DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of 04/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-20 are presented.
Claims 1, 11, and 17 are presented in independent form and are amended.
Claims 7-10 and 18-20 remain withdrawn.
The present Office action treats claims 1-6 and 11-17 on the merits.
The present Office action is a final rejection.
Specification Amendment
A specification amendment of 04/16/2026 is acknowledged. This amendment is acceptable and is entered.
Drawings – Replacement sheets
Replacement sheets were received 04/16/2026. These sheets are acceptable and are entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s REMARKS of 04/16/2026 (see p. 9-14 of the reply) are fully considered.
Regarding Claim Objections: Applicant’s arguments are fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically, upon review of the amendment of 10/26/2026, Applicant’s remarks (p. 9 of the reply), and upon further review of the disclosure as filed, the claim objections applied in the previous Office action are overcome.
Regarding Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b): Applicant’s arguments are fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically, upon review of the amendment of 10/26/2026, Applicant’s remarks (p. 9-10 of the reply), and upon further review of the disclosure as filed, the 35 USC 112 rejection applied in the previous Office action is overcome.
Regarding Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102: Applicant’s arguments are fully considered Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103: Applicant’s arguments are fully considered Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 17 recites “the second density includes a gradual change in density that increases in a normal direction outward from a face of a user, through the cushion, to the support”, which is directed to or encompassing a human organism. This 35 USC 101 rejection could be overcome by reciting the face of a user functionally.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Hatfield, US 2020/0233453, previously cited] in view of [Wang, NPL 2018, newly cited].
Regarding claim 1:
Hatfield discloses:
a wearable device (head mounted display #100; see Figs. 8 and 8A), comprising:
a support (display unit #110 is a support); and
a cushion (facial interface #830 is a cushion; facial interfaces disclosed in Hatfield are configured to provide user comfort and stabilize the head-mounted display on the face of the user (paras 0003, 0038); Figs. 8 and 8A) that is coupled to the support (see Abstract; third sentence of Hatfield) and configured to engage an upper facial region, a lower facial region, and side facial regions of a user to block environmental light (see Fig. 8 and 8A; paras 0081-0082 of Hatfield-453; Examiner notes that the term "region" is very broad and merely means "any large, indefinite, and continuous part of a surface or space" (Defn. No. 1 of "Collins English Dictionary Complete and Unabridged, 12th Edition 2014" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com); para 0006 describes blocking environmental light from the eyes of the user), the cushion including:
a first portion (see Fig. 8; the four instances of discrete engagement regions #832 are collectively a first portion; Examiner notes that the term "portion" is very broad and merely means "a section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole" (Defn. No. 1 of "American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com) that is configured to engage the upper facial region (para 0081 describes how the discrete regions #832 are configured to apply different amounts of force or pressure to different areas of the user's face; the top four instances of#832 in Fig. 8 are shown to be configured to engage the arbitrary upper facial region of the user), the first portion having a first stiffness (para 0081 describes that the structures #834a can be foam blocks, which has some amount of stiffness attributed thereto) and a first thickness (a thickness of the first portion), and
a second portion (see lower instances of #832 in Fig. 8) configured to engage the lower facial region (lower instances of #832 in Fig. 8 are shown to be located to be able to engage an arbitrary lower facial region of the user), the second portion having a second stiffness (para 0081 describes that the structures #834a (while not all regions' elastomeric structures #834a are labeled in Fig. 8A, the "dot-dot lines" that depict the discrete regions that are occupied by the elastomeric structures carry over from Fig. 8 to 8A) can be foam blocks, which has some amount of stiffness attributed thereto) and a second thickness (a thickness of the second portion).
Hatfield does not expressly disclose wherein the first thickness is substantially equal to the second thickness.
It cannot be determined from Fig. 8 alone whether any thickness is substantially equal to another. Attention is drawn to para [0082] which recites the elastomeric structures 834a “may have different durometers and/or thicknesses to apply different force and/or pressure to the face of the user” such that Hatfield, in using the phrase “may have different durometers and/or thicknesses” (emphasis provided by Examiner) at least suggests the application of “different force and/or pressure to the face of the user” can be achieved when providing first and second thicknesses substantially equal to each other. In other words, usage of the term “and/or” at least suggests providing portions as having a same thickness with different physical properties so as to yield the “to apply different force and/or pressure to the face of the user”.
