DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 2/22/2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2, on line 2, the abbreviation for horizontal positioning error should be HPE, instead of HE, to be consistent with Applicant’s specification and other claims.
In claim 8, on line 3, it appears that “multi-lateraion” should be “multi-lateration”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10-13, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moeglein et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0037775 A1) (as disclosed in Applicant’s IDS, hereinafter Moeglein) in view of Matthews (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0202357 A1) (hereinafter Matthews).
Regarding claim 1, Moeglein discloses a method for determination of beacon positions (Figure 6 and paragraph 0052 disclose since some of the access points of the different wireless networks do not have well-known almanac data (e.g., position of the wireless access point, coverage area of the wireless access point), one embodiment of the present invention derives the almanac data from the information collected from mobile stations. The location server determines the position of the access point antenna), comprising:
receiving, by a cloud-based location platform that maintains a beacon database, observations from a plurality user equipment (UE) that have observed a beacon, the observations including at least raw global navigation satellite system (GNSS) measurements for the plurality of UE and round-trip time (RTT) measurements for the plurality of UE by the beacon (Figure 6 and paragraph 0052 disclose the mobile station obtains measurements based on SPS signals (e.g. measurements of SPS pseudoranges and extraction of SPS ephemeris information from SPS signals) and wireless transmissions (e.g. range measurements). The mobile station may transmit: i) the measurements; ii) the range to the access point antenna; and, iii) the identity of the access point antenna to the location server. Paragraph 0051 discloses range information (e.g., round trip time or signal traveling time between an access point and the mobile station). Figure 4 and paragraphs 0042 and 0043 disclose servers 413 and 415 maintain the almanac data for wireless networks A and B respectively. This almanac data may simply be, in one exemplary implementation, a database listing a latitude and longitude for each wireless access point which is specified by an identification information (e.g. MAC address or cell tower identifier, etc.). Servers 411, 413 and 415 may be implemented as a single server program, or different server programs in a single data processing system); and
providing, by the cloud-based location platform from the beacon database, a position of the beacon to one or more of the plurality of UE, wherein the position of the beacon is determined based at least in part on the corrected GNSS position fix and the RTT measurement of the at least one of the plurality of UE (Paragraph 0048 discloses in one embodiment of the present invention, the location of the mobile station is determined at the location server using the information communicated from the mobile station and then transmitted back to the mobile station. Alternatively, the position calculation can be performed at the mobile station using assistance information from the location server (e.g., Doppler frequency shifts for in view satellites, positions and coverage areas of access points, differential GPS data, altitude aiding information). Figure 6 and paragraph 0052 disclose the mobile station may transmit: i) the measurements; ii) the range to the access point antenna; and, iii) the identity of the access point antenna to the location server, which calculates the position of the mobile station using the measurements and which stores the range measurements (e.g. R.sub.1, R.sub.2 and R.sub.3 and the corresponding positions (e.g. L.sub.1, L.sub.2, and L.sub.3). When a number of data points are available, each of which data points correlates the position of a mobile station and the range from the mobile station to the access point antenna, the location server determines the position of the access point antenna).
Moeglein does not explicitly disclose obtaining, by the cloud-based location platform from a Real Time Kinematic (RTK) correction service, RTK correction information for the raw GNSS measurements of at least one of the plurality of UE and determining by the cloud-based location platform, a corrected GNSS position fix for the at least one of the plurality of UE using the raw GNSS measurements and the RTK correction information.
In analogous art, Matthews discloses obtaining, by the cloud-based location platform from a Real Time Kinematic (RTK) correction service, RTK correction information for the raw GNSS measurements of at least one of the plurality of UE (Paragraph 0040 discloses the system 38 may receive GNSS correction information from a GNSS data source, such as differential GNSS or real time kinematic (RTK) information);
determining by the cloud-based location platform, a corrected GNSS position fix for the at least one of the plurality of UE using the raw GNSS measurements and the RTK correction information (Paragraphs 0034 and 0040 disclose the position determining device 42 may be a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver, such as a device configured to receive signals from one or more positioning systems such as the United States' global positioning system (GPS) and/or the Russian GLONASS system, and to determine a location of the machine using the received signals. The system 38 may receive GNSS correction information from a GNSS data source, such as differential GNSS or real time kinematic (RTK) information, and use the correction information to correct geographic position information derived from signals detected by the position determining component 42).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate determining a position of a machine using GPS or GLONASS measurements and the RTK correction information, as described in Matthews, with receiving measurements based on SPS signals for UEs and range information (e.g., round trip time) between the UEs and a access point, as described in Moeglein, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining determining a position of a machine using GPS or GLONASS measurements and the RTK correction information of Matthews with receiving measurements based on SPS signals for UEs and range information (e.g., round trip time) between the UEs and a access point of Moeglein was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Matthews.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Moeglein and Matthews to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, as applied to claim 1 above, Moeglein, as modified by Matthews, further discloses wherein the beacons are Wi-Fi access points (APs) operating according to an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 standard (Paragraph 0011 discloses the first wireless access point may operate in accordance with a standard for a wireless local area network (e.g., IEEE 802.11)).
