DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a first control element, configured to control” of at least Claim 1 which is closest mapped to the first control element (Element 130) of Figure 5 and Paragraph 42 of the instant Specification.
“a second control element, configured to control” of at least Claim 1 which is closest mapped to the second control element (Element 146) of Figure 5 and Paragraph 42 of the instant Specification.
““a third control element…configured to output a control signal” of at least Claim 8 which is closest mapped to the third control element (Element 204) of Figure 2 and Paragraph 35 of the instant Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2, 7 – 11, 15, and 17 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyachi (U.S. PG Pub 2005/0237294) in view of You et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2019/0196679).
Regarding Claim 1, Miyachi teaches an electronic device, comprising:
a display panel (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 140), having a first display area (Figure 1, Element 11, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the part driven by the first source driver (Element 12). Paragraph 140) and a second display area (Figure 1, Element 11, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the part driven by the second source driver (Element 12). Paragraph 140); wherein the display panel (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 140) is configured to display in a first display mode (Element white mode. Paragraph 186) or a second display mode (Element black mode. Paragraph 186);
a first control element (Figure 1, Element 12, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the first one. Paragraph 140), configured to control the first display area (Figure 1, Element 11, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the part driven by the first source driver (Element 12). Paragraph 140); and
a second control element (Figure 1, Element 12, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the second one. Paragraph 140), configured to control the second display area (Figure 1, Element 11, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the part driven by the second source driver (Element 12). Paragraph 140); wherein the second control element (Figure 1, Element 12, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the second one. Paragraph 140) comprises a first sub-control unit (Figure 2, Elements 31 and 33. Paragraphs 144 - 145) and a second sub-control unit (Figure 2, Elements 24, 32, and 34. Paragraphs 143 - 144);
a timing controller (Figure 1, Element 20. Paragraph 142), electrically connected to the display panel (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 140);
wherein when the display panel (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 140) displays in the second display mode (Element black mode. Paragraph 186), the first sub-control unit (Figure 2, Elements 31 and 33. Paragraphs 144 - 145) is disabled (Figure 2, Element 34, Sub-Element L level. Paragraph 145), and the second sub-control unit (Figure 2, Elements 24, 32, and 34. Paragraphs 143 - 144) is enabled (Figure 2, Element 34, Sub-Element L level. Paragraph 145), and generates a black screen signal (Figure 2, Element 24. Paragraph 143) to the second display area (Figure 1, Element 11, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the part driven by the second source driver (Element 12). Paragraph 140), and the second display area (Figure 1, Element 11, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the part driven by the second source driver (Element 12). Paragraph 140) displays a black screen (Figure 2, Element 24. Paragraph 143);
wherein when the display panel (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 140) displays in the first display mode (Element white mode. Paragraph 186), the timing controller (Figure 1, Element 20. Paragraph 142) is configured to output a first image signal to the display panel (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 140),
when the display panel (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 140) displays in the second display mode (Element black mode. Paragraph 186), the timing controller (Figure 1, Element 20. Paragraph 142) is configured to output a second image signal to the display panel (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 140).
Miyachi is silent with regards to wherein the first display area corresponds to a driver seat in a vehicle, and the second display area corresponds to a passenger seat in the vehicle; wherein when the display panel displays in the first display mode, the timing controller is configured to output a first image signal to the display panel, but not output a second image to the display panel; when the display panel displays in the second display mode, the timing controller is configured to output a second image signal to the display panel, but not output the first image signal to the display panel; and wherein the first image signal is different from the second image signal..
You et al. teach wherein the first display area (Figure 1, Element 110. Paragraph 36) corresponds to a driver seat (Figure 1, Element driver-seat. Paragraph 40) in a vehicle (Figure 1, Element 10. Paragraph 36), and the second display area (Figure 1, Element 130. Paragraph 36) corresponds to a passenger seat (Figure 1, Element front non-driver seat. Paragraph 40) in the vehicle (Figure 1, Element 10. Paragraph 36);
wherein when the display panel (Figure 1, Elements 110 – 140. Paragraph 36) displays in the first display mode (Figure 8, Element Driving mode. Paragraph 108), the timing controller (Figure 4, Element 40. Paragraph 51) is configured to output a first image signal (Figures 7 – 8, Element First Type Content. Paragraph 41) to the display panel (Figure 1, Elements 110 – 140. Paragraph 36), but not output (Paragraph 135) a second image signal (Figures 7 – 8, Element Second Type Content. Paragraph 41) to the display panel (Figure 1, Elements 110 – 140. Paragraph 36);
when the display panel (Figure 1, Elements 110 – 140. Paragraph 36) displays in the second display mode (Figure 8, Element Non-Driving mode. Paragraph 110), the timing controller (Figure 4, Element 40. Paragraph 51) is configured to output a second image signal (Figures 7 – 8, Element Second Type Content. Paragraph 41) to the display panel (Figure 1, Elements 110 – 140. Paragraph 36), but not output (Paragraph 135) the first image signal (Figures 7 – 8, Element First Type Content. Paragraph 41) to the display panel (Figure 1, Elements 110 – 140. Paragraph 36); and
wherein the first image signal (Figures 7 – 8, Element First Type Content. Paragraph 41) is different from (Figures 7 and 8. Paragraph 41) the second image signal (Figures 7 – 8, Element Second Type Content. Paragraph 41).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the LCD of Miyachi with the vehicular electronic device of You et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Miyachi with the teachings of You et al. is to provide a content presentation method that may reduce the degree of interference with the driver’s view during driving, as taught by You et al. (Paragraph 8).
