DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 11, Applicant asserts that Chen fails to teach or suggest “an annular groove configured to receive a sealing ring and disposed on a circumferential surface of the second joint” (see page 11, lines 7-9). The examiner respectfully disagrees because Fig. 2: where O is pointing and about where 312 is pointing in Fig. 5 of Chen clearly shown the annular groove (groove O) configured to receive a sealing ring and disposed on a circumferential surface of the second joint identified in the illustrated figure below.
Fig. 5 of Chen (see illustrated figure below) clearly shown the cross-section of the first joint and the second joint. The first joint does not have any groove; therefore, Applicant’s interpretation that “groove O of Chen is not disposed on the circumferential surface of the second joint but disposed on the circumferential surface of the first joint” (see page 10, last two lines) is disagreed by the examiner. The second joint of Chen has two ring grooves O (illustrated figure below), wherein one of the two grooves O is sleeved with a sealing ring (see Fig. 5: about where 212 or 312 is pointing). Hence, the limitation “an annular groove configured to receive a sealing ring and disposed on a circumferential surface of the second joint” is fully met by Chen.
Regarding claims 12-18, it appears that Applicant relied on the argument with respect to claim 11 for the dependent claims. Hence, the claim will stand or fall together.
Regarding claim 19, Applicant asserts that “claims 19 and 26 recite that the first joint, instead of the second joint, is connected to the water pipe and is configured to receive a sealing ring” (see page 12, lines 7-8). The examiner fails to locate the limitation in claims 16 and 26. The second joint of Chen has two ring grooves O (illustrated figure below), wherein one of the two grooves O is sleeved with a sealing ring (see Fig. 5: about where 212 or 312 is pointing). Hence, the limitation “an annular groove configured to receive a sealing ring and disposed on a circumferential surface of the second joint” of the first and second water pipe adapters are fully met by Chen.
Regarding claim 26, Applicant asserts that “claims 19 and 26 recite that the first joint, instead of the second joint, is connected to the water pipe and is configured to receive a sealing ring” (see page 12, lines 7-8). The examiner fails to locate the limitation in claims 16 and 26. The second joint of Chen has two ring grooves O (illustrated figure below), wherein one of the two grooves O is sleeved with a sealing ring (see Fig. 5: about where 212 or 312 is pointing). Hence, the step limitations “assembling a sealing ring in at least one annular groove disposed on a circumferential surface of the second joint of the first water pipe adapter; and assembling a sealing ring in at least one annular groove disposed on a circumferential surface of the second joint of the second water pipe adapter” are fully met by Chen.
Regarding claims 20-25, 27-28 and 30, it appears that Applicant relied on the argument with respect to claim 19 and 26 for the dependent claims. Hence, the claim will stand or fall together.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-17, 19-28, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CN-115822051-A (hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches a water pipe as claimed (see illustrated figure below). The second joint is configured to be pivotably disposed in the inlet or the outlet (see English translation: page 8, lines 33-36).
an annular groove (groove O) configured to receive a sealing ring (see English translation: page 8, lines 27-31) and disposed on a circumferential surface of the second joint (see Fig. 2: where O is pointing and about where 312 is pointing in Fig. 5).
Regarding cliam 12, the water pipe adapter according to claim 11, wherein the joint position-limitation part is an annular protrusion extending outwards from an outer surface of the second joint, wherein the interface position-limitation part of the inlet is an annular protrusion extending inwards from an inner wall of the inlet, and wherein the interface position-limitation part of the outlet is an annular protrusion extending inwards from an inner wall of the outlet (see illustration above).
Regarding claim 13, the water pipe adapter according to claim 11, wherein the first joint obliquely extends toward one side of the second joint, and wherein an angle formed between an axis of the first joint and an axis of the second joint is an obtuse angle (see illustration above: the upward bending of the first joint with respect to the second joint form the obtuse angle therebetween).
Regarding claim 14, the water pipe adapter according to claim 11, wherein the joint position-limitation part is disposed between the annular groove and the first joint.
Regarding claim 15, the water pipe adapter according to claim 14, wherein a plurality of annular grooves (see above illustration of Fig. 5: the two grooves) are disposed on the second joint along an axial direction of the second joint and spaced part from each other.
