CTNF 18/584,853 CTNF 86433 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bibl et al. (US 8,791,474, hereinafter Bibl) in view of Ma et al. (US 2022/0037419, hereinafter Ma) . With respect to claim 1, Bibl discloses a display apparatus (Fig. 6A) comprising: a first display area (104) in which first light-emitting diodes (400R) are arranged; a second display area (Col. 2; lines 49-51 – non pixel area) at least partially surrounded by the first display area in plan view (Col. 2; lines 25-29, lines 50-55; 118 is formed in non-pixel area and is surrounded by 104), and in which display element groups comprising second light-emitting diodes and transmission areas are arranged (400G), at least one of the transmission areas (Col. 8; lines 40-45; opening 148 in layer 126); a light-blocking insulating layer (126 of fig. 6C) defining emission areas of the first light-emitting diodes and the second light-emitting diodes (Col. 8; lines 40-50); and wherein one or more of the transmission areas are defined in plan view by a circular opening defined by at least one of the light-blocking layer or the light-blocking insulating layer (148 of Fig. 6D - Col. 8; lines 40-45 – opening 148 in layer 126). Bibl does not explicitly disclose that at least one of the transmission areas having a circular shape; and an anti-reflection layer above the light-blocking insulating layer, and comprising a light-blocking layer and color filters. In an analogous art, Ma discloses that at least one of the transmission areas having a circular shape (para 0020); and an anti-reflection layer above the light-blocking insulating layer (Para 0082- anti-reflection layer AR), and comprising a light-blocking layer and color filters (Para 0071; 0082; 0107; and 0126; AR may comprise of a light blocking member and color filters). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bibl’s apparatus by having Ma’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a display device. With respect to claim 2, Bibl/Ma discloses the display apparatus of claim 1. Bibl does not explicitly disclose a blocking metal layer in the second display area. In an analogous art, Ma discloses a blocking metal layer in the second display area (para 0010; 0021-0022). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bibl’s apparatus by having Ma’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a display device. With respect to claim 3, Bibl/Ma discloses the display apparatus of claim 2. Bibl does not explicitly disclose wherein the blocking metal layer defines an opening corresponding to each transmission area. In an analogous art, Ma discloses wherein the blocking metal layer defines an opening corresponding to each transmission area (Para 0018-0020). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bibl’s apparatus by having Ma’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a display device. With respect to claim 4, Bibl/Ma discloses the display apparatus of claim 3. Bibl does not explicitly disclose wherein the opening has a circular shape in plan view. In an analogous art, Ma discloses wherein the opening has a circular shape in plan view (Para 0020; 0118-0119; and 0132-0133). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bibl’s apparatus by having Ma’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a display device . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5-8, 10-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bibl/Ma in view of Jun et al. (US 2023/0075883, hereinafter Jun) . With respect to claim 5, Bibl/Ma discloses the display apparatus of claim 1. Bibl does not explicitly disclose a first horizontal wiring crossing the first display area, and extending from the first display area to the second display area; and a second horizontal wiring spaced from the first horizontal wiring, crossing the first display area, and extending from the first display area to the second display area, wherein a width of a part of the second horizontal wiring is greater than a width of a part of the first horizontal wiring in plan view. In an analogous art, Ma discloses a first horizontal wiring crossing the first display area (Para 0086), and extending from the first display area to the second display area (Para 0091 and 0103); and a second horizontal wiring spaced from the first horizontal wiring, crossing the first display area, and extending from the first display area to the second display area (Para 0110-0111; and 0115). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bibl’s apparatus by having Ma’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a display device. Bibl/Ma does not explicitly disclose wherein a width of a part of the second horizontal wiring is greater than a width of a part of the first horizontal wiring in plan view. In an analogous art, Jun discloses wherein a width of a part of the second horizontal wiring is greater than a width of a part of the first horizontal wiring in plan view (Para 0017; 0084-0085; 0218). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bibl/Ma’s apparatus by having Jun’s disclosure in order to maximize the display area. With respect to claim 6, Bibl/Ma discloses the display apparatus of claim 1. Bibl does not explicitly disclose wherein the first horizontal wiring is electrically connected to a pixel circuit of at least one of the first light-emitting diodes and to a pixel circuit of at least one of the second light-emitting diodes. In an analogous art, Ma discloses wherein the first horizontal wiring is electrically connected to a pixel circuit of at least one of the first light-emitting diodes and to a pixel circuit of at least one of the second light-emitting diodes (Para 0086 and 0134). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bibl’s apparatus by having Ma’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a display device. With respect to claim 7, Bibl/Ma/Jun discloses the display apparatus of claim 5. Bibl does not explicitly disclose wherein the second horizontal wiring comprises: a first wiring portion extending in a first direction; and a second wiring portion extending diagonally with respect to the first direction, wherein a width of the first wiring portion is less than a width of the second wiring portion in plan view. In an analogous art, Ma discloses wherein the second horizontal wiring comprises: a first wiring portion extending in a first direction (Para 0086; 0091 and 0103; 0110-0111); and a second wiring portion extending diagonally with respect to the first direction (Para 0110-0111; and 0115). