DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/28/2024, 06/05/2025 and 09/15/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1, 3, 7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiang et al., 2015, “Combining Passive Visual Cameras and Active IMU Sensors to Track Cooperative People” (pp. 1338-1345).
Regarding claim 1, Jiang discloses “A method, comprising: receiving, via a camera that is in communication with a computer system, a first set of image data representing a field of view of the camera, wherein the first set of image data at least includes data representative of an object in the field of view of the camera (page 1344 – right column – Topic – “VI. CONCLUSION” - we present a novel tracking system combining the visual and Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU) signals, obtained from surveillance cameras and IMU devices carried by the targets themselves, respectively; page 1343 – right column – 1st para – “We developed an App to collect IMU signals when the target is moving or standing. The IMU signals are transmitted back to a groundstation by GSM. Meanwhile, a stationary camera collects visual signal of the target person. The visual signal is taken at 30 frames per second; page 1342 – right column – 1st para – “visual trajectory is in the image coordinate depending on the specific camera viewpoint…We warp the visual trajectory from scene-specific viewpoint”– where visual signal at the start of the trajectory represents a first set of image data representing a field of view of the camera, wherein the first set of image data at least includes data representative of an object in the field of view of the camera; and system processing electronic signals here would inherently require inherent components such as processor and memory to process the signals);
receiving a first set of data corresponding to the object via a first modality and a second set of data corresponding to the object via a second modality (page 1342 – Topic – “Integration of Visual and IMU tracking – A. Initialization – the target is tracked using visual signal and IMU signals, where visual modality is the first modality and IMU is the second modality; where visual trajectory and IMU trajectory provides location data corresponding to the object, as trajectory includes location information, as it’s defined as a sequence of location (points in space) over time, detailing an object’s movement path);
after receiving the first set of data corresponding to the object and the second set of data corresponding to the object, receiving a second set of image data representing the field of view of the camera, wherein the second set of image data does not include data representative of the object; and after receiving the second set of image data, predicting a position of the object using at least the first set of data corresponding to the object and the second set of data corresponding to the object (page 1342 – Topic – “Integration of Visual and IMU tracking – C. Re-identification – “two cases lead to the re-identification: (1) The target disappears in visual tracking such as moving out of the visual field or being occluded by other objects; (2) Visual and IMU trajectories do not match each other, which may be caused by tracking drift….As shown in fig 8(i) IMU keeps tracking the target even the target is occluded by a tree. The green curve is the IMU trajectory. Meanwhile, visual pedestrian detector tries to detect pedestrians in a search region estimated by IMU (yellow circle in Fig.8(i)). If detected, the pedestrian will be tracked by visual tracking for ∆t frames (Fig.8(k)-Fig.8(m)). In this system, ∆t is set as 150 frames (5 seconds). If any visual tracking failure happens within the ∆t frames, we go back to the IMU-tracking (Fig.8(i)). If the tracking within the ∆t frames succeeds, the average distance d between IMU and visual trajectories during ∆t is computed to judge if they match. If d < dthr, the target pedestrian is re-identified and we go back to the normal tracking again. Otherwise, we go back to the IMU-tracking (Fig.8(i)) for re-identification. The above cooperative people tracking system elucidates why visual tracking and IMU tracking are "complementary". First, when visual tracking fails, IMU tracking keeps working and offers the clue where the target could be, helping visual tracking reidentify the target. Secondly, the visual trajectory corrects the bias of speed and forward direction estimation in IMU tracking by the similarity matrix Hs,k- The calibration coefficient in Eq.3 is also compted by Hs,k once we know the length of matched visual and IMU trajectories. As we keep updating Hs,k, visual tracking rebuilds the relationship with IMU tracking and rectifies the deviation of IMU-based tracking trajectory”).
Regarding claim 3, Jiang discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein the first modality includes one or more selected from a group comprising a video modality, audio modality, an inertial measurement modality, and a depth modality, and wherein the second modality includes one or more selected from the group comprising the video modality, the audio modality, the inertial measurement modality, or the depth modality” (see the citations made in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Jiang discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein the first modality and the second modality are different types of modalities, and wherein predicting the position of the object includes: predicting a positional characteristic of the object using the first set of data and the second set of data” (As cited in the rejection of claim 1, Vision and IMU modalities are different from each other; predicting the position of the object here as cited in Jiang is nothing but estimating the trajectory of the object using vision and IMU data).
Regarding claim 9, Jiang discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein the first set of data includes a first set of position data corresponding to the object, and wherein the second set of data includes a second set of position data corresponding to the object” (As cited in the rejection of claim 1, visual trajectory and IMU trajectory provides location data corresponding to the object, as trajectory includes location information, as it’s defined as a sequence of location (points in space) over time, detailing an object’s movement path).
Claim 10 has been similarly analyzed and rejected as per citations made in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 11 has been similarly analyzed and rejected as per citations made in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al., 2015, “Combining Passive Visual Cameras and Active IMU Sensors to Track Cooperative People” (pp. 1338-1345) as applied to claim 1 above; and, further in view of Erdem et al., 2015, “Fusing Inertial Sensor Data in an Extended Kalman Filter for 3D Camera Tracking” (pp. 538-548).
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 recites “The method of claim 1, wherein the first set of data and the second set of data are inputs into a filter that includes one or more selected from a group comprising: an extended Kalman filter; an unscented Kalman filter; and a particle filter”. Jiang as cited in the rejection of claim 1, teaches fusing/combining visual and IMU signals to perform robust tracking but do not explicitly teach a filter that includes one or more selected from a group comprising: an extended Kalman filter; an unscented Kalman filter; and a particle filter to do so. However, Erdem discloses an Extended Kalman Filter that combines/fuses inputs such Inertial measurement sensor output and camera output (page 538 – left column – Abstract, and, right column – 1st and 2nd paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use Extended Kalman Filter (EKF) to combine IMU and Camera outputs as taught by Erdem in the invention of Jiang. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Extended Kalman Filter to combine IMU and Camera outputs as taught by Erdem in the invention of Jiang, as EKF effectively combines noisy, non-linear data from diverse sensors into a single, more accurate and reliable state estimate.
8. Claims 4-6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/Manav Seth/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672
January 9, 2026