DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The action is in response to amendments filed on 03/12/2026. Claim 11 has been withdrawn. Claims 1-10, 12-20 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-9, 12-15, 17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200077942 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Youngblood”) in view of US 20200205580 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Sayadi”).
Regarding claim 1, Youngblood, a sleep promotion system, teaches a system (abstract) comprising:
a wearable device configured to measure photoplethysmogram (PPG) data from a user using one or more light-emitting components and one or more light-receiving components (has an pulse oximeter sensor (a PPG sensor); paragraph [0118], [0122]; Figure 2);
a user device communicatively coupled with the wearable device, the user device comprising a graphical user interface (GUI) (511; paragraph [0135], [0177]-[0178]; Figures 2, 5);
a monitoring device configured to acquire environmental data associated with one or more characteristics of an environment of the user, the monitoring device comprising one or more air quality sensors configured to acquire air quality data associated with the environment of the user, one or more audio sensors configured to acquire sound data associated with the environment of the user, one or more light sensors configured to acquire ambient light data associated with the environment of the user, one or more temperature sensors configured to acquire temperature data associated with the environment of the user, or any combination thereof (704; paragraph [0134]; Figure 2); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled with the wearable device, the user device, and the monitoring device (remote device 511 has a processor 760; paragraph [0135]), the one or more processors configured to:
receive baseline physiological data measured from the user via the wearable device during a first sleep interval (receives baseline data; paragraph [0154]-[0156]);
determine a circadian rhythm associated with the user based at least in part on classifying the baseline physiological data collected during the first sleep interval into a plurality of sleep stages (paragraphs [0154], [0156], [0164]);
receive additional physiological data measured from the user via the wearable device during a second sleep interval (paragraphs [0109]-[0110], [0118], [0156], [0164]; claim 1);
receive the environmental data collected by the monitoring device during the second sleep interval, the environmental data comprising the air quality data, the sound data, the ambient light data, the temperature data, or any combination thereof (paragraph [0118], [0155]-[0158]);
identify one or more physiological effects that the environment of the user had on a sleep quality of the user during the second sleep interval based at least in part on the environmental data and the circadian rhythm (paragraphs [0042], “While the user is sleeping, the processor 136 can receive one or more of the user's biometric signals (e.g., heart rate, respiration, and motion) and determine the user's present sleep state based on the received biometric signals “, [0046], [0155]-[0158], [0222]); but does not explicitly teach
transmit, based at least in part on identifying the one or more physiological effects that the environment of the user had on the sleep quality of the user, one or more signals to the user device configured to cause the GUI of the user device to display instructions for the user to improve the sleep quality of a subsequent sleep interval by modifying a sound level of the environment of the user, an ambient light level of the environment of the user, an air quality metric of the environment of the user, a temperature of the environment of the user, or a combination thereof.
However, Sayadi teaches transmit, based at least in part on identifying the one or more physiological effects that the environment of the user had on the sleep quality of the user, one or more signals to the user device configured to cause the GUI of the user device to display instructions for the user to improve the sleep quality of a subsequent sleep interval by modifying a sound level of the environment of the user, an ambient light level of the environment of the user, an air quality metric of the environment of the user, a temperature of the environment of the user, or a combination thereof (teaches sending quality insight messages to a user; paragraph [0189]; teaches recommending to user optimal bedroom temperature (temperature of the environment of the user; paragraph [0189]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Youngblood, to inform the user of a need to change environmental conditions, as taught by Sayadi, because doing so provides a means of conveying to the user a need to change environmental factors for better sleep results for the user.
Regarding claim 2, Youngblood, in view of Sayadi, teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit an instruction to one or more external devices (511 transmits to 710 (external devices); paragraphs [0149]-[0150]; as taught by Youngblood) to cause the one or more external devices to selectively modify the sound level of the environment, the ambient light level of the environment, the air quality metric of the environment, the temperature of the environment, or any combination thereof, based at least in part on the one or more physiological effects (paragraphs [0149]-[0150], [0153]; claim 1; as taught by Youngblood). Regarding claim 3, Youngblood, in view of Sayadi, teaches wherein the one or more external devices comprise a thermostat, a television, a smart appliance, a virtual assistant device, or any combination thereof (paragraphs [0149]-[0150]; as taught by Youngblood).
Regarding claim 4, Youngblood, in view of Sayadi, teaches wherein, to identify the one or more physiological effects, the one or more processors are configured to:
identify a first physiological effect that the air quality data had on the sleep quality of the user during the second sleep interval, a second physiological effect that the sound data had on the sleep quality of the user during the second sleep interval, a third physiological effect that the ambient light data had on the sleep quality of the user during the second sleep interval, a fourth physiological effect that the temperature data had on the sleep quality of the user during the second sleep interval, or any combination thereof (paragraphs [0155]-[0158], [0222]; as taught by Youngblood), wherein the one or more signals are configured to cause the GUI to display the instructions for the user to improve the sleep quality of the subsequent sleep interval based at least in part on the first physiological effect, the second physiological effect, the third physiological effect, the fourth physiological effect, or any combination thereof (paragraph [0189]; as taught by Sayadi).
