DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2-7 and 16-18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In particular, Claim 2 and Claim 16 references a “structural member” as was stated in Claim 1, as well as a “set of structural members” that make up the Claim 1 “structural member”. As it is, Claim 2 is unclear as it appears to claim a “structural member” that includes “structural members”, or in other words, it is a single element that includes multiple separate instances of that same element. The Examiner is unsure whether the “set of structural members” are supposed to somehow be the same “structural member” as previously claimed in Claim 1, or somehow a different “structural member”, unique to Claim 2.
For the purposes of examination, Claim 2 and Claim 16 will be interpreted to mean, “at least one structural member at a predetermined location”.
Claims 3-7 and 17-18 are similarly rejected under inherency.
Claim 7 is further unclear as it references an axial direction. It is unclear which direction this axial direction is and as such, which dimensions correspond to height or length of the structural member is unclear.
For the purposes of examination, the axial direction is interpreted to mean any given axial direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 8-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito et al. (JP 2020047573; English translation relied upon, translation obtained from Espacenet).
Regarding Claim 1, Ito meets the claimed,
An electrochemical cell assembly ([0005] teaches a battery pack with multiple batteries stacked), comprising: a plurality of electrochemical cells arranged in a stack ([0005] teaches a battery pack with multiple batteries stacked); a compression assembly, comprising: a first planar sheet in contact with a first side of the stack (Fig. 3 and [0075] teach a first metal plate layer 41); and at least one structural member disposed on a first side of the first planar sheet (Fig. 3 and [0074] teach a resin plate layer 42 on one side of the first metal plate layer 41); and a second planar sheet disposed on the at least one structural member, the second planar sheet configured to exert a compressive force on the at least one structural member such that the at least one structural member causes the first planar sheet to exert a substantially uniform distributed pressure on the stack (Fig. 3 and [0074] teach a second metal plate layer 43 on the other side of the resin plate layer 42).
Regarding Claim 2, Ito meets the claimed,
The electrochemical cell assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least one structural member includes a set of structural members disposed at predetermined locations on the first planar sheet (Fig. 3 and [0074] teach that resin plate layer 42 located on metal plate layer 41).
Regarding Claim 3, Ito meets the claimed,
The electrochemical cell assembly of claim 2, wherein each of the set of structural members has a first height at a peripheral edge of the structural member (Fig. 27 and [0153] teach a curved resin plate layer 42, which means there is a first height at the edges/peripheral), and a second height at a central location of the structural member, the second height being greater than the first height (Fig. 27 and [0153] teach a curved resin plate layer 42, which means there is a second height at the center of the layer which is greater than the first height at the edges).
Regarding Claim 4, Ito meets the claimed,
The electrochemical cell assembly of claim 3, wherein a first side of each of the structural members facing the first planar sheet is flat (Fig. 27 and [0153] teach a curved resin plate layer 42, and is flat on the side facing metal plate layer 41), and a second side of structural member facing the second planar sheet is curved (Fig. 27 and [0153] teach a curved resin plate layer 42, and is curved on the side facing metal plate layer 43).
Regarding Claim 6, Ito meets the claimed,
The electrochemical cell assembly of claim 2, wherein each of the structural member has a rectangular shape such that a ratio of a length to a width of each of the structural member is in a range of about 1:1 to about 10:1 ([0171] and Fig. 36 teach a width of 100 mm, which corresponds to a length of a structural member, and a height of 50 mm, which corresponds to a width of a structural member, resulting in a "length" to "width" ratio of 2:1).
Regarding Claim 8, Ito meets the claimed,
The electrochemical cell assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least one structural member includes a porous mesh defining a plurality of cells ([0163] teaches a series of hexagonal units in resin layer 42).
Regarding Claim 9, Ito meets the claimed,
The electrochemical cell assembly of claim 8, wherein the mesh is substantially coextensive with at least the first planar sheet (Fig. 3 and [0074] teach a resin plate layer 42 on one side of the first metal plate layer 41).
