DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-3, 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hollar et al. (US 2021,0304577 A1, hereinafter “Hollar”).
Regarding Claim 1, Hollar discloses: A method for pairing an ultra-wideband (UWB) device in a local wireless network, comprising [0067], “To create the RTLS network, UWB, camera, and UWB/camera location devices are distributed throughout a facility.” obtaining device information of the UWB device, [0080], the UWB tag's unique identifier serves as a look up reference to the tagged object's properties and within these properties the visual attributes can be saved. The UWB tag's unique identifier could be a media access control (MAC) address. Note: retrieving tag identifier is inherent to pairing and tracking. discovering, using the device information, the UWB device within a perimeter of the local wireless network, [0067], “To create the RTLS network, UWB, camera, and UWB/camera location devices are distributed throughout a facility.” performing a UWB ranging operation with the UWB device to obtain position information of the UWB device, [0084], “The UWB location unit 603 performs an AoA measurement from the tag's 606 signal and determines the angle to be θ”, and [0084], “Therefore, the relative location of the tag 606 can be determined…” displaying, on a user interface widget, an augmented reality (AR) indicator showing a location of the UWB device based on the position information of the UWB device, [0082], “The smart phone (smart device) 601 contains both a UWB tracking unit 603 and a camera senor unit 602”. Hollar further teaches, [0082], “the system can project the UWB tag 606's location within the image 608”, and [0084], “the relative location of the tag 606 can be determined and overlaid on the image 608” as shown by, [0076], “shown with circles 506 and 508”.
Regarding Claim 2, Hollar discloses the limitations of Claim 2 as recited above in the rejection of claim 1, in addition, Hollar further discloses: comprising displaying, on the user interface widget, the UWB device, [0082], “The smart phone (smart device) 601 contains both a UWB tracking unit 603 and a camera senor unit 602.” wherein: the UWB device is located in a field of view (FOV) of an imaging device communicatively coupled to the user interface widget, [0082], “The camera sensor 602 is viewing an area and captures an image 608.” the displaying of the AR indicator comprises displaying a symbol overlaying with the UWB device, [0084], “the relative location of the tag 606 can be determined and overlaid on the image 608.” As shown by, [0076], “Shown with circles 506 and 508”.
Regarding Claim 3, Hollar discloses the limitations of Claim 3 as recited above in the rejection of claim 1, in addition, Hollar further discloses: wherein: the UWB device is located outside a field of view (FOV) of an imaging device communicatively coupled to the user interface widget, [0083], “the user can use the phone in an augmented reality context to find the tag”, and [0082], “The camera sensor 602 is viewing an area and captures an image 608.” displaying of the AR indicator comprises displaying, on the user interface widget, a symbol pointing to the location of the UWB device, [0076], “shown with circles 506 and 508”, and further, [0084], “ the relative location of the tag 606 can be determined and overlaid on the image 608.” notification message prompting a user to turn the image device towards the UWB device such that the UWB device is located in the FOV of the image device, [0083], “the user can use the phone in an augmented reality context to find the tag.”
Regarding Claim 16, Hollar discloses: a method for pairing an ultra-wideband (UWB) device in a local wireless network, comprising: discovering a UWB device within a perimeter of the local wireless network, [0067], “To create the RTLS network, UWB, camera, and UWB/camera location devices are distributed throughout a facility” determining a relative position to the UWB device via UWB ranging, [0084], “The UWB location unit 603 performs an AoA measurement from the tag's 606 signal and determines the angle to be θ.” receiving coordinates of the UWB device from the UWB device, [0084], “the relative location of the tag 606 can be determined and overlaid on the image 608” computing coordinates based on the coordinates of the UWB device and the relative position to the UWB device, [0084], “the relative location of the tag 606 can be determined.” and transmitting the coordinates, [0084], “the relative location of the tag 606 can be determined and overlaid on the image 608”
Regarding Claim 19, Hollar discloses: An ultra-wideband (UWB) device, comprising: a transceiver operable to perform a UWB communication, [0067], “To create the RTLS network, UWB, camera, and UWB/camera location devices are distributed throughout a facility.” a transceiver operable to perform a UWB communication, [0082], “The smart phone (smart device) 601 contains both a UWB tracking unit 603 and a camera senor unit 602” a memory for storing program instructions, device information, angle-of-arrivals and distances, Hollar discloses a smart device executing UWB tracking and AR overlay operations. Execution of these operations necessarily require memory storing program instructions and data associated with UWB measurements (e.g., AoA), consistent with standard smart-device architecture. a processor coupled to the transceiver and to the memory, the disclosed smart device performs UWB tracking, AoA determination, and AR rendering, which inherently requires a processor coupled to UWB communication hardware and memory. obtaining device information of the other UWB device, [0083], “the user can use the phone in an