DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 02/22/2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 8-11, 13-14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu Hao et al (CN 202110444516 A FILED ON 23-Apr-2021).
For Claim 1, Hao discloses a method for wireless communication, comprising: performing, by a sensing initiator (Hao teaches, on Page 3, step S306, that the station management entity receives the measurement request from the management entity), a setup process of a target sensing session according to a type of the to-be-set up target sensing session (Hao teaches, on Page 3, step S302, that a measurement request sent by a site management entity SME is received, wherein the measurement request carries measurement type information and measurement parameter information, the measurement type information is used for indicating that the measurement type is wireless sensing measurement, and the measurement parameter information comprises parameters used for executing the wireless sensing measurement).
For Claim 3, Hao discloses a method, further comprising: indicating, by the sensing initiator, a type of the target sensing session through a first media access control sublayer management entity service access point (MLME-SAP) interface primitive (Hao teaches, on Page 13, step S1, that an SME in an initiator STA sends an MLME-MREQUEST request primitive to an MLME).
For Claim 4, Hao discloses a method, wherein performing, by the sensing initiator, the setup process of the target sensing session according to the type of the to-be-set up target sensing session comprises:
calling, by a station management entity (SME) of the sensing initiator, the first MLME-SAP interface primitive, so that a media access control sublayer management entity (MLME) of the sensing initiator performs the setup process of the target sensing session according to the type of the target sensing session (Hao teaches, on Page 15, B (1), setting a Radio measurement request frame according to a primitive, and sending the Radio measurement request frame to an STA (station) corresponding to Peer MAC Address parameters in a table 1, namely a responder STA);
wherein the first MLME-SAP interface primitive is configured to indicate at least one of: the type of the target sensing session, a session identification of the target sensing session, a measurement setup identification, a duration of a measurement, a number of repetitions of the measurement, an interval time of the measurement, or a sensing request set, wherein the sensing request set comprises an identity identification of a sensing responder (Hao teaches, on Page 15, b, if the sending method value is 1, which indicates that the measurement is performed using the radar-based method … if the sending method value is 2 and the measurement is performed by using the CSI-based method [i.e., the type of the target sensing session]. Hao also teaches, on Page 13, that Peer MAC Address is the Address of STA performing measurement [i.e., an identity identification of a sensing responder]).
For Claim 8, Hao discloses a method, further comprising: receiving, by the sensing initiator, a first response frame from a sensing responder, the first response frame being configured to indicate response information for a measurement setup; wherein the first response frame comprises a measurement setup identification and/or a session identification (Hao teaches, on Page 3, step S304-S306, acquiring a wireless sensing result based on the measurement parameter information; and step S306, sending the wireless sensing result to the SME. Therefore, the wireless sensing measurement is realized through the parameters carried in the measurement request).
For Claim 9, Hao discloses a method, wherein the target sensing session corresponds to one measurement setup, and the first response frame comprises a measurement setup identification corresponding to the one measurement setup or a session identification corresponding to the target sensing session (Hao teaches, on Page 13, TABLE 1, that It should be noted that the Measurement Request Set parameter in table 1 includes multiple Measurement Request information elements, such as Measurement token For identifying the measurement request). Hao also teaches, on Page 3, step S306, that the wireless sensing measurement is realized through the parameters carried in the measurement request.
For Claim 10, Hao discloses a method, wherein the target sensing session corresponds to a plurality of measurement setups (Hao teaches, on Page 4, that measurement parameters indicate Setting measurement parameters corresponding to various measurement types), there is one sensing session between the sensing initiator and the sensing responder, and the first response frame comprises a measurement setup identification corresponding to a to-be-set up measurement setup (Hao teaches, on Page 13, TABLE 1, that It should be noted that the Measurement Request Set parameter in table 1 includes multiple Measurement Request information elements, such as Measurement token For identifying the measurement request. Hao explains, on Page 15, b, if the sending method value is 1, which indicates that the measurement is performed using the radar-based method … if the sending method value is 2 and the measurement is performed by using the CSI-based method [i.e., the type of the target sensing session]). Hao also teaches, on Page 3, step S306, that the wireless sensing measurement is realized through the parameters carried in the measurement request.
