DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on (2/22/24) is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 7-8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garven (US 12,508,179).
[CLAIM 1] Regarding claim 1, Garven discloses a wheelchair (100) comprising: a seat (112); a backrest (116) configured to couple to the seat (112); a pair of axle supports (Garven, annotated FIG 1) configured to couple to the seat (112), wherein the pair of axle supports (Garven, annotated FIG 1) is configured to support an axle (300) and a pair of rear wheels (104a-104b); a central hub (Garven, FIG 1 illustrates hubs at the wheels 104a-104b) configured to couple to the seat (112); a pair of caster supports (200) configured to couple to the central hub (Garven, FIG 1 illustrates hubs at the wheels 104a-104b), wherein the pair of caster supports (200) is configured to support a pair of front caster wheels (108a-108b); and a footrest (284) configured to couple to the pair of caster supports (200).
[CLAIM 7] Regarding claim 7, Garven discloses the wheelchair (100) of Claim 1, further comprising the pair of rear wheels (104a-104b) and the pair of caster supports (200).
[CLAIM 8] Regarding claim 8, Garven discloses the wheelchair (100) of Claim 1, wherein the seat (112) includes a plurality of seat components (Seats are an assembly of components to support a user) configured to be assembled together to provide the seat (112).
[CLAIM 16] Regarding claim 16, Garven discloses the wheelchair (100) of Claim 1, wherein at least a portion of at least one of the seat (112),the backrest (116), the pair of axle supports (Garven, annotated FIG 1 above), the central hub (The axle 300 and wheel hubs of wheels 104a-104b create a central hub “assembly” for the rear wheels), the pair of caster supports (200), or the footrest (284) is additive-manufactured (Any desired manufacturing process can be selected as desired to reduce cost and complexity).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garven (US 12,508,179) in view of Huttenhuis et al. (US 5,064,211).
[CLAIM 13] Regarding claim 13, Huttenhuis discloses the wheelchair of Claim 10.
-However, it fails to disclose wherein ends of the at least one of the plurality of seat connectors have ball joint interfaces.
-Nevertheless, Huttenhuis discloses a ball joint configuration in claim 1.
- Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Garven to have rotatable frame joints as taught by Huttenhuis with a reasonable expectation of success in order to make the frame adjustable for a particular user.
2. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garven (US 12,508,179) in view of Mulhern (US 7,311,329).
[CLAIM 12] Regarding claim 12, Garven discloses the wheelchair of Claim 10.
-However, it fails to disclose wherein ends of the at least one of the plurality of seat connectors have magnetic connection interfaces.
-Nevertheless, Mulhern discloses a magnetic connection arrangement suitable for seat connections/interfaces.
- Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Garven to have magnet connections as taught by Mulhern with a reasonable expectation of success in order to ease adjustment and assembly.
3. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garven (US 12,508,179) in view of Vesco (US PG PUB NO 2016/0302983).
[CLAIM 17] Regarding claim 17, Garven discloses the wheelchair of Claim 1.
-However, it fails to disclose further comprising a pair of magnetic braking assemblies configured to brake the pair of rear wheels.
-Nevertheless, Vesco discloses an electro-magnetic brake in paragraph [0038] suitable for any of the wheels.
- Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Garven to have a magnet-based brake as taught by Vesco with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase user control of the wheelchair.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 9-11 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 18-20 are allowable. Garven (US 12,508,179) represents a similar wheelchair as claimed by Applicants but fails to disclose the limitations of independent claim 18 and its dependent claims 19-20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES J TRIGGS/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/MARC Q JIMENEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615