Moreover and in further view of Hatfield:
Hatfield Fig. 1B shows a cushion 130 wherein a first thickness of a first portion (see annotated Fig. 1A – a below) configured to engage an upper facial region is substantially equal (Fig. 1A) to a second thickness of a second portion (see annotated Fig. 1A – a below) configured to engage a lower facial region.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the wearable device of Hatfield Figs. 8 and 8A such that its first thickness is substantially equal to the second thickness in order to yield the predictable result of a wearable device that is configured to hold the support 110 away from the face of a user at a substantially equal distance away from the upper facial region and lower facial region of his head.
Hatfield does not expressly disclose wherein the first stiffness is at least four times greater than the second stiffness.
Hatfield is silent to specifying how much greater the stiffness of the first portion is relative to the second portion's stiffness (although, Hatfield does teach that the facial interface #130 may be configured to engage bony structures (such as the forehead area) with greater force/pressure than soft tissue regions (such as the temples, cheeks or sinus regions) of the user), and it cannot be determined from the Hatfield disclosure alone whether the first stiffness is at least four times greater than the second stiffness.
Wang teaches “prepared...foams” which are “excellent material for cushioning...foams for a range of practical applications such as...cushioning” (p. 9 lines 2-18) wherein a first stiffness (i.e. 4.74 +/- 0.08 MPa modulus from a compression test, p. 8 lines 4-11; Fig. 7; and the row containing “18PA-5SC” in Table 2) is at least four times greater than a second stiffness (either one of 1.05 +/- 0.06 or 1.02 +/- 0.07 modulus from a compression test; p. 8 lines 4-11; Fig. 7; and either of the rows containing “16PA-9SC” or “12PA-5SC”). Furthermore, in Wang, the first stiffness is afforded by a foam of relative higher density (i.e. 0.101 g/cm3; Table 2), and the second stiffness is afforded by a foam of relative lower density (i.e. 0.090 or 0.066; Table 2) such that Wang teaches foams of different densities that provide the different stiffnesses.
Wang is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of addressing discomfort in different regions of a face of a user than others (as explained by the inventor in para [0080] as filed) insofar as Wang is directed to “products...used in the field of...cushioning” (first full paragraph of p. 1); “material for cushioning” (p. 9 line 2); “practical applications such as...cushioning” (penultimate line of p. 9) via absorbing energy when a compressive stress is applied thereto (see Section 3.5 on p. 8-9) whereby the cushioning as described in Wang is such that the foams of Wang are capable of deforming and cushioning when a load is applied thereto such that the cushioning as described in Wang is capable of performing a cushioning function in a variety of contexts including a context of providing comfort thereby.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have designed the foam blocks in at least some of the top four instances of #832 in Hatfield (such as the leftmost and rightmost instances above the majority of eye orbital bones in Fig. 8) to have a stiffness level four times the stiffness level of the lower and side instances of #832 and a different density than the lower and side instances in Fig. 8 in order to apply the desired effect of having higher pressure/force applied to the bony areas (such as at least part of the forehead) and lower pressure/force applied to the soft tissue areas (such as the temples, cheek and sinus regions) of the users (see para 0081, last two sentences of Hatfield), and further since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges (i.e. “at least four times greater” is a range of the first stiffness being greater than or equal to 4 times the second stiffness) involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 2:
Hatfield in view of Wang teach The wearable device of claim1, as set forth above.
Hatfield further discloses wherein the cushion further includes third portions (see left and right side instances of #832 in Fig. 8) that are configured to engage the side facial regions (para 81 describes how the discrete regions #832 are configured to apply different amounts of force or pressure to different areas of the user’s face, and the left and right side instances of #832 in Fig. 8 are shown to be configured to engage side facial regions, respectively, of the user), wherein the third portions have a third stiffness (as explained above in addressing claim 1; refer to above treatment of claim 1) and a third thickness, wherein the first stiffness is at least four times greater than the third stiffness (as explained above in addressing claim 1; refer to above treatment of claim 1),
As applied to claim 1 above, the modified Hatfield does not meet the limitation wherein the first thickness is substantially equal to the third thickness.
