DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (2) as being anticipated by Cheung et al (US 2006/0088220).
Re claim 1, Cheung discloses a method comprising: receiving display data for a cloud game (fig. 1, client 614 receives video stream from proxy server 610) transmitted from a cloud device of a cloud gaming system (servers 108 and 610 are considered cloud devices as they provide functionality to the client device over a network), the display data comprising a to-be-displayed game picture frame and a first position of a target object in the game picture frame (par. [0018], graphics are rendered at the proxy server and streamed to the client, with fig. 2 illustrating game picture frames and positions of multiple objects); displaying the game picture frame and drawing the target object on the displayed game picture frame based on the first position (again fig. 2), using locally stored data associated with the target object ([0023] and [0032]-[0034], the graphics are rendered on the client device based on client input, therefore locally stored and executed commands from the client affect the rendering of graphics, such as by causing a jumping action).
Re claim 2, Cheung discloses displaying a target control of the target object at a second position associated with the first position on the displayed game picture frame, drawing the target object on the displayed game picture frame in response to a trigger operation for the target control ([0023] and fig. 2, 715, the “jump” command causes client icons 740 to be rendered in a series of frames as jumping).
Re claim 12, Cheung discloses the game picture frame in which the target object is located forms part of a scene switch in the cloud game (see fig. 3, the actions of the user and objects in the scene change the scene of the game).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheung.
Re claim 3, see the rejection to claim 2. As Cheung has disclosed the jumping animation comprising multiple frames, therefore one of ordinary skill would find it obvious to determine and draw a third position (and additional, if needed) as it would be obvious to try, leading to the predictable results of rendering an animation with multiple frames, smoothing out the animation and increasing visual clarity.
Re claim 11, while Cheung does not explicitly disclose the target instruction being one of a zoom-in and zoom-out instruction, as Cheung has disclosed other instructions (e.g. “jump,” see [0023]), it would be obvious to implement any other desired target instruction as it would be obvious to try, leading to predictable results of rendering a desired image, command, animation, or otherwise.
Claim(s) 4-10, 13-14, and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheung in view of Miyamoto et al (US 2009/0113326).
Re claim 4, while Cheung discloses local storage of various assets (e.g. the icons), Cheung does not disclose storing 3D models locally and drawing the 3D model of the target object on the displayed game picture frame as this functionality is offset to the server.
Miyamoto teaches a rendering system similar to Cheung where a server provides much of the functionality to the client. Additionally, the client computer is able to store partial 3D model data in addition to the data provided by the server (see [0036]). By allowing certain assets to be stored locally on the client device, such as 3D model data, a wider range of devices can be supported by the server system, with the server providing rendering capabilities for devices unable to store or process complex 3D model data (as discussed by Cheung), and shared functionality as taught by Miyamoto. These models are then rendered on the display (figs. 2 and 15).
It would have been obvious to implement the shared processing and storage system as taught by Miyamoto with the cloud rendering of Cheung in order to increase compatibility and evenly distribute processing load, reducing the overall load on the servers while still providing the bulk of cloud processing for client devices.
Re claim 5, Cheung discloses obtaining indication information configured for drawing the 3D model and drawing the 3D model of the target object on the displayed game picture frame based on the indication information ([0035], the proxy server receives background images and game updates, allowing the proxy server to construct the base image from the background layer with the active polygon layer).
Re claim 6, Cheung discloses obtaining model data of the target object based on the indication information and drawing the 3D model of the target object on the displayed game picture frame based on the model data of the target object and the indication information ([0039], 3D models are rendered on the 2D plane).
Re claim 7, Cheung discloses the model data of the target object comprises model key points and a texture image of the target object, and the drawing the 3D model of the target object on the displayed game picture frame based on the model data of the target object and the indication information comprises constructing a model triangular facet of the target object based on the model key points of the target object and the indication information ([0035], [0036], [0037], [0039], and [0043], models are rendered based on 3D representations of objects, textures, shape, and wherein polygons are triangular facets of 3D objects).
Re claim 8, Cheung discloses pulling initial indication information configured for drawing the 3D model to the cloud device and performing format conversion on the initial indication information to obtain indication information adapted to the cloud game, and storing the converted indication information ([0041]); and the obtaining indication information configured for drawing the 3D model comprises obtaining the converted indication information ([0041], the converted and compressed information is sent to clients).
Re claim 9, while Cheung discusses model data and object identifiers used to draw 3D models (see the above rejections), Cheung does not explicitly disclose locally storing the data. Miyamoto teaches a rendering system similar to Cheung where a server provides much of the functionality to the client. Additionally, the client computer is able to store partial 3D model data in addition to the data provided by the server (see [0036]). By allowing certain assets to be stored locally on the client device, such as 3D model data, a wider range of devices can be supported by the server system, with the server providing rendering capabilities for devices unable to store or process complex 3D model data (as discussed by Cheung), and shared functionality as taught by Miyamoto.
It would have been obvious to implement the shared processing and storage system as taught by Miyamoto with the cloud rendering of Cheung in order to increase compatibility and evenly distribute processing load, reducing the overall load on the servers while still providing the bulk of cloud processing for client devices.
Re claim 10, Cheung discloses the display data comprises an object identifier of the target object ([0023], the client icons are identified in the scene), and obtaining model data associated with the object identifier of the target in response to the trigger operation for the target control and drawing the 3D model of the target object on the displayed game picture frame based on the obtained model data ([0023], when the client performs a jump command, the client icons are rendered in a jumping animation).
Re claims 13-14 and 21-26, see the above rejections, mutatis mutandis.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. While applicant alleges that Cheung does not disclose features as claimed, applicant fails to provide any reasoning or substantiative evidence as to why Cheung is deficient. Simply stating that Cheung does not disclose a limitation is not sufficient in persuasively arguing that Cheung fails to disclose the invention.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the complexity of rendering millions of triangles per second is pushed back to the game server and proxy server”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). As such, the rejection of claim 1 stands as Cheung discloses the claimed limitations.
Applicant states that claim 1 is revised in the remarks, but no amendments have been filed for claim 1. The examiner will assume that the remark “revised claim 1” is a typographical error until further clarification and/or correction is provided.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN Y KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715