Response to Arguments
In view of the amendment to claims 25, 26, 29 and 30, the objection to the specification is withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/10/2025 regarding the 35 USC 103 rejection have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive. The applicant argues that primary reference Obara does not teach the amended limitation “… indicating, by the printing controller of the third printing device, a capability of the third printing device not available at the first printing device and the second printing device.“ The Examiner agrees. However, it does not appear the disclosure of the instant application discloses this either as presented. According to the disclosure at paragraphs 0120-0121 as published, the first DFE executes searching to detect additional printing devices to add to the peer-2-peer (P2P) network (step 502). A third device is identified as a candidate (step 504). The third device may indicate a capability not present in the P2P network already (paragraph 0120). There is no disclosure how the first device’s DFE recognizes that the third device has a capability not already present in the P2P network or how the third device may indicate the additional capability of interest. After detection of the third device (step 504), an exchange of device information between the first printing device and the third printing device (step 506), the first printing device DFE may send a request or instruction so the third printing device can join the P2P network (step 506). Although it may be implied that the indication of a capability of the third printing device not found in the present network is the reason for the initial exchange being initiated by the first printing device, this assertion is not positively and clearly disclosed nor inherently present. Since no explicit device information is shared until at least this latter step, there is no disclosed recognition by the DFE of the third printing device that a capability it possesses isn’t available in either the first or second printing devices. All the third printing device can indicate, in some manner, is its capability list that will subsequently be shared with the other devices once a member the P2P network or at least in some type communication exchange with a printing device already residing on the P2P network. Additionally, there is no disclosure that any exchange of information between the first printing device (or any other connected for that matter) and the detected third printing device providing an indication by the third printing device possesses a capability not available in already connected devices (e.g., first and second printing devices) is a constraint prior to sending of an instruction or request to form a connection with at least the first DFE. There is no disclosure that the third device broadcasts in general to the network regarding its capabilities that would make it the selected candidate. It is noted that a potential new capability of the detected third printing device may be disclosed once device information is exchanged.
The applicant argues on page 10 that in view of the amendment of “existing paper or existing media,” that Milton does not teach this limitation. The Examiner agrees because this is not the focus of Milton.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-14 and 21-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 10 recites “… indicating, by the printing controller of the third printing device, a capability of the third printing device not available at the first printing device and the second printing device.“ There is no disclosure how the third device may indicate a capability not currently available on devices already members of the P2P network (i.e., the first printing device and second printing device). There is no disclosure how the third device would know it has a capability not currently available on devices already members of the P2P network. There is no disclosure how the first device’s DFE recognizes that the third device has a capability not already present in the P2P network prior to exchanging information with the third device. According to the disclosure at paragraphs 0120-0121 as published, the first DFE executes searching to detect additional printing devices to add to the peer-2-peer (P2P) network (step 502). A third device is identified as a candidate (step 504). The third device may indicate a capability not present in the P2P network already (paragraph 0120). After detection of the third device (step 504), an exchange of device information between the first printing device and the third printing device (step 506), the first printing device DFE may send a request or instruction so the third printing device can join the P2P network (step 506).
Independent claims 21 and 32 are rejected likewise to claim 10 above. Dependent claims 11-14, 22-31 and 33-35 are rejected for failing to remedy the deficiency of their respective independent claim.
Claims 10-14 and 21-35 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “… indicating, by the printing controller of the third printing device, a capability of the third printing device not available at the first printing device and the second printing device.“ It is indefinite and unclear how this limitation is to be executed. How the third device may indicate a capability not currently available on devices already members of the P2P network (i.e., the first printing device and second printing device)? How the third device would know it has a capability not currently available on devices already members of the P2P network? How the first device’s DFE recognizes that the third device has a capability not already present in the P2P network prior to exchanging information with the third device? The disclosure does not provide any direction or discussion how this limitation is intended to be executed. For purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets the limitation to indicate that some type pre-registration or capability disclosure is available to a first controller before the first controller detects or queries another device on the network.
Independent claims 21 and 32 are rejected likewise to claim 10 above. Dependent claims 11-14, 22-31 and 33-35 are rejected for failing to remedy the deficiency of their respective independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-13, 21-26, 29, 30 and 32-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Obara et al., (Japanese Pub No. 2006268138) in view of Vendrow (US Pub No. 20160134689) and in further view of Lermant et al., (US Pub No. 20040265026).