However and in further view of Hatfield:
Hatfield Fig. 1B shows a cushion 130 wherein a thickness of the cushion is substantially equal in a side-to-side direction across the cushion such that a first thickness in a center of the cushion is substantially equal to a third thickness of a third portion configured to engage side facial regions.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Hatfield such that the first thickness is substantially equal to the third thickness in order to yield the predictable result of a wearable device that is configured to hold the support 110 away from the face of a user at a substantially equal distance away from the upper facial region and side facial regions of his head.
Regarding claim 3:
Hatfield in view of Wang teach the wearable device of claim 1, as set forth above.
The modified Hatfield further meets the limitations the first portion includes a right upper subportion having the first stiffness, a left upper subportion having the first stiffness (Fig. 8 shows there are two lateral elements #832 on the brow area, each being a left upper subportion and a right upper subportion, respectively), and a central upper subportion having a third stiffness (the two inner elements #832 at the brow area are, together, a central upper subportion; since the elements #832 are made of foam, they have some amount of stiffness (i.e. the center two brow instances #832 would be a third stiffness), the right upper subportion and the left upper subportion are configured to engage, respectively, a right upper facial subregion and a left upper facial subregion of the user above, respectively, a right eye and a left eye of the user, the central upper subportion is configured to engage a central upper facial subregion between the right upper facial subregion and the left upper facial subregion (as shown in Fig. 8), and the second portion includes a right lower subportion having the second stiffness and a left lower subportion having the second stiffness (Fig. 8 shows there are two lateral elements #832 on the bottom cheek area, each being a left lower subportion and a right lower subportion, respectively; since they are made of the softer foam for engaging with soft tissue, they have the second stiffness described above), wherein the right lower subportion and the left lower subportion are configured to engage, respectively, a right lower facial subregion and a left lower facial subregion below, respectively, the right eye and the left eye of the user (as shown in Fig. 8).
Hatfield, as noted above, does not go into explicit detail regarding the magnitude of difference in the stiffness of the discrete elements #832 such that Hatfield does not expressly disclose the first stiffness being at least four times greater than the third stiffness.
However, since there is a shallow inwardly-curved indentation between the left and right brow on a typical human face, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have used the softer stiffness foam in the middle two instances of the top elements #832 in order for the mask to better seal the space around the eyes (thus blocking light coming from above, more effectively), since a softer foam material would be able to conform to the aforementioned brow indentation than would a more rigid foam, and it would have been further obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have merely used the same softer foam for those two middle top instances of #832 as the side and lower facial regions' soft foam, which (via the modification described when addressing claim 1 above) have 4 times less stiffness than the stiffer lateral brow elements #832.
Regarding claim 4:
Hatfield in view of Wang teach the wearable device of claim 1, as set forth above.
The modified Hatfield further meets the limitation wherein the first portion of the cushion includes a first foam material of a first density that provides the first stiffness, and wherein the second portion of the cushion includes a second foam material of a second density that differs from the first density and that provides the second stiffness (refer to above treatment of claim 1 where the limitation is addressed; it is noted Wang teaches different densities of foam materials which provide different stiffnesses, and Hatfield as modified in above treatment of claim 1 includes the modification “at least some of the top four instances of #832 in Hatfield (such as the leftmost and rightmost instances above the majority of eye orbital bones in Fig. 8) to have a stiffness level four times the stiffness level of the lower and side instances of #832 and a different density than the lower and side instances in Fig. 8”; see above treatment of claim 1.
Regarding claim 5:
Hatfield in view of Wang teach the wearable device of claim 4, as set forth above.
As applied to claim 4 above, the limitation wherein the first foam material and the second foam material are formed from a common material type is not addressed.
However and in further view of Wang: Wang teaches first and second foam materials formed from a common material type (“polyamide (PA)”; Abstract; p. 8; table 2; Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Hatfield such that the first foam material and the second foam material are formed from a common material type in order to provide known materials for the facial interface and its different stiffness portions to achieve a comfortable seal on the user’s face in use.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Hatfield, US 2020/0233453] and [Wang, NPL 2018] as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of [Hammer, US 2021/0100969, previously cited].