Regarding Claim 2, Miyachi in view of You et al. teach the electronic device as claimed in claim 1 (See Above). Miyachi teaches wherein the first sub-control unit (Figure 2, Elements 31 and 33. Paragraphs 144 - 145) of the second control element (Figure 1, Element 12, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the second one. Paragraph 140) comprises a digital-to-analog converter (Figure 2, Element 33. Paragraphs 144 - 145).
Regarding Claim 7, Miyachi in view of You et al. teach the electronic device as claimed in claim 1 (See Above). Miyachi teaches further comprising:
an image processor (Figure 1, Element not shown, but is the element that inputs the image signal into the display control section (Element 20). Paragraph 142), electrically connected to the timing controller (Figure 1, Element 20. Paragraph 142), configured to send an image signal (Figure 1, Element image signal. Paragraph 142) to the timing controller (Figure 1, Element 20. Paragraph 142);
wherein the image signal (Figure 1, Element image signal. Paragraph 142) comprises the first image signal and the second image signal.
Regarding Claim 8, Miyachi in view of You et al. teach the electronic device as claimed in claim 1 (See Above). Miyachi teaches further comprising:
a third control element (Figure 1, Element 21. Paragraph 142), electrically connected to the timing controller (Figure 1, Element 20. Paragraph 142), configured to output a control signal to the timing controller (Figure 1, Element 20. Paragraph 142);
wherein the timing controller (Figure 1, Element 20. Paragraph 142) outputs a sub-control signal to the second control element (Figure 1, Element 12, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the second one. Paragraph 140) according to the control signal, so that the first sub-control unit (Figure 2, Elements 31 and 33. Paragraphs 144 - 145) is disabled (Figure 2, Element 34, Sub-Element L level. Paragraph 145) and the second sub-control unit (Figure 2, Elements 24, 32, and 34. Paragraphs 143 - 144) is enabled (Figure 2, Element 34, Sub-Element L level. Paragraph 145) in the second display mode (Element black mode. Paragraph 186).
Regarding Claim 9, Miyachi in view of You et al. teach the electronic device as claimed in claim 1 (See Above). Miyachi teaches wherein the first control element (Figure 1, Element 12, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the first one. Paragraph 140) comprises a receiving interface (Figure 2, Element 31. Paragraph 144), a digital-to-analog convertor (Figure 2, Element 33. Paragraphs 144 - 145), a switch (Figure 2, Element 34. Paragraph 144), and a buffer (Figure 2, Element 32. Paragraph 144).
Regarding Claim 10, Miyachi in view of You et al. teach the electronic device as claimed in claim 1 (See Above). Miyachi teaches wherein the first sub-control unit (Figure 2, Elements 31 and 33. Paragraphs 144 - 145) in the second control element (Figure 1, Element 12, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the second one. Paragraph 140) comprises a receiving interface (Figure 2, Element 31. Paragraph 144).
Regarding Claim 11, Miyachi in view of You et al. teach the electronic device as claimed in claim 1 (See Above). Miyachi teaches wherein the second sub-control unit (Figure 2, Elements 24, 32, and 34. Paragraphs 143 - 144) in the second control element (Figure 1, Element 12, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the second one. Paragraph 140) comprises a switch (Figure 2, Element 34. Paragraph 144), a buffer (Figure 2, Element 32. Paragraph 144), and a black voltage generator (Figure 2, Element 24. Paragraph 143).
Regarding Claim 15, Miyachi in view of You et al. teach the electronic device as claimed in claim 11 (See Above). Miyachi teaches wherein the black voltage generator (Figure 2, Element 24. Paragraph 143) generates the black screen signal (Figure 2, Element 24. Paragraph 143) .
