DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-9, 13-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, “V_COND@(air)”, “V_COND@(raw)” and “V_COND@(water)” are not defined by the claim.
Regarding claim 5, “V_CAP@(air)”, “V_ CAP @(raw)” and “V_ CAP @(water)” are not defined by the claim.
Regarding claim 7, the limitation “%soilMoistureTot refers to the average soil moisture level” contradicts with the limitation “%soilMoistureAvg refers to the average soil moisture level” from claim 6, it is unclear whether “%soilMoistureTot” refers to the average soil moisture level or “%soilMoistureAvg” refers to the average soil moisture level.
Regarding claim 13, “V_COND@(air)”, “V_COND@(raw)” and “V_COND@(water)” are not defined by the claim.
Regarding claim 14, “V_CAP@(air)”, “V_ CAP @(raw)” and “V_ CAP @(water)” are not defined by the claim.
Regarding claim 16, the limitation “%soilMoistureTot refers to the average soil moisture level” contradicts with the limitation “%soilMoistureAvg refers to the average soil moisture level” from claim 15, it is unclear whether “%soilMoistureTot” refers to the average soil moisture level or “%soilMoistureAvg” refers to the average soil moisture level.
Regarding claim 19, “V_COND@(air)”, “V_COND@(raw)”, “V_COND@(water)”, “V_CAP@(air)”, “V_ CAP @(raw)” and “V_ CAP @(water)” are not defined by the claim.
The remaining claims are rejected due to their dependence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20180368339).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a soil moisture detection system, the system comprising: at least one soil moisture detection device (Fig1, soil moisture sensors 10) including: a conductive sensor configured to: detect a conductive soil moisture raw data by a DC resistance measurement on a conductive voltage divider for a soil, wherein the soil operates as a variable resistor wherein a soil resistance is inversely proportional to the soil moisture (Paragraphs 37 and 46); a capacitive sensor configured to detect a capacitive soil moisture level raw data by an AC impedance measurement on a capacitive voltage divider for the soil, wherein the soil operates as a variable capacitor wherein a soil impedance is inversely proportional to a current (Paragraphs 37 and 54-59); a network server (Fig.1, server 30) configured to provide a soil moisture detection (Paragraphs 22-24); and a user terminal (Fig.1, 28) configured to receive a soil moisture value (Paragraphs 22-24).
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches a soil moisture detection device, the device comprising: a processing unit (Paragraph 47); a conductive sensor configured to: detect a conductive soil moisture raw data by a DC resistance measurement on a conductive voltage divider for a soil, wherein the soil operates as a variable resistor wherein a soil resistance is inversely proportional to the soil moisture (Paragraphs 37 and 46); and a capacitive sensor configured to detect a capacitive soil moisture level raw data by an AC impedance measurement on a capacitive voltage divider for the soil, wherein the soil operates as a variable capacitor wherein a soil impedance is inversely proportional to a current (Paragraphs 37 and 54-59).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 11-12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20180368339) in view of Buss (U.S. Publication No. 20200359583).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches all the features of claim 1 as outlined above, Lee is silent about wherein the conductive sensor performs DC resistance measurement at a pre-set time interval.
Buss teaches wherein the conductive sensor performs DC resistance measurement at a pre-set time interval (Paragraphs 115-117).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to take Lee’s moisture sensor measurement at a pre-set time interval because it would save energy and make Lee’s moisture sensor last longer.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Lee and Buss teaches all the features of claim 2 as outlined above, the combination of Lee and Buss is silent about wherein the pre-set time interval is provided by a p-channel metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor.
However, use pMOS transistor to set time interval is well known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to make the pre-set time interval provided by a p-channel metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches all the features of claim 10 as outlined above, Lee is silent about wherein the conductive sensor performs DC resistance measurement at a pre-set time interval.
Buss teaches wherein the conductive sensor performs DC resistance measurement at a pre-set time interval (Paragraphs 115-117).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to take Lee’s moisture sensor measurement at a pre-set time interval because it would save energy and make Lee’s moisture sensor last longer.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Lee and Buss teaches all the features of claim 11 as outlined above, the combination of Lee and Buss is silent about wherein the pre-set time interval is provided by a p-channel metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor.
However, use pMOS transistor to set time interval is well known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to make the pre-set time interval provided by a p-channel metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 18, Lee teaches a soil moisture detection method, the method comprising: collecting conductive raw voltage data at a conductive sensor by a DC resistance measurement on a conductive voltage divider for a soil, wherein the soil operates as a variable resistor wherein a soil resistance is inversely proportional to the soil moisture (Paragraphs 37 and 46); collecting capacitive raw voltage data at a capacitive sensor by an AC impedance measurement on a capacitive voltage divider for the soil, wherein the soil operates as a variable capacitor wherein a soil impedance is inversely proportional to a current (Paragraphs 37 and 54-59); and transmitting the conductive raw voltage data and capacitive raw voltage data to a server for determination of a conductive soil moisture level (Paragraphs 37 and 46), a capacitive soil moisture level (Paragraphs 37 and 54-59), an average soil moisture level (Paragraph 46, “The two measurement results, made with opposite current direction, will be averaged by software”).
Lee is silent about determination of a total soil moisture level.
Buss teaches determination of a total soil moisture level (Paragraph 117, “the total soil moisture value”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use Lee’s sensor array to measure total soil moisture level because use total value from a sensor array would reduce errors.
Conclusion
/XIN Y ZHONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855