DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(b) because they are incomplete. 37 CFR 1.83(b) reads as follows:
When the invention consists of an improvement on an old machine the drawing must when possible exhibit, in one or more views, the improved portion itself, disconnected from the old structure, and also in another view, so much only of the old structure as will suffice to show the connection of the invention therewith.
The “Drawings” (08/27/25) are not drawings, but rather a PDF of the arguments.
The CIP is an improvement on the previous three-panel binder. The new matter is a “stop” however this stop is insufficiently illustrated. Stops on the “first plurality of stops” are shown (in low resolution) in Figure 3, however, the stops on the “second plurality of stops” is not shown in any detail. There is no detail on how the stops are formed on the “folding panels between each hinge”. These are shown insufficiently in small detail from a side perspective. It is unclear how the first and second stops interact to halt further hinging.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1=20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. All the different “stops” and their structural interrelation cannot be ascertained (See below).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: the relationship between the first plurality of stops and the second plurality of stops. The structure of the second plurality of stops is insufficiently depicted in the Drawings, particularly the interaction between the first and second stops (see objection to Drawings).
Upon further consideration, it appears that each of the panels contains alternating “stops” which are simply “cutouts” (e.g. see Figure 4). Also, each panel includes bent portions 71 “additional stops” opposite the cutouts (“stops”), however it is unclear how these two elements interact to form a “stop”. Since the alternating cutouts forming the stops are spaced from the bent portion 71, it is unclear how or in what manner these “stops” engage each other to effectuate a “stop”. Drawings would be sufficient to show such engagement however, the Drawings are of low resolution, including the PDF not scanned into the file wrapper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsuka (JP 3,148,952) (See NPL for English Translation) in view of Rodell (US 1,455,550).
In respect to claim 1, 11-13, and 18, the claims are impossible to ascertain for the reasons detailed in the 35 USC 112 above, however, as best can be construed by the examiner, Otsuka disclose a foldable clipboard comprising: three (at least two) folding panels 1a/1b/1c which are configured to form a planar surface when positioned in an expanded position (Fig. 1); two (at least one) plurality of hinge assemblies, each hinge position relative to another hinge in a transverse alignment, a portion of the hinges formed on the first and second folding panels (Figs. 1, 4d); the folding panels may further overlapped in a folded position (Fig. 5).
Otsuka disclose the hinge construction as claimed, but does not disclose stops. The exact configuration of the stops are both indefinite and unclear for numerous reasons in the 35 USC 112 rejection above, however, Rodell teach a similar constructed cylindrical hinge wherein the hinge further includes a first plurality of stops 11 on alternating portions of the hinge assemblies, and a second plurality of stops formed as the edge of the on one of the folding panels, the stops cooperating to abut one another in an expanded position (Figs. 1-2). It would have been obvious to modify the hinges taught in Otsuka to include stops in view of Rodell to limit the opening distance of a door, or similar mounted substrate (Pg. 1, 29-43). It is noted that although preferred in use with a door, the invention solves the same problem, namely avoiding contact between the two substrates being hinged together (Pg. 1, 71-93).
In respect to claims 2-6 and 14-17, the claims are drawn to specifics of the hinge and stop system, which cannot be clearly ascertained for the several reasons detailed in the 35 USC 112 rejection. However, Otsuka in view of Rodell appear to teach the claimed structural limitations.
In respect to claims 7-8 and 19-20, Otsuka further disclose that the foldable clipboard comprises a spring-loaded clip and mounting bracket 2 (Fig. 1).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsuka (JP 3,148,952) (See NPL for English Translation) in view of Rodell (US 1,455,550) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liptan (US 2007/0187565).
Otsuka in view of Rodell substantially teach the claimed invention, but do not teach rounding of the corners of the folding panels or the materials of the folding panels. However, Liptan teaches a very similar foldable clipboard as Otsuka, and further that the folding panels are rounded. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the folding panels taught in Otsuka and Rodell with rounded corners in view of Liptan as to not snag if providing in a pocket (0011). Liptan further teach that the folding panels may be any material, including metal or plastic (0012). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the folding panels taught in Otsuka and Rodell as metal or plastic in view of Liptan, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/27/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant has bolded and/or underlined various portions of the Specification; however, this has not facilitated any argument that the Specification clearly and definitely provides for the interaction between the claimed “stops”. The interaction between the stops is at least unclear and indefinite for the reason detailed in the 35 USC 112(b) above.
The arguments against the prior art cannot be adequately addressed since the structures, namely the “stops”, are unclear and indefinite. Any alleged differences between the prior art and the application cannot be ascertained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYLE R GRABOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637