Regarding claim 11, as applied to claim 1 above, Moeglein, as modified by Matthews, further discloses wherein the beacons are cellular base stations operating according to a 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) standard (Paragraph 0032 discloses a wireless access point may be considered to be a cell tower or a base station or other wireless transmitter or receiver which is coupled to a network of other nodes (for example, the wireless access point is coupled by wireless or wire line to the other nodes. Paragraph 0076 discloses in one embodiment of the present invention, communication transceiver section 305 is capable of being used with a number of different air interfaces (e.g., IEEE 802.11, bluetooth, UWB, TD-SCDMA, IDEN, HDR, TDMA, GSM, CDMA, W-CDMA, UMTS, or other similar networks) for communication (e.g., through communication links 350 and 360)).
Regarding claim 12, Moeglein discloses a method for determination of beacon positions (Figure 6 and paragraph 0052 disclose since some of the access points of the different wireless networks do not have well-known almanac data (e.g., position of the wireless access point, coverage area of the wireless access point), one embodiment of the present invention derives the almanac data from the information collected from mobile stations. The location server determines the position of the access point antenna), comprising:
receiving, by a cloud-based location platform that maintains a beacon database, observations from a plurality user equipment (UE) that have observed a beacon, the observations including at least raw global navigation satellite system (GNSS) measurements for the plurality of UE and round-trip time (RTT) measurements for the plurality of UE by the beacon (Figure 6 and paragraph 0052 disclose the mobile station obtains measurements based on SPS signals (e.g. measurements of SPS pseudoranges and extraction of SPS ephemeris information from SPS signals) and wireless transmissions (e.g. range measurements). The mobile station may transmit: i) the measurements; ii) the range to the access point antenna; and, iii) the identity of the access point antenna to the location server. Paragraph 0051 discloses range information (e.g., round trip time or signal traveling time between an access point and the mobile station). Figure 4 and paragraphs 0042 and 0043 disclose servers 413 and 415 maintain the almanac data for wireless networks A and B respectively. This almanac data may simply be, in one exemplary implementation, a database listing a latitude and longitude for each wireless access point which is specified by an identification information (e.g. MAC address or cell tower identifier, etc.). Servers 411, 413 and 415 may be implemented as a single server program, or different server programs in a single data processing system);
determining a position of the beacon based on the corrected GNSS position fix and the RTT measurement of the at least one of the plurality of UE (Figure 6 and paragraph 0052 disclose the mobile station may transmit: i) the measurements; ii) the range to the access point antenna; and, iii) the identity of the access point antenna to the location server, which calculates the position of the mobile station using the measurements and which stores the range measurements (e.g. R.sub.1, R.sub.2 and R.sub.3 and the corresponding positions (e.g. L.sub.1, L.sub.2, and L.sub.3). When a number of data points are available, each of which data points correlates the position of a mobile station and the range from the mobile station to the access point antenna, the location server determines the position of the access point antenna);
providing, by the cloud-based location platform, the position of the beacon (Paragraph 0048 discloses in one embodiment of the present invention, the location of the mobile station is determined at the location server using the information communicated from the mobile station and then transmitted back to the mobile station. Alternatively, the position calculation can be performed at the mobile station using assistance information from the location server (e.g., Doppler frequency shifts for in view satellites, positions and coverage areas of access points, differential GPS data, altitude aiding information)).
Moeglein does not explicitly disclose obtaining, by the cloud-based location platform, correction information for the raw GNSS measurements of at least one of the plurality of UE; determining, by the cloud-based location platform, a corrected GNSS position fix for the at least one of the plurality of UE using the raw GNSS measurements and the correction information.
