DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that the combination does not disclose "receiving, by a first node, a first packet from a second node, wherein the first packet comprises multicast routing information of the second node, where the first node is a child node of the second node in a multicast tree, the second node is any node having a child node in the multicast tree”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees:
Xu in [0059] The process 900 begins at 910 by receiving, at a network device (when receiving corresponds to first node to the node that sent the packet. When sending packet to child in the tree corresponds to second node), a multicast packet of a multicast transmission from a first network device…[0060] At 915 discloses, the process 900 determines whether the multicast packet includes a header including one or more fields of information for a multicast distribution tree…. The network device may correspond to a node from among the one or more child nodes and each node of the multicast distribution tree may correspond to a respective network device (any node that has child node) in the multicast network. [0061] Alternatively, responsive to determining that the multicast packet includes the header, the process 900 continues to 920 to identify information in the header corresponding to one or more nodes of network devices other than the network device. The network device corresponds to first node when it is receiving packet and a second device when it is sending packet. Identified information of the node that sent the packet (second node) corresponds to routing information of the second node that sent the packet. [0062] discloses At 925, the process 900 reduces the header by removing information in the header corresponding to one or more nodes of network devices other than the network device. The reduced header may further include a third level node field corresponding to a child node of the node of the network device.[0063] The process 900 at 930 forwards the multicast packet including the reduced header to a respective network device corresponding to a child node of the node of the network device based on the one or more fields of information from the reduced header.
-Applicant further discloses the combination does not disclose "the multicast routing information of the second node comprises the multicast routing identifier of the second node and multicast routing information of the non-leaf child node of the second node in the multicast tree".
Examiner respectfully disagrees:
Fig. 5 discloses nodes b, c, f receive packets with multicast tree header (routing information) and identifier of devices that sent the packet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, and 12-19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US pg. no. 20150049760), further in view of Lee (US pg. no. 20060114904).
Regarding claim 1. Xu discloses a method for communication, wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by a first node, a first packet from a second node, wherein the first packet comprises multicast routing information of the second node ([0039-0041] discloses The root node corresponding to the network device 310 (second node) may insert a tree header 405 for including multicast state information (comprises routing information) into the multicast packet 410…, the root node may determine that a second level of the distribution tree corresponds to nodes b, c, and d of the multicast network 400… the root node corresponding to network device 310 (node a that corresponds to second node) forwards a multicast packet (e.g., based on data from multicast packet 410 in FIG. 4) based on the information in the tree header to the second level nodes b, c and d (child nodes. Any of them corresponds to the first node),
the first node is a child node of the second node in a multicast tree the second node is any node having a child node in the multicast tree (fig. 3 discloses node 315 is child node of 310, and child node 315 is a non-leaf node because it is intermediate node in the multicast tree; when considering node 325 as the second node, node 340 or 330 are the first nodes that are non-leaf and child nodes of node 325 ; fig. 4, fig. 5 and [0055] discloses the one or more child nodes (first nodes) of the root node (second node) may be a second level of the multicast distribution tree as indicated by the header; Xu in [0059] The process 900 begins at 910 by receiving, at a network device (when receiving corresponds to first node to the node that sent the packet. When sending packet to child in the tree corresponds to second node), a multicast packet of a multicast transmission from a first network device…[0060] At 915 discloses, the process 900 determines whether the multicast packet includes a header including one or more fields of information for a multicast distribution tree…. The network device may correspond to a node from among the one or more child nodes and each node of the multicast distribution tree may correspond to a respective network device (any node that has child node) in the multicast network. [0061] Alternatively, responsive to determining that the multicast packet includes the header, the process 900 continues to 920 to identify information in the header corresponding to one or more nodes of network devices other than the network device. The network device corresponds to first node because it is receiving packet now. Identified information of the node that sent the packet (second node) corresponds to routing information of the second node. [0062] discloses At 925, the process 900 reduces the header by removing information in the header corresponding to one or more nodes of network devices other than the network device. The reduced header may further include a third level node field corresponding to a child node of the node of the network device.[0063] The process 900 at 930 forwards the multicast packet including the reduced header to a respective network device corresponding to a child node of the node of the network device based on the one or more fields of information from the reduced header),
