DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-15 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0203077 to Gokan (hereinafter “Gokan”) in view of JP2005186855 to Shibata et al. (hereinafter “Shibata”, see attached English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Gokan teaches a cleaning device for cleaning a vehicle-mounted camera comprising a liquid controller configured to control washer fluid spraying to at least one sensor located in a vehicle (cleaning liquid-pump driving unit that controls operation of the cleaning liquid pump for spraying the lens of the camera) ([0037] and figures 3 and 7), and an air controller configured to control air spraying to at least one sensor located in the vehicle (air-pump driving unit that controls operation of the air pump for spraying the lens of the camera) ([0037] and figures 3 and 7). Gokan further teaches that the cleaning action determined by the cleaning-operation determiner (figure 7, #51) is for stablishing the frequency of air blowing or liquid supplied based on the speed of the vehicle and according if it is raining (see figure 8, and [0055-0062].
Gokan does not teach that the liquid controller and/or the air controller are further configured to dynamically adjust a duty cycle of a control signal according to the vehicle speed and/or an amount of rain.
However, Shibata teaches a vehicle washer control device which controls the spray pressure and spray amount of washer fluid in accordance with the vehicle speed (English translation [0030]). Shibata teaches that the electric control unit is configured to change the duty ratio of the pulse current (the current flowing through the motor device) based on the detection value of the vehicle speed, which reduces or increases the rotation speed of the motor device and driving force of the pump device, thereby reducing or increasing the injection pressure and injection amount of the washer fluid injected through the injection nozzles for cleaning the front side or rear side windows (English translation [0034-0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Gokan wherein the liquid controller is configured to dynamically adjust a duty cycle of a control signal according to the vehicle speed, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Shibata teaches that it is effective to configure the electric control unit to change the duty ratio of the pulse current (the current flowing through the motor device) based on the detection value of the vehicle speed, which reduces or increases the rotation speed of the motor device and driving force of the pump device, thereby reducing or increasing the injection pressure and injection amount of the washer fluid injected through the injection nozzles for cleaning a surface (English translation [0034-0035] of Shibata).
Regarding claim 2, Gokan/Shibata further teaches that the liquid controller is configured to adjust a duty cycle of a washer fluid control signal in proportion to the vehicle speed to increase a washer fluid spraying force as the vehicle speed increases (English translation [0035] of Shibata).
Regarding claim 7, Gokan/Shibata further teaches that the liquid controller and/or the air controller are configured to dynamically adjust a number of washer fluid sprayings or air sprayings according to the vehicle speed ([0056-0060] of Gokan).
Regarding claim 11, Gokan teaches a control method of a cleaning device for cleaning a lens of a vehicle-mounted camera (reads on “at least one sensor”), the method comprising the steps of determining the vehicle speed and/or an amount of rain (see figure 7, and [0036]), controlling a cleaning liquid-pump driving unit for controlling the operation of the cleaning liquid pump for spraying the lens of the camera ([0037] and figures 3 and 7) and controlling an air-pump driving unit for controlling the operation of the air pump for spraying the lens of the camera ([0037] and figures 3 and 7).
Gokan does not teach the steps of adjusting a duty cycle of a washer fluid control signal according to the vehicle speed and/or the amount of rain, and controlling the washer fluid spraying force or spraying amount, by using the washer fluid control signal with an adjusted duty cycle.
Shibata teaches a control method and a vehicle washer control device which controls the spray pressure and spray amount of washer fluid in accordance with the vehicle speed (English translation [0030]). Shibata teaches that the electric control unit is configured to change the duty ratio of the pulse current (the current flowing through the motor device) based on the detection value of the vehicle speed, which reduces or increases the rotation speed of the motor device and driving force of the pump device, thereby reducing or increasing the injection pressure and injection amount of the washer fluid injected through the injection nozzles for cleaning the front side or rear side windows (English translation [0034-0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Gokan with the steps of adjusting a duty cycle of a washer fluid control signal according to the vehicle speed and/or the amount of rain, and controlling the washer fluid spraying force or spraying amount, by using the washer fluid control signal with an adjusted duty cycle, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Shibata teaches that it is effective to change the duty ratio of the pulse current (the current flowing through the motor device) based on the detection value of the vehicle speed, which reduces or increases the rotation speed of the motor device and driving force of the pump device, thereby reducing or increasing the injection pressure and injection amount of the washer fluid injected through the injection nozzles for cleaning a surface (English translation [0034-0035] of Shibata).
