DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/21/2024 and 09/23/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 118 (figures 1 and 2) and 108c(figures 4A and 4B). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ball [US 2023/0245836].
Claim 1, Ball discloses a fused disconnect switch [200], comprising: a fuse carrier [20/306] to house a fuse [paragraph 0112]; an actuator [12] configured to reversibly engage and disengage with the fuse carrier; a common trip link [50], mechanically coupled to move in concert with the actuator [paragraph 0088]; and a contact arm [26], indirectly mechanically coupled to the common trip link, wherein, when the fuse carrier is disposed in an engaged position, the contact arm is free to move into a closed position to make electrical contact with a fixed contact [28; paragraph 0093], and wherein, when the fuse carrier is in a disengage position, the contact arm is prevented from moving into the closed position [paragraph 0093].
Claim 2, Ball discloses the fused disconnect switch of claim 1, wherein, when the fuse carrier is moved out of the engaged position while the contact arm is in contact with the fixed contact, the actuator is configured to trigger the common trip link to disconnect the contact arm from the fixed contact [paragraph 0093].
Claim 3, Ball discloses the fused disconnect switch of claim 1, wherein the actuator [12] comprises a first arm [64] to engage a surface of the fuse carrier [paragraph 0091], and further comprises a second arm 60] that is biased [via spring 60] against the common trip link [50].
Claim 4, Ball discloses the fused disconnect switch of claim 3, further comprising an escapement assembly [38], coupled between the common trip link [50] and the contact arm [26; figure 2], wherein the escapement assembly is held in an open position when the fuse carrier is in the disengage position [, actuator 12 prevents rotation of switch 34 which contains common trip link 38; paragraph 0093].
Claim 5, Ball discloses the fused disconnect switch of claim 4, wherein the common trip link [50; figure 4] comprises an upper arm [58] to engage the second arm [60] of the actuator [12], and wherein the common trip link comprises a lower arm [56] to engage the escapement assembly [38].
Claim 7, Ball discloses the fused disconnect switch of claim 1, further comprising: a housing [figure 8dc, housing of module 204], arranged to enclose the fuse when the fuse carrier is disposed in the engaged position [figure 8c]; and a reset handle [34/242], extending externally to the housing [figures 3 and 8c], wherein the contact arm is prevented from moving to the closed position when the reset handle is moved from an open to closed position, when the fuse carrier is in a disengage position [paragraph 0093].
Claim 9, Ball discloses a disconnect module [200], comprising: a relay module [202]; and a fused disconnect switch [200], coupled to the relay module [paragraphs 0101-0102], comprising: a fuse carrier [20/306] to house a fuse [paragraph 0112]; an actuator [12] configured to reversibly engage and disengage with the fuse carrier; a common trip link [50], mechanically coupled to move in concert with the actuator [paragraph 0088]; and a contact arm [26], indirectly mechanically coupled to the common trip link, wherein, when the fuse carrier is disposed in an engaged position, the contact arm is free to move into a closed position to make electrical contact with a fixed contact [28; paragraph 0093], and wherein, when the fuse carrier is in a disengage position, the contact arm is prevented from moving into the closed position [paragraph 0093].
Claim 10, Ball discloses the disconnect module of claim 9, wherein, when the fuse carrier is moved out of the engaged position while the contact arm is in contact with the fixed contact, the actuator is configured to trigger the common trip link to disconnect the contact arm from the fixed contact [paragraph 0093].
Claim 11, Ball discloses the disconnect module of claim 9, wherein the actuator [12] comprises a first arm [64] to engage a surface of the fuse carrier [paragraph 0091], and further comprises a second arm 60] that is biased [via spring 60] against the common trip link [50].
Claim 12, Ball discloses the disconnect module of claim 11, further comprising an escapement assembly [38], coupled between the common trip link [50] and the contact arm [26; figure 2], wherein the escapement assembly is held in an open position when the fuse carrier is in the disengage position [, actuator 12 prevents rotation of switch 34 which contains common trip link 38; paragraph 0093].
Claim 13, Ball discloses the disconnect module of claim 12, wherein the common trip link [50; figure 4] comprises an upper arm [58] to engage the second arm [60] of the actuator [12], and wherein the common trip link comprises a lower arm [56] to engage the escapement assembly [38].
Claim 15, Ball discloses the disconnect module of claim 9, further comprising: a housing [figure 8dc, housing of module 204], arranged to enclose the fuse when the fuse carrier is disposed in the engaged position [figure 8c]; and a reset handle [34/242], extending externally to the housing [figures 3 and 8c], wherein the contact arm is prevented from moving to the closed position when the reset handle is moved from an open to closed position, when the fuse carrier is in a disengage position [paragraph 0093].
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9-12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Myers [US 3,474,373].
Claim 1, Myers discloses a fused disconnect switch [figure 1], for overcurrent protection, comprising: a fuse carrier [190] to house a fuse [50]; an actuator [194] configured to reversibly engage and disengage with the fuse carrier; a common trip link [140], mechanically coupled to move in concert with the actuator; and a contact arm [106], indirectly mechanically coupled to the common trip link, wherein, when the fuse carrier is disposed in an engaged position, the contact arm is free to move into a closed position to make electrical contact with a fixed contact [102], and wherein, when the fuse carrier is in a disengage position, the contact arm is prevented from moving into the closed position [col. 5 line 65 to col. 6 line 9].