Regarding claim 16, the water pipe adapter according to claim 11, wherein the joint position-limitation part comprises a joint baffle ring (see illustration above) integrally formed on the second joint.
Regarding claim 17, the water pipe adapter according to claim 11, wherein the position-limiting projection part comprises a position-limiting projecting ring (see illustration above) integrally formed on the first joint, wherein a ring surface (where first joint is pointing to in illustration above) of the position-limiting projecting ring is an inclined plane, and wherein a radius of the ring surface of the position-limiting projecting ring increases along a direction from the first joint to the second joint.
Regarding cliam 19, Chen discloses a tank assembly (see Fig. 8) comprising:
a tank (see English translation: page 5, lines 12-13); a dissolver (11), disposed in the tank and comprising a housing (where 11 is pointing);
an inlet (see Figs. 5 & 10: inlet 212), disposed on the housing of the dissolver and comprising an interface position-limitation part (see illustration above);
an outlet (see Figs. 5 & 10: inlet 312), disposed on the housing of the dissolver and comprising an interface position-limitation part (see illustration above);
a first water pipe adapter (A1), comprising:
a first joint comprising a position-limiting projection part configured to be connected to a first water pipe (A),
a second joint comprising a joint position-limitation part (see illustration above) configured to be engaged with the interface position-limitation part of the inlet, the second joint configured to be pivotably disposed in the inlet, and
an annular groove (groove O) disposed on a circumferential surface of the second joint of each of the first water pipe adapter (see Fig. 2: where O is pointing and about where 312 is pointing in Fig. 5);
a second water pipe adapter (B1), comprising:
a first joint comprising a position-limiting projection part (see illustration above) configured to be connected to a second water pipe (B),
a second joint (see illustration above) comprising a joint position-limitation part (see illustration above) configured to be engaged with the interface position-limitation part of the outlet (see illustration above), the second joint configured to be pivotably disposed in the outlet (see English translation: page 8, lines 33-36), and
an annular groove (groove O) disposed on a circumferential surface of the second joint of each of the second water pipe adapter (see Fig. 2: where O is pointing and about where 312 is pointing in Fig. 5);
an inlet valve (see English translation: page 5, lines 33-35), disposed in the tank and configured to be connected to the first joint of the first water pipe adapter disposed in the inlet via the first water pipe; and
an outlet valve (C), disposed in the tank and configured to be connected to the first joint of the second water pipe adapter disposed in the outlet via the second water pipe (B).
Regarding claim 20, the tank assembly according to claim 19, wherein the interface position-limitation part of the inlet and the interface position-limitation part of the outlet each comprise an interface baffle ring (see illustration above), wherein the joint position-limitation part of the first water pipe adapter and the joint position-limitation part of the second water pipe adapter each comprise a joint baffle ring (see illustration above), wherein an inner diameter of the interface baffle ring of the inlet is less than an outer diameter of the joint baffle ring of the first water pipe adapter (see illustration above), wherein an inner diameter of the interface baffle ring of the outlet is less than an outer diameter of the joint baffle ring of the second water pipe adapter (see illustration above), wherein when the joint position-limitation part of the first water pipe adapter is engaged with the interface position-limitation part of the inlet, the joint baffle ring of the first water pipe adapter is disposed at an inner side of the interface baffle ring of the inlet (see illustration above), and wherein when the joint position-limitation part of the second water pipe adapter is engaged with the interface position-limitation part of the outlet, the joint baffle ring of the second water pipe adapter is disposed at an inner side of the interface baffle ring of the outlet (see illustration above).
Regarding claim 21, the tank assembly according to claim 19, wherein the sealing ring (see English translation: page 8, lines 27-31) is disposed in each of the annular groove of the first water pipe adapter and the annular groove of the second water pipe adapter (see Fig. 2: where O is pointing and about where 212 or 312 is pointing in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 22, the tank assembly according to claim 21, wherein the first water pipe adapter or the second water pipe adapter further includes an additional annular groove (the second joint of the first water pipe adapter (A1) and the second water pipe adapter (B1) of Chen has two ring grooves O), and wherein the annular groove and the additional annular groove of the first water pipe adapter or the second water pipe adapter are disposed on the second joint of the first water pipe adapter or the second water pipe adapter along an axial direction of the second joint of the first water pipe adapter or the second water pipe adapter and are spaced part from each other (about where 212 or 312 is pointing in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 23, the tank assembly according to claim 19, wherein the first joint obliquely extends toward one side of the second joint, and wherein an angle formed between an axis of the first joint and an axis of the second joint is an obtuse angle (see illustration above: the upward bending of the first joint with respect to the second joint form the obtuse angle therebetween).