In analogous art, Matthews discloses obtaining, by the cloud-based location platform, correction information for the raw GNSS measurements of at least one of the plurality of UE (Paragraph 0040 discloses the system 38 may receive GNSS correction information from a GNSS data source, such as differential GNSS or real time kinematic (RTK) information);
determining, by the cloud-based location platform, a corrected GNSS position fix for the at least one of the plurality of UE using the raw GNSS measurements and the correction information (Paragraphs 0034 and 0040 disclose the position determining device 42 may be a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver, such as a device configured to receive signals from one or more positioning systems such as the United States' global positioning system (GPS) and/or the Russian GLONASS system, and to determine a location of the machine using the received signals. The system 38 may receive GNSS correction information from a GNSS data source, such as differential GNSS or real time kinematic (RTK) information, and use the correction information to correct geographic position information derived from signals detected by the position determining component 42).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate determining a position of a machine using GPS or GLONASS measurements and the RTK correction information, as described in Matthews, with receiving measurements based on SPS signals for UEs and range information (e.g., round trip time) between the UEs and a access point, as described in Moeglein, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining determining a position of a machine using GPS or GLONASS measurements and the RTK correction information of Matthews with receiving measurements based on SPS signals for UEs and range information (e.g., round trip time) between the UEs and a access point of Moeglein was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Matthews.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Moeglein and Matthews to obtain the invention as specified in claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, as applied to claim 12 above, Moeglein discloses the claimed invention except explicitly disclosing wherein the correction information includes Real Time Kinematic (RTK) correction information from a RTK correction service.
Matthews further discloses wherein the correction information includes Real Time Kinematic (RTK) correction information from a RTK correction service (Paragraph 0040 discloses the system 38 may receive GNSS correction information from a GNSS data source, such as differential GNSS or real time kinematic (RTK) information).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate determining a position of a machine using GPS or GLONASS measurements and the RTK correction information, as described in Matthews, with receiving measurements based on SPS signals for UEs and range information (e.g., round trip time) between the UEs and a access point, as described in Moeglein, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining determining a position of a machine using GPS or GLONASS measurements and the RTK correction information of Matthews with receiving measurements based on SPS signals for UEs and range information (e.g., round trip time) between the UEs and a access point of Moeglein was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Matthews.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Moeglein and Matthews to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
Regarding claim 17, Moeglein discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions, the computer-executable instructions, when executed on one or more processors of one or more electronic devices, cause the one or more processors to (Figure 2 and paragraphs 0071 and 0072 disclose it will be apparent from this description that aspects of the present invention may be embodied, at least in part, in software. That is, the techniques may be carried out in a computer system or other data processing system in response to its processor executing sequences of instructions contained in memory, such as ROM 207, volatile RAM 205, non-volatile memory 206, cache 204 or a remote storage device. In various embodiments, hardwired circuitry may be used in combination with software instructions to implement the present invention. Thus, the techniques are not limited to any specific combination of hardware circuitry and software nor to any particular source for the instructions executed by the data processing system. In addition, throughout this description, various functions and operations are described as being performed by or caused by software code to simplify description. However, those skilled in the art will recognize what is meant by such expressions is that the functions result from execution of the code by a processor, such as the processor 203. A machine readable medium can be used to store software and data which when executed by a data processing system causes the system to perform various methods of the present invention. This executable software and data may be stored in various places including for example ROM 207, volatile RAM 205, non-volatile memory 206 and/or cache 204 ):
receive information from a plurality of user equipment (UE) that have observed a beacon including at least raw global navigation satellite system (GNSS) measurements for the plurality of UE and round RTT measurements for the plurality of UE by the beacon (Figure 6 and paragraph 0052 disclose the mobile station obtains measurements based on SPS signals (e.g. measurements of SPS pseudoranges and extraction of SPS ephemeris information from SPS signals) and wireless transmissions (e.g. range measurements). The mobile station may transmit: i) the measurements; ii) the range to the access point antenna; and, iii) the identity of the access point antenna to the location server. Paragraph 0051 discloses range information (e.g., round trip time or signal traveling time between an access point and the mobile station). Figure 4 and paragraphs 0042 and 0043 disclose servers 413 and 415 maintain the almanac data for wireless networks A and B respectively. This almanac data may simply be, in one exemplary implementation, a database listing a latitude and longitude for each wireless access point which is specified by an identification information (e.g. MAC address or cell tower identifier, etc.). Servers 411, 413 and 415 may be implemented as a single server program, or different server programs in a single data processing system); and
provide, from a beacon database, a position of the beacon to one or more of the plurality of UE, wherein the position of the beacon is determined based on the corrected GNSS position fix and the RTT measurement of the at least one of the plurality of UE (Paragraph 0048 discloses in one embodiment of the present invention, the location of the mobile station is determined at the location server using the information communicated from the mobile station and then transmitted back to the mobile station. Alternatively, the position calculation can be performed at the mobile station using assistance information from the location server (e.g., Doppler frequency shifts for in view satellites, positions and coverage areas of access points, differential GPS data, altitude aiding information). Figure 6 and paragraph 0052 disclose the mobile station may transmit: i) the measurements; ii) the range to the access point antenna; and, iii) the identity of the access point antenna to the location server, which calculates the position of the mobile station using the measurements and which stores the range measurements (e.g. R.sub.1, R.sub.2 and R.sub.3 and the corresponding positions (e.g. L.sub.1, L.sub.2, and L.sub.3). When a number of data points are available, each of which data points correlates the position of a mobile station and the range from the mobile station to the access point antenna, the location server determines the position of the access point antenna).