Regarding Claim 17, Miyachi teaches a method for controlling an electronic device, comprising:
providing the electronic device; wherein the electronic device comprises a display panel (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 140), a first control element (Figure 1, Element 12, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the first one. Paragraph 140), a timing controller (Figure 1, Element 20. Paragraph 142), and a second control element (Figure 1, Element 12, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the second one. Paragraph 140); the second control element (Figure 1, Element 12, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the second one. Paragraph 140) comprises a first sub-control unit (Figure 2, Elements 31 and 33. Paragraphs 144 - 145) and a second sub-control unit (Figure 2, Elements 24, 32, and 34. Paragraphs 143 - 144); the display panel (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 140) comprises a first display area (Figure 1, Element 11, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the part driven by the first source driver (Element 12). Paragraph 140) and a second display area (Figure 1, Element 11, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the part driven by the second source driver (Element 12). Paragraph 140); the display panel (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 140) displays in a first display mode (Element white mode. Paragraph 186) or a second display mode (Element black mode. Paragraph 186); the timing controller (Figure 1, Element 20. Paragraph 142) is electrically connected to the display panel (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 140); and
performing display steps to cause the display panel (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 140) to display, comprising:
using the first control element (Figure 1, Element 12, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the first one. Paragraph 140) to control the first display area (Figure 1, Element 11, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the part driven by the first source driver (Element 12). Paragraph 140);
using the second control element (Figure 1, Element 12, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the second one. Paragraph 140) to control the second display area (Figure 1, Element 11, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the part driven by the second source driver (Element 12). Paragraph 140);
wherein when the display panel (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 140) displays in the first display mode (Element white mode. Paragraph 186), the display steps comprise:
outputting a first image signal to the display panel (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 140);
wherein when the display panel (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 140) displays in the second display mode (Element black mode. Paragraph 186), the display steps comprise:
disabling (Figure 2, Element 34, Sub-Element L level. Paragraph 145) the first sub-control unit (Figure 2, Elements 31 and 33. Paragraphs 144 - 145), and enabling (Figure 2, Element 34, Sub-Element L level. Paragraph 145) the second sub-control unit (Figure 2, Elements 24, 32, and 34. Paragraphs 143 - 144) to generate a black screen signal (Figure 2, Element 24. Paragraph 143) to the second display area (Figure 1, Element 11, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the part driven by the second source driver (Element 12). Paragraph 140) for displaying a black screen (Figure 2, Element 24. Paragraph 143) on the second display area (Figure 1, Element 11, Sub-Element not labeled, but is the part driven by the second source driver (Element 12). Paragraph 140); and
outputting a second image signal to the display panel (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 140)
wherein the timing controller (Figure 1, Element 20. Paragraph 142) is configured to output a first image signal and the second image signal.
Miyachi is silent with regards to wherein the first display area corresponds to a driver seat in a vehicle, and the second display area corresponds to a passenger seat in the vehicle; wherein when the display panel displays in the first display mode, the display steps comprise: outputting a first image signal to the display panel, but not outputting a second image to the display panel; wherein when the display panel displays in the second display mode, the display steps comprise: outputting a second image signal to the display panel, but not output the first image signal to the display panel; and wherein the first image signal is different from the second image signal; wherein the timing controller is configured to output the first image signal and the second image signal.