Claim 10: Obara discloses a method for managing printing operations [Abstract], the method comprising:
connecting a printing controller of a second printing device to a printing controller of a first printing device to form a peer-to-peer network [the P2P network 10 has a configuration in which the peers 12A to 12G are virtually connected to each other … the term “peer” refers to, for example, a computer such as a personal computer, a PDA (Personal Digital Assistance), a mobile phone, a printer, a copier, a hardware such as a multi-function machine having a plurality of these functions, or these functions … the peer 12 includes a P2P infrastructure configuration unit 16, page 7 paragraphs 7 & 9 – page 8 paragraph 1];
exchanging printing device information for the first printing device and the second printing device between the printing controller of the first printing device and the printing controller of the second printing device [an image forming apparatus that can be connected to a peer-to-peer system in which a plurality of devices are connected and information held for each device can be shared with each other … in a P2P network comprising a peer with a transfer function that has a function of transferring a message to another peer, page 4 paragraph 3 & page 9 paragraph 12];
detecting a printing controller of a third printing device [peers who log on to each peer that participates in the P2P network can configure groups according to the purpose … all of the peers 12A to 12G belong to the group 1, page 7 paragraph 11];
indicating, by the printing controller of the third printing device, a capability of the third printing device not available at the first printing device and the second printing device;
sending a request from the printing controller of the first printing device to the controller of the third printing device for printing device information for the third printing device [notification information disclosure service unit 40 has a function of publishing information such as services that can be provided by its own peer on the P2P network as notification information … announcement information may be disclosed, for example, when there is an inquiry from another peer, when the own peer is activated, or periodically, page 8 paragraph 9];
exchanging the printing device information for the third printing device and the first printing device between the printing controller of the third printing device and the printing controller of the first printing device [receiving unit 30 receives data necessary for its own peer among data transmitted and received in the P2P network 10 … notification information acquisition service unit 42 acquires the notification information transmitted from the peer searched by the peer search service unit 38 or the notification information spontaneously transmitted from another peer, page 8 paragraphs 4 & 8-10];
exchanging the printing device information for the third printing device and the second printing device between the printing controller of the third printing device and the printing controller of the second printing device [announcement information may be disclosed, for example, when there is an inquiry from another peer, when the own peer is activated, or periodically … notification information acquisition service unit 42 acquires the notification information transmitted from the peer searched by the peer search service unit 38 or the notification information spontaneously transmitted from another peer, page 8 paragraphs 8-10]; and
configuring the printing controllers of the respective printing devices to share a change in a status of an existing paper or an existing media within a paper catalog in the printing device information for a subject printing device with the remaining printing devices, wherein the change relates to managing a subsequent color print job for the existing paper or the existing media using the paper catalog at the subject printing device [when the image forming apparatuses are connected to each other, the paper [interpreted to be some type paper catalog of existing paper] and tray information held by each apparatus is shared … share holding information held by the image forming apparatus, which is a part related to functions executable by the image forming apparatus [interpreted as necessarily including existing paper/media information], in the peer-to-peer system, and update the holding information shared according to the update of the holding information. Therefore, it is possible to perform processing conveniently by sharing a portion related to a function executable by the image forming apparatus … An example is shown in which automatic is selected as the paper. When the start button 78A of the operation input unit 78 is operated in this state, the setting value of the UI screen 98A is stored in the operation history storage unit 96 as an operation history … re-output operation application 162 is an application for executing a process corresponding to an operation history stored in the operation history storage unit 96 such as the device peer 12P and shared by the P2P network 10, page 2 paragraph 4, page 4 paragraphs 5-7 & page 23 paragraphs 3-9].
Although Obara discloses sharing holding information that is related to a function executable by the image forming apparatus and strongly suggests an existing paper or media status change, Obara does not appear to explicitly discuss indicating, by the printing controller of the third printing device, a capability of the third printing device not available at the first printing device and the second printing device, and change in a status of an existing paper or an existing media wherein the change relates to managing a subsequent color print job for the existing paper or the existing media.
Vendrow discloses in a related P2P networking system [Abstract] indicating, by the controller of the third device, a capability of the third device not available at the first device and the second device [communication unit 105 can be configured to receive and store data transmitted from user devices 130-150 [interpreted as indicating capabilities] … communication unit 105 can store other information regarding the user devices 130-150 in its inventory, such as an inventory of service capabilities of each user device 130-150 and user preferences (e.g., one or more user profiles) associated with each user device 130-150 … Communication unit 105 can send user device 130 information regarding the service capabilities of user device 140. User device 130 can then send a request to user device 140 to initiate a communication session with user device 140 using a selected service, p0033-0035]; and sending a request from the controller of the first device to the controller of the third device for device information for the third device [user device 130 sends, via at least one network interface, a first request to the at least one peer device 140 or 150 for an inventory of service capabilities of the at least one peer device 140 or 150 … the user device 130 can also receive, from the at least one peer device 140 or 150, preference information associating each of the service capabilities of the peer device 140 or 150 with a preference for communicating using the service, p0039-0040].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included in the change detection and update functions of the P2P printing system of Obara to include the support indicating, by the controller of the third device, a capability of the third device not available at the first device and the second device and sending a request from the controller of the first printing device to the controller of the third device for device information for the third device as disclosed by Vendrow because it provides a means by which the communication with another peer device is expedited by having forehand knowledge of the peer device’s capabilities.