Moeglein does not explicitly disclose obtain, from a Real Time Kinematic (RTK) correction service, RTK correction information for the raw GNSS measurements of at least one of the plurality of UE; determine a corrected GNSS position fix for the at least one of the plurality of UE using the raw GNSS measurements and the RTK correction information.
In analogous art, Matthews discloses obtain, from a Real Time Kinematic (RTK) correction service, RTK correction information for the raw GNSS measurements of at least one of the plurality of UE (Paragraph 0040 discloses the system 38 may receive GNSS correction information from a GNSS data source, such as differential GNSS or real time kinematic (RTK) information);
determine a corrected GNSS position fix for the at least one of the plurality of UE using the raw GNSS measurements and the RTK correction information (Paragraphs 0034 and 0040 disclose the position determining device 42 may be a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver, such as a device configured to receive signals from one or more positioning systems such as the United States' global positioning system (GPS) and/or the Russian GLONASS system, and to determine a location of the machine using the received signals. The system 38 may receive GNSS correction information from a GNSS data source, such as differential GNSS or real time kinematic (RTK) information, and use the correction information to correct geographic position information derived from signals detected by the position determining component 42).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate determining a position of a machine using GPS or GLONASS measurements and the RTK correction information, as described in Matthews, with receiving measurements based on SPS signals for UEs and range information (e.g., round trip time) between the UEs and a access point, as described in Moeglein, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining determining a position of a machine using GPS or GLONASS measurements and the RTK correction information of Matthews with receiving measurements based on SPS signals for UEs and range information (e.g., round trip time) between the UEs and a access point of Moeglein was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Matthews.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Moeglein and Matthews to obtain the invention as specified in claim 17.
Regarding claim 19, as applied to claim 17 above, Moeglein, as modified by Matthews, further discloses wherein the beacons are Wi-Fi access points (APs) operating according to an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 standard (Paragraph 0011 discloses the first wireless access point may operate in accordance with a standard for a wireless local area network (e.g., IEEE 802.11)).
Regarding claim 20, as applied to claim 17 above, Moeglein, as modified by Matthews, further discloses wherein the beacons are cellular base stations operating according to a 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) standard (Paragraph 0032 discloses a wireless access point may be considered to be a cell tower or a base station or other wireless transmitter or receiver which is coupled to a network of other nodes (for example, the wireless access point is coupled by wireless or wire line to the other nodes. Paragraph 0076 discloses in one embodiment of the present invention, communication transceiver section 305 is capable of being used with a number of different air interfaces (e.g., IEEE 802.11, bluetooth, UWB, TD-SCDMA, IDEN, HDR, TDMA, GSM, CDMA, W-CDMA, UMTS, or other similar networks) for communication (e.g., through communication links 350 and 360)).
Claims 3, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moeglein in view of Matthews as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0322805 A1) (hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, Moeglein discloses the claimed invention except explicitly disclosing determining a position of a machine using raw GNSS measurements and the RTK correction information.
Matthews discloses determining a position of a machine using raw GNSS measurements and the RTK correction information (Paragraphs 0034 and 0040 disclose the position determining device 42 may be a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver, such as a device configured to receive signals from one or more positioning systems such as the United States' global positioning system (GPS) and/or the Russian GLONASS system, and to determine a location of the machine using the received signals. The system 38 may receive GNSS correction information from a GNSS data source, such as differential GNSS or real time kinematic (RTK) information, and use the correction information to correct geographic position information derived from signals detected by the position determining component 42)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate determining a position of a machine using GPS or GLONASS measurements and the RTK correction information, as described in Matthews, with receiving measurements based on SPS signals for UEs and range information (e.g., round trip time) between the UEs and a access point, as described in Moeglein, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining determining a position of a machine using GPS or GLONASS measurements and the RTK correction information of Matthews with receiving measurements based on SPS signals for UEs and range information (e.g., round trip time) between the UEs and a access point of Moeglein was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Matthews.