Claims 3-6, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0203077 to Gokan (hereinafter “Gokan”) in view of JP2005186855 to Shibata et al. (hereinafter “Shibata”, see attached English translation), and in further view of WO 2016/177380 to Nyenstad (hereinafter “Nyenstad”).
Regarding claim 3, Gokan/Shibata does not teach that the air controller is further configured to adjust a duty cycle of an air control signal in inverse proportion to the vehicle speed to reduce an air spraying force as the vehicle speed increases.
However, Nyenstad teaches a cleaning system for cleaning the car glass, lights and side mirrors based on air jets (page 2, lines 2-8 of Nyenstad). Nyenstad teaches that the air flow of the air jet can be regulated based on the velocity of the vehicle, and that the advantage of regulating the air flow based on the velocity is that by using the natural air flow that is created when the vehicle moves, it is possible to operate the system with a lower effect, thereby reducing the power consumption (page 11, lines 15-18 of Nyenstad). In addition, Nyenstad teaches that the air flow can be inversely proportional to the velocity of the vehicle (page 11, lines 15-23 of Nyenstad).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Gokan/Shibata wherein the air controller is configured to adjust a duty cycle of an air control signal in inverse proportion to the vehicle speed to reduce an air spraying force as the vehicle speed increases, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Nyenstad teaches that the air flow of the air jet of a cleaning system of a vehicle can be regulated based on the velocity of the vehicle, that the advantage of regulating the air flow based on the velocity is that by using the natural air flow that is created when the vehicle moves, it is possible to operate the system with a lower effect, thereby reducing the power consumption, and that the air flow can be inversely proportional to the velocity of the vehicle (page 11, lines 15-23 of Nyenstad).
Regarding claim 4, Gokan/Shibata does not teach that the liquid controller and/or the air controller are configured to predefine a duty cycle of the control signal for each of a plurality of vehicle speed sections and adjust the duty cycle of the control signal according to the vehicle speed.
Nyenstad teaches a cleaning system for cleaning the car glass, lights and side mirrors based on air jets (page 2, lines 2-8 of Nyenstad). Nyenstad teaches that the air flow of the air jet can be regulated based on the velocity of the vehicle, and that the air flow can be inversely proportional to the velocity of the vehicle (page 11, lines 15-23 of Nyenstad). Moreover, Nyenstad teaches that regulating the air flow based on a maximum predefined level of velocity and a predefined minimum level of velocity (page 12, lines 20-34 of Nyenstad).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Gokan/Shibata wherein the air controller is configured to predefine a duty cycle of the control signal for each of a plurality of vehicle speed sections and adjust the duty cycle of the control signal according to the vehicle speed, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Nyenstad teaches that the air flow of the air jet can be regulated based on the velocity of the vehicle, and that the air flow can be inversely proportional to the velocity of the vehicle (page 11, lines 15-23 of Nyenstad), wherein regulating the air flow can be based on a maximum predefined level of velocity and a minimum predefined level of velocity (page 12, lines 20-34 of Nyenstad).
Regarding claim 5, Gokan/Shibata teaches that the liquid controller is configured to adjust a duty cycle of a washer fluid control signal in proportion to the vehicle speed to increase a washer fluid spraying force as the vehicle speed increases (English translation [0035] of Shibata).
However, Gokan/Shibata does not explicitly teach that the air controller is configured to when confirming that the liquid controller has adjusted a duty cycle of a washer fluid control signal, adjust a duty cycle of an air control signal according to an adjustment value of the duty cycle of the washer fluid control signal.
