CLAIM INTERPRETATION
(f) ELEMENT IN CLAIM FOR A COMBINATION.—An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
(f) ELEMENT IN CLAIM FOR A COMBINATION.—An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: first display portion in claim 2 and second display portion in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawamura et al. (Sawamura) (US 2018/0326744) in view of Diprose (AU 2015100894 A4), and further in view of Geiss (US 2008/0078827).
Regarding claim 1, Sawamura discloses a control system for controlling an item stored in at least one box ([0103], items are stored in a container C), with at least one first mark indicating information on at least the box ([0103], an image or code is affixed to a container for indicating the items in the container), the control system comprising:
a first image pickup means (14) for picking up the box ([0050], an imaging device is used for capturing images of the container);
an acquiring means (15) for analyzing an image, of the first mark of the box, picked up by the first image pickup means and acquiring the information on the box ([0104], the reading device 15 reads bar codes or labels attached to a container for determining the contents stored in the container, information for the content being encoded into the bar code or label).
Sawamura is silent about a molding member, in which the molding member molded by an injection molding machine and a construction means for constructing a database by associating the information on the box acquired by the acquiring means with at least one of information on time and information on order of the molding member.
Diprose from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses a construction means for constructing a database by associating the information on the box acquired by the acquiring means with information on order of the item ([075], a barcode on a container is scanned for determining the contents of the container and [018]-[020], a database is updated to include order information for an item in a container).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Diprose into the teachings of Sawamura for accurately tracking ordered items.
Sawamura in view of Dirpose is silent about a molding member, in which the molding member molded by an injection molding machine.
Geiss from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses a molding member, in which the molding member molded by an injection molding machine ([0026], an injection molded part is tracked using codes printed on a container).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Geiss into the teachings of Sawamura in view of Diprose for accurately tracking ordered injection molded items.
Regarding claim 23, Sawamura discloses wherein the first mark includes a character, a graphic, a one- dimensional bar code or a two-dimensional code, or a combination thereof ([0103], Images record on the thermal recording label RL (image information transmitted from an image-information output unit 47) include, for example, text images of information on details of things contained in the container C or shipping address or code images, such as bar codes or two-dimensional codes).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawamura et al. (Sawamura) (US 2018/0326744) in view of Diprose (AU 2015100894 A4), in view of Geiss (US 2008/0078827), and further in view of Kelly et al. (Kelly) (US 2022/0274729).
Regarding claim 25, Sawamura in view of Diprose in view of Geiss discloses a control system according to claim 1.
Sawamura in view of Diprose in view of Geiss is silent about wherein the first image pickup means is a camera connected to a network.
Kelly from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the first image pickup means is a camera connected to a network ([0006], [0247], a camera is used for imaging a mark on a container, [0250], the camera is attached to a network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kelly into the teachings of Sawamura in view of Diprose in view of Geiss for wireless transmission of the collected image data.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-22 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yap (US 2018/0108063) ([0001], a code attached to a container is scanned for retrieving information pertaining to items in the container).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488