a multicast routing identifier of the second node is used by a non-leaf child node of the second node in the multicast tree to determine multicast routing information of the non-leaf child node (fig.2, fig. 4 and fig. 5 discloses node 310 (a node) sends multicast packet with header 405 (routing information comprising node 310 routing identifier represented by 215 and 220 filed s of fig. 2) to node 315. As indicated in fig. 5, Node 315 (non-leaf child node) using node 310 identifying information of header 405 of fig. 4 or 200 of fig.2 generated header 510 (routing information of non-leaf child node 315); Xu in [0059] The process 900 begins at 910 by receiving, at a network device (when receiving corresponds to first node to the node that sent the packet. When sending packet to child in the tree corresponds to second node), a multicast packet of a multicast transmission from a first network device…[0060] At 915 discloses, the process 900 determines whether the multicast packet includes a header including one or more fields of information for a multicast distribution tree…. The network device may correspond to a node from among the one or more child nodes and each node of the multicast distribution tree may correspond to a respective network device (any node that has child node) in the multicast network. [0061] Alternatively, responsive to determining that the multicast packet includes the header, the process 900 continues to 920 to identify information in the header corresponding to one or more nodes of network devices other than the network device. The network device corresponds to first node because it is receiving packet now. Identified information of the node that sent the packet (second node) corresponds to routing information of the second node. [0062] discloses At 925, the process 900 reduces the header by removing information in the header corresponding to one or more nodes of network devices other than the network device. The reduced header may further include a third level node field corresponding to a child node of the node of the network device.[0063] The process 900 at 930 forwards the multicast packet including the reduced header to a respective network device corresponding to a child node of the node of the network device based on the one or more fields of information from the reduced header);and
Xu inherently discloses the multicast routing information of the second node (fig. 4, 405 and fig. 2 discloses routing information of a node) comprises the multicast routing identifier of the second node ( fig. 2 fields 215 and 220 together corresponds to multicast routing identifier of the root node; [0029-0030] discloses multicast routing information comprising header 200 a tree group field 215 for indicating a multicast group (e.g., (S, G)). In the header 200, a tree body 235 spans various fields that represent different portions of the multicast distribution tree. For instance, the tree body 235 includes a root level node field 220 for indicating a root node `a` of a multicast distribution tree. Fields 215 and 220 together corresponds to routing identifier of the node (root node)) and multicast routing information of the non-leaf child node of the second node in the multicast tree ( fig. 2, fig. 4 and [0029-0030] discloses the header 200 (comprising multicast routing information) includes a tree group field 215 for indicating a multicast group (e.g., (S, G))… includes a root level node field 220 for indicating a root node `a` of a multicast distribution tree (215 and 220 together corresponds to the node (root node multicast ID), a second level field 225 including a node `b` (non-leaf child node) at the second level of the multicast distribution tree, a third level node field 230 including a node `e`(non-leaf child node) that is a child node from the node `b` in second level of the tree. [0030 Further…includes a second level field 240 including a node `c` (non-leaf child node) at the second level of the multicast distribution tree, and third level node fields 245 and 250 respectively including a node `f` and a node `g` that each represent respective child nodes of the node `c` in the second level of the tree. The fields 210, 215, 230, 245, 250 together in the header corresponds to routing information of non-leaf nodes in eth multicast group), and
But, Xu does not explicitly disclose: the multicast routing information of the second node (comprises the multicast routing identifier of the second node.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee disclose the multicast routing information of the second node comprises the multicast routing identifier of the second node ([0055] discloses transmit the multicast packet; and at least one core router adapted to, upon the multicast packet being received from the ingress router, parse the tree encapsulation header of the multicast packet to transmit the multicast packet to a destination; fig. 2 discloses the packet that comprises the tress routing information comprises IP header that comprises routing ID of sender of the packet).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Xu with Lee. The modification would allow effectively encapsulating and retrieving forwarding information from headers to effectively forward packet to a target.
Regarding claim 2. The method according to claim 1.