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the modified device of Hatfield (i.e. Hatfield in view of Wang, as applied to claims 1 and 4 above) renders obvious all the limitations of claims 1 and 4, as set forth above, but it cannot be determined whether the first foam material and the second foam material are formed from a common material type (claim 5) or wherein the first foam material and the second foam material are formed from different material types (claim 6).
Hammer teaches a face mask with a seal made of foam, wherein there are portions with different densities (para 0191 of Hammer).
Hammer teaches that the portions with different densities may be different types of foam or the same type of foam (para 0191 of Hammer). Modified Hatfield and Hammer teach analogous inventions in the field of masks for contacting the face.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have formed the first and second foam materials with different densities from either a common type of foam, or from a different type of foam, as taught by Hammer, in order to provide alternative known materials for the facial interface and its different stiffness portions to achieve, in either case, a comfortable seal on the user's face, in use.
Claim(s) 11-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Hatfield, US 2020/0233453, previously cited] in view of [Kang, NPL 1998, newly cited].
Regarding claim 11:
Hatfield discloses a wearable device (head-mounted display #100; see Figs. 8 and 8A), comprising: a support (display unit #110 is a support); and a cushion (facial interface #830 is a cushion; facial interfaces disclosed in Hatfield are configured to provide user comfort and stabilize the head mounted display on the face of the user (paras 0003, 0038); Figs. 8 and 8A) that is coupled to the support (see Abstract; third sentence of Hatfield) and configured to engage an upper facial region above eyes of a user, a lower facial region below eyes of the user, and side facial regions to block environmental light from eyes of the user (see Fig. 8 and 8A; paras 0081-0082 of Hatfield; Examiner notes that the term "region" is very broad and merely means "any large, indefinite, and continuous part of a surface or space" (Defn. No. 1 of "Collins English Dictionary Complete and Unabridged, 12th Edition 2014" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com); para 0006 describes blocking environmental light from the eyes of the user), the cushion including:
a first portion that is configured to engage the upper facial region (see Figs. 8 and 8A; the four instances of discrete engagement regions #832 are collectively a first portion; paras 0081-0082 of Hatfield; Examiner notes that the term "portion" is very broad and merely means "a section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole" (Defn. No. 1 of "American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com); Examiner notes that the term "region" is very broad and merely means "any large, indefinite, and continuous part of a surface or space" (Defn. No. 1 of "Collins English Dictionary Complete and Unabridged, 12th Edition 2014" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com) the first portion having a first stiffness (para 0081 describes that the structures #834a can be foam blocks, which has some amount of stiffness attributed thereto), a second portion (see lower instances of #832 in Fig. 8) configured to engage the lower facial region (lower instances of #832 in Fig. 8 are shown to be located to be able to engage a lower facial region of the user below eyes of the user), the second portion having a second stiffness (para 0081 describes that the structures #834a (while not all regions' elastomeric structures #834a are labeled in Fig. 8A, the "dot-dot lines" that depict the discrete regions that are occupied by the elastomeric structures carry over from Fig. 8 to 8A) can be foam blocks, which has some amount of stiffness attributed thereto), wherein the first stiffness is greater than the second stiffness (Hatfield teaches that the facial interface #130 may be configured to engage bony structures (such as the forehead area) with greater force/pressure than soft tissue regions (such as the temples, cheeks or sinus regions) of the user, which is indicative of a greater stiffness in the first portion than in the second portion, with respect to the stiffness of the foam material), but is silent to voids extend into a surface of the cushion that is coupled to the support, wherein the voids are formed in the second portion to define the second stiffness, and wherein the first portion is free from the voids to define the first stiffness.