Regarding claim 6, Youngblood, in view of Sayadi, teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive a voice command from the user via the one or more audio sensors of the monitoring device, wherein the one or more signals are transmitted to the user device based at least in part on the voice command (paragraphs [0134], [0150]; as taught by Youngblood).
Regarding claim 8, Youngblood, in view of Sayadi, teaches wherein the one or more processors are disposed within the user device, the monitoring device, one or more external servers, or any combination thereof (remote device 511 (user device) has a processor 760; paragraph [0135]; as taught by Youngblood).
Regarding claim 9, Youngblood, in view of Sayadi, teaches wherein the monitoring device comprises a charging device for the wearable device (can be incorporated into a fitbit or apple watch (which has a charging device/component); paragraph [0122]; as taught by Youngblood).
Regarding claim 12, Youngblood, a sleep promotion system, teaches a home monitoring device (abstract), comprising:
one or more wireless communication interfaces configured to exchange wireless communications with a wearable device, a user device, or both, the wearable device configured to measure physiological data from a user (paragraph [0150]);
a plurality of sensors (704; paragraph [0134]; Figure 2) one or more sensors configured to acquire environmental data associated with one or more characteristics of an environment of the user, the one or more sensors comprising at least one of:
an air quality sensor configured to acquire air quality data associated with the environment of the user (730; paragraph [0134]; Figure 2);
an audio sensor configured to acquire sound data associated with the environment of the user (728; paragraph [0134]; Figure 2);
a light sensor configured to acquire ambient light data associated with the environment of the user (732; paragraph [0134]; Figure 2); and
a temperature sensor configured to acquire temperature data associated with the environment of the user (726; paragraph [0134]; Figure 2);
a memory configured to store a health-related wearable application for managing health-related information acquired via the wearable device and the plurality of sensors of the home monitoring device (paragraph [0135]); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled with the one or more wireless communication interfaces, the plurality of sensors, and the memory, the one or more processors configured to execute the health-related wearable application (paragraph [0135]), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive, via the one or more wireless communication interfaces, baseline physiological data measured from the user via the wearable device during a first sleep interval (receives baseline data; paragraph [0154]-[0156]);
determine a circadian rhythm associated with the user based at least in part on classifying the physiological data collected during the first sleep interval into a plurality of sleep stages (paragraphs [0154], [0156], [0164]);
receive, via the one or more wireless communication interfaces, additional physiological data measured from the user via the wearable device during a second sleep interval (paragraphs [0109]-[0110], [0118], [0156], [0164]; claim 1);
receive the environmental data collected by the plurality of sensors during the second sleep interval, the environmental data comprising the air quality data, the sound data, the ambient light data, the temperature data, or any combination thereof (paragraph [0118], [0155]-[0158]);
identify one or more physiological effects that the environment of the user had on a sleep quality of the user during the second sleep interval based at least in part on the environmental data and the circadian rhythm (paragraphs [0042], “While the user is sleeping, the processor 136 can receive one or more of the user's biometric signals (e.g., heart rate, respiration, and motion) and determine the user's present sleep state based on the received biometric signals “, [0046], [0155]-[0158], [0222]); but does not explicitly teach
transmit, using the one or more wireless communication interfaces and based at least in part on identifying the one or more physiological effects that the environment of the user had on the sleep quality of the user, one or more signals to the wearable device, the user device, or both, the one or more signals configured to cause a graphical user interface (GUI) to display instructions for the user to improve the sleep quality of a subsequent sleep interval by modifying a sound level of the environment of the user, an ambient light level of the environment of the user, an air quality metric of the environment of the user, a temperature of the environment of the user, or a combination thereof.
However, Sayadi teaches transmit, using the one or more wireless communication interfaces and based at least in part on identifying the one or more physiological effects that the environment of the user had on the sleep quality of the user, one or more signals to the wearable device, the user device, or both, the one or more signals configured to cause a graphical user interface (GUI) to display instructions for the user to improve the sleep quality of a subsequent sleep interval by modifying a sound level of the environment of the user, an ambient light level of the environment of the user, an air quality metric of the environment of the user, a temperature of the environment of the user, or a combination thereof (teaches sending quality insight messages to a user; paragraph [0189]; teaches recommending to user optimal bedroom temperature (temperature of the environment of the user; paragraph [0189]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Youngblood, to inform the user of a need to change environmental conditions, as taught by Sayadi, because doing so provides a means of conveying to the user a need to change environmental factors for better sleep results for the user.
Regarding claim 13, Youngblood, in view of Sayadi, teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit an instruction to one or more external devices to cause the one or more external devices to selectively modify the sound level of the environment, the ambient light level of the environment, the air quality metric of the environment, the temperature of the environment, or any combination thereof, based at least in part on the one or more physiological effects (511 transmits to 710 (external devices) to change environmental factors; paragraphs [0149]-[0150], [0153], claim 1; as taught by Youngblood).