Xu discloses, wherein: the first node is the non-leaf child node of the second node, a third node is a child node of the first node (fig. 4 discloses node 315 node a (the first node) is child to the root node 310 (second node); [0029 the header 200, a tree body 235 spans various fields that represent different portions of the multicast distribution tree. For instance, the tree body 235 includes a root level node field 220 for indicating a root node `a` of a multicast distribution tree, a second level field 225 including a node `b` at the second level of the multicast distribution tree, a third level node field 230 including a node `e` that is a child node from the node `b` in second level of the tree) , the method comprises:
generating, by the first node, a second packet based on the first packet, wherein the second packet comprises multicast routing information of the first node or multicast routing information of the third node (fig.2, fig.4 and fig. 5 discloses node 315 (first node) receives multicast packet with tree header indicated in 405 of fig. 4; node 315 generated a second packet 510 based on the received multicast packet. Node 315 generated a header with routing information that comprises fields 215 and 225 of fig. 2 that together corresponds to multicast routing identifier of node 315. Fields 215 and 230 of fig. 2 together corresponds to routing identifier of node e that is child node of node b (315); fig. 2, fig. 4 and [0029-0030] discloses the header 200 (comprising multicast routing information) includes a tree group field 215 for indicating a multicast group (e.g., (S, G))… includes a root level node field 220 for indicating a root node `a` of a multicast distribution tree (215 and 220 together corresponds to the node (root node multicast ID), a second level field 225 including a node `b` (non-leaf child node) at the second level of the multicast distribution tree, a third level node field 230 including a node `e`(non-leaf child node) that is a child node from the node `b` in second level of the tree; [0059-0063]), and the multicast routing information of the first node comprises any one of the following:
the multicast routing identifier of the first node and a multicast routing identifier of the third node (fig.2, fig.4 and fig. 5 discloses node 315 (first node) receives multicast packet with tree header indicated in 405 of fig. 4; node 315 generated a second packet 510 based on the received multicast packet. Node 315 generated a header with routing information that comprises fields 215 and 225 of fig. 2 that together corresponds to multicast routing identifier of node 315. Fields 215 and 230 of fig. 2 together corresponds to routing identifier of node e that is child node of node b (315));and
sending, by the first node, the second packet to the third node ([0059-0063] The process 900 begins at 910 by receiving, at a network device (first node), a multicast packet of a multicast transmission from a first network device (second node)…[0060] At 915, the process 900 determines whether the multicast packet includes a header including one or more fields of information for a multicast distribution tree… The network device (first node) may correspond to a node from among the one or more child nodes (non-leaf nodes) and each node; [0061] responsive to determining that the multicast packet includes the header, the process 900 continues to 920 to identify information (multicast routing identifier and routing information of the nodes by parsing the header) in the header corresponding to one or more nodes of network devices other than the network device. [0062] At 925, the process 900 reduces the header by removing information in the header (generating a second packet based on received first packet) corresponding to one or more nodes of network devices other than the network device. The reduced header may further include a third level node field corresponding to a child node of the node of the network device.[0063] The process 900 at 930 forwards the multicast packet including the reduced header (second packet) to a respective network device corresponding to a child node of the node of the network device based on the one or more fields of information from the reduced header).
Regarding claim 3. The combination discloses method according to claim 2.