Moeglein, as modified by Matthews, does not explicitly disclose wherein determining the position of the beacon uses a multi-lateration algorithm that is based at least in part on a position of a machine.
In analogous art, Wang discloses wherein determining the position of the beacon uses a multi-lateration algorithm that is based at least in part on a position of a machine (Figure 1 and paragraph 0019 disclose by processing the GNSS signals 130, the UEs 110 and the base stations 120 determine their locations using trilateration or multilateration).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate determining a location using multilateration, as described in Wang, with determining a location using known locations and distances to the locations, as described in Moeglein, as modified by Matthews, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining determining a location using multilateration of Wang with determining a location using known locations and distances to the locations of Moeglein, as modified by Matthews, was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Wang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Moeglein, Matthews, and Wang to obtain the invention as specified in claims 3 and 14.
Regarding claim 9, as applied to claim 3 above, Moeglein, as modified by Matthews and Wang, further discloses wherein the RTT measurement from the at least one of the plurality of UE is one or more RTT measurements from the at least one of the plurality of UE, and the multi-lateration algorithm is further based on a number of RTT measurements in the one or more RTT measurements for the at least one of the plurality of UE (Figure 6 and paragraph 0052 disclose the mobile station obtains measurements based on SPS signals (e.g. measurements of SPS pseudoranges and extraction of SPS ephemeris information from SPS signals) and wireless transmissions (e.g. range measurements). The mobile station may transmit: i) the measurements; ii) the range to the access point antenna; and, iii) the identity of the access point antenna to the location server. Paragraph 0051 discloses range information (e.g., round trip time or signal traveling time between an access point and the mobile station). Paragraph 0048 discloses in one embodiment of the present invention, the location of the mobile station is determined at the location server using the information communicated from the mobile station and then transmitted back to the mobile station. Alternatively, the position calculation can be performed at the mobile station using assistance information from the location server (e.g., Doppler frequency shifts for in view satellites, positions and coverage areas of access points, differential GPS data, altitude aiding information)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-8, 15, 16, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Considering claims 2 and 16, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Moeglein and Matthews, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of determining a horizontal positioning error (HE) of the corrected GNSS position fix for the at least one of the plurality of UE; and filtering out observations based on a comparison of the HPE of the corrected GNSS position fix of the at least one of the plurality of UE with a threshold in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claims 2 and 16.
Considering claims 4, 15, and 18, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Moeglein and Matthews, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of determining a horizontal positioning error (HPE) of the corrected GNSS position fix for the at least one of the plurality of UE, wherein the multi-lateration algorithm is further based on the HPE of the corrected GNSS position fix of the at least one of the plurality of UE in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claims 4, 15, and 18.
Considering claim 6, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Moeglein and Matthews, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein the RTT measurement from the at least one of the plurality of UE includes a RTT measurement uncertainty and the multi-lateration algorithm is further based on the RTT measurement uncertainty of the at least one of the plurality of UE in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claim 6.
Considering claim 7, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Moeglein and Matthews, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein the RTT measurement from the at least one of the plurality of UE includes a signal strength associated with the RTT measurement and the multi-lateration algorithm is further based on the signal strength for the at least one of the plurality of UE in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claim 7.
Considering claim 8, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Moeglein and Matthews, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein the RTT measurement from the at least one of the plurality of UE includes a bandwidth associated with the RTT measurement and the multi-lateraion algorithm is further based on the bandwidth for the at least one of the plurality of UE in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claim 8.
Claim 5 also includes allowable subject matter by virtue of its dependency on claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Basnayake (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0271112 A1) discloses dedicated short range communication (DSRC) sender validation using GPS precise positioning techniques;
Grabow et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0153161 A1) discloses a corner unit guidance control system using two antennas;
Grabow (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0010782 A1) discloses a corner unit guidance control system using one antenna;
Evers (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0238306 A1) discloses a system and method for combining radio frequency (rf) technologies;
Petersen (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0129026 A1) discloses a chirp receiver utilizing phase precessed chirp signals;
Cruddace et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0329016 A1) discloses a satellite positioning system authentication method and system;
Dolinar et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0016758 A1) discloses a roadway marker control system;
Takahashi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0321387 A1) discloses a GNSS correction data distribution device, GNSS correction data distribution system, and GNSS correction data distribution method;
Del Regno et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0301026 A1) discloses static virtual reference station agents for global navigation satellite system corrections;
Fox et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0092604 A1) discloses integrated secure device manager systems and methods for cyber-physical vehicles; and
Rougerie et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,782,414 B2) discloses a GNSS receiver with an on-board capability to implement an optimal error correction mode.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on (571) 272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/Mark G. Pannell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642