Regarding claim 14, Youngblood, in view of Sayadi, teaches wherein the one or more external devices comprise a thermostat, a television, a smart appliance, a virtual assistant device, or any combination thereof (paragraphs [0149]-[0150]; as taught by Youngblood).
Regarding claim 15, Youngblood, in view of Sayadi, teaches wherein, to identify the one or more physiological effects, the one or more processors are configured to:
identify a first physiological effect that the air quality data had on the sleep quality of the user during the second sleep interval, a second physiological effect that the sound data had on the sleep quality of the user during the second sleep interval, a third physiological effect that the ambient light data had on the sleep quality of the user during the second sleep interval, a fourth physiological effect that the temperature data had on the sleep quality of the user during the second sleep interval, or any combination thereof (paragraphs [0155]-[0158], [0222]; as taught by Youngblood), wherein the one or more signals are configured to cause the GUI to display the instructions for the user to improve the sleep quality of the subsequent sleep interval based at least in part on the first physiological effect, the second physiological effect, the third physiological effect, the fourth physiological effect, or any combination thereof (paragraph [0189]; as taught by Sayadi).
Regarding claim 17, Youngblood, in view of Sayadi, teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive a voice command from the user via the audio sensor of the home monitoring device, wherein the one or more signals are transmitted to the user device based at least in part on the voice command (paragraphs [0134], [0150]; as taught by Youngblood).
Regarding claim 19, Youngblood, in view of Sayadi, teaches wherein the one or more processors are disposed within the user device, the home monitoring device, one or more external servers, or any combination thereof (remote device 511 (user device) has a processor 760; paragraph [0135]; as taught by Youngblood).
Regarding claim 20, Youngblood, in view of Sayadi, teaches further comprising: one or more charging components configured to charge a battery of the wearable device (can be incorporated into a fitbit or apple watch (which has a charging device/component); paragraph [0122]; as taught by Youngblood).
Claim(s) 7, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youngblood, in view of Sayadi, as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of US 20160374567 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Brewslow”).
Regarding claim 7, Youngblood, in view of Sayadi, does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more signals are further configured to cause the GUI of the user device to display instructions for adjusting a sleep schedule associated with the user based at least in part on the circadian rhythm and the one or more physiological effects.
However, Breslow a sleep tracking device, teaches wherein the one or more signals are further configured to cause the GUI of the user device to display instructions for adjusting a sleep schedule associated with the user based at least in part on the circadian rhythm and the one or more physiological effects (paragraphs [0186], [0248]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Youngblood, in view of Sayadi, to instruct the user to adjust a sleeping schedule, as taught by Breslow, because doing so alerts the user if they need to change their sleeping schedule.
Regarding claim 18, Youngblood, in view of Sayadi, does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more signals are further configured to cause the GUI of the user device to display instructions for adjusting a sleep schedule associated with the user based at least in part on the circadian rhythm and the one or more physiological effects.
However, Breslow a sleep tracking device, teaches wherein the one or more signals are further configured to cause the GUI of the user device to display instructions for adjusting a sleep schedule associated with the user based at least in part on the circadian rhythm and the one or more physiological effects (paragraphs [0186], [0248]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Youngblood, in view of Sayadi, to instruct the user to adjust a sleeping schedule, as taught by Breslow, because doing so alerts the user if they need to change their sleeping schedule.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youngblood, in view of Sayadi, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20130183646 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Lusted”).
Regarding claim 10, Youngblood, in view of Sayadi, teach the wearable device is a PPG sensor, but does not explicitly teach wherein the wearable device comprises a wearable ring device.
However, Lusted, a biometric sensor device, teaches wherein the wearable device comprises a wearable ring device (paragraph [0048], [0093]; Figures 5-6). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Youngblood, in view of Sayadi, to have the wearable device be a ring, as taught by Lusted, because doing so provides a structural means to conveniently attach the wearable device to a user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 5 and 16, the prior art fails to teach or suggest “identify a location of the user within a home of the user based at least in part on the environmental data acquired via the home monitoring device, a wireless connection between the home monitoring device and one of the wearable device or the user device, or both, wherein the one or more signals are transmitted to the user device based at least in part on the location of the user being within a bedroom of the home of the user” in combination with all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/12/2026, in regards to the prior art rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant traverses the prior art rejection of claim 1 and 12.
Specifically, Applicant argues that the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest “identify one or more physiological effects that the environment of the user had on a sleep quality of the user during the second sleep interval based at least in part on the environmental data and the circadian rhythm”. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Young blood teaches identify one or more physiological effects that the environment of the user had on a sleep quality of the user during the second sleep interval based at least in part on the environmental data and the circadian rhythm (paragraphs [0042], “While the user is sleeping, the processor 136 can receive one or more of the user's biometric signals (e.g., heart rate, respiration, and motion) and determine the user's present sleep state based on the received biometric signals “, [0046], [0155]-[0158], [0222]). Youngblood specifically teaches using physiological parameters such as heart rate, respiration, and motion, to determine a user’s sleep state (paragraph [0046]).
As such Applicant’s argument is found to be unpersuasive.
Conclusion
/ABID A MUSTANSIR/Examiner, Art Unit 3791