Xu further discloses the generating, by the first node, a second packet based on the first packet comprises: determining, by the first node, the multicast routing information of the first node based on a multicast routing identifier of the second node (0059-0063] The process 900 begins at 910 by receiving, at a network device (first node), a multicast packet of a multicast transmission from a first network device (second node)…[0060] At 915, the process 900 determines whether the multicast packet includes a header including one or more fields of information for a multicast distribution tree… The network device (first node) may correspond to a node from among the one or more child nodes (non-leaf nodes) and each node; [0061] responsive to determining that the multicast packet includes the header, the process 900 continues to 920 to identify information (multicast routing identifier and routing information of the nodes by parsing the header) in the header corresponding to one or more nodes of network devices other than the network device. [0062] At 925, the process 900 reduces the header by removing information in the header (generating a second packet based on received first packet) corresponding to one or more nodes of network devices other than the network device);
determining, by the first node, the multicast routing information of the third node based on the multicast routing identifier of the first node in the multicast routing information of the first node (0059-0063] The process 900 begins at 910 by receiving, at a network device (first node), a multicast packet of a multicast transmission from a first network device (second node)…[0060] At 915, the process 900 determines whether the multicast packet includes a header including one or more fields of information for a multicast distribution tree… The network device (first node) may correspond to a node from among the one or more child nodes (non-leaf nodes) and each node; [0061] responsive to determining that the multicast packet includes the header, the process 900 continues to 920 to identify information (multicast routing identifier and routing information of the nodes by parsing the header) in the header corresponding to one or more nodes of network devices other than the network device. [0062] At 925, the process 900 reduces the header by removing information in the header (generating a second packet based on received first packet) corresponding to one or more nodes of network devices other than the network device); and performing, by the first node, packet encapsulation based on the multicast routing information of the third node, to obtain the second packet ((fig.2, fig.4 and fig. 5 discloses node 315 (first node) receives multicast packet with tree header indicated in 405 of fig. 4; node 315 generated a second packet 510 based on the received multicast packet. Node 315 generated a header with routing information that comprises fields 215 and 225 of fig. 2 that together corresponds to multicast routing identifier of node 315. Fields 215 and 230 of fig. 2 together corresponds to routing identifier of node e that is child node of node b (315)). fig. 5 discloses 510 generated packet header that comprises routing information of node e (third node) to be encapsulated; [0059-0063] The process 900 begins at 910 by receiving, at a network device (first node), a multicast packet of a multicast transmission from a first network device (second node)…[0060] At 915, the process 900 determines whether the multicast packet includes a header including one or more fields of information for a multicast distribution tree… The network device (first node) may correspond to a node from among the one or more child nodes (non-leaf nodes) and each node; [0061] responsive to determining that the multicast packet includes the header, the process 900 continues to 920 to identify information (multicast routing identifier and routing information of the nodes by parsing the header) in the header corresponding to one or more nodes of network devices other than the network device. [0062] At 925, the process 900 reduces the header by removing information in the header (generating a second packet based on received first packet) corresponding to one or more nodes of network devices other than the network device. The reduced header may further include a third level node field corresponding to a child node of the node of the network device.[0063] The process 900 at 930 forwards the multicast packet including the reduced header (second packet) to a respective network device corresponding to a child node of the node of the network device based on the one or more fields of information from the reduced header).
Regarding claim 4. The combination discloses method according to claim 3.
Xu further discloses, wherein the determining, by the first node, the multicast routing information of the first node based on a multicast routing identifier of the second node comprises:
determining, by the first node, a location of the first node in a first node set based on the multicast routing identifier of the second node, wherein the first node set is a node set corresponding to the second node ([0029] As shown in FIG. 2, the header 200 includes a packet type field 210 for indicating a data type (e.g., multicast), a tree group field 215 for indicating a multicast group (e.g., (S, G)). In the header 200 (routing information), a tree body 235 spans various fields that represent different portions of the multicast distribution tree. For instance, the tree body 235 includes a root level (location) node field 220 for indicating a root node `a` (second node) of a multicast distribution tree, a second level (location of node b (first node)) field 225 including a node `b` at the second level of the multicast distribution tree, a third level (location of node e (third node)) node field 230 including a node `e` that is a child node from the node `b` in second level of the tree)and
the first node set comprises some or all potential child nodes of the second node ([0029-0030, fig. 2, 4, and 5 the tree header indicates all the child node sets for root node 310); and
determining, by the first node, the multicast routing information of the first node based on the location of the first node in the first node set ([0059-0063] The process 900 begins at 910 by receiving, at a network device (first node), a multicast packet of a multicast transmission from a first network device (second node)…[0060] At 915, the process 900 determines whether the multicast packet includes a header including one or more fields of information for a multicast distribution tree… The network device (first node) may correspond to a node from among the one or more child nodes (non-leaf nodes) and each node; [0061] responsive to determining that the multicast packet includes the header, the process 900 continues to 920 to identify information (multicast routing identifier and routing information of the nodes by parsing the header) in the header corresponding to one or more nodes of network devices other than the network device. [0062] At 925, the process 900 reduces the header by removing information in the header (generating a second packet based on received first packet) corresponding to one or more nodes of network devices other than the network device. The reduced header may further include a third level node field corresponding to a child node of the node of the network device.[0063] The process 900 at 930 forwards the multicast packet including the reduced header (second packet) to a respective network device corresponding to a child node of the node of the network device based on the one or more fields of information from the reduced header. To reduce the header, 315 needs to determine its and its children`s location in the tree).