Claim 2, Myers discloses the fused disconnect switch of claim 1, wherein, when the fuse carrier [190] is moved out of the engaged position while the contact arm [106] is in contact with the fixed contact [102], the actuator is configured to trigger the common trip link to disconnect the contact arm from the fixed contact [col. 6 lines 16-21].
Claim 3, Myers discloses the fused disconnect switch of claim 1, wherein the actuator [194; figure 12] comprises a first arm [202] to engage a surface of the fuse carrier [col. 5 lines 50-54], and further comprises a second arm [201] that is biased [via 198] against the common trip link.
Claim 4, Myers discloses the fused disconnect switch of claim 3, further comprising an escapement assembly [140], coupled between the common trip link [194] and the contact arm, wherein the escapement assembly is held in an open position when the fuse carrier is in the disengage position [col. 6 lines 16-21].
Claim 6, Myers discloses the fused disconnect switch of claim 4, further comprising a shunt trip coil [130], and an armature [166], wherein the shunt trip coil is arranged to receive an external voltage that magnetically couples the shunt trip coil to the armature, wherein the armature is mechanically coupled to the escapement assembly [140 via 144] to reversibly disconnect the contact arm [col. 4 lines 59-72].
Claim 7, Myers discloses the fused disconnect switch of claim 1, further comprising: a housing [22, 24], arranged to enclose the fuse [50] when the fuse carrier [19] is disposed in the engaged position; and a reset handle [116], extending externally to the housing, wherein the contact arm is prevented from moving to the closed position when the reset handle is moved from an open to closed position, when the fuse carrier is in a disengage position [col. 6 lines 16-21].
Claim 9, Myers discloses a disconnect module, comprising a relay module [left side of figure 2; contact switching portion]; and a fused disconnect switch [[left side of figure 2; fuse portion], for overcurrent protection, comprising: a fuse carrier [190] to house a fuse [50]; an actuator [194] configured to reversibly engage and disengage with the fuse carrier; a common trip link [140], mechanically coupled to move in concert with the actuator; and a contact arm [106], indirectly mechanically coupled to the common trip link, wherein, when the fuse carrier is disposed in an engaged position, the contact arm is free to move into a closed position to make electrical contact with a fixed contact [102], and wherein, when the fuse carrier is in a disengage position, the contact arm is prevented from moving into the closed position [col. 5 line 65 to col. 6 line 9].
Claim 10, Myers discloses the disconnect module of claim 9, wherein, when the fuse carrier [190] is moved out of the engaged position while the contact arm [106] is in contact with the fixed contact [102], the actuator is configured to trigger the common trip link to disconnect the contact arm from the fixed contact [col. 6 lines 16-21].
Claim 11, Myers discloses disconnect module of claim 9, wherein the actuator [194; figure 12] comprises a first arm [202] to engage a surface of the fuse carrier [col. 5 lines 50-54], and further comprises a second arm [201] that is biased [via 198] against the common trip link.
Claim 12, Myers discloses the disconnect module of claim 11, further comprising an escapement assembly [140], coupled between the common trip link [194] and the contact arm, wherein the escapement assembly is held in an open position when the fuse carrier is in the disengage position [col. 6 lines 16-21].
Claim 14, Myers discloses disconnect module of claim 12, further comprising a shunt trip coil [130], and an armature [166], wherein the shunt trip coil is arranged to receive an external voltage that magnetically couples the shunt trip coil to the armature, wherein the armature is mechanically coupled to the escapement assembly [140 via 144] to reversibly disconnect the contact arm [col. 4 lines 59-72].
Claim 15, Myers discloses disconnect module of claim 9, further comprising: a housing [22, 24], arranged to enclose the fuse [50] when the fuse carrier [19] is disposed in the engaged position; and a reset handle [116], extending externally to the housing, wherein the contact arm is prevented from moving to the closed position when the reset handle is moved from an open to closed position, when the fuse carrier is in a disengage position [col. 6 lines 16-21].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ball [US 2023/0245836].
Claim 8, Ball discloses the fused disconnect switch of claim 1, the fuse carrier further comprising: a visual indication of the state of the fuse [24; paragraph 0082] but fails to specifically teach a resistor; a light bulb; and a light pipe, arranged to generate an indicator signal when a fuse in the fuse carrier is blown. It would have been an obvious matter of design to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the visual indicator from a resistor; a light bulb; and a light pipe as Ball is silent on the details of the visual indicator and the recited elements are well known, since applicant has not disclosed that a visual indicator comprising a resistor; a light bulb; and a light pipe solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with visual indicator of Ball [paragraph 0082].
Claim 16, Ball discloses the module of claim 9, the fuse carrier further comprising: a visual indication of the state of the fuse [24; paragraph 0082] but fails to specifically teach a resistor; a light bulb; and a light pipe, arranged to generate an indicator signal when a fuse in the fuse carrier is blown. It would have been an obvious matter of design to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the visual indicator from a resistor; a light bulb; and a light pipe as Ball is silent on the details of the visual indicator and the recited elements are well known, since applicant has not disclosed that a visual indicator comprising a resistor; a light bulb; and a light pipe solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with visual indicator of Ball [paragraph 0082].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BERNARD ROJAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837