DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 7-20 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 7 recites “UIDs” in line 10. It is suggested to fully describe the acronym (i.e. Unique Identity) when reciting for the first time within a set of claims.
Claim 15 is also objected for the same reason as claim 7 as set forth above.
Claims 8-14 and 16-20 are also objected since they are depended objected claims set forth above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites, “a second storage of the subscription database” in line 4, and claim 3 directly depends on claim 1. It is unclear whether a second storge exist without a first storage.
Claim 11 is also rejected for the same reason as claim 3 as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Namiranian (US 2019 0028881).
Regarding Claim 1, Namiranian discloses a computer device (see FIG. 1-2, ESIM management platform 106; see FIG. 3, computing device components 300), comprising:
a processor (see FIG. 3, Processors 304);
a non-transitory computer-readable memory (see FIG. 3, memory 306) storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform actions (see ¶¶ 43,45) including:
receiving, from a client device, (see FIG. 2, receiving from User Device(s) 204(N) entity with ICCID1 of eUICC2/eSIM3; see ¶¶ 2, 17) a request to perform an operation (see ¶¶ 15, 19, 18, 28, 38; a request to perform an provision/operation) in a subscription database (see FIG. 1-2, centralize database 132 with subscription management services 104), the operation being associated with a first subscription (see FIG. 6, Step 602; ¶¶ 19-20; 28-31, 37-40, 53; provision/operation regarding profile/subscription (of specific/first ICCID));
auditing subscription data stored in the subscription database to generate an auditing result (see FIG. 6, Steps 604, 606, 610, 612, 614, 616; auditing/verification profile/subscription data stored in the centralize database to obtain/generate output/result (i.e. load? or Has access?) see ¶¶ 39,42, 54-57;); and
based on the auditing result indicating no error in the subscription database (see FIG. 6, Steps 606 (yes=action pass), Step 612 (yes=action pass), Step 616 (yes=action pass); based on auditing/verification indicating that the action has passed), performing the operation in the subscription database (see FIG. 6, Step 618; performing the actions with respect to the profile/subscription in centralize database 132 with subscription management services 104); see ¶¶ 56-57).
Regarding Claims 7 and 15, Namiranian discloses a computer device (see FIG. 1-2, ESIM management platform 106; see FIG. 3, computing device components 300), and a computer-implemented method comprising:
a non-transitory computer-readable memory (see FIG. 3, memory 306) storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform actions (see ¶¶ 43,45) including:
receiving, from a client device, (see FIG. 2, receiving from User Device(s) 204(N) entity with ICCID4 of eUICC5/eSIM6; see ¶¶ 2, 17) a request to perform an operation (see ¶¶ 15, 19, 18, 28, 38; a request to perform an provision/operation) in a subscription database (see FIG. 1-2, centralize database 132 with subscription management services 104), the operation being associated with a first subscription (see FIG. 6, Step 602; ¶¶ 19-20; 28-31, 37-40, 53; provision/operation regarding profile/subscription (of specific/first ICCID/EID));
obtaining, from an index repository (see FIG. 1-2, finding/obtaining from a combined 112system of subscription management services 104 104 and ESIM profile Vendor 108(N)), a plurality of UIDs (see FIG. 1-2, plurality of EIDs7/ ICCID8) and associated indexes (see FIG. 1, associated/corresponding services/indexes (e.g., SM-DP9 110, SM-DP+10 122, SM-SR11 166)) for a plurality of subscriptions (see FIG. 1, for plurality of profiles/subscriptions (e.g. profile 112(N), profile 112, profile 124, profile 126); see ¶¶ 14, 16-17, 27, 30-33, 36, 38, 41-42; also see FIG. 5, Steps 502-506, see ¶¶ 51-52);
auditing, based on the plurality of UIDs and associated indexes, the subscription database to generate an auditing result (see FIG. 6, Steps 604, 606, 610, 612, 614, 616; auditing/verification, based on EIDs/ICCIDs and its associated/corresponding services/indexes, in the centralize database to obtain/generate output/result (i.e. load? or Has access?) see ¶¶ 33, 28, 39 39,42, 48, 54-57); and
based on the auditing result indicating no error in the subscription database (see FIG. 6, Steps 606 (yes=action pass), Step 612 (yes=action pass), Step 616 (yes=action pass); based on auditing/verification indicating that the action has passed), performing the operation with respect to the first subscription in the subscription database (see FIG. 6, Step 618; performing the actions regarding specific/first ICCID/EID’s profile/subscription in centralize database 132 with subscription management services 104); see ¶¶ 56-57).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Namiranian in view of Hara (US 2002 0184202).
Regarding Claim 2, Namiranian discloses wherein auditing subscription data stored in the subscription database to generate an auditing result as set for the above. Namiranian further discloses querying indexes (see FIG. 1, retrieving/acquiring subscription services/indexes (e.g., SM-DP12 110, SM-DP+13 122, SM-SR14 166)) stored in a first storage of the subscription database (see FIG. 1-2, stored in a combined 112system of subscription management services 104 104 and ESIM profile Vendor 108(N)) of centralized database 132; see ¶¶ 14, 16-17, 27, 30-33, 36, 38, 41-42; also see FIG. 5, Steps 502-506, see ¶¶ 51-52))
determining whether associated indexes point to a same unique identity (UID) (see FIG. 6, Steps 604, 606, 610, 612, 614, 616; determining/verification, whether EIDs/ICCIDs and its associated/corresponding services/indexes are the same as “loaded?” or “Has access?” stored EIDs/ICCIDs; see ¶¶ 33, 28, 39 39,42, 48, 54-57; and
based on the result not pointing to the same UID, determining that there is an error in the subscription database (see FIG. 6, Steps 606 (No=action fail), Step 612 (NO=action fail), Step 616 (yes=action pass); based on auditing/determining as “No” indicate that the action has failed or errored has occurred in the in centralize database 132 with subscription management services 104 ; ¶¶ 56-57).