augmented reality context to find the tag” discovering, using the device information, the other UWB device within a perimeter of the local wireless network, [0067], “To create the RTLS network, UWB, camera, and UWB/camera location devices are distributed throughout a facility” performing a UWB ranging operation with the other UWB device to obtain position information, [0084], “The UWB location unit 603 performs an AoA measurement from the tag's 606 signal and determines the angle to be θ.” displaying, on a user interface widget, an augmented reality (AR) indicator showing a location of the other UWB device based on the position information, [0084], “he relative location of the tag 606 can be determined and overlaid on the image 608”, and [0076], “shown with circles 506 and 508”, and further [0082], “The camera sensor 602 is viewing an area and captures an image 608”
Regarding Claim 20, Hollar discloses the limitations of Claim 20 as recited above in the rejection of claim 1, in addition, Hollar further discloses: wherein displaying, on the user interface widget, the other UWB device, [0084], “the relative location of the tag 606 can be determined and overlaid on the image 608”, and [0082], “The smart phone (smart device) 601 contains both a UWB tracking unit 603 and a camera senor unit 602.” wherein: the other UWB device is located in a field of view (FOV) of an imaging device communicatively coupled to the user interface widget, [0082], “The camera sensor 602 is viewing an area and captures an image 608” the displaying of the AR indicator comprises displaying a symbol overlaying with the other UWB device, [0076], “shown with circles 506 and 508”, and [0082], “the system can project the UWB tag 606's location within the image 608.”, further [0084], “the relative location of the tag 606 can be determined and overlaid on the image 608.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 8, 9, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hollar, and further in view of Ledvina et al. (US 2020/0336897 A1, hereinafter “Ledvina”)
Regarding Claim 4, Hollar discloses the limitations of Claim 4 as recited above in the rejection of claim 1; however, Hollar does not teach, wherein the discovering of the UWB device comprises: establishing an out-of-band (OOB) channel with the UWB device prior to the UWB ranging operation; receiving a device identification (ID) of the UWB device through the OOB channel; and linking the device ID to the device information.
In the same field endeavor, Ledvina discloses: establishing an out-of-band (OOB) channel with the UWB device prior to the UWB ranging operation, [0044], “Based on pairing initiator device 110 receiving (and in embodiments verifying) authentication indictor 408 (or in some embodiments authenticating pairing responder device 120 directly), pairing initiator device 110 continues with the ranging and pairing operations” receiving a device identification (ID) of the UWB device through the OOB channel, [0045], “ authentication indicator 408 is a certificate that is verified using one or more values included with authentication indicator 408” linking the device ID to the device information, [0045], “completing the pairing operation is conditioned on successfully verifying authentication indicator 408”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hollar in specially providing discovering of the UWB device comprises: establishing an out-of-band (OOB) channel with the UWB device prior to the UWB ranging operation; receiving a device identification (ID) of the UWB device through the OOB channel; and linking the device ID to the device information, as taught by Ledvina, in order to identify a device prior to performing UWB ranging.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hollar and Ledvina discloses the limitation of Claim 5 as recited above in the rejection of claim 4. In addition, Hollar further discloses: wherein the performing of the UWB ranging operation comprises: computing the position information of the UWB device based on the location data, [0084], “the relative location of the tag 606 can be determined and overlaid on the image 608” receiving the device ID and location data, from the UWB device in the UWB channel, [0084], “The UWB location unit 603 performs an AoA measurement from the tag's 606 signal”, and further Ledvina discloses: [0045], “authentication indicator 408 is a certificate that is verified using one or more values included with authentication indicator 408”
However, Hollar does not disclose, starting a UWB channel with the UWB device following the OOB channel and linking the position information to the device ID. In the same field of endeavor, Ledvina discloses, starting a UWB channel with the UWB device following the OOB channel [0044], “Based on pairing initiator device 110 receiving (and in embodiments verifying) authentication indictor 408 …pairing initiator device 110 continues with the ranging and pairing operations and linking the position information to the device ID [0045], “completing the pairing operation is conditioned on successfully verifying authentication indicator 408.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hollar in specially providing starting a UWB channel with the UWB device following the OOB channel; linking the position information to the device ID, as taught by Ledvina, in order to associate verified device identity with UWB-derived location information.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Hollar and Ledvina discloses the limitation of Claim 8 as recited above in the rejection of claim 4; however, Hollar does not teach wherein the OOB channel is a Bluetooth channel, and the device ID is a Bluetooth ID.