Regarding Claim 10, Ito meets the claimed,
The electrochemical cell assembly of claim 8, wherein each of the plurality of cells has a hexagonal shape such that the mesh has a honeycomb structure ([0163] teaches a series of hexagonal units in resin layer 42).
Regarding Claim 11, Ito meets the claimed,
The electrochemical cell assembly of claim 8, wherein a ratio of a thickness of a wall of each of the plurality of cells to a height of the mesh is in a range of about 1:1 to about 1:10 ([0171] teaches a resin plate layer depth of 10 mm, which corresponds to a mesh height of 10 mm, and a resin plate layer height of 50 mm. Fig. 33 teaches at least 8 individual unit walls, which results in a maximum wall thickness of 6.25 mm which does not account for the space taken up by the hexagonal opening between each wall, resulting in a thickness to height ratio of 1:1.6).
Regarding Claim 12, Ito meets the claimed,
The electrochemical cell assembly of claim 1, wherein the compression assembly is a first compression assembly, the at least one structural member is a first structural member, and the electrochemical cell assembly further comprises a second compression assembly including ([0068] and Fig. 1 teach a pair of end plates on either end of a battery stack. [0074] and Fig. 3 teach a resin plate layer 42 that acts as a structural member): a first planar sheet in contact with a second side of the stack opposite the first side of the stack (Fig. 3 and [0075] teach a first metal plate layer 41); at least one second structural member disposed on a first side of the first planar sheet; and a second planar sheet disposed on the at least one second structural member, the second planar sheet configured to exert a compressive force on the at least one second structural member such that the at least one second structural member causes the first planar sheet to exert a substantially uniform distributed pressure on the second side of the stack (Fig. 3 and [0074] teach a second metal plate layer 43 on the other side of the resin plate layer 42).
Regarding Claim 13, Ito meets the claimed,
The electrochemical cell assembly of claim 12, further comprising a clamp configured to impart a compressive force on the first compression assembly and the second compression assembly ([0073] and Fig. 3 teach a fastening member 5 secured in place with bolts 53 which act as a clamp upon end plate 4).
Regarding Claim 14, Ito meets the claimed,
An assembly, comprising: a first planar layer configured to be disposed on a surface of an electrochemical cell stack such that a first surface of the first planar layer contacts the surface of the electrochemical cell stack (Figs. 3, 18, and 27 and [0075] teach a first metal plate layer 41); a structural member disposed on a second surface of the first planar layer opposite the first surface of the first planar layer (Figs. 3, 18, and 27and [0074] teach a resin plate layer 42 on one side of the first metal plate layer 41); and a second planar layer disposed on the structural member opposite the second surface of the first planar layer, the second planar layer configured to exert a compressive force on the structural member in response to a force being exerted on the second planar layer such that the structural member causes the first planar layer to exert a substantially uniform distributed pressure on the electrochemical cell stack when the assembly is disposed on the electrochemical cell stack (Figs. 3, 18, and 27 and [0074] teach a second metal plate layer 43 on the other side of the resin plate layer 42).
Regarding Claim 15, Ito meets the claimed,
The assembly of claim 14, wherein the structural member has a length and a width that is less than a corresponding length and width of the first planar layer and the second planar layer ([0122] and Fig. 18 and [0123] further defines Fig. 12, described in [0102], which further defines Fig. 3, described in [0074], wherein the resin plate layer is wrapped by second metal plate layer 43 and backed by first metal plate layer 41, which means the resin plate layer's length and width must be shorter than the corresponding length and width of the planar layers).
Regarding Claim 16, Ito meets the claimed,
The assembly of claim 14, wherein the structural member includes a set of structural members disposed at predetermined locations on the first planar layer ((Fig. 3 and [0074] teach that resin plate layer 42 located on metal plate layer 41).