Nyenstad teaches a cleaning system for cleaning the car glass, lights and side mirrors based on air jets (page 2, lines 2-8 of Nyenstad). Nyenstad teaches that the air flow of the air jet can be regulated based on the velocity of the vehicle, and that the advantage of regulating the air flow based on the velocity is that by using the natural air flow that is created when the vehicle moves, it is possible to operate the system with a lower effect, thereby reducing the power consumption (page 11, lines 15-18 of Nyenstad). In addition, Nyenstad teaches that the air flow can be inversely proportional to the velocity of the vehicle (page 11, lines 15-23 of Nyenstad).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Gokan/Shibata wherein the air controller is configured to when confirming that the liquid controller has adjusted a duty cycle of a washer fluid control signal, adjust a duty cycle of an air control signal according to an adjustment value of the duty cycle of the washer fluid control signal, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of reducing power consumption, since Gokan/Shibata teaches that the liquid controller is configured to adjust a duty cycle of a washer fluid control signal in proportion to the vehicle speed to increase a washer fluid spraying force as the vehicle speed increases (English translation [0035] of Shibata), and Nyenstad teaches that the air flow of the air jet can be regulated based on the velocity of the vehicle, wherein the air flow can be inversely proportional to the velocity of the vehicle (page 11, lines 15-23 of Nyenstad).
Regarding claim 6, Gokan/Shibata does not teach that a duty cycle adjustment direction of the liquid controller and a duty cycle adjustment direction of the air controller are opposite to each other.
Nyenstad teaches a cleaning system for cleaning the car glass, lights and side mirrors based on air jets (page 2, lines 2-8 of Nyenstad). Nyenstad teaches that the air flow of the air jet can be regulated based on the velocity of the vehicle, and that the advantage of regulating the air flow based on the velocity is that by using the natural air flow that is created when the vehicle moves, it is possible to operate the system with a lower effect, thereby reducing the power consumption (page 11, lines 15-18 of Nyenstad). In addition, Nyenstad teaches that the air flow can be inversely proportional to the velocity of the vehicle (page 11, lines 15-23 of Nyenstad).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Gokan/Shibata wherein a duty cycle adjustment direction of the liquid controller and a duty cycle adjustment direction of the air controller are opposite to each other, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Nyenstad teaches that the air flow of the air jet can be regulated based on the velocity of the vehicle, and that the advantage of regulating the air flow based on the velocity is that by using the natural air flow that is created when the vehicle moves, it is possible to operate the system with a lower effect, thereby reducing the power consumption, wherein the air flow can be inversely proportional to the velocity of the vehicle (page 11, lines 15-23 of Nyenstad), and Shibata teaches that the liquid controller is configured to adjust a duty cycle of a washer fluid control signal in proportion to the vehicle speed to increase a washer fluid spraying force as the vehicle speed increases (English translation [0035] of Shibata).
Regarding claim 12, Gokan/Shibata teaches that the liquid controller is configured to adjust a duty cycle of a washer fluid control signal in proportion to the vehicle speed to increase a washer fluid spraying force as the vehicle speed increases (English translation [0035] of Shibata).
Gokan/Shibata does not teach the step of adjusting a duty cycle of an air control signal according to an adjustment value of the duty cycle of the washer fluid control signal, and controlling an air spraying force or spraying amount for the at least one sensor located in the vehicle, by using an air control signal with an adjusted duty cycle.
Nyenstad teaches a cleaning method and system for cleaning the car glass, lights and side mirrors based on air jets (page 2, lines 2-8 of Nyenstad). Nyenstad teaches that the air flow of the air jet can be regulated based on the velocity of the vehicle, and that the advantage of regulating the air flow based on the velocity is that by using the natural air flow that is created when the vehicle moves, it is possible to operate the system with a lower effect and thereby reduce the power consumption (page 11, lines 15-18 of Nyenstad). In addition, Nyenstad teaches that the air flow can be inversely proportional to the velocity of the vehicle (page 11, lines 15-23 of Nyenstad).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Gokan/Shibata with the step of adjusting a duty cycle of an air control signal according to an adjustment value of the duty cycle of the washer fluid control signal, and controlling an air spraying force or spraying amount for the at least one sensor located in the vehicle, by using an air control signal with an adjusted duty cycle, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of reducing power consumption, since Gokan/Shibata teaches that the liquid controller is configured to adjust a duty cycle of a washer fluid control signal in proportion to the vehicle speed to increase a washer fluid spraying force as the vehicle speed increases (English translation [0035] of Shibata), and Nyenstad teaches that the air flow of the air jet can be regulated based on the velocity of the vehicle, wherein the air flow can be inversely proportional to the velocity of the vehicle (page 11, lines 15-23 of Nyenstad).
Regarding claim 14, Gokan/Shibata does not teach that the duty cycle of the washer fluid control signal and the duty cycle of the air control signal are adjusted with priority given to the amount of rain.