In the same field endeavor, Ledvina discloses: the OOB channel is a Bluetooth channel, [0021], “pairing initiator device 110 and pairing responder device 120 communicate via a wireless (e.g., Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Zigbee, Ultra-wideband) …communications medium.” the device ID is a Bluetooth ID, [0020], “Such information may include, but is not limited to, one or more identifiers of the interlocutor device (e.g., a name, a MAC address, an IP address, etc.)”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hollar in specially providing the OOB channel is a Bluetooth channel, and the device ID is a Bluetooth ID, as taught by Ledvina, in order to using Bluetooth as an out-of-band channel prior to UWB ranging is a routine pairing implementation, and identifier as the device ID is an inherent and conventional aspect of Bluetooth-based discovery.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Hollar and Ledvina discloses the limitation of Claim 9 as recited above in the rejection of claim 5. In addition, Hollar further discloses: wherein computing the position information of the UWB device comprises computing a distance to the UWB device and an angle-of-arrival of the UWB device, [0084], “The UWB location unit 603 performs an AoA measurement from the tag's 606 signal and determines the angle to be θ”.
However, Hollar does disclose computing a distance to the UWB device.
In the same field endeavor, Ledvina discloses: [0047], “At blocks 420, pairing initiator device 110 and pairing responder device 120 exchange various ranging communications 422 to determine the distance (i.e., Distance A) between pairing initiator device 110 and pairing responder device 120.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hollar in specially providing computing a distance to the UWB device, as taught by Ledvina, in order to enabling a more complete characterization of the relative position of a UWB device.
Regarding Claim 17, Hollar discloses the limitations of Claim 17 as recited above in the rejection of claim 16. In addition, Hollar further discloses: wherein: obtain an angle-of-arrival of the UWB device, [0084], “The UWB location unit 603 performs an AoA measurement from the tag's 606 signal and determines the angle to be θ”
However, Hollar does not teach performing a UWB ranging operation to obtain a distance to the UWB device.
In the same field endeavor, Ledvina discloses: [0047], “At blocks 420, pairing initiator device 110 and pairing responder device 120 exchange various ranging communications 422 to determine the distance (i.e., Distance A) between pairing initiator device 110 and pairing responder device 120.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hollar in specially providing performing a UWB ranging operation to obtain a distance to the UWB device, as taught by Ledvina, in order to combine Hollar’s UWB-based AoA determination with Ledvina’s UWB ranging-based distance determination.
Regarding Claim 18, Hollar discloses the limitations of Claim 18 as recited above in the rejection of claim 16. However, Hollar does not teach wherein the computing of the coordinate using at least one of two-way ranging, trilateration, triangulation, or multilateration on the coordinates of the UWB device.
In the same field endeavor, Ledvina discloses: [0047], “At blocks 420, pairing initiator device 110 and pairing responder device 120 exchange various ranging communications 422 to determine the distance (i.e., Distance A) between pairing initiator device 110 and pairing responder device 120”, further [0047], “In such embodiments, a device 110 or 120 sends a first communication 422 to the other noting the time the first communication 422 is sent, and the interlocutor responds with a second communication 422 indicating the time the first communication was received.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hollar in specially providing the computing of the coordinate using at least one of two-way ranging, trilateration, triangulation, or multilateration on the coordinates of the UWB device, as taught by Ledvina, in order to compute coordinates using two-way UWB ranging combine Hollar’s UWB-based relative position determination with Ledvina’s explicit two-way ranging.
Claims 6 , 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hollar, further in view of Williams et al. (US 2022/0201460 A1, hereinafter “Williams”)
Regarding Claim 6, Hollar discloses the limitations of Claim 6 as recited above in the rejection of claim 2. In addition, Hollar further discloses, displaying, on the user interface widget, the device information of the UWB device, [0083], “ the user can use the phone in an augmented reality context to find the tag”, and [0082], “The camera sensor 602 is viewing an area and captures an image 608”, and further 0084], “the relative location of the tag 606 can be determined and overlaid on the image 608”
However, Hollar does not disclose, displaying, on the user interface widget, a notification message prompting a user to select the UWB device to be paired with the local wireless network; and receiving, on the user interface widget, a user's selection of the symbol as a confirmation to pair the UWB device with the local wireless network. In the same field of endeavor, Williams discloses, displaying, on the user interface widget, a notification message prompting a user to select the UWB device to be paired with the local wireless network, [0083], “the user can use the phone in an augmented reality context to find the tag”. Williams discloses UI prompt mechanics, [0005], “output information to the interface identifying the control device” and receiving, on the user interface widget, a user’s selection of the symbol as a confirmation to pair the UWB device with the local wireless network, Hollar teaches pairing action context, [0083], “the user can use the phone in an augmented reality context to find the tag”. Williams teaches user interaction/input, [0005], “receive input from the interface selecting the control device”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hollar in specially providing displaying, on the user interface widget, a notification message prompting a user to select the UWB device to be paired with the local wireless network; and receiving, on the user interface widget, a user's selection of the symbol as a confirmation to pair the UWB device with the local wireless network, as taught by Williams, in order to incorporate William’s user-interface interaction techniques into Hollar’s UWB pairing system to allow a user to confirm selection of the intended UWB device prior to pairing, particularly in environments where multiple devices may be present within the local wireless network, thereby reducing the likelihood of unintended or incorrect pairing.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hollar and Williams discloses the limitation of Claim 7 as recited above in the rejection of claim 6. In addition, Hollar further discloses, wherein pairing the UWB device with the local wireless network comprises: transmitting device information to a network control device of the local wireless network, [0067], “To create the RTLS network, UWB, camera, and UWB/camera location devices are distributed throughout a facility”.