Regarding Claim 17, Ito meets the claimed,
The assembly of claim 16, wherein each of the set of structural members has a first height at a peripheral edge of the structural member (Fig. 27 and [0153] teach a curved resin plate layer 42, which means there is a first height at the edges/peripheral), and a second height at a central location of the structural member, the second height being greater than the first height (Fig. 27 and [0153] teach a curved resin plate layer 42, which means there is a second height at the center of the layer which is greater than the first height at the edges).
Regarding Claim 18, Ito meets the claimed,
The assembly of claim 16, wherein a first side of each of the set of structural members facing the first planar sheet is flat (Fig. 27 and [0153] teach a curved resin plate layer 42, and is flat on the side facing metal plate layer 41), and a second side of structural member facing the second planar sheet is curved (Fig. 27 and [0153] teach a curved resin plate layer 42, and is curved on the side facing metal plate layer 43).
Regarding Claim 19, Ito meets the claimed,
The assembly of claim 14, wherein the at least one structural member includes a porous mesh defining a plurality of cells ([0163] teaches a series of hexagonal units in resin layer 42).
Regarding Claim 20, Ito meets the claimed,
The assembly of claim 19, wherein the mesh is substantially co-extensive with at least the first planar sheet (Fig. 3 and [0074] teach a resin plate layer 42 on one side of the first metal plate layer 41).
Regarding Claim 22, Ito meets the claimed,
The assembly of claim 19, wherein a ratio of a thickness of a wall of each of the plurality of cells to a height of the mesh is in a range of about 1:1 to about 1:10 ([0171] teaches a resin plate layer depth of 10 mm, which corresponds to a mesh height of 10 mm, and a resin plate layer height of 50 mm. Fig. 33 teaches at least 8 individual unit walls, which results in a maximum wall thickness of 6.25 mm which does not account for the space taken up by the hexagonal opening between each wall, resulting in a thickness to height ratio of 1:1.6).
Regarding Claim 23, Ito meets the claimed,
The assembly of claim 14, further comprising a clamp configured to impart a compressive force on the compression assembly ([0073] and Fig. 3 teach a fastening member 5 secured in place with bolts 53 which act as a clamp upon end plate 4).
Regarding Claim 24, Ito meets the claimed,
An electrochemical cell assembly ([0005] teaches a battery pack with multiple batteries stacked), comprising: a plurality of electrochemical cells arranged in a stack ([0005] teaches a battery pack with multiple batteries stacked); and at least one structural member disposed on a first side of the first planar sheet, wherein in response to a compressive force being exerted on the at least one structural member in a direction towards the planar sheet, the at least one structural member causes the planar sheet to exert a substantially uniform distributed pressure on the stack (Fig. 3 and [0074] teach a resin plate layer 42 on one side of the first metal plate layer 41).
Regarding Claim 25, Ito meets the claimed,
The electrochemical cell assembly of claim 24, wherein: the planar sheet is a first planar sheet, and the electrochemical cell assembly further comprises a second planar sheet disposed on the at least one structural member opposite the first planar sheet, the second planar sheet configured to exert the compressive force on the first planar sheet (Fig. 3 and [0074] teach a second metal plate layer 43 on the other side of the resin plate layer 42).
Regarding Claim 26, Ito meets the claimed,
The electrochemical cell assembly of claim 24, further comprising: a housing defining an internal volume within which the stack and the compression assembly is disposed ([0005] and Fig. 2 teach fasteners 5 which encompass the entire battery cell, which thus defines an internal volume), wherein a sidewall of the housing is configured to contact the at least one structural member and exert the compressive force on the at least one structural member ([0005] and Fig. 2 teach fasteners 5 which function as a sidewall, contacts the resin plate layer, and exerts a compressive force as a clamp).
Regarding Claim 27, Ito meets the claimed,
The electrochemical cell assembly of claim 24, wherein the at least one structural member includes a set of structural members disposed at predetermined locations on the planar sheet (Fig. 3 and [0074] teach that resin plate layer 42 includes a set of through-holes 421 which are separate structural members).
