DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species III (fig6- Claims 1-8) in the reply filed on 1/29/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claim 1 is a generic claim that reads on the elected Species III and on the non-elected Species I, IV-XII. This is found persuasive because claim 1 recites limitations that are shared in Species I, III, IV-XII.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a vehicle to be serviced” in line 2 should be corrected as --[[a]]the vehicle to be serviced--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 4 recites “wherein the controller is disposed proximate the body” which is already recited in claim 1 (which upon claim 4 depends) on line 7. Claim 4 does not further define any structural limitations of the instant invention, the lifting device. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Smith et al (US 2020/0377354 A1).
Regarding claim 1, as seen in fig1, Smith et al (‘354) discloses a lifting device (abstract, fig1), comprising:
a body 12 (para[0029]), the body 29 being configured for positioning the body 29 proximate a vehicle (para[0030], “selectively positioned with relative ease, as may be desired to accommodate different vehicles”);
a lifting mechanism (para[0031], “a lift mechanism”, fig1) depending from the body 4;
a battery 44 (para[0037]) disposed proximate the body 12;
an electro-hydraulic pump 28 (para[0032],[0037], “each battery 44 is operable to power the pump”) disposed proximate the body 12 in electrical communication with the battery 44 (para[0037]); and
a controller 14,36 (para[0029],[0034],[0035]) disposed proximate the body 12 (fig1) in electrical communication (para[0037],[0038]) with the electro-hydraulic pump 28 and the battery 44 (para[0034],[0037]);
wherein, when the controller 14,36 is activated, the battery 44 is activated to power the electro-hydraulic pump 28 to change a position of the lifting mechanism relative to the vehicle (para[0034],[0037]).
Regarding claim 2, Smith et al discloses the lifting device as in Claim 1, wherein the battery 44 is rechargeable (para[0037], “the batteries 44 are rechargeable”).
Regarding claim 4¸ Smith et al discloses the lifting device as in Claim 1, wherein the controller 14,36 is disposed proximate the body 12 (fig1).
Regarding claim 5, Smith et al discloses the lifting device as in Claim 1, wherein the controller 14,36 is spaced apart from the lifting mechanism (para[0029]), the controller 14,36 being further configured as a remote controller 14 (para[0038]) in wireless communication with the electro-hydraulic pump 28 and the batter 44 (para[0036],[0038], abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Smith et al discloses the lifting device as in Claim 1, wherein the controller 14,36 is in wireless communication with the battery 44 and the pump 28 (para[0036],[0038], abstract) to control the position of the lifting mechanism relative to the underside of the vehicle (para[0029],[0036],[0038], abstract).
Regarding claim 7¸ Smith et al discloses the lifting device as in Claim 1, wherein the body 12 is selected from the group comprising an under vehicle handler, a crane, a jack (fig1), a press, a lift bridge, a stand and combinations of.
Regarding claim 8¸ Smith et al discloses the lifting device as in Claim 1, further comprising a wheel 20 (para[0030]) attached to the body 12, the wheel 20 being configured to position the body 12 proximate the vehicle to be serviced (para[0030]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al (US 2020/0377354 A1) in view of Chandra (US 2023/0202816 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Smith et al discloses the lifting device as in Claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose a use of a charging port of the battery. It is noted that Smith et al discloses that the battery 44 is rechargeable (para[0037]). Chandra (‘816) teaches a use of a charging port 38 (para[0019]) used to charge a battery 36 (para[0019]) of a lifting device so that the charging port 38 may receive a charge cord to charge a rechargeable battery (claim3 of Chandra). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smith et al to use a charging port, as taught by Chandra, for the purpose of receiving a charge cord to charge the rechargeable battery.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhou et al (US 2014/0326934 A1), Stapensea et al (US 2016/0152454 A1), Boudreau (US 2016/0214839 A1), Van Houten (US 2018/0194601 A1), Horn (US 2022/0371865 A1), Kung (US 2023/0348243 A1), Gaarder (3,907,252), Yamagishi (4,513,950), Hsu et al (4,598,898), and Chung (4,746,097) teach similar lifting devices.
/SEAHEE HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723