DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “the power reception device” in line 7 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEYED (US 10,425,171 B2, hereinafter SEYED) in view of SAKO (WO2014002634 A1, hereinafter SAKO) and in further view of ABAJIAN et al. (US 2020/0336018 A1, hereinafter ABAJIAN).
Regarding claim 7, SEYED discloses a power transmission device comprising:
a coil configured to resonate at a designated frequency (See Fig.1A, Item#120, discloses a transmit antenna comprising a loop coil);
a power transmission circuit configured to output a power signal to the coil by converting the power signal into a power signal having the frequency and to adjust a current of a power signal to be output to the coil (See Fig.1A, and Col.11, lines 5612 disclose a baseband processor 150 comprising a transmit power reduction for SAR 160 and a RF transmit controller 155 and RF power amplifier 165 which control the output to transmit antenna 120);
a wireless communication circuit configured to perform wireless communication with the power reception device (See Fig.1 and Col.14, lines 35-56 a wireless communication 115 between the power transmitter 110 and the power reception device 105); and
a control circuit electrically connected to the coil, the power transmission circuit, and the wireless communication circuit (See Fig.1, Item#155), wherein the control circuit is configured to:
transmit first notification information to notify the proximity of an object to the power reception device through the wireless communication circuit (See Figs.1A and 2 and Col.4, lines 4-30, disclose the power transmitter 110 comprising a proximity sensor 125, the proximity sensor detects an object in step#220. The charge transmitter device requests and receives an image in step#S250 from power receives 105 via wireless communication link 115. Col.9, lines 10-20, disclose the charge receiving device 105 captures the image using its image sensing system comprising a camera),
receive second notification information (See Fig.2, Step#250 discloses receiving an image captured by the power receiving device), and
control the power transmission circuit to lower the current of the power signal transmitted to the coil in response to the second notification information having been received from the power reception device (See Fig.2, Step#285, discloses reducing the transmitted power in response to recognizing that the object is a human being).
However, SEYED discloses the detection of a proximate object is performed using a proximity sensor. SEYED does not disclose monitoring a characteristic associated with the power signal supplied from the power transmission circuit to the power reception device through the coil, and sending the first notification based on first characteristic data obtained through the monitoring operation and that the image analysis is performed by the reception device and receiving from the reception device a second notification indicating that the approaching object is a human body in response to the first notification information transmitted to the power reception device.
SAKO discloses a vehicle wireless charging system, wherein the vehicle comprises a camera which captures an image and determines if a human being is present around the vehicle and transmits to the power transmitter a notification that the approaching object is a human body (See Page 26, Par.1, Fig.2A-2B and Page 20 Par.1 disclose a vehicle comprising a biological detection device 12B, the biological detection device 12B detects the presence of a living being outside the vehicle and Page 12, Par.1 disclose the vehicle controller communicates with the power supply device to stop charging when living organism is detected).
SEYED and SAKO are analogous art since they both deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SEYED with the teachings of SAKO by performing the image analysis at the power reception device and sending the second notification to the power transmission device for the benefit of reducing the processing load on the power transmission device as it may receive a plurality of images for analysis in the case of a plurality of wireless power reception devices being charged simultaneously.
However, SEYED and SAKO do not disclose monitoring a characteristic associated with the power signal supplied from the power transmission circuit to the power reception device through the coil, and sending the first notification based on first characteristic data obtained through the monitoring operation and that the image analysis is performed by the reception device.
ABAJIAN discloses a wireless charging system wherein the power transmission device monitors a characteristic associated with the power signal supplied from the power transmission circuit to the power reception device through the coil to determine when an object is proximate to the power transmission device (See Par.63, discloses monitoring current and voltage across the power transmission device coil and detecting changes in current and voltage as an indication that an object is present).
SEYED, SAKO and ABAJIAN are analogous art since they all deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SEYED and SAKO with the teachings of ABAJIAN by monitoring the power transmission coil voltage and current to detect the presence of an object instead of using a proximity sensor for the benefit of reducing the cost by eliminating the need for additional sensors.
Regarding claim 8, SEYED, SAKO and ABAJIAN disclose the power transmission device of claim 7 as discussed above, wherein the control circuit is configured to transmit fourth notification information for providing notification of the suspending of the transmission of the power signal to the power reception device through the wireless communication circuit (See SAKO Page 22, Par.3, discloses transmitting a notification that charging has been stopped).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention disclosed by SEYED, SAKO and ABAJIAN with the further teachings of SAKO by transmitting a notification to the user that power transmission was suspended for the benefit of alerting the user to take appropriate remedial action to continue charging.
Regarding claim 9, SEYED, SAKO and ABAJIAN disclose the power transmission device of claim 7, wherein the control circuit is configured, as part of the monitoring operation, to: monitor the current of the power signal output from the power transmission circuit to the coil, and transmit the first notification information when the monitored current is equal to or greater than a designated threshold value (See Par.63, discloses monitoring current and voltage across the power transmission device coil and detecting changes in current and voltage as an indication that an object is present. When an object is present the current exceeds a threshold, and an object is determined to be present).
Regarding claim 13, SEYED, SAKO and ABAJIAN the power transmission device of claim 7, further comprising a sensor, wherein the monitoring comprises receiving, by the control circuit, data from the sensor, and the control circuit is configured to determine whether to transmit the first notification information based on the data received from the sensor (See Par.63, discloses monitoring current and voltage across the power transmission device coil and detecting changes in current and voltage as an indication that an object is present. It is implicit that current and voltage sensors are used to detect the current and voltage at the power transmission coil).