However, Hollar does not teach the network control device comprising one or more of a hub, a router, a modem, a television, a set-top box, a smart speaker, a mobile device, or a range extender of the local wireless network.
In the same field endeavor, Williams discloses: [0005], “a processor, a display device configured to display an interface, and a memory storing program instructions”
the network control device comprising one or more of a hub, a router, a modem, a television, a set-top box, a smart speaker, a mobile device, or a range extender of the local wireless network, [0021], “pairing initiator device 110 includes …one or more user interfaces 116”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hollar’s local UWB pairing system to incorporate Williams’ networked control-device interface, so that device information associated with a paired UWB device may be transmitted to and managed by a network control device, enabling centralized coordination, onboarding, and manage of devices within the local wireless network.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Hollar and Williams discloses the limitation of Claim 10 as recited above in the rejection of claim 7. In addition, Hollar further discloses, the local wireless network is a wireless area network established based on network standards of one or more of Matter, Zigbee, Bluetooth, WiFi, IrDA, Thread, or a combination thereof; and the network control device is communicatively coupled to the Internet [0065]: a wireless method such as Bluetooth or near field communications (NFC) could be used in place of the cable to send data to/from 108/104 to the processor 107.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hollar, in view of Ledvina et al. (US 2020/0336897 A1, hereinafter “Ledvina”, and further in view of Larson et al. (US 2016/0205544 A1, hereinafter “Larson”).
Regarding Claim 11, Hollar discloses the limitations of Claim 11 as recited above in the rejection of claim 1. However, Hollar does not disclose: receiving the device information through Bluetooth communication from the UWB device, near field communication (NFC) from the UWB device, UWB data communication from the UWB device, or scanning of a QR code of the UWB, and storing the device information in a device database.
In the same field endeavor, Ledvina teaches receiving device information via Bluetooth and UWB communication, [0021], “pairing initiator device 110 and pairing responder device 120 communicate via a wireless (e.g., Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Zigbee, Ultra-wideband) …communications medium”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hollar in specially providing receiving device information via Bluetooth and UWB communication, as taught by Ledvina, in order to identify a device prior to performing UWB ranging.
The combination of Hollar and Ledvina does not teach storing the device information in a device database and use of QR code encoding device identifier information retrievable by scanning.
In the same field endeavor, Larson discloses: [0072], “Registration, or addition, of the device with the device database 104 within device engine 108 also queues the device to be registered with the cloud data provider 160” and Larson also teaches use of QR code encoding device identifier information retrievable by scanning: [0071], “The QR code is generated by the device database based on the unique identifier data provided to the device database 104 by the functional test process 510”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Hollar and Ledvina in specially providing storing the device information in a device database, as taught by Larson, in order to ensure acquiring and storing device information during device onboarding.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 12, the closest prior art, Hollar, does not disclose nor fairly suggest the following novel feature: “The method of comprising gathering coordinates of the perimeter to generate a virtual map of the perimeter; computing coordinates of the UWB device based on the coordinates of the perimeter and the position information of the UWB device; and displaying, on the user interface widget, the virtual map and the UWB device based on the coordinates of the virtual map and the UWB device, wherein the displaying of the AR indicator comprises displaying the symbol overlaying with the UWB device in a sub-perimeter of the perimeter in the virtual map”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 1 and claim 2.
Claims 13-15 would be allowable based on their respective dependencies on allowable claim 12.
Conclusion
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Shin et al. (US 2022/0244367 A1, hereinafter “Shin”). Shin is directed to ultra-wideband (UWB) ranging and positioning techniques for determining relative information between devices. While Shin is pertinent to the general field of UWB-based positioning systems, the teachings of Shin are cumulative of, or less pertinent that, the applied prior art. Accordingly, Shin is made of record but not relied upon in any rejection of the claim.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
SANG PHUOC. LE
Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/S.P.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641