Regarding claim 5. The combination discloses method according to claim 4.
Xu discloses, wherein: the multicast routing identifier of the second node comprises N first fields, N is a quantity of nodes in the first node set, and the determining, by the first node, a location of the first node in a first node set based on the determining multicast routing identifier of the second node ([0029-0030], fig. 2, fig. 4 and fig. 5 discloses the tree header 200 of fig. 2 or 405 of fig 4 comprises information to level (location) of all children nodes in the tree. The fields in the tree header indicating the level of child nodes and number of nodes in the level corresponds to filed), comprises: by the first node, a location of a first field corresponding to the first node in the N first fields, wherein the location of the first field corresponding to the first node indicates the location of the first node in the first node set ([0029] As shown in FIG. 2, the header 200 includes a packet type field 210 for indicating a data type (e.g., multicast), a tree group field 215 for indicating a multicast group (e.g., (S, G)). In the header 200 (routing information), a tree body 235 spans various fields that represent different portions of the multicast distribution tree. For instance, the tree body 235 includes a root level (location) node field 220 for indicating a root node `a` (second node) of a multicast distribution tree, a second level (location of node b (first node)) field 225 including a node `b` at the second level of the multicast distribution tree, a third level (location of node e (third node)) node field 230 including a node `e` that is a child node from the node `b` in second level of the tree; [0059-0063]).
Regarding claim 6. The combination discloses method according to claim 3.
Xu further discloses, wherein: the multicast routing information of the second node further comprises an addressing field of the second node (fig. 2 and fig. 4 discloses the tree header comprised in multicast packet. The addressing of the node 310 when sending the packet corresponds to address and fields 215 and 220 of the fields of the tree header corresponds to the node 310 routing identifier), and the determining, by the first node, the multicast routing information of the first node based on a multicast routing identifier of the second node comprises:
Determining, by the first node, the multicast routing information of the first node based on the multicast routing identifier of the second node and the addressing field of the second node (fig. 4 and 5 discloses the node 315 generates new packet with a new tree header based on received tree header from node 310. The tree header is routing information comprising routing identifier of all nodes in the tree; [0059-0063]).
Regarding claim 7. The combination discloses method according to claim 6.
Xu further discloses, wherein:
the addressing field of the second node indicates start locations or end locations of multicast routing information of child nodes of the second node (fig. 2, and fig. 4 discloses the tree header discloses the start and end locations of the children in the tree using begin and end fields); or
Regarding claim 8. The combination discloses method according to claim 2.
Xu further discloses, wherein the first node and the third node are nodes in a first network (fig. 5 discloses nodes b and node e are in the same network), the second packet further comprises a first header and a second header (fig. 5 discloses the tree header is encapsulated on the original header of the packet (second packet)), the first header comprises the multicast routing information of the third node or the multicast routing information of the first node, and the second header comprises unicast/multicast information of a second network (fig. 5 discloses the tree header is encapsulated on the original header of the packet. The tree header (multicast routing information comprising routing information of node b 315 (first node) and node e 335 (third node)) is used for multicast forwarding and the inner header is used to unicast the data to target);
Regarding claim 9. The combination discloses method according to claim 8.
Xu further discloses, wherein the first node has a correspondence between the multicast routing identifier of the third node and the unicast/multicast information of the second network (fig. 5 discloses routing nodes in a network to forward packet to target. The address information corresponding multicast address to final target destination address to forward packet to target corresponds to correspondence).
