarizing film 11 is parallel to polarizing plate 14 and is attached to the inner surface of the housing 10 [and thus also fixed relative to base plate 3]; pages 3, 4 and FIGS. 1, 2 of Noba);
wherein the first polarized filter layer [is] configured to rotate about the center axis between a first extreme position where the intensity of the light passing through the first polarized filter layer and the second polarized filter layer is substantially unobstructed, and a second extreme position where the intensity of the light passing through the first polarized filter layer and the second polarized filter layer is substantially blocked (“clear” setting [high transmittance] when knob 15 is used to rotate polarizing plate 14 to a left-side position of notch window 13, versus a “dark” setting when knob 15 is used to rotate polarizing plate 14 to a right-side position of notch window 13, wherein notch window 13 is formed in a range of about 90 degrees [one-quarter rotation] at an angle from the center; pages 3, 4 and FIGS. 1, 2, 6-8 of Noba).
Regarding Claim 13, Noba discloses the limitations of Claim 12 and further discloses: wherein the first extreme position and the second extreme position are shifted 90 degrees about the center axis (notch window 13 is formed in a range of about 90 degrees [one-quarter rotation] at an angle from the center; pages 3, 4 and FIGS. 1, 2, 6-8 of Noba).
Regarding Claim 14, Noba discloses the limitations of Claim 12 and further discloses: further comprising a retaining ring, wherein the second polarized filter layer is fixedly coupled to the substrate via the retaining ring (movable plate 8, having a circular housing portion 10 therein, contains polarizing film 11 being attached to the inner surface of the housing 10 and thus also fixed relative to base plate 3, but see also shaft 28 of FIGS. 7, 8, wherein polarizing plate 14 may be configured to be rotatable around the shaft 28; pages 3-5 and FIGS. 1, 2, 6-8 of Noba).
Regarding Claim 15, Noba discloses the limitations of Claim 14 and further discloses: wherein the second polarized filter layer, the substrate, and the retaining ring define a cavity (polarizing plate 14 is positioned within a cavity defined by polarizing film 11, base plate 3, and movable plate 8 having a circular housing portion 10 therein; pages 3-5 and FIGS. 1, 2, 6-8 of Noba).
Regarding Claim 16, Noba discloses the limitations of Claim 15 and further discloses: wherein the first polarized filter layer is positioned within the cavity (polarizing plate 14 is positioned within a cavity defined by polarizing film 11, base plate 3, and movable plate 8 having a circular housing portion 10 therein; pages 3-5 and FIGS. 1, 2, 6-8 of Noba).
Regarding Claim 17, Noba discloses the limitations of Claim 16 and further discloses: wherein the first polarized filter layer further comprises a dial tab configured to pass through a dial slot formed in the second polarized filter layer (polarizing plate 14 further comprises operation knob 15 which projects from a dial slot formed in polarizing film 11; pages 3-5 and FIGS. 1, 2, 6-8 of Noba).
Regarding Claim 18, Noba discloses the limitations of Claim 17 and further discloses: wherein the dial slot is an arcuate slot that has an arc length of 90 degrees (notch window 13, having operation knob 15 therein, is formed in an arc length range of about 90 degrees [one-quarter rotation] at an angle from the center; pages 3, 4 and FIGS. 1, 2 of Noba).
Regarding Claim 19, as best understood, Noba discloses: A tunable anti-glare filter for adjusting an intensity of light passing through the tunable anti-glare filter, the tunable anti-glare filter comprising (the Office notes that the term “comprising” is an open-ended transitional phrase which permits additional elements or features):
a first polarized filter layer configured to rotate about a center axis relative to a substrate (polarizing plate 14 is rotatable, relative to base plate 3, along the inner peripheral surface of a housing portion 10 by pinching and rotating the operation knob 15; pages 3, 4 and FIGS. 1, 2 of Noba); and
a second polarized filter layer that is substantially parallel to the first polarized filter layer and that is fixed relative to the substrate (polarizing film 11 is parallel to polarizing plate 14 and is attached to the inner surface of the housing 10 [and thus also fixed relative to base plate 3]; pages 3, 4 and FIGS. 1, 2 of Noba);
wherein the first polarized filter layer [is] configured to rotate about the center axis between:
a first extreme position where the intensity of the light passing through the first polarized filter layer and the second polarized filter layer is substantially unobstructed (“clear” setting [high transmittance] when knob 15 is used to rotate polarizing plate 14 to a left-side position of notch window 13; pages 3, 4 and FIGS. 1, 2 of Noba); and
a second extreme position where the intensity of the light passing through the first polarized filter layer and the second polarized filter layer is substantially blocked (“dark” setting when knob 15 is used to rotate polarizing plate 14 to a right-side position of notch window 13; pages 3, 4 and FIGS. 1, 2 of Noba); and
wherein the first extreme position and the second extreme position are shifted 90 degrees about the center axis (notch window 13 is formed in a range of about 90 degrees [one-quarter rotation] at an angle from the center; pages 3, 4 and FIGS. 1, 2 of Noba).
Regarding Claim 20, Noba discloses the limitations of Claim 19 and further discloses: wherein the first polarized filter layer is positioned within a cavity defined by the second polarized filter layer, the substrate, and a retaining ring, and wherein the first polarized filter layer further comprises a dial tab configured to pass through a dial slot formed in the second polarized filter layer (polarizing plate 14 is positioned within a cavity defined by polarizing film 11, base plate 3, and movable plate 8 having a circular housing portion 10 therein [but see also shaft 28 of FIGS. 7, 8, wherein polarizing plate 14 may be configured to be rotatable around the shaft 28], and wherein polarizing plate 14 further comprises operation knob 15 which projects from a dial slot formed in polarizing film 11; pages 3-5 and FIGS. 1, 2, 6-8 of Noba).
Related Art
The following reference is cited to show an example of vehicle sun visors having adjustable light transmittance via dual polarizing films, one of which is stationary and the other of which is rotatable: U.S. Pat. No. 2,856,810 of Frost (issued October 21, 1958).
Examiner Note – Consider Entirety of Reference
Although various text and figures of the cited reference have been specifically cited in this Office Action to show disclosures and teachings which correspond to specific claim language, Applicant is advised to consider the complete disclosure of the reference, including portions which have not been specifically cited by the Examiner.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN S DUNNING whose telephone number is 571-272-4879. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Friday 10:30AM to 7:00PM Eastern Time Zone. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice
/RYAN S DUNNING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872