Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwab (US 3875933) in view of Mangold (US 2018/0317732) and Park (KR 101918002 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Schwab teaches a back and body moisturizing device comprising an elastic woven middle portion (10) that functions as an application band for a low-viscosity topical preparation applied to the elastic woven middle portion, where the elastic woven middle portion is configured to hold the low viscosity topical preparation in manner that loosely retains the low-viscosity topical preparation until a mechanical pressure is applied to the elastic woven middle portion and elastic pull strings (15) at each end of the elastic woven middle portion, wherein the elastic woven middle portion comprises a natural thread material and a synthetic thread material (cotton and nylon, col. 1, ll. 64-66).
Martin does not teach that, wherein the elastic woven middle portion comprises an abrasive side comprising a urethane abrasive layer and a softer side composed of a material and weave that is loosely absorbent of the low-viscosity topical preparation, and wherein the elastic woven middle portion comprises a non-homogenous weave pattern with at least two segments having different weave patterns.
Mangold teaches an abrasive side (102) comprising a urethane abrasive layer (112, see ¶0050) and a softer side (side opposite of 102 may be uncoated, see ¶0001).
Park teaches a non-homogenous weave pattern with at least two segments (100, 200) having different weave patterns.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the woven middle portion of Schwab with an abrasive side comprising a urethane abrasive layer and a softer side composed of a material and weave that is loosely absorbent of the low-viscosity topical preparation as taught by Mangold for the purpose of increasing the exfoliating effect of the woven middle portion (Mangold ¶0010)
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the woven middle portion of Schwab to include a non-homogenous weave pattern with at least two segments having different weave patterns as taught by Park for the purpose of providing the woven portion with vent portions that allow for evaporation (Park, first paragraph of pg. 3).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Schwab, Mangold and Park teaches the back and body moisturizing device of claim 1, the elastic pull strings are configured to apply the elastic woven middle portion on a user's back to apply the low-viscosity topical preparation (Schab, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Schwab, Mangold and Park teaches the back and body moisturizing device of claim 2, wherein the low- viscosity topical preparation comprises a body lotion (the modified Schwab device would be capable of applying a body lotion).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Schwab, Mangold and Park teaches the back and body moisturizing device of claim 3, wherein the elastic woven middle portion comprising a specified number of rows of a pair of braiding patterns combined together (Park Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Schwab, Mangold and Park teaches the back and body moisturizing device of claim 5, but does not teach that that an interior portion of two braiding patterns is created by a crochet tool that weaves the two braiding patterns together.
The limitation "an interior portion of two braiding patterns is created by a crochet tool that weaves the two braiding patterns togethers" is being interpreted as a product-by-process limitation. As set forth in MPEP 2113, product-by-process claims are NOT limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only to the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. See MPEP 2113.
In this case, the combination of Schwab, Mangold, and Park teaches does not teach the process by which the braids are joined. However, the final structure of both the combination of Schwab, Mangold, and Park and the claimed invention is that of multiple braids with an interior portion formed by joining adjacent braids to each other.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Schwab, Mangold, and Park teaches the back and body moisturizing device of claim 7, wherein the two braiding patterns is a crocheted connecting pattern that is repeated to every other strand of braiding patterns.
At the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have made the device of Yamane such that the two braiding patterns is a crocheted connecting pattern that is repeated to every other strand of braiding patterns because Applicant has not disclosed that the braiding pattern provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected the combination and the applicant's invention to perform equally well with either the braids taught by Park or the claimed two braiding patterns is a crocheted connecting pattern that is repeated to every other strand of braiding patterns because both sets of braids are equally capable of applying lotion to a user's back. It is noted that Applicant lists a variety of braiding and weaving patterns in paragraphs 0028-0037 and does not disclose any particular advantage or disadvantage for any of them.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the braids of Yamane to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of the combination of Schwab, Mangold, and Park.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Schwab, Mangold, and Park teaches the back and body moisturizing device of claim 8, wherein the braid strands comprises patterns of three over-under-over-under braids.
At the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have made the device of Yamane such that the braid strands comprises patterns of three over-under-over-under braids because Applicant has not disclosed that the braiding pattern provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected the combination and the applicant's invention to perform equally well with either the braids taught by Park or the claimed braid strands that comprise patterns of three over-under-over-under braids because both sets of braids are equally capable of applying lotion to a user's back. It is noted that Applicant lists a variety of braiding and weaving patterns in paragraphs 0028-0037 and does not disclose any particular advantage or disadvantage for any of them.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the braids of Yamane to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of the combination of Schwab, Mangold, and Park.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Schwab, Mangold, and Park teaches the back and body moisturizing device of claim 9, wherein a braid strand is three inches and one-eighth an inch in width.
At the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have made the device of Yamane such that a braid strand is three inches and one-eighth an inch in width because Applicant has not disclosed that the size of the braid provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected the combination and the applicant's invention to perform equally well with braids with an undisclosed width taught by Yamane or the claimed braid strand that is three inches and one-eighth an inch in width because both sets of braids are equally capable of applying lotion to a user's back.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the braids of Yamane to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Schwab, Mangold, and Park.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY S OLIVER/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754