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bibl’s apparatus by having Ma’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a display device. Bibl/Ma does not explicitly disclose wherein a width of the first wiring portion is less than a width of the second wiring portioin in plan view. In an analogous art, Jun discloses wherein a width of the first wiring portion is less than a width of the second wiring portion in plan view (Para 0017; 0084-0085; 0218). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bibl/Ma’s apparatus by having Jun’s disclosure in order to maximize the display area. With respect to claim 8, Bibl/Ma/Jun discloses the display apparatus of claim 5. Bibl does not explicitly disclose wherein the first horizontal wiring and the second horizontal wiring are respectively at different layers. In an analogous art, Ma discloses wherein the first horizontal wiring and the second horizontal wiring are respectively at different layers (Para 0196 and 0241). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bibl’s apparatus by having Ma’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a display device. With respect to claim 10, Bibl/Ma/Jun discloses the display apparatus of claim 5. Bibl/Ma does not explicitly disclose wherein a width of the first horizontal wiring is substantially constant in plan view. In an analogous art, Ma discloses wherein a width of the first horizontal wiring is substantially constant in plan view (Para 0283). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bibl’s apparatus by having Ma’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a display device. With respect to claim 11, Bibl/Ma/Jun discloses the display apparatus of claim 5. Bibl does not explicitly disclose wherein the second horizontal wiring is connected to a pixel circuit of at least one of the first light-emitting diodes. In an analogous art, Ma discloses wherein the second horizontal wiring is connected to a pixel circuit of at least one of the first light-emitting diodes (Para 0091; 0134; 0139). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bibl’s apparatus by having Ma’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a display device. With respect to claim 12, Bibl discloses a display apparatus (Fig. 6A) comprising: a first display area (104) in which first light-emitting diodes (400R) are arranged; a second display area (Col. 2; lines 49-51 – non pixel area) at least partially surrounded by the first display area (Col. 2; lines 25-29, lines 50-55; 118 is formed in non-pixel area and is surrounded by 104), and in which display element groups comprising second light-emitting diodes and transmission areas are arranged (400G), at least one of the transmission areas (Col. 8; lines 40-45; opening 148 in layer 126); a light-blocking insulating layer (126 of fig. 6C) configured to define emission areas of the first light-emitting diodes and the second light-emitting diodes (Col. 8; lines 40-50); Bibl does not explicitly disclose that at least one of the transmission areas having a circular shape; and an anti-reflection layer above the light-blocking insulating layer, and comprising a light-blocking layer and color filters. In an analogous art, Ma discloses that at least one of the transmission areas having a circular shape (para 0020); and an anti-reflection layer above the light-blocking insulating layer (Para 0082- anti-reflection layer AR), and comprising a light-blocking layer and color filters (Para 0071; 0082; 0107; and 0126; AR may comprise of a light blocking member and color filters). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bibl’s apparatus by having Ma’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a display device. Bibl does not explicitly disclose a first horizontal wiring crossing the first display area, and extending from the first display area to the second display area; and a second horizontal wiring spaced apart from the first horizontal wiring, crossing the first display area, and extending from the first display area to the second display area, wherein a width of the second horizontal wiring varies in plan view, and wherein a width of a part of the second horizontal wiring is greater than a width of a part of the first horizontal wiring in plan view. In an analogous art, Ma discloses a first horizontal wiring crossing the first display area (Para 0086), and extending from the first display area to the second display area (Para 0091 and 0103); and a second horizontal wiring spaced apart from the first horizontal wiring, crossing the first display area, and extending from the first display area to the second display area (Para 0110-0111; and 0115). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bibl’s apparatus by having Ma’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a display device. Bibl/Ma does not explicitly disclose wherein a width of the second horizontal wiring varies in plan view, and wherein a width of a part of the second horizontal wiring is greater than a width of a part of the first horizontal wiring in plan view. In an analogous art, Jun discloses wherein a width of the second horizontal wiring varies in plan view (Para 0356; width may be adjusted), and wherein a width of a part of the second horizontal wiring is greater than a width of a part of the first horizontal wiring in plan view (Para 0017; 0084-0085; 0218). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bibl/Ma’s apparatus by having Jun’s disclosure in order to maximize the display area. With respect to claim 13 , Bibl/Ma/Jun discloses the display apparatus of claim 5. Bibl does not explicitly disclose wherein the first horizontal wiring is electrically connected to a pixel circuit of at least one of the first light-emitting diodes, and to a pixel circuit of at least one of the second light-emitting diodes. In an analogous art, Ma discloses wherein the first horizontal wiring is electrically connected to a pixel circuit of at least one of the first light-emitting diodes (Para 0091, 0134 and 0139), and to a pixel circuit of at least one of the second light-emitting diodes (Para 0187-0188). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bibl’s apparatus by having Ma’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a display device. With respect to claim 14, Bibl/Ma/Jun discloses the display apparatus of claim 12. Bibl does not explicitly disclose wherein the second horizontal wiring comprises: a first wiring portion extending in a first direction; and a second wiring portion extending diagonally with respect to the first direction, wherein a width of the first wiring portion is less than a width of the second wiring portion in plan view. In an analogous art, Ma discloses wherein the second horizontal wiring comprises: a first wiring portion extending in a first direction (Para 0086; 0091 and 0103; 0110-0111); and a second wiring portion extending diagonally with respect to the first direction (Para 0110-0111; and 0115). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bibl’s apparatus by having Ma’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a display device. Bibl/Ma does not explicitly disclose wherein a width of the first wiring portion is less than a width of the second wiring portioin in plan view. In an analogous art, Jun discloses wherein a width of the first wiring portion is less than a width of the second wiring portion in plan view (Para 0017; 0084-0085; 0218). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bibl/Ma’s apparatus by having Jun’s disclosure in order to maximize the display area. With respect to claim 15, Bibl/Ma/Jun discloses the display apparatus of claim 12. Bibl does not explicitly disclose wherein the first horizontal wiring and the second horizontal wiring are respectively at different layers. In an analogous art, Ma discloses wherein the first horizontal wiring and the second horizontal wiring are respectively at different layers (Para 0196 and 0241). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bibl’s apparatus by having Ma’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a display device. With respect to claim 17, Bibl/Ma/Jun discloses the display apparatus of claim 12. Bibl/Ma does not explicitly disclose wherein a width of the first horizontal wiring is substantially constant in plan view. In an analogous art, Ma discloses wherein a width of the first horizontal wiring is substantially constant in plan view (Para 0283). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bibl’s apparatus by having Ma’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a display device. With respect to claim 18, Bibl/Ma/Jun discloses the display apparatus of claim 12. Bibl does not explicitly disclose wherein the second horizontal wiring is connected to a pixel circuit of at least one of the first light-emitting diodes. In an analogous art, Ma discloses wherein the second horizontal wiring is connected to a pixel circuit of at least one of the first light-emitting diodes (Para 0091; 0134; 0139). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bibl’s apparatus by having Ma’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a display device. With respect to claim 19, Bibl/Ma/Jun discloses the display apparatus of claim 12. Bibl does not explicitly disclose a blocking metal layer in the second display area, and defining openings corresponding to the transmission areas. In an analogous art, Ma discloses a blocking metal layer in the second display area (para 0010; 0021-0022), and defining openings corresponding to the transmission areas (Para 0018-0020). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bibl’s apparatus by having Ma’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a display device. With respect to claim 20, Bibl/Ma/Jun discloses the display apparatus of claim 19. Bibl does not explicitly disclose wherein the opening has a circular shape in plan view. In an analogous art, Ma discloses wherein the opening has a circular shape in plan view (Para 0020; 0118-0119; and 0132-0133). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bibl’s apparatus by having Ma’s disclosure in order to reduce interference in a display device . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bibl/Ma/Jun in view of Wu et al. (US 2017/0097727, hereinafter Wu) . With respect to claims 9 and 16, Bibl/Ma/Jun discloses the display apparatus of claim 5. Bibl/Ma/Jun does not explicitly disclose wherein a total resistance of the first horizontal wiring is substantially similar to a total resistance of the second horizontal wiring. In an analogous art, Wu discloses wherein a total resistance of the first horizontal wiring is substantially similar to a total resistance of the second horizontal wiring (Para 0038, 0060; and 0081). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bibl/Ma/Jun’s apparatus by having Wu’s disclosure in order to reduce time delay in a display device. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MOHAMMAD M CHOUDHRY whose telephone number is (571)270-5716. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Fairbanks Brent can be reached at 408-918-7532. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MOHAMMAD M CHOUDHRY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/584,853 Page 2 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/584,853 Page 3 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/584,853 Page 4 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/584,853 Page 5 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/584,853 Page 6 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/584,853 Page 7 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/584,853 Page 8 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/584,853 Page 9 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/584,853 Page 10 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/584,853 Page 11 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/584,853 Page 12 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/584,853 Page 13 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/584,853 Page 14 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/584,853 Page 15 Art Unit: 2899