You et al. teach wherein the first display area (Figure 1, Element 110. Paragraph 36) corresponds to a driver seat (Figure 1, Element driver-seat. Paragraph 40) in a vehicle (Figure 1, Element 10. Paragraph 36), and the second display area (Figure 1, Element 130. Paragraph 36) corresponds to a passenger seat (Figure 1, Element front non-driver seat. Paragraph 40) in the vehicle (Figure 1, Element 10. Paragraph 36);
wherein when the display panel (Figure 1, Elements 110 – 140. Paragraph 36) displays in the first display mode (Figure 8, Element Driving mode. Paragraph 108), the display steps comprise: outputting a first image signal (Figures 7 – 8, Element First Type Content. Paragraph 41) to the display panel (Figure 1, Elements 110 – 140. Paragraph 36), but not outputting (Paragraph 135) a second image signal (Figures 7 – 8, Element Second Type Content. Paragraph 41) to the display panel (Figure 1, Elements 110 – 140. Paragraph 36);
when the display panel (Figure 1, Elements 110 – 140. Paragraph 36) displays in the second display mode (Figure 8, Element Non-Driving mode. Paragraph 110), the display steps comprise: the timing controller (Figure 4, Element 40. Paragraph 51) is configured to outputting a second image signal (Figures 7 – 8, Element Second Type Content. Paragraph 41) to the display panel (Figure 1, Elements 110 – 140. Paragraph 36), but not outputting (Paragraph 135) the first image signal (Figures 7 – 8, Element First Type Content. Paragraph 41) to the display panel (Figure 1, Elements 110 – 140. Paragraph 36); and
wherein the first image signal (Figures 7 – 8, Element First Type Content. Paragraph 41) is different from (Figures 7 and 8. Paragraph 41) the second image signal (Figures 7 – 8, Element Second Type Content. Paragraph 41);
the timing controller (Figure 4, Element 40. Paragraph 51) is configured to output a first image signal (Figures 7 – 8, Element First Type Content. Paragraph 41) and the second image signal (Figures 7 – 8, Element Second Type Content. Paragraph 41).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the LCD of Miyachi with the vehicular electronic device of You et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Miyachi with the teachings of You et al. is to provide a content presentation method that may reduce the degree of interference with the driver’s view during driving, as taught by You et al. (Paragraph 8).
Regarding Claim 18, Miyachi in view of You et al. teach the method as claimed in claim 17 (See Above). Miyachi is silent with regards to further comprising: detecting whether there is a person sitting in the passenger seat; causing the display panel to display in the first display mode when it is detected that there is the person sitting in the passenger seat; causing the display panel to display in the second display mode when it is detected that there is no person sitting in the passenger seat.
You et al. teach further comprising: detecting whether there is (Paragraph 46) a person sitting in the passenger seat (Figure 1, Element front non-driver seat. Paragraph 40); causing the display panel (Figure 1, Elements 110 – 140. Paragraph 36) to display in the first display mode (Figure 8, Element Driving mode. Paragraph 108) when it is detected that there is (Paragraph 46) the person sitting in the passenger seat (Figure 1, Element front non-driver seat. Paragraph 40); causing the display panel (Figure 1, Elements 110 – 140. Paragraph 36) to display in the second display mode (Figure 8, Element Non-Driving mode. Paragraph 110) when it is detected that there is (Paragraph 46) no person sitting in the passenger seat (Figure 1, Element front non-driver seat. Paragraph 40).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the LCD of Miyachi with the vehicular electronic device of You et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Miyachi with the teachings of You et al. is to provide a content presentation method that may reduce the degree of interference with the driver’s view during driving, as taught by You et al. (Paragraph 8).
Regarding Claim 19, Miyachi in view of You et al. teach the method as claimed in claim 18 (See Above). Miyachi teaches further comprising: setting the electronic device to an energy-saving mode (Paragraph 87) so that the display panel (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 140) displays in the second display mode (Element black mode. Paragraph 186).
Claims 5 and 12 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyachi (U.S. PG Pub 2005/0237294) in view of You et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2019/0196679) in view of Jung et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2020/0152109).
Regarding Claim 5, Miyachi in view of You et al. teach the electronic device as claimed in claim 1 (See Above). Miyachi is silent with regards to wherein the resolution of the first image signal is the same as the resolution of the second image signal.
Jung et al. teaches wherein the resolution of the first image signal (Figure 11, Element not labeled, but is the active data of the first frame. Paragraph 74) is the same as (Seen in Figure 11) the resolution of the second image signal (Figure 11, Element not labeled, but is the black data of the second frame. Paragraph 74).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the LCD of Miyachi and the vehicular electronic device of You et al. with the data signal of Jung et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Miyachi and You et al. with the teachings of Jung et al. is to reduce power consumption, as taught by Jung et al. (Paragraph 127).
Regarding Claim 12, Miyachi in view of You et al. teach the electronic device as claimed in claim 1 (See Above). Miyachi teaches wherein the timing controller (Figure 1, Element 20. Paragraph 142) includes a transmitting interface (Figure 1, Element not labeled, but is the element that outputs the image signal and the clock signal. Paragraph 142).
Miyachi is silent with regards to the timing control includes a transmitting interface and a register, and the transmitting interface comprises an enable terminal.
Jung et al. teaches the timing control (Figure 1, Element 120. Paragraph 38) includes a transmitting interface (Figure 10, Element 128. Paragraph 68) and a register (Figure 10, Element 125. Paragraph 67), and the transmitting interface (Figure 10, Element 128. Paragraph 68) comprises an enable terminal (Figure 10, Element EPTOC. Paragraph 67).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the LCD of Miyachi and the vehicular electronic device of You et al. with the data signal of Jung et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Miyachi and You et al. with the teachings of Jung et al. is to reduce power consumption, as taught by Jung et al. (Paragraph 127).