Regarding claim 24, the tank assembly according to claim 19, wherein water from the inlet enters the dissolver through the first water pipe, the first water pipe adapter, and the inlet to dissolve a solid detergent in the dissolver to form a cleaning solution, and wherein the cleaning solution enters the outlet valve through the outlet, the second water pipe adapter, and the outlet valve to flush a toilet (see English translation: page 5, lines 33-46).
Regarding claim 25, the tank assembly according to claim 24, wherein the first joint obliquely extends toward one side of the second joint, and wherein an angle formed between an axis of the first joint and an axis of the second joint is an obtuse angle (see illustration above: the upward bending of the first joint with respect to the second joint form the obtuse angle therebetween).
Regarding claim 26, Chen discloses a method for assembling a tank assembly (see Fig. 8) comprising a tank (see English translation: page 5, lines 12-13), the method comprising: installing an inlet valve (see English translation: page 5, lines 33-35), an outlet valve (C), and a dissolver (11) in the tank; connecting a first joint (see illustration above) of a first water pipe adapter (see illustration above) to the inlet valve via a first water pipe (A); connecting a first joint of a second water pipe adapter (see illustration above) to the outlet valve via a second water pipe (B); pivotably connecting a second joint (see illustration above) of the first water pipe adapter to an inlet (212) disposed on a housing (where 11 is pointing in Fig. 8) of the dissolver; and pivotably connecting a second joint of the second water pipe adapter to an outlet disposed on the housing of the dissolver (see English translation: page 8, lines 33-36); assembling a sealing ring (see English translation: page 8, lines 27-31) in at least one annular groove (groove O) disposed on a circumferential surface of the second joint of the first water pipe adapter; and assembling a sealing ring (see English translation: page 8, lines 27-31) in at least one annular groove (groove O) disposed on a circumferential surface of the second joint of the second water pipe adapter (see Fig. 2: where O is pointing and about where 312 is pointing in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 27, the method according to claim 26, wherein pivotably connecting the second joint of the first water pipe adapter to the inlet disposed on the housing of the dissolver comprises engaging a joint position-limitation part (see illustration above) of the second joint of the first water pipe adapter with an interface position-limitation part (see illustration above) of the inlet, and wherein pivotably connecting the second joint of the second water pipe adapter to the outlet disposed on the housing of the dissolver comprises engaging a joint position-limitation part of the second joint of the second water pipe adapter with an interface position-limitation part (see illustration above) of the outlet.
Regarding claim 28, the method according to claim 27, wherein pivotably connecting the second joint of the first water pipe adapter to the inlet disposed on the housing of the dissolver further comprises rotating the second joint of the first water pipe adapter with respect to the inlet to adjust an angle of the first joint of the first water pipe adapter (see English translation: page 8, lines 33-36), and wherein pivotably connecting the second joint of the second water pipe adapter to the outlet disposed on the housing of the dissolver further comprises rotating the second joint of the second water pipe adapter with respect to the outlet to adjust an angle of the first joint of the second water pipe adapter (see English translation: page 8, lines 33-36).
Regarding claim 30, the method according to claim 26, wherein connecting the first joint of the first water pipe adapter to the inlet valve via the first water pipe comprises connecting the first water pipe (A) to an outlet joint (see Fig. 8) of the inlet valve, and wherein connecting the first joint of the second water pipe adapter to the outlet valve via the second water pipe comprises connecting the second water pipe (B) to an inlet joint of the outlet valve (C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, as discussed above, in view of US 2022/0299140 (hereinafter Turner).
Chen teaches all of the claimed limitations as discussed above but remains silent as to the first joint is injection-molded with the second joint. Attention is directed to the Turner reference which teaches an analogous water pipe adapter (10) having a first joint that is integral with a second joint similar to that of Chen. Turner further discloses that connection (10) can be injection molded (see para. [0077]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make, the adapter of Chen, from injection-molded as for example taught by Turner in order to utilize plastic so as to prevent rust.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUAN N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754