However, it is noted that there are only two possibilities a) the duty cycle of the washer fluid control signal and the duty cycle of the air control signal are adjusted with priority given to the amount of rain, and b) the duty cycle of the washer fluid control signal and the duty cycle of the air control signal are adjusted without given priority to the amount of rain, and the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to try the Gokan/Shibata/Tani method wherein the duty cycle of the washer fluid control signal and the duty cycle of the air control signal are adjusted with priority given to the amount of rain, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 8-10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0203077 to Gokan (hereinafter “Gokan”) in view of JP2005186855 to Shibata et al. (hereinafter “Shibata”, see attached English translation) and in further view of JP 2018116159 to Tani et al. (hereinafter “Tani”, see attached English translation).
Regarding claim 8, Gokan/Shibata further teaches that the liquid controller is configured to adjust a duty cycle of a washer fluid control signal in proportion to the vehicle speed to increase a washer fluid spraying force as the vehicle speed increases (English translation [0035] of Shibata).
However, Gokan/Shibata does not teach that the liquid controller and/or the air controller are configured to dynamically adjust the duty cycle of the control signal according to the amount of rain.
Tani teaches a foreign matter removal control device, and a foreign matter removal control method for removing foreign matter adhering to a camera installed in a vehicle, wherein the foreign matter includes raindrops (English translation [0002, 0004, and 0005]). Tani teaches that the foreign matter removal control device includes a control unit, a blower control unit for controlling the amount and duration of compressed air ejected from a blower to remove foreign matter from the camera, and a washer control unit for controlling the amount and duration of liquid sprayed from a washer to remove foreign matter from the camera (English translation [0014-0015]). Tani further teaches that the control unit of the foreign matter removal control device instructs the blower control unit or the washer control unit to spray compressed air from the blower or liquid from the washer in a predetermined amount, for a predetermined period, a predetermined number of times, and at a predetermined spray pressure as a foreign matter removal operation, and that the control unit increases the amount, duration, number of times, and ejection pressure of the ejection as the distance between the foreign matter and the ejection nozzle increases, and as the size of the foreign matter increases (English translation [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Gokan/Shibata wherein the liquid controller and/or the air controller are configured to dynamically adjust the duty cycle of the control signal according to the amount of rain, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of ensuring that the raindrops are removed from the lens of the camera, since Tani teaches that it is effective to configured the control unit of a foreign matter removal device to instructs the blower control unit or the washer control unit to spray compressed air from the blower or liquid from the washer in a predetermined amount, for a predetermined period, a predetermined number of times, and at a predetermined spray pressure as a foreign matter removal operation, the foreign matter including raindrops, wherein the control unit increases the amount, duration, number of times, and ejection pressure of the ejection as the distance between the foreign matter and the ejection nozzle increases, and as the size of the foreign matter increases (English translation [0061] of Tani).
Regarding claim 9, Gokan/Shibata/Tani does not explicitly teach that the liquid controller is configured to reduce a duty cycle of a washer fluid control signal in inverse proportion to the amount of rain in order to reduce an amount of washer fluid spraying as the amount of rain increases.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Gokan/Shibata/Tani wherein the liquid controller is configured to reduce a duty cycle of a washer fluid control signal in inverse proportion to the amount of rain in order to reduce an amount of washer fluid spraying as the amount of rain increases, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of preventing waste of the washer fluid, since Tani teaches that the control unit may change the amount, duration, number of times, and ejection pressure of the liquid depending on the type of foreign matter, and that in the case of raindrops, which are easy to remove, the amount, period, number of times, and pressure of the spray can be reduced (English translation [0050] of Tani).
Regarding claim 10, Gokan/Shibata/Tani does not explicitly teach that the air controller is further configured to increase a duty cycle of an air control signal in proportion to the amount of rain in order to increase an amount of air spraying as the amount of rain increases.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Gokan/Shibata/Tani wherein the air controller is configured to increase a duty cycle of an air control signal in proportion to the amount of rain in order to increase an amount of air spraying as the amount of rain increases, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of ensuring that the raindrops are removed from the lens of the camera, since Tani teaches that it is effective to configured the control unit of a foreign matter removal device to instructs the blower control unit to spray compressed air from the blower in a predetermined amount, for a predetermined period, a predetermined number of times, and at a predetermined spray pressure as a foreign matter removal operation, the foreign matter including raindrops, wherein the control unit increases the amount, duration, number of times, and ejection pressure of the ejection as the distance between the foreign matter and the ejection nozzle increases, and as the size of the foreign matter increases (English translation [0061] of Tani).