Vendrow does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein a change in a status of an existing paper or an existing media wherein the change relates to managing a subsequent color print job for the existing paper or the existing media.
Lermant discloses in a related system from the same field of endeavor [Abstract] where printers may be coupled together via a network [one or more of printers 32a-32d may be coupled directly to server 28', or may be coupled via network 30, p0032] share a change in a status of an existing paper or an existing media within a paper catalog in the printing device information for a subject printing device with the remaining printing devices [SAVE function button 56f may be used to save any changes made to universal paper catalog 44 [i.e., changed is shared in a centrally accessible location as interpreted according to information 118 of the instant application] … printer 32a includes first paper catalog 42a, and printer 32b includes second paper catalog 42b. IMPORT function button 56d ( FIG. 6) may be used to import entries in universal paper catalog 44 from entries in device-specific paper catalogs, or from files that use machine readable or human readable file formats … As printers 32 are added to cluster printing system 20' (FIG. 3), the data used to populate pulldown menu 64a may be updated to include any paper catalog included in the added printer, p0040-0041 & p0044], wherein the change relates to managing a subsequent color print job for the existing paper or the existing media using the paper catalog at the subject printing device [Entry editor 46 may be any conventional windowed user interface that displays entries from universal paper catalog 44 and includes function buttons 56a-56g for modifying the entries [interpreted to necessarily mean that any subsequent job would possibly impacted when a modification of an entry has occurred]. Exemplary function buttons 56a-56g include "ADD," "DELETE," "COPY," "IMPORT," "EXPORT," "SAVE," and "CANCEL" functions, p0035].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included in the change detection and update functions of the P2P system of Obara in view of Vendrow to share a change in a status of an existing paper or an existing media wherein the change relates to managing a subsequent color print job for the existing paper or the existing media is provided as disclosed by Lermant because it allows another network device easily access status of an existing paper or existing media for a network member and providing updated information that is shared as taught by Obara.
Claim 11: Obara in view of Vendrow and Lemant discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising sending an instruction from the subject printing device to the remaining printing devices to update their printing device information according to the change [share holding information held by the image forming apparatus, which is a part related to functions executable by the image forming apparatus, in the peer-to-peer system, and update the holding information shared according to the update of the holding information, page 4 paragraph 7].
Claim 12: Obara in view of Vendrow and Lemant discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the printing device information includes printing device configuration information for the respective first printing device, second printing device, and third printing device [the creation information stored in the storage means is retained as retained information, so that the creation information is peer-to-peered. Can be used with peers connected to the system. At this time, the creation information stored in the storage means includes template information (for example, a previously created document template, setting of the image forming apparatus, job template, job flow template, etc.) … share holding information held by the image forming apparatus, which is a part related to functions executable by the image forming apparatus, in the peer-to-peer system, and update the holding information shared according to the update of the holding information. Therefore, it is possible to perform processing conveniently by sharing a portion related to a function executable by the image forming apparatus, page 4 paragraphs 5-7].
Claim 13: Obara in view of Vendrow and Lemant discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the printing device information includes printing device resource information for the respective first printing device, second printing device, and third printing device [when the image forming apparatuses are connected to each other, the paper and tray information held by each apparatus is shared, page 2 paragraph 4].
Claims 21-24: the system herein has been executed or performed by the methods of claims 10-13 respectively and are therefore likewise rejected.
Claim 25: Obara in view of Vendrow and Lemant discloses the printing system of claim 24, wherein the printing device resource information [interpreted as holding information] includes at least one paper catalog [when the image forming apparatuses are connected to each other, the paper [interpreted to be some type paper catalog of existing paper] and tray information held by each apparatus is shared, page 2 paragraph 4].
Lemant also discloses wherein the printing device resources information includes at least one paper catalog [universal media selector is provided that includes a universal paper catalog, an editor, a paper catalog translator and a tray associator, Abstract].
Claim 26: Obara in view of Vendrow and Lemant discloses the printing system of claim 25, wherein the at least one paper catalog for each respective first printing device, second printing device, and third printing device [when the image forming apparatuses [i.e., more than one] are connected to each other, the paper [interpreted to be some type paper catalog of existing paper] and tray information held by each apparatus is shared [i.e., more than one type catalog as previously interpreted is present in each apparatus], page 2 paragraph 4].