For Claim 11, Hao discloses a sensing initiator, comprising: a processor and a memory for storing a computer program, wherein the processor is configured to call and execute the computer program stored in the memory (Hao teaches, on Page 4, last para, that processor can call the information and application program stored in the memory through the transmission device to execute the following steps: receiving a measurement request) to cause the sensing initiator to: (Hao teaches, on Page 3, step S306, that the station management entity receives the measurement request from the management entity), a setup process of a target sensing session according to a type of the to-be-set up target sensing session (Hao teaches, on Page 3, step S302, that a measurement request sent by a site management entity SME is received, wherein the measurement request carries measurement type information and measurement parameter information, the measurement type information is used for indicating that the measurement type is wireless sensing measurement, and the measurement parameter information comprises parameters used for executing the wireless sensing measurement).
For Claims 13-14, please refer to the rejection of Claims 3-4, above.
For Claim 16, Hao discloses a sensing initiator, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive a first response frame from a sensing responder, the first response frame being configured to indicate response information for a measurement setup; wherein the first response frame comprises a measurement setup identification and/or a session identification; wherein the target sensing session corresponds to one measurement setup, and the first response frame comprises a measurement setup identification corresponding to the one measurement setup or a session identification corresponding to the target sensing session (Hao teaches, on Page 3, step S304-S306, acquiring a wireless sensing result based on the measurement parameter information; and step S306, sending the wireless sensing result to the SME. Therefore, the wireless sensing measurement is realized through the parameters carried in the measurement request); or the target sensing session corresponds to a plurality of measurement setups(Hao teaches, on Page 4, that measurement parameters indicate Setting measurement parameters corresponding to various measurement types), there is one sensing session between the sensing initiator and the sensing responder, and the first response frame comprises a measurement setup identification corresponding to a to-be-set up measurement setup (Hao teaches, on Page 13, TABLE 1, that It should be noted that the Measurement Request Set parameter in table 1 includes multiple Measurement Request information elements, such as Measurement token For identifying the measurement request. Hao explains, on Page 15, b, if the sending method value is 1, which indicates that the measurement is performed using the radar-based method … if the sending method value is 2 and the measurement is performed by using the CSI-based method [i.e., the type of the target sensing session]). Hao also teaches, on Page 3, step S306, that the wireless sensing measurement is realized through the parameters carried in the measurement request.
For Claim 17, please refer to the rejection of Claim 11, above.
For Claim 18, Hao discloses a sensing responder, wherein the first request frame comprises a measurement setup identification and/or a session identification; wherein the target sensing session corresponds to one measurement setup, and the first request frame comprises a measurement setup identification corresponding to the one measurement setup or a session identification corresponding to the target sensing session (Hao teaches, on Page 13, TABLE 1, that It should be noted that the Measurement Request Set parameter in table 1 includes multiple Measurement Request information elements, such as Measurement token For identifying the measurement request); or the target sensing session corresponds to a plurality of measurement setups, there is one sensing session between the sensing initiator and the sensing responder, and the first request frame comprises a measurement setup identification corresponding to a to-be-set up measurement setup (Hao teaches, on Page 13, TABLE 1, that It should be noted that the Measurement Request Set parameter in table 1 includes multiple Measurement Request information elements, such as Measurement token For identifying the measurement request. Hao explains, on Page 15, b, if the sending method value is 1, which indicates that the measurement is performed using the radar-based method … if the sending method value is 2 and the measurement is performed by using the CSI-based method [i.e., the type of the target sensing session]).
For Claim 19, Hao discloses a sensing responder, wherein the processor is further configured to: transmit a first response frame to the sensing initiator, the first response frame being configured to indicate response information for a measurement setup (Hao teaches, on Page 3, step S304-S306, acquiring a wireless sensing result based on the measurement parameter information; and step S306, sending the wireless sensing result to the SME. Therefore, the wireless sensing measurement is realized through the parameters carried in the measurement request).
For Claim 20, Hao discloses a sensing responder, wherein the first response frame comprises a measurement setup identification and/or a session identification; wherein the target sensing session corresponds to one measurement setup, and the first response frame comprises a measurement setup identification corresponding to the one measurement setup or a session identification corresponding to the target sensing session (Hao teaches, on Page 13, TABLE 1, that It should be noted that the Measurement Request Set parameter in table 1 includes multiple Measurement Request information elements, such as Measurement token For identifying the measurement request. Hao also teaches, on Page 3, step S306, that the wireless sensing measurement is realized through the parameters carried in the measurement request); or the target sensing session corresponds to a plurality of measurement setups, there is one sensing session between the sensing initiator and the sensing responder, and the first response frame comprises a measurement setup identification corresponding to a to-be-set up measurement setup (Hao teaches, on Page 13, TABLE 1, that It should be noted that the Measurement Request Set parameter in table 1 includes multiple Measurement Request information elements, such as Measurement token For identifying the measurement request. Hao explains, on Page 15, b, if the sending method value is 1, which indicates that the measurement is performed using the radar-based method … if the sending method value is 2 and the measurement is performed by using the CSI-based method [i.e., the type of the target sensing session]). Hao also teaches, on Page 3, step S306, that the wireless sensing measurement is realized through the parameters carried in the measurement request.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5-7, 12, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Wu Hao et al (CN 202110444516 A FILED ON 23-Apr-2021) in view of Rojan Chitrakar et al (US 20230319877 A1).