Regarding claim 15, Gokan/Shibata does not teach a computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a computer program for performing the control method.
However, Tani teaches a foreign matter removal control device, a foreign matter removal control method, and a foreign matter removal control program (English translation [0002]). Tani teaches a computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a computer program for performing a cleaning control method (English translation [0006, and 0076-0077]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Gokan/Shibata with a computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a computer program for performing the control method, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the automatization of the cleaning device.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0203077 to Gokan (hereinafter “Gokan”) in view of JP2005186855 to Shibata et al. (hereinafter “Shibata”, see attached English translation), and WO 2016/177380 to Nyenstad (hereinafter “Nyenstad”), and in further view of JP 2018116159 to Tani et al. (hereinafter “Tani”, see attached English translation).
Regarding claim 13, Gokan/Shibata/Nyenstad further teaches that the liquid controller is configured to adjust a duty cycle of a washer fluid control signal in proportion to the vehicle speed to increase a washer fluid spraying force as the vehicle speed increases (English translation [0035] of Shibata). In addition, Gokan/Shibata/Nyenstad teaches that the air control signal can be adjusted to be inversely proportional to the vehicle speed (page 11, lines 15-23 of Nyenstad).
Gokan/Shibata/Nyenstad does not explicitly teach that adjusting of the duty cycle of the air control signal includes adjusting the duty cycle of the air control signal to be proportional to the amount of rain.
However, Tani teaches a foreign matter removal control device, and a foreign matter removal control method for removing foreign matter adhering to a camera installed in a vehicle, wherein the foreign matter includes raindrops (English translation [0002, 0004, and 0005]). Tani teaches that the foreign matter removal control device includes a control unit, a blower control unit for controlling the amount and duration of compressed air ejected from a blower to remove foreign matter from the camera, and a washer control unit for controlling the amount and duration of liquid sprayed from a washer to remove foreign matter from the camera (English translation [0014-0015]). Tani further teaches that the control unit of the foreign matter removal control device instructs the blower control unit or the washer control unit to spray compressed air from the blower or liquid from the washer in a predetermined amount, for a predetermined period, a predetermined number of times, and at a predetermined spray pressure as a foreign matter removal operation, and that the control unit increases the amount, duration, number of times, and ejection pressure of the ejection as the distance between the foreign matter and the ejection nozzle increases, and as the size of the foreign matter increases (English translation [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus disclosed by Gokan/Shibata/Nyenstad wherein adjusting of the duty cycle of the air control signal includes adjusting the duty cycle of the air control signal to be proportional to the amount of rain, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of ensuring that the raindrops are removed from the lens of the camera, since Tani teaches that it is effective to configured the control unit of a foreign matter removal device to instructs the blower control unit to spray compressed air from the blower in a predetermined amount, for a predetermined period, a predetermined number of times, and at a predetermined spray pressure as a foreign matter removal operation, the foreign matter including raindrops, wherein the control unit increases the amount, duration, number of times, and ejection pressure of the ejection as the distance between the foreign matter and the ejection nozzle increases, and as the size of the foreign matter increases (English translation [0061] of Tani).
Gokan/Shibata/Nyenstad does not explicitly teach that adjusting of the duty cycle of the washer fluid control signal includes adjusting the duty cycle of the washer fluid control signal to be inversely proportional to the amount of rain.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Gokan/Shibata/Nyenstad wherein adjusting of the duty cycle of the washer fluid control signal includes adjusting the duty cycle of the washer fluid control signal to be inversely proportional to the amount of rain, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of preventing waste of the washer fluid, since Tani teaches that the control unit may change the amount, duration, number of times, and ejection pressure of the liquid depending on the type of foreign matter, and that in the case of raindrops, which are easy to remove, the amount, period, number of times, and pressure of the spray can be reduced (English translation [0050] of Tani).
Conclusion
/A.I.R/Examiner, Art Unit 1714
/KAJ K OLSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1714