Although Namiranian discloses querying indexes stored in a first storage of the subscription database; and determining whether associated indexes point to a same unique identity (UID); and based on the result not pointing to the same UID, determining that there is an error in the subscription database a set for the above, Namiranian does not explicitly disclose determining “based on the associated indexes”.
However, Hara teaches a computer device (see FIG. 4, database managing system 1) querying indexes stored in a first storage of the subscription database (see FIG. 4, a combined system of Query analyzer processing module 10 and index managing module 40 queries index 22 stored in database area 2; see ¶¶ 59-61, 65; also see FIG. 9,see ¶¶ 91-92); and
determining whether associated indexes point to a same unique identity (UID) (see FIG. 4, index managing module 40; FIG. 10, Step 1002, 1003, 1004, 1005; Determining whether index entry points to the inserted table data (i.e. unique identification of user data); see ¶¶46-57); see ¶¶ 95-96) ; and
based on the associated indexes not pointing to the same UID, determining that there is an error in the subscription database (see FIG. 10, Step 1005 (No) and 1007; based on the index entry does not exist, thereby, not able to point to the inserted table data (i.e. unique identification of user data), determining as “No” which is an error in the database area 2; see ¶¶ 95-97);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “based on the associated indexes” as taught by Hara in the system of Namiranian , so that it would provide managing data in terms of sets of mutually comparable instances can be realized in a suitable or optimal manner ; see Hara ¶19.
Claims 4, 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Namiranian in view of Shah (US 2023 0093167).
Regarding Claims 4 and 10, Namiranian discloses based on the auditing result indicating an error in the subscription database (see FIG. 6, Steps 606 (No=action fail), Step 612 (no=action fail), Step 616 (no=action fail); based on auditing/verification indicating that the action has passed), sending the auditing result to the client device (see FIG. 6, Step 608, sending the error message to requesting User Device(s) 204(N) entity; see ¶¶ 2, 17 , 56-58).
Although Namiranian discloses based on the auditing result indicating an error in the subscription database, sending the auditing result to the client device as set forth above, Namiranian does not explicitly disclose “causing the client device to correct the error in the subscription database.”
However, Shah teaches a computer device (see FIG. 3A, LwM2M server 304) wherein based on the result in the subscription database (see FIG. 6A, Step 602, based on receiving SIM profile package from MNO server), sending the result to the client device (see FIG. 6A, Step 604, sending the result to LwM2M client; see ¶¶ 146-148), causing the client device to correct the error in the subscription database (see FIG. 6B, Step 658, LwM2M client send integrity check fail to LwM2Mserver to correct failure by updating package (see FIG. 11); see ¶¶ 149-153, 182-186)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “causing the client device to correct the error in the subscription database” as taught by Shah in the system of Namiranian , so that it would provide secure SIM profile package updating with integrity check ; see Shah ¶16.
Regarding Claim 6, Namiranian discloses wherein the auditing result includes at least one of indicating a type of the error (see ¶¶ 54, 57, 58; failure message include a reason for the failure).
Although Namiranian discloses wherein the auditing result includes at least one of indicating a type of the error as set forth above, Namiranian does not explicitly disclose a type of the error being “a pre-defined error code.”
However, Shah teaches the auditing result includes at least one of indicating a type of the error a type of the error being a pre-defined error code (see FIG. 3B, for the failure status IE 362 code 5; see ¶¶ 69, 116, 152).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a type of the error being “a pre-defined error code.” as taught by Shah in the system of Namiranian, so that it would provide secure SIM profile package updating with integrity check; see Shah ¶16.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8, 9, 12-14 and 16-20 are
objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, and
objected to as set forth in above, Id. ¶2
but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Stahl (US 2025 0330800), FIG. 1, 2, 4
Yu (US 2014 0274045), FIG. 3
Sharma (US 11553334), FIG. 2-3
Yang (US 2018 0294949), FIG. 1, 6
El Hattachi (US 2013 0023244), FIG. 1-3
IAN N. MOORE
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/Ian N Moore/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469
1 ICCID= Integrated Circuit Card Identifiers
2 eUICC= Embedded Universal Integrated Circuit Card
3 eSIM=Embedded Subscriber Identity Module
4 ICCID= Integrated Circuit Card Identifiers
5 eUICC= Embedded Universal Integrated Circuit Card
6 eSIM=Embedded Subscriber Identity Module
7 EID= eUICC IDs= Embedded Universal Integrated Circuit Card Identifiers
8 ICCID= Integrated Circuit Card Identifiers
9 SM-DP= Subscription Manager Data Preparation Profile
10 SM-DP+ = Subscription Manager Data Preparation Plus Profile
11 SM-SR= Subscription Manager Secure Routing
12 SM-DP= Subscription Manager Data Preparation Profile
13 SM-DP+ = Subscription Manager Data Preparation Plus Profile
14 SM-SR= Subscription Manager Secure Routing