For Claims 2, 12, Hao discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception that the trigger signal comprises one of when the target sensing session is of a pairwise negotiation type, allocating, by the sensing initiator, a resource for the target sensing session, and/or transmitting, by the sensing initiator, a first request frame to a sensing responder, wherein the first request frame is configured to request a measurement setup for the target sensing session; or when the target sensing session is of a non-pairwise negotiation type, allocating, by the sensing initiator, a resource for a sensing session with the non-pairwise negotiation type.
However, Chitrakar, in analogous art discloses when the target sensing session is of a pairwise negotiation type (Chitrakar teaches, in ¶ 0118, that the process for sensing session negotiation may start in step 1708 when a WLAN sensing requester, in this case STA1 1702, transmits a sensing session request frame comprising a Session ID and transmission parameters for subsequent solicited channel measurements to a first sensing receiver, in this case STA2 1704 …The STAs that accepted the session request saves the Session ID and the corresponding TX parameters. As such, the process for sensing session negotiation may complete.), allocating, by the sensing initiator, a resource for the target sensing session, and/or transmitting, by the sensing initiator, a first request frame to a sensing responder, wherein the first request frame is configured to request a measurement setup for the target sensing session; or when the target sensing session is of a non-pairwise negotiation type, allocating, by the sensing initiator, a resource for a sensing session with the non-pairwise negotiation type (Chitrakar teaches, in FIG. 11A an example Request frame 1100 for solicited channel measurements, wherein The Sounding Information field 1108 indicates transmission parameters for the Response PPDU and may comprise a Sounding PPDU Format subfield 1116, a Number of Stream subfield 1118, a Target RSSI subfield 1120, a Bandwidth subfield 1122, a Transmission Configuration Hold subfield and a Transmit Power Hold subfield 1124.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the channel sensing taught in Hao with the session negotiation taught in Chitrakar. The motivation is to determine/agree [on] a sensing parameter between the sensing initiation apparatus and responder apparatus.
For Claim 5, Hao discloses a method, wherein the first request frame comprises a measurement setup identification and/or a session identification (Hao teaches, on Page 13, TABLE 1, that It should be noted that the Measurement Request Set parameter in table 1 includes multiple Measurement Request information elements, such as Measurement token For identifying the measurement request).
For Claim 6, Hao discloses a method, wherein the target sensing session corresponds to one measurement setup, and the first request frame comprises a measurement setup identification corresponding to the one measurement setup or a session identification corresponding to the target sensing session (Hao teaches, on Page 13, TABLE 1, that It should be noted that the Measurement Request Set parameter in table 1 includes multiple Measurement Request information elements, such as Measurement token For identifying the measurement request).
For Claims 7, 15, Hao discloses a method, wherein the target sensing session corresponds to a plurality of measurement setups (Hao teaches, on Page 4, that measurement parameters indicate Setting measurement parameters corresponding to various measurement types), there is one sensing session between the sensing initiator and the sensing responder, and the first request frame comprises a measurement setup identification corresponding to a to-be-set up measurement setup (Hao teaches, on Page 13, TABLE 1, that It should be noted that the Measurement Request Set parameter in table 1 includes multiple Measurement Request information elements, such as Measurement token For identifying the measurement request. Hao explains, on Page 15, b, if the sending method value is 1, which indicates that the measurement is performed using the radar-based method … if the sending method value is 2 and the measurement is performed by using the CSI-based method [i.e., the type of the target sensing session]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. KIM (US 20230254053 A1) teaches that a technique for performing sensing in a WLAN system, and more particularly, to a procedure and a signaling method for performing sensing by a sensing initiator station (STA) and a sensing responder STA.
/MOHAMED A KAMARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412