adjNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
5. Claims 2, 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joshi (WO 2015/174892 A1), in view of Keishnaswamy et al. (US 2021/0243839), hereinafter referred to as Krishnaswamy
Regarding claim 2, Joshi discloses all claim limitations, except a distributed unit (DU) comprising memory and processor.
Krishnaswamy teaches the DUs 105-fig.1B, and/or Rus 106 may include a PRANmon component 107 that implements any of the functionality described herein, e.g., implemented as a set of instructions stored in a memory and executed by at least one processor in the respective device, see 0059.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Krishnaswamy
into the system of Joshi. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to serve as the real-time processing engine, managing lower-layer function (RLC, MAC , Physical Layers) and interface directly with the Radio Unit (RU).
Regarding claim 6, Joshi discloses the unit resource is a RB in a slot, see 0026.
Regarding claim 10, Joshi discloses wireless resources are allocated in units of resource blocks (RBs) for two group of UEs. It is noted that each group comprising one UE or more UEs, see 0026. For example, the eNodeB 101-fig.2 (see fig.3 for memory & processor) communicates (allocate traffic) with UE 106-fig.2 in a cell, which is a central-UE (one group), wherein UE 105 and UE107 are cell-edge-UE (second group). The UE 106 does not fall within the coverage of the neighboring eNodeBs 102 &103, therefore the signals of the UE 106 will not cause significant interference on such cell-edge-UEs, see 0030-0031 (equivalent to allocate traffic for each group of units resources previously configured for a cell). The eNodeBs 101-fig.2, 102, and 103 limit information transmitted to coordinate RB allocation to a subset of RBs reserved for cell-edge-UEs, and different allocation orders for each neighboring cell for RBs of this reserved subset. By generating these allocation orders so that they correlate in such a way as to avoid simultaneous RB allocation in neighboring cells, inter-cell co-channel interference can be avoided, see 0030. In other words, the eNodeB 101-fig.2 transmits allocation order of RB to central-UE 106, that is different to allocation orders for each neighboring cell for RBs with a subset of RBs reserved for cell-edge-UEs (equivalent to determine an allocation order of unit of resources in the each group to be different to avoid inter-cell interference in the cell when allocating traffic for the each group).
Joshi, however, fails to teach a scheduling method performed by a distributed unit (DU).
Krishnaswamy teaches the DUs 105-fig.1B that includes a PRANmon component 107 to implement any of the functionality described herein, e.g., implemented as a set of instructions stored in a memory and executed by at least one processor in the respective device, see 0059.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Krishnaswamy
into the system of Joshi. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to
serve as the real-time processing engine, managing lower-layer function (RLC, MAC , Physical Layers) and interface directly with the Radio Unit (RU).
Allowable subject matter
6. Claims 1 and 7-9 are allowed.
7. Claims 3-5 are rejected as they are dependent to claim 2. However, these claims would be allowable rewritten or amended to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
8. Claim 11 is rejected as it is dependent to claim 10. However, it would be allowable if rewritten or amended to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chakraborty et al. (US 2023/0118482); Abdelghaffar et al. (US 2024/0284460) are cited, and considered pertinent to the instant specification.
/DUC C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465