DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baldwin et al (US PG Pub No. 2014/0147020),
Regarding claim 1, Baldwin et al teaches a display apparatus [106] comprising:
a communication interface [720] configured to communicated with an information terminal via a first network (i.e. user providing information via input terminal and/or mobile device identification), and communicate with a server via a second network (i.e. communicate with content service provider and/or headend via 418) (Abstract; Figures 2-4, 6-7; Para. 0016, 0036, 0039, 0042-44);
a decoder configured to decode contents obtained via the second network from the server (i.e. STB 406 includes decoders to process information) (Figure 4; Para. 0036, 0046);
a display [408] configured to display an image based on the contents decoded by the decoder (Figures 4, 7); and
a controller [407] configured to control the communication interface, the decoder, and the display (Figure 7),
wherein the controller [407] is configured to:
obtain pieces of login information from the information terminal for logging in to a content distribution service provided by the server (Figures 4, 6-7; Para. 0033-34, 0039);
use the login information to log into the content distribution service (i.e. determined authentication information, such as a user ID and password, can be provided to the content service systems 195 for authorization and enabling access to the media services) (Figures 4, 6; Para. 0034); and
obtain a list of contents available for viewing on the display apparatus and perform controls to display the list on the display (i.e. the aggregated media services then at 314 the aggregated media services can be made available at the media device 106) (Figures 3-5; Para. 0036);
wherein the controller has a first controlling state in which the content distribution service is logged in based on the pieces of login information obtained from a single information terminal (Para. 0017, 0033-34), and a second controlling state in which the content distribution service is logged in on a group basis based on the pieces of login information obtained from each of two or more information terminals (Figures 3-5; Para. 0018, 0034-35, 0039, 0050, 0055), and
wherein contents displayed in the content list in the second controlling state include a content not available for viewing in the first controlling state (i.e. the redundant media services to select one of the redundant media services) (Figures 3-4, 6; Para. 0012, 0026-27, 0036).
Claim 3 is rejected wherein in the second controlling state, the content list displayed on the display additionally includes additional content as content available for viewing for the two or more information terminals logged in on the group basis (Baldwin: Figures 3-4, 6; Para. 0035, 0044, 0059, 0066 and 0079).
Claim 5 is rejected wherein in the second controlling state, the communication interface is configured to receive value-added information from the server, the value-added information including split payment information indicating that a viewing fee of the content can be split between the two or more information terminals logged in on the group basis (Baldwin: Figure 3; Para. 0037).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldwin et al (US PG Pub No. 2014/0147020), in view of Kellerman et al (US PG Pub No. 2013/0091214).
Regarding claim 2, Baldwin et al teaches limitations discussed with respect to claim 1. The reference is unclear with respect to wherein, in the second controlling state, the content list displayed on the display includes contents based on content share information regarding shareability of the content between the two or more information terminals logged in on the group basis, the content share information being pre-set by a user who entered the login information into the information terminal.
In similar field of endeavor, Kellerman et al teaches in the second controlling state, the content list displayed on the display includes contents based on content share information regarding shareability of the content between the two or more information terminals logged in on the group basis, the content share information being pre-set by a user who entered the login information into the information terminal (i.e. one or more devices allows them to share limited or full access to at least some resources, sometimes referred to hereinafter as consumption of some resources, available via one or more social network systems, infrastructures, groups, some combination thereof) (Kellerman: Fig. 8; Para. 0082, 0085, 0126 and 0241). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the reference before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the common knowledge purpose of allowing users to control content to share with other users.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldwin et al, in view of Jeong et al (US PG Pub No. 2011/0113441).
Regarding claim 4, The reference teaches the controller is configured to generate aggregated login information in which the pieces of login information entered from each of the two or more information terminals for logging in to the content distribution service on the group basis are aggregated (Figures 3-4, 6; Para. 0034-35, 0044, 0059, 0066, 0079). The reference is unclear with respect to send the aggregated login information to the server.
In similar filed of endeavor, Jeong et al teaches send the aggregated login information to the server (Para. 0025-26 and 0028). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the reference before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the common knowledge purpose of quickly identifying users in order to provide them with personalized service.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldwin et al.
Regarding claim 6, Baldwin et al teaches limitations with respect to claim 1. The reference is unclear with respect to wherein the controller is configured to detect the information terminal capable of accessing the display apparatus, send connection request information to the information terminal when the information terminal capable of accessing the display apparatus is detected, and obtain the pieces of login information from the information terminal with which connection has been established. However, the examiner takes official notice that both concepts and advantages are well known and expected in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the reference by specifically the controller is configured to detect the information terminal capable of accessing the display apparatus, send connection request information to the information terminal when the information terminal capable of accessing the display apparatus is detected, and obtain the pieces of login information from the information terminal with which connection has been established before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention for the common knowledge purpose of easily and securely connecting devices within proximity to identify and/or distribute content information.
Conclusion
/KUNAL LANGHNOJA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425