Lee further discloses what Xu teaches wherein the first node has a correspondence between the multicast routing identifier of the third node and the unicast/multicast information of the second network ([0027] Searching a routing table according to information of a header of a multicast packet to determine the number of routers capable of transmitting the multicast packet upon the multicast packet being received preferably comprises: receiving the multicast packet; determining whether or not a tree encapsulation header exists in the multicast packet; determining the states of flags of all of the entries stored in the tree encapsulation header of the multicast packet upon a determination that the tree encapsulation header exists in the multicast packet; and searching the routing table to determine the number of routers capable of transmitting the multicast packet upon a determination that the flags of all the entries are not activated).
Regarding claim 10. Xu discloses a method for communication, wherein the method comprises:
obtaining, by a second node, a first packet, wherein the first packet comprises multicast routing information of the second node ([0039] a root node corresponding to network device 310 (node a) receives a multicast packet 410 of a multicast transmission. The multicast packet 410 may be transmitted by a source of multicast traffic that is directly connected or only one hop from the root node of the multicast network; fig. 4 discloses packet 410 received by 310 comprises tree header that corresponds to routing information),
a multicast routing identifier of a node is used by a non- leaf child node of the node in a multicast tree to determine multicast routing information of the non-leaf child node ((fig.2, fig. 4 and fig. 5 discloses node 310 (a node) sends multicast packet with header 405 (routing information comprising node 310 routing identifier represented by 215 and 220 filed s of fig. 2) to node 315. As indicated in fig. 5, Node 315 (non-leaf child node) using node 310 identifying information of header 405 of fig. 4 or 200 of fig.2 generated header 510 (routing information of non-leaf child node 315); [0059-0063] The process 900 begins at 910 by receiving, at a network device, a multicast packet of a multicast transmission from a first network device…[0060] At 915, the process 900 determines whether the multicast packet includes a header including one or more fields of information for a multicast distribution tree… The network device may correspond to a node from among the one or more child nodes and each node; [0061] Alternatively, responsive to determining that the multicast packet includes the header, the process 900 continues to 920 to identify information in the header corresponding to one or more nodes of network devices (multicast routing identifier of the node) other than the network device. [0062] At 925, the process 900 reduces the header by removing information in the header corresponding to one or more nodes of network devices other than the network device. The reduced header may further include a third level node field corresponding to a child node of the node of the network device.[0063] The process 900 at 930 forwards the multicast packet including the reduced header to a respective network device corresponding to a child node of the node of the network device based on the one or more fields of information from the reduced header), and
multicast routing information of a node (fig. 4, 405 and fig. 2 discloses routing information of a node) comprises a multicast routing identifier of the node ( fig. 2 fields 215 and 220 together corresponds to multicast routing identifier of the root node; [0029-0030] discloses multicast routing information comprising header 200 a tree group field 215 for indicating a multicast group (e.g., (S, G)). In the header 200, a tree body 235 spans various fields that represent different portions of the multicast distribution tree. For instance, the tree body 235 includes a root level node field 220 for indicating a root node `a` of a multicast distribution tree. Fields 215 and 220 together corresponds to routing identifier of the node (root node)) and multicast routing information of a non-leaf child node of the node in the multicast tree ( fig. 2, fig. 4 and [0029-0030] discloses the header 200 (comprising multicast routing information) includes a tree group field 215 for indicating a multicast group (e.g., (S, G))… includes a root level node field 220 for indicating a root node `a` of a multicast distribution tree (215 and 220 together corresponds to the node (root node multicast ID), a second level field 225 including a node `b` (non-leaf child node) at the second level of the multicast distribution tree, a third level node field 230 including a node `e`(non-leaf child node) that is a child node from the node `b` in second level of the tree. [0030 Further…includes a second level field 240 including a node `c` (non-leaf child node) at the second level of the multicast distribution tree, and third level node fields 245 and 250 respectively including a node `f` and a node `g` that each represent respective child nodes of the node `c` in the second level of the tree. The fields 210, 215, 230, 245, 250 together in the header corresponds to routing information of non-leaf nodes in eth multicast group)
Xu inherently discloses sending, by the second node, the first packet to a first node, wherein the first node is a child node of the second node in the multicast tree ([0041] discloses the root node corresponding to network device 310 (node a) forwards a multicast packet (e.g., based on data from multicast packet 410 in FIG. 4) based on the information in the tree header to the second level nodes b, c and d).