Regarding Claim 28, Ito meets the claimed,
The electrochemical cell assembly of claim 27, wherein each of the set of structural members has a first height at a peripheral edge of the structural member (Fig. 27 and [0153] teach a curved resin plate layer 42, which means there is a first height at the edges/peripheral), and a second height at a central location of the structural member, the second height being greater than the first height (Fig. 27 and [0153] teach a curved resin plate layer 42, which means there is a second height at the center of the layer which is greater than the first height at the edges).
Regarding Claim 29, Ito meets the claimed,
The electrochemical cell assembly of claim 28, wherein a first side of each of the structural members facing the planar sheet is flat (Fig. 27 and [0153] teach a curved resin plate layer 42, and is flat on the side facing metal plate layer 41), and a second side of structural member facing the second planar sheet is curved (Fig. 27 and [0153] teach a curved resin plate layer 42, and is curved on the side facing metal plate layer 43).
Regarding Claim 30, Ito meets the claimed,
The electrochemical cell assembly of claim 24, wherein the at least one structural member includes a porous mesh defining a plurality of cells ([0163] teaches a series of hexagonal units in resin layer 42).
Regarding Claim 31, Ito meets the claimed,
The electrochemical cell assembly of claim 30, wherein the mesh is substantially co-extensive with the planar sheet (Fig. 3 and [0074] teach a resin plate layer 42 on one side of the first metal plate layer 41).
Regarding Claim 32, Ito meets the claimed,
The electrochemical cell assembly of claim 30, wherein each of the plurality of cells has a hexagonal shape such that the mesh has a honeycomb structure ([0163] teaches a series of hexagonal units in resin layer 42).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (JP 2020047573; English translation relied upon, translation obtained from Espacenet).
Ito meets the claimed,
The electrochemical cell assembly of claim 3, wherein a ratio of the second height to the first height is in a range of about 1.2:1 to about 3:1 (Fig. 28 teaches a ratio of approximately 2:1 for second height to first height).
MPEP 2125 notes that drawings in a vacuum do not particularly teach dimensions if the drawings are not confirmed to be to scale. However, Fig. 28 in combination with the specification teaches that there are beneficial effects for having a second height greater than a first height (See Ito [0156]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to follow the height ratio as demonstrated by Fig. 28 in order to achieve a generic beneficial effect of increased deflection suppression.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (JP 2020047573; English translation relied upon, translation obtained from Espacenet) in view of Choi et al. (US 2022/0140414).
Ito does not specifically teach a ratio of the length of the structural member to the width of the battery stack being in the range of 1:1.2 to about 1:3.
Choi teaches a battery module with a battery stack.
Choi meets the claimed,
The electrochemical cell assembly of claim 6, wherein a ratio of a length of each of the structural member in a first axial direction to a corresponding width of the stack in the first axial direction is in range of about 1:1.2 to about 1:3 ([0039] and Fig. 5 teach a compression pad 210 and a cell stack 100 comprising battery cells 110. Fig. 5 shows a ratio of length of compression pad 210 to width of battery stack 100 of 1:1.27).
MPEP 2125 notes that drawings in a vacuum do not particularly teach dimensions if the drawings are not confirmed to be to scale. However, Fig. 5 in combination with the specification teaches there are beneficial effects for having a smaller compression pad length compared to the overall width of the battery stack, particularly such that heat transfer layer 400 is able to contact more surface area of the battery cells 110 (see Choi [0046]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to follow the length to width ratios as shown by Fig. 5 in order to achieve a better heat transfer rate through the use of designated heat transfer elements that necessarily require more surface area.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mochizuki et al. (US 2024/0039097) teaches a series of elastic bodies 14 on either end of a battery stack. Elastic body 14 is shorter in length relative to the width of the stack.
Kim et al. (US 2023/0282923) teaches an elastic deformation unit 430 disposed between a cover plate 300 and a contact plate 410. A set of nuts and bolts clamps the battery assembly.
/A.Y.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/MICHAEL M. ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744