Kang teaches “foam cushions” wherein “Holes were drilled in foam cushions to lower their supporting properties...at...high pressure areas” (Abstract) and “hole-drilling seems to be...effective” for “altering the supportive properties of foam cushions for pressure relief” (Abstract) wherein voids extend into a surface of the cushion (“drilled through the foam” as opposed to “Drilling to various depths”; p. 60 col. 1 lines 28-30; Fig. 1), wherein the voids are formed in a second portion to define a second stiffness (as evidenced by the lower force values in the force deformation curves of a block “After drilling” vs. “Before drilling”; Figs. 4-5), and wherein a first portion is free from voids to define a first stiffness (i.e. a stiffness of an undrilled portion of the cushion, wherein it is noted “hole-drilling” is “to modify...supporting properties of foam cushions locally...for pressure relief” and the “drilling holes in foam” is “to modify...local supporting properties” (the paragraph spanning p. 52-53).
Kang is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of addressing discomfort in different regions of a face of a user than others (as explained by the inventor in para [0080] as filed) insofar as Kang is similarly addressing discomfort (as evidenced by a capability of “pressure relief”; col. 1 line 1 of p. 53) in different regions of a wearer’s body than others (i.e. “modify...local supporting properties”; col. 1 lines 5-6 of p. 53).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the foam material with the voids extending into a surface of the cushion that is coupled to the support, wherein the voids are formed in the second portion to define the second stiffness, and wherein the first portion is free from the voids to define the first stiffness as a material of choice for the foam in the facial interface of Hatfield in order to provide the variations in stiffness that can apply force/pressure in different amounts to the different parts of the face being contacted by the device.
As a result of the modification, the regions for the sides and bottom would have apertures included throughout (i.e. voids would impart the softer second stiffness for the second portion and would extend into a surface of the cushion that is coupled to the support (wherein it is noted every surface of the cushion is coupled to the support, either directly or indirectly, as evidenced by Hatfield Figs. 8 and 8a) to render those regions softer for better comfort for the wearer, as compared to the forehead regions that are bonier, as indicated by Hatfield.
Regarding claim 12:
The modified device of Hatfield (i.e. Hatfield in view of Kang, as applied to claim 11 above) renders obvious all the limitations of claim 11, as set forth above, and further that the cushion includes a foam material that provides the first stiffness in the first portion of the cushion, and wherein the foam material and the voids cooperate to provide the second stiffness in the second portion of the cushion (as noted above, Kang teaches the cushioning element can include foam, with apertures formed therein to provide a softer force-responsiveness (i.e. less stiffness) where the apertures are located as compared to regions without apertures (i.e. apertures constituting the voids)).
Regarding claim 13:
The modified device of Hatfield (i.e. Hatfield in view of Kang, as applied to claims 11 and 12 above) renders obvious all the limitations of claims 11 and 12, as set forth above, and further that the voids extend through the foam material from the support to a user-facing surface of the foam material
(Kang discloses that the apertures (i.e. voids) have two opposite ends that are open (p. 60 col. 1 lines 28-30; Fig. 1), which indicates that the voids in modified Hatfield would extend through the whole thickness of the foam from a front surface thereof to the opposite surface that would be attached to the display unit#110 (i.e. support)).
Regarding claim 14:
The modified device of Hatfield (i.e. Hatfield in view of Kang, as applied to claims 11 and 12 above) renders obvious all the limitations of claims 11 and 12, as set forth above.
Hatfield does not expressly disclose wherein the voids extend partially from the support through the foam material.
Rather, Kang discloses that the apertures (i.e. voids) have two opposite ends that are open (p. 60 col. 1 lines 28-30; Fig. 1), which indicates that the voids in modified Hatfield would extend through the whole thickness of the foam from a front surface thereof to the opposite surface that would be attached to the display unit#110 (i.e. support)).
However, and in further view of Kang: Kang teaches that although “holes were drilled through the foam”, “Drilling to various depths could also be explored” (p. 60 lines 28-30).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Hatfield such that the voids extend partially from the support through the foam material in order to provide an alternate configuration for the facial interface and its different stiffness portions to achieve a comfortable seal on the user’s face in use.
