DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-3, in the reply filed on 10/11/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-5 are pending, while claims 4 and 5 have been withdrawn. Claims 1-3 have been examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figures 2-4 contain shaded grey and black areas, illegible text, and/or lines that are not uniformly thick and well defined. See MPEP §608.02, 37 CFR 1.84 (I), and 37 CFR 1.84 (m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Here, under step 1 of the Alice analysis, method claims 1-3 are directed to a series of steps. Thus the claims are directed to a process.
Under step 2A Prong One of the analysis, the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite oil spill risk prediction, including selecting, constructing, predicting and evaluating steps.
The limitations of selecting, constructing, predicting and evaluating, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components.
Specifically, the claim elements recite selecting a potential oil spill accident site, and analyzing the oil spill pollution probability through a random statistical simulation method; based on the environmental sensitivity index, constructing a coastal zone ecological sensitivity evaluation index system based on the oil spill risk from three aspects of coastal classification, biological resources and human utilization resources; and predicting and evaluating the oil spill risk of the region by combining the oil spill pollution probability and the coastal zone ecological sensitivity evaluation index system.
That is, nothing in the claim elements preclude the steps from practically being performed in the mind. If the claim limitations, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components, which there are none here, then they fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Under Step 2A Prong Two, the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims fail to include any computer components. Accordingly, there is no additional element does that integrates the abstract idea into a practical application because there is no meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. As a result, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the claims fail to include any computer components.
None of the dependent claims recite additional limitations that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Claims 2 and 3 further describe selecting a potential oil spill accident site, and analyzing the oil spill pollution probability and constructing a coastal zone ecological sensitivity evaluation index system. A more detailed abstract idea remains an abstract idea.
Under step 2B of the analysis, the claims fail to include any computer components.
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception on a generic computer cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
There isn’t any improvement to another technology or technical field, or the functioning of the computer itself. Moreover, individually, there are not any meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, i.e., implementation via a computer system. Further, taken as a combination, the limitations add nothing more than what is present when the limitations are considered individually. There is no indication that the combination provides any effect regarding the functioning of the computer or any improvement to another technology.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al (US 20240140561 A1).
As per claim 1, Lee et al disclose an oil spill risk prediction method based on an environmental sensitivity index (i.e., assessing a damage risk relating to oil spill dispersion from a sunken ship to predict oil spill dispersion, ¶ 0014), comprising the following steps:
step 1, selecting a potential oil spill accident site, and analyzing the oil spill pollution probability through a random statistical simulation method (i.e., determine a possibility of a spill accident by statistical analysis, the determination comprising a step of building a model by randomly selecting a spill time in the target sea area and analyzing seafloor topography and seawater temperature characteristics, a step of building a model by analyzing wind characteristics, and a step of building a model by analyzing seawater flow characteristics; predict oil spill dispersion in a surrounding sea area by repeatedly performing simulations, ¶ 0017);
step 2, based on the environmental sensitivity index, constructing a coastal zone ecological sensitivity evaluation index system based on the oil spill risk from three aspects of coastal classification, biological resources and human utilization resources (i.e., first assessment step of creating a reference table by ranking damage risk levels for damage probabilities and times of first arrival at a coastline based on the built model and proposing assessment criteria for the damage risk of the oil spill according to the levels; and second assessment step of creating a reference table by ranking damage risk levels for the coastline length and the sea area size to be damaged and proposing assessment criteria for the oil spill damage risk according to the levels, ¶ 0015); and
step 3, predicting and evaluating the oil spill risk of the region by combining the oil spill pollution probability and the coastal zone ecological sensitivity evaluation index system (i.e., possibility of a spill in the target sea area is determined by statistically analyzing past sinking and oil spill accidents in S100, oil spill dispersion in a surrounding sea area is predicted under a variety of occurrence conditions in S200, and an oil spill damage risk for the surrounding sea area is assessed by analyzing the predicted oil spill dispersion in S300, ¶ 0062, wherein assessing the oil spill damage risk for the surrounding sea area includes step S310 of creating a reference table by ranking damage risk levels for damage probabilities and times of first arrival at the coastline through the built model and proposing assessment criteria for the oil spill damage risk according to the levels. In addition, the step S300 includes step S320 of creating a reference table by ranking damage risk levels for the coastline length and the sea area size to be damaged and proposing assessment criteria for the oil spill damage risk according to the levels, ¶¶ 0115-0116).
As per claim 3, Lee et al disclose the coastline classification are coastline environment sensitivity grading indices divided by certain criteria according to the sensitivity degree of the coastline to oil pollution, retention characteristics of oil pollution and difficulty degree of oil pollution removal (i.e., the step S300 includes step S320 of creating a reference table by ranking damage risk levels for the coastline length and the sea area size to be damaged and proposing assessment criteria for the oil spill damage risk according to the levels, ¶ 0116); the biological resources comprise animals, rare plants and habitats sensitive to oil pollution; and the human activity resources refer to specific regions that have additional sensitivity and value as a result of being exploited and utilized by human beings (i.e., area of aquaculture farms to be polluted may be estimated on the basis of the range of dispersion in each case, ¶ 0117).
Conclusion
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable over the cited prior art if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, listed in the PTO-892, considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, discloses oil spill and environmental risk analysis.
-Guo (Development of a statistical oil spill model for risk assessment) discloses an oil spill model using probabilistic method, which simulates numerous oil spill trajectories under varying environmental conditions.
-Boer et al (Development of an oil spill hazard scenarios database for risk assessment) disclose a methodology to evaluate the risk associated with oil spills in coastal zones and estuaries.
-Olita et al (Oil spill hazard and risk assessment for the shorelines of a Mediterranean coastal archipelago) disclose a model based method for evaluating hazard of oil slicks contact with shorelines.
/ANDRE D BOYCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3623 December 26, 2025