Lemant also discloses wherein the printing device resources information includes at least one paper catalog [universal media selector is provided that includes a universal paper catalog, an editor, a paper catalog translator and a tray associator, Abstract].
Claim 29: Obara in view of Vendrow and Lemant discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the printing device resource information [interpreted as holding information] includes at least one paper catalog [when the image forming apparatuses are connected to each other, the paper [interpreted to be some type paper catalog of existing paper] and tray information held by each apparatus is shared, page 2 paragraph 4].
Lemant also discloses wherein the printing device resources information includes at least one paper catalog [universal media selector is provided that includes a universal paper catalog, an editor, a paper catalog translator and a tray associator, Abstract].
Claim 30: Obara in view of Vendrow and Lemant discloses the method of claim 29, wherein the at least one paper catalog for each respective first printing device, second printing device, and third printing device [when the image forming apparatuses [i.e., more than one] are connected to each other, the paper [interpreted to be some type paper catalog of existing paper] and tray information held by each apparatus is shared [i.e., more than one type catalog as previously interpreted is present in each apparatus], page 2 paragraph 4].
Lemant also discloses wherein the printing device resources information includes at least one paper catalog [universal media selector is provided that includes a universal paper catalog, an editor, a paper catalog translator and a tray associator, Abstract].
Claims 32, 34 and 35: the system herein has been executed or performed by the methods of claims 10, 12 and 13 respectively and are therefore likewise rejected.
Claim 33: Obara in view of Vendrow and Lemant discloses the method of claim 32, wherein generating a printing device information file using the printing device information from the first printing device, the printing device information from the second printing device, and the printing device information from the third printing device [an image forming apparatus that can be connected to a peer-to-peer system in which a plurality of devices are connected and information held for each device can be shared with each other … share holding information held by the image forming apparatus, which is a part related to functions executable by the image forming apparatus, in the peer-to-peer system, and update the holding information shared according to the update of the holding information, page 4 paragraphs 3 & 7].
Claim(s) 14 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Obara et al., (Japanese Pub No. 2006268138) in view of Vendrow (US Pub No. 20160134689) and in further view of Lermant et al., (US Pub No. 20040265026) and Morales et al., (US Pub No. 20120092725).
Claim 14: Obara in view of Vendrow and Lermant discloses the printing method of claim 10.
Neither Obara, Vendrow nor Lermant appear to explicitly disclose wherein the printing device information includes a number of print jobs at the respective first printing device, second printing device, and third printing device.
Morales discloses wherein the printing device information includes a number of print jobs at the respective first printing device, second printing device, and third printing device [Configuration data 408 stores the configuration and queue settings (parameters) of print queues 402 [operating in each of the printers 106A-106C]. For example, configuration data 408 may indicate items, such as the size of print queues 402 [i.e., number of print jobs], the location of print queues 402, a current status of print queues 402, etc., p0053].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included in Obara in view of Vendrow and Lermant the support wherein the printing device information includes a number of print jobs at the respective first printing device, second printing device, and third printing device by Morales because it would allow for printing operations to be balanced across the different printers in the pool.
Claim 28: the system herein has been executed or performed by the method of claim 14 is therefore likewise rejected.
Claim(s) 27 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Obara et al., (Japanese Pub No. 2006268138) in view of Vendrow (US Pub No. 20160134689) and in further view of Lermant et al., (US Pub No. 20040265026) and Ferlitsch (US Pub No. 20050068562).
Claim 27: Obara in view of Vendrow and Lermant discloses the printing system of claim 24.
Neither Obara, Vendrow nor Lermant appear to disclose wherein the printing device resource information includes ink or toner for the respective printing device.
Ferlitsch discloses in a related system from the same field of endeavor [Abstract] wherein the printing device resource information includes ink or toner for the respective printing device [when multiple printer devices are available to render one or more print jobs, the printer device printing order is dynamically set based on consumption and/or levels of printer toner … dynamic nature of setting the printer device printing order is made possible by performing such processes as monitoring toner status on each printer device in the printer pool; monitoring toner levels on each printer device in the printer pool; setting the preference order in the printer pool by toner status, p0013-0014].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included in Obara in view of Vendrow and Lermant the support wherein the printing device resource information includes ink or toner for the respective printing device as disclosed by Ferlitsch because provides needed information for balancing the workloads in a multi-printer environment so that the printer devices more evenly consume their respective toner as discussed in at least paragraphs 0001-0011.
Claim 31: the method herein has been executed or performed by the system of claim 27 and is therefore likewise rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Anno, US Pub No. 20070013941, is directed to a P2P protocol printing system for distributing data between printers.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BARBARA D REINIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682