Regarding claim 16:
the modified device of Hatfield (i.e. Hatfield in view of Kang, as applied to claim 11 above) renders obvious all the limitations of claim 11, as set forth above, and further that the cushion includes a molded foam (Examiner notes that the verb term "mold" (i.e. "molded" being a past-tense version of an object that has had a molding action applied to it) is very broad and has a definition of "[t]o form into a particular shape; give shape to" (Verb Defn. No. 1.b. of" American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com)) structure having the first portion and the second portion, the first portion having a first density, and the second portion having a second density, wherein the first density is greater than the second density (Kang discloses that regions with different numbers of apertures (i.e. voids) have different densities; if the first portion is stiffer, then it would have a higher density than the second portion that is less stiff, since the first portion would have more mass per volume than the second portion).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Hatfield, US 2020/0233453] and [Kang, NPL 1998] as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of [Kohatsu, US 2016/0345667, previously cited].
Regarding claim 15:
The modified device of Hatfield (i.e. Hatfield in view of Kang) renders obvious all the limitations of claim 11, as set forth above.
Hatfield does not expressly disclose wherein the cushion includes a transition portion between the first portion and the second portion in which the voids gradually increase in length and are configured to define a gradual stiffness transition between the first stiffness and the second stiffness
However, Kohatsu teaches a wearable device (i.e. “article of footwear”; Abstract) wherein a cushion element 500 includes a transition portion (see Fig. 5) wherein voids lengths gradually decrease from a longest length at the edges of the element to a shortest length at the middle of the element and are configured to define a gradual stiffness transition between a first stiffness (i.e. a stiffness at the middle of the element) and a second stiffness (i.e. a stiffness at the edges of the element).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have applied this same effect in the modified device of Hatfield in order to transition from the higher stiffness region to a lower stiffness region in the facial interface (i.e. cushion), which would reasonably be expected to create a more conforming seal around the face, as compared to regions that would more abruptly change in stiffness when transitioning between one another).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Hatfield, US 2020/0233453, previously cited] in view of [Gingo, US 2011/0318529, newly cited] and [Des Ouches, US 2007/0157370, newly cited].
Regarding claim 17:
Hatfield discloses:
a wearable device (head mounted display #100; see Figs. 8 and 8A), comprising:
a support (display unit #110 is a support); and
a cushion (facial interface #830 is a cushion; facial interfaces disclosed in Hatfield are configured to provide user comfort and stabilize the head-mounted display on the face of the user (paras 0003, 0038); Figs. 8 and 8A) that is coupled to the support (see Abstract; third sentence of Hatfield) and configured to engage an upper facial region, a lower facial region, and side facial regions of a user to block environmental light (see Fig. 8 and 8A; paras 0081-0082 of Hatfield-453; Examiner notes that the term "region" is very broad and merely means "any large, indefinite, and continuous part of a surface or space" (Defn. No. 1 of "Collins English Dictionary Complete and Unabridged, 12th Edition 2014" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com); para 0006 describes blocking environmental light from the eyes of the user),
the cushion including a molded (Examiner notes that the verb term "mold" (i.e. "molded" being a past-tense version of an object that has had a molding action applied to it) is very broad and has a definition of "[t]o form into a particular shape; give shape to" (Verb Defn. No. 1.b. of" American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com)) foam (“foam”; para 82) structure 834a (i.e. the combined “elastomeric structures 834a”; para 82 are a foam structure) having a first portion (see Fig. 8; the four instances of discrete engagement regions #832 are collectively a first portion; Examiner notes that the term "portion" is very broad and merely means "a section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole" (Defn. No. 1 of "American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com) and a second portion (see lower instances of #832 in Fig. 8) arranged adjacent to each other in a cross section of the molded foam structure (Figs. 8 and 8A; it is noted neither is shown in cross-sectional view; however, the first portion and the second portion are adjacent to each other as evidenced in Figs. 8 and 8A such that the first portion and second portion are adjacent to each other in a cross section of the combined structures 834a that constitute the foam structure),
wherein the first portion is configured to engage an upper facial region above eyes of a user (para 0081 describes how the discrete regions #832 are configured to apply different amounts of force or pressure to different areas of the user's face; the top four instances of#832 in Fig. 8 are shown to be configured to engage the upper facial region above eyes of the user) and has a first density (para 0081 describes that the structures #834a can be foam blocks, which has a first density attributed thereto)
wherein the second portion is configured to engage the lower facial region below the eyes of the user (lower instances of #832 in Fig. 8 are shown to be located to be able to engage a lower facial region below the eyes of the user) and has a second density (para 0081 describes that the structures #834a (while not all regions' elastomeric structures #834a are labeled in Fig. 8A, the "dot-dot lines" that depict the discrete regions that are occupied by the elastomeric structures carry over from Fig. 8 to 8A) can be foam blocks, which has a density attributed thereto).