But, Xu does not explicitly disclose: sending, by the second node, the first packet to a first node, wherein the first node is a child node of the second node in the multicast tree;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses sending, by the second node, the first packet to a first node, wherein the first node is a child node of the second node in the multicast tree (fig. 3 and fig. 4 discloses the root node receives multicast packet; S12 determines encapsulation header and check all flags not being null; S14 sends the multicast packet subsequent child nodes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Xu with Lee. The modification would allow effectively forwarding packet to a leaf node via child nodes in the multicast tree. The modification would allow effective multicast forwarding.
Regarding claim 12. In the combination Xu discloses a first node (fig. 4 315), wherein the first node comprises at least one processor and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the one or more memories store programming instructions (fig. 4 discloses root node 315 that comprises memory and processor)for execution by the at least one processor to perform operations comprising:
All other limitations of claim 12 are similar with the limitations of claim 1 rejected above.
Regarding claim 13. The combination discloses first node according to claim 12.
All other limitations of claim 13 are similar with the limitations of claim 2 rejected above.
Regarding claim 14. The combination discloses first node according to claim 13.
All other limitations of claim 14 are similar with the limitations of claim 3 rejected above.
Regarding claim 15. The combination discloses first node according to claim 14.
All other limitations of claim 4 are similar with the limitations of claim 4 rejected above.
Regarding claim 16. The combination discloses first node according to claim 15.
All other limitations of claim 16 are similar with the limitations of claim 5 rejected above.
Regarding claim 17. The combination discloses first node according to claim 14.
All other limitations of claim 17 are similar with the limitations of claim 6 rejected above.
Regarding claim 18. Th combination discloses the first node according to claim 17.
All other limitations of claim 18 are similar with the limitations of claim 7 rejected above.
Regarding claim 19. The combination discloses first node according to claim 13.
All other limitations of claim 19 are similar with the limitations of claim 8 rejected above.
Regarding claim 21. The combination discloses first node according to claim 1.
wherein the second node is a non-leaf child node of a root node in the multicast tree (fig. 6 discloses node 325 (second node) is child node of node 310 (root node)).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Xu (US pg. no. 20150049760), and Lee (US pg. no. 20060114904), further in view of Janneteau (US pg. no. 20140126575).
Regarding claim 11. The combination discloses method according to claim 10.
Xu discloses , wherein the first node and the second node are nodes in a first network (fig. 4 and 5 discloses node 310 and 315 are in the same network).
But, the combination does not explicitly disclose:
the first packet further comprises a third header and a fourth header, the third header comprises the multicast routing information of the second node, and the fourth header comprises unicast/multicast information of a third network.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Janneteau discloses the first packet further comprises a third header and a fourth header, the third header comprises the multicast routing information of the second node, and the fourth header comprises unicast/multicast information of a third network ([0101] It should be noted that if root node 4 (second node) has a connection to an external network, it can transmit the multicast packet towards this external network. [0102] When a host receiver receives a tunneled multicast packet with a routing header from root node 4 it removes the external IP header corresponding to the tunnel and also the routing header in order to recover the data. Depending on the number of external network the first packet crosses to reach to and in the multicast tree, an encapsulated header to tunnel the packet through these networks corresponds to the third and fourth headers corresponding to the second and third external networks the packet crosses; fig. 6 discloses the multicast packet with multicast routing information is encapsulated with internal IP header, routing header (together corresponds to multicast routing information of second node), and external IP header (information of the third network)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious toa person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of the combination with Janneteau. The modification would allow tunneling multicast packet across different non-multicast network for effective forwarding of the packet to remote target.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
George, “Stateless application-level Multicast for Dynamic Group Communication”.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MESSERET F GEBRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445
.