Regarding Claim 13, Miyachi in view of You et al. teach the electronic device as claimed in claim 12 (See Above). Miyachi is silent with regards to wherein when the display panel displays in the second display mode, the register outputs a control signal to the enable terminal of the transmitting interface, so that the transmitting interface is turned off.
Jung et al. teaches wherein when the display panel (Figure 1, Element 150. Paragraph 42) displays in the second display mode, the register (Figure 10, Element 125. Paragraph 67) outputs a control signal (Figure 10, Element EPTOC. Paragraph 67) to the enable terminal (Figure 10, Element not labeled, but is the one that outputs signal EPTOC. Paragraph 67) of the transmitting interface (Figure 10, Element 128. Paragraph 68), so that the transmitting interface (Figure 10, Element 128. Paragraph 68) is turned off (Paragraph 87).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the LCD of Miyachi and the vehicular electronic device of You et al. with the data signal of Jung et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Miyachi and You et al. with the teachings of Jung et al. is to reduce power consumption, as taught by Jung et al. (Paragraph 127).
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyachi (U.S. PG Pub 2005/0237294) in view of You et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2019/0196679) in view of Kambhatla (U.S. PG Pub 2016/0321969).
Regarding Claim 6, Miyachi in view of You et al. teach the electronic device as claimed in claim 1 (See Above). Miyachi is silent with regards to wherein the resolution of the first image signal is different from the resolution of the second image signal.
Kambhatla teaches wherein the resolution of the first image signal (Figure 3, Element not labeled, but is the signal driven over lines 304 and 306. Paragraph 34) is different from (Paragraph 37) the resolution of the second image signal (Figure 3, Element not labeled, but is the signal driven over line 210. Paragraph 34).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the LCD of Miyachi and the vehicular electronic device of You et al. with the varying resolution of Kambhatla. The motivation to modify the teachings of Miyachi and You et al. with the teachings of Kambhatla is to improve the user experience of, as taught by Kambhatla (Paragraph 2).
Regarding Claim 14, Miyachi in view of You et al. teach the electronic device as claimed in claim 7 (See Above). Miyachi is silent with regards to further comprising: a memory, electrically connected to the image processor; wherein the image processor stores half of resolution data of the image signal in the memory.
Kambhatla teaches further comprising: a memory (Figure 1, Element 110. Paragraph 21), electrically connected to the image processor (Figure 1, Elements 102 and 108. Paragraphs 19 and 20);
wherein the image processor (Figure 1, Elements 102 and 108. Paragraphs 19 and 20) stores half of resolution data (Paragraph 32) of the image signal in the memory Figure 1, Element 110. Paragraph 21).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the LCD of Miyachi and the vehicular electronic device of You et al. with the varying resolution of Kambhatla. The motivation to modify the teachings of Miyachi and You et al. with the teachings of Kambhatla is to improve the user experience of, as taught by Kambhatla (Paragraph 2).
Response to Arguments
Regarding the first argument, in which the applicant asserts that Miyachi fails to teach at least “wherein when the display panel displays in the second display mode, the first sub-control unit is disabled, and the second sub-control unit is enabled” of at least Claim 1. The applicant argues that the mapped first display mode and second display mode of Miyachi are changed based on the voltage level, but Miyachi fails to disclose that elements in the source driver are enabled or disabled. The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s assertion. Miyachi discloses “When the switching clock signal is at "L" level, the selector switch 34 selects a black signal voltage derived from the black signal power supply 24 and outputs the signal to the corresponding source line S as the reset signal (Paragraph 145. Emphases Added).” Disable is defined as “to make ineffective or inoperative (merriam-webster.com).” When Miyachi sets the switching clock signal at an “L” level, the rest of the source driver will become ineffective. Therefore, the claim limitation has been met by Miyachi. The Office is unmoved by the applicant’s argument and the rejection is maintained.
All other arguments are held moot in light of the above rejection and/or the response to the first argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Mckenzie (U.S. PG Pub 2013/0222323) discloses a touch device that is capable of displaying a partial display based the touch of the user.
Horne (U.S. PG Pub 2015/0026623) teaches a display device that is capable of driving partial display areas based on the driving mode of the device, similar to the instant invention.
Hong et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2016/0313846) teaches driving a partial display based on the part of the display that is facing the user and stopping driving of the rest of the display that is facing away from the user, similar to the instant invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.B.S/Examiner, Art Unit 2625
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625