Claim(s) 10 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEYED in view of SAKO and in further view of ABAJIAN and in further view of KIM et al. WO2019/221466 A1, hereinafter KIM, US 2021/0203191 A1 is considered a translation of the WIPO publication).
Regarding claim 10, SEYED, SAKO and ABAJIAN disclose the power transmission device of claim 9 as discussed above, However, SEYED, SAKO and ABAJIAN do not disclose wherein the control circuit is configured, as part of controlling the power transmission circuit, to: control the power transmission circuit to lower the current of the power signal transmitted to the coil up to a minimum value designated as a value less than the threshold value based on the monitored current being less than a limit value designated as a value greater than the threshold value, and suspend the transmission of the power signal to the coil based on the monitored current being equal to or greater than the limit value.
KIM discloses a wireless charging system comprising detecting that a human being is proximate to a wireless charging device, wherein the control circuit is configured, as part of controlling the power transmission circuit, to:
control the power transmission circuit to lower the current of the power signal transmitted to the coil up to a minimum value designated as a value less than the threshold value based on the monitored current being less than a limit value designated as a value greater than the threshold value (See Fig.5, Steps#505 and 507, disclose adjusting the amount of power when the proximity is more than a second level and less than a first level), and
suspend the transmission of the power signal to the coil based on the monitored current being equal to or greater than the limit value (See Fig.5, Steps#505 and 506, discloses suspending power transmission when the proximity is determined to be a first level or higher. The examiner explains that the proximity levels correspond to the claimed monitored current values; higher current more proximate, lower current less proximate).
SEYED, SAKO, ABAJIAN and KIM are analogous art since they all deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SEYED, SAKO and ABAJIAN with the teachings of KIM by reducing the power transmission when the human proximity is determined to be within a first range and suspending power transmission when the human proximity is determined to be within a closer second range for the benefit of continuing charging as long as possible when safe instead of immediately suspending charging.
Regarding claim 14, SEYED, SAKO and ABAJIAN disclose the power transmission device of claim 7 as discussed above, However, SEYED, SAKO and ABAJIAN do not disclose wherein the control circuit is configured control the power transmission circuit to raise the current of the power signal transmitted to the coil or to resume the transmission of the power signal to the coil based on second characteristic data obtained through the monitoring operation, after controlling the power transmission circuit.
KIM discloses a wireless power transmission device wherein the control circuit is configured control the power transmission circuit to raise the current of the power signal transmitted to the coil or to resume the transmission of the power signal to the coil based on second characteristic data obtained through the monitoring operation, after controlling the power transmission circuit (See Fig.1, Item#120 and Par.69, disclose the controller 120 transmits control information to adjust the power transmission output. The control information may include, when the human body moves away from the electronic device 101, at least one of a request to increase transmission power again or a request to resume power transmission. The processor 120 may generate the control information (e.g., a request) based on a value detected through the sensor module 176 in order to transmit the control information).
SEYED, SAKO, ABAJIAN and KIM are analogous art since they all deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SEYED, SAKO and ABAJIAN with the teachings of KIM by raising or resuming charging based on characteristic data obtained from the monitoring operation for the benefit of continuing charging once the obstacle to safe charging has been removed.
Regarding claim 15, SEYED, SAKO, ABAJIAN and KIM do not explicitly disclose transmitting fifth notification information for providing notification that the current has been high adjusted or sixth notification information to notify the resumption of the transmission of the power signal to the power reception device through the wireless communication circuit.
However, SAKO discloses sending a notification when charging is suspended (SAKO Page 22, Par.3, discloses transmitting a notification that charging has been stopped).
The examiner explains that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SEYED, SAKO, ABAJIAN and KIM by sending a notification of the resumption of charging for the benefit of updating the user on the charging status.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEYED in view of SAKO and in further view of ABAJIAN and in further view of PARK et al. (US 2023/0208206 A1, hereinafter PARK).
Regarding claims 11-12, SEYED, SAKO and ABAJIAN disclose the power transmission device of claim 7 as discussed above, However, SEYED, SAKO and ABAJIAN do not disclose wherein: the wireless communication circuit comprises a first wireless communication circuit configured to communicate with the power reception device using the coil as an antenna and a second wireless communication circuit configured to communicate with the power reception device using a separate antenna, and the control circuit is configured to perform communication for a power supply with the power reception device using at least one of the first wireless communication circuit and the second wireless communication circuit.
PARK discloses a wireless charging system comprising a wireless communication circuit, wherein: the wireless communication circuit comprises a first wireless communication circuit configured to communicate with the power reception device using the coil as an antenna (See Fig.4A, Items#120, and Par.43, disclose communication using in-band communication) and a second wireless communication circuit configured to communicate with the power reception device using a separate antenna, and the control circuit is configured to perform communication for a power supply with the power reception device using at least one of the first wireless communication circuit and the second wireless communication circuit (See Par.43, discloses using out-band communication comprising Bluetooth).
SEYED, SAKO, ABAJIAN and PARK are analogous art since they all deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SEYED, SAKO and ABAJIAN by using in-band communication and out-band communication for the benefit of improving the communication efficiency between the power transmission device and the reception device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6 are allowed. The prior art does not disclose “receive identification information for identifying an outward appearance of the power transmission device from the power transmission device through the wireless communication circuit… identify a first object corresponding to the power transmission device based on the identification information in an image received from the camera in response to the reception of the first notification information and determine whether a second object corresponding to a human body is present in the image…” in combination with the remaining limitations of claim 1.
Dependent claims 2-6 are also allowed.
Conclusion
/AHMED H OMAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859