Hatfield does not expressly disclose wherein the first density is greater than the second density.
However and in further view of Hatfield:
Hatfield does teach that the facial interface #130 may be configured to engage bony structures (such as the forehead area) with greater force/pressure than soft tissue regions (such as the temples, cheeks or sinus regions) of the user and that constituents thereof “may have different durometers...to apply different force and/or pressure to the face of the user” (para 82).
Hatfield is silent as to whether such different durometers are owing to different densities or not.
Gingo teaches within the context of “devices that are worn by a user” wherein “a low density or durometer material may be used wherever extra softness or cushioning is needed, such as directly over ...bones or in areas receiving extra pressure...or for use when the user has an injury or otherwise requires more cushioning...a higher density or durometer material may be included in any area requiring firm support, extra stability, better load distribution, or extra durability” (para 79).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have designed the foam blocks in at least some of the top four instances of #832 in Hatfield (such as the leftmost and rightmost instances above the majority of eye orbital bones in Fig. 8) to have the first density greater than the second density of the lower and side instances of #832 in order to apply the desired effect of having higher pressure/force applied to the bony areas (such as at least part of the forehead) and lower pressure/force applied to the soft tissue areas (such as the temples, cheek and sinus regions) of the users (see para 0081, last two sentences of Hatfield), and further since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges (i.e. “first density is greater than the second density” is a range) involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
The modified Hatfield does not expressly disclose wherein the second density includes a gradual change in density that increases in a normal direction outward from a face of a user, through the cushion, to the support.
However, Des Ouches teaches a wearable device 1 (i.e. “helmet (1)”; Abstract, wherein it is noted said device is capable of being worn by a wearer (paras 24-26; para 34; para 37; paras 54-57; para 59; para 63)) such that it is a wearable device wherein a density includes a gradual change in density (“progressive variation of the density of the foam liner 7”; para 43) in a normal direction outward from a face of a user (wherein it is noted cushion a portion of 7 extends in a normal direction outward from a forehead of a face of a user; refer to Figs. 7-8) , through a cushion 7 (7 is manufactured from polymer foam and capable of absorbing a shock (paras 35-36) such that it is a cushion), to a support 9.
Des Ouches further teaches the gradual change in density is “to foster comfort and shock absorption” (para 43) and is afforded by “sheets 27...of different nature, so as to achieve” the gradual change in density (para 43).
Des Ouches does not state the directionality of this gradual change in density: increasing in the normal direction or decreasing in the normal direction. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the gradual change in density would be provided increasing in the normal direction or decreasing in the normal direction.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Hatfield such that the second density includes a gradual change in density that increases in a normal direction outward from a face of a user, through the cushion, to the support in order to foster comfort and/or shock absorption by the second portion, as suggested by Des Ouches (para 43).
and/or
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the modified Hatfield such that the second density includes a gradual change in density that increases in a normal direction outward from a face of a user, through the cushion, to the support in order to yield the predictable result of providing an aggregate density of the second portion via the various densities thereof in order to yield the desired effect of having higher pressure/force applied to the bony areas (such as at least part of the forehead) and lower pressure/force applied to the soft tissue areas (such as the temples, cheek and sinus regions) of the users (see para 0081, last two sentences of Hatfield). A person having ordinary skill would have been confronted with one or more decision(s) as to how, specifically, to provide the second portion and would have recognized that providing the second portion such that its second density includes a gradual change in density that increases in a normal direction outward from a face of a user is an acceptable manner of providing the second portion based on the teachings of Des Ouches that a gradual change in density in a normal direction outward from a face of a user via layered sheets is one known arrangement for providing a portion with a density in a wearable device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRADY ALEXANDER NUNNERY/Examiner, Art Unit 3732