DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200379159 A1 to Li in view of US 20100027294 A1 to Lee et al.
Regarding Claim 1. Li discloses a brightness enhancement film adapted to be disposed on a light-exiting surface of a light-emitting module (See at least Fig. 2 light guide plate 100), comprising: a substrate that is light transmissive (See Fig. 2 substrate 141), that is disposed on said light-exiting surface (as shown in Fig. 2), and that has a top surface away from said light-exiting surface (as shown in Fig. 2); and a brightness enhancement structure that is disposed on said top surface of said substrate (See at least Fig. 2 prism structures 142), and that includes a plurality of prism portions (See at least Fig. 2 prism structures 142).
Li does not specifically disclose a plurality of modified patterns formed downwardly from a surface of each of said plurality of prism portions
However, Lee discloses a plurality of modified patterns formed downwardly from a surface of each of said plurality of prism portions (See at least Fig. 4A diffusion member 1220) o refract or reflect light incident light therethrough (para 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include a plurality of modified patterns formed downwardly from a surface of each of said plurality of prism portions.
Regarding Claim 4. Lee further discloses each of said modified patterns has multiple rings (See at least Fig. 4A and para 136).
Regarding Claim 5. Lee further discloses each of said modified patterns has multiple ripples (See at least Fig. 4A and para 136).
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Lee as applied to claim 1 in view of US 20180348411 A1 to Yamaki et al.
Regarding Claim 2. As stated above Li and Lee discloses all the limitations of base claim 1.
Li and Lee do not specifically disclose a diameter of each of said plurality of pores ranges from 10 nm to 500 nm, and porosity of said plurality of prism portions is no greater than 10%.
However, Yamaki discloses a diameter of each of said plurality of pores ranges from 10 nm to 500 nm (para 65 “the median diameter of the primary particles is preferably from 0.1 to 2500 nm, more preferably from 0.2 to 1500 nm, further preferably from 0.5 to 500 nm”), and porosity of said plurality of prism portions is no greater than 10%. (See para 154).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (Claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of "50 to 100 Angstroms" considered prima facie obvious in view of prior art reference teaching that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms]." The court stated that "by stating that ‘suitable protection’ is provided if the protective layer is ‘about’ 100 Angstroms thick, [the prior art reference] directly teaches the use of a thickness within [applicant’s] claimed range."). (See MPEP 2144.05).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include a diameter of each of said plurality of pores ranges from 10 nm to 500 nm, and porosity of said plurality of prism portions is no greater than 10%.
Regarding Claim 8. Li and Lee do not specifically disclose a refractive index of each of said plurality of pores is smaller than a refractive index of each of said plurality of prism portions.
However, Li discloses the refractive index of prism portions may be between 1.62 and 1.75 (See para 44).
Yamaki discloses that microparticles can include material such as aluminum having a refractive index of 0.96 (See Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include a refractive index of each of said plurality of pores is smaller than a refractive index of each of said plurality of prism portions.
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Lee as applied to claim 1 in view of US 20210406496 A1 to Tao et al.
Regarding Claim 7. As stated above Li and Lee discloses all the limitations of base claim 1.
Li further discloses each of said plurality of prism portions has a vertex with an angle ranging from 80 degrees to 100 degrees (para 44).
Li and Lee do not specifically disclose a distance between two adjacent ones of said vertexes of said plurality of prism portions ranges from 10 µm to 100 µm.
However, Tao discloses a distance between two adjacent ones of said vertexes of said plurality of prism portions ranges from 10 µm to 100 µm (para 151 “a distance between two adjacent prisms may range from 24 µm to 110 µm”).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (Claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of "50 to 100 Angstroms" considered prima facie obvious in view of prior art reference teaching that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms]." The court stated that "by stating that ‘suitable protection’ is provided if the protective layer is ‘about’ 100 Angstroms thick, [the prior art reference] directly teaches the use of a thickness within [applicant’s] claimed range."). (See MPEP 2144.05).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s effective filing date to include a distance between two adjacent ones of said vertexes of said plurality of prism portions ranges from 10 µm to 100 µm.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/EDMOND C LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871