DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 02/22/2024.
Claims 1- 20 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 02/22/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-12, 14-17 and 19- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 20200274608 A1), hereinafter “Luo”; and in further view of Zheng (US 20150169495 A1), hereinafter “Zheng”.
Regarding claim 1, Luo teaches A system comprising:
at least one processing unit [Fig. 1]; and
non-transitory computer readable media encoded with executable instructions which, when executed by the at least one processing unit, is configured to cause the system to [Fig. 1; item 107]:
receive input data for a wireless, radio frequency (RF) transmission [Luo: Fig. 9; Par. 96 teaches obtaining input data associated with RF transmission];
receive selection of a wireless protocol of a plurality of wireless protocols to be utilized in the wireless, RF transmission to a semiconductor chip [Luo: Fig. 8, Par. 93- 94 teaches of receiving and configure to select the plurality of ;
based on the selected wireless protocol, select a set of weight values from a plurality of sets of weight values [Luo: Fig. 8; Par. 87-91 teaches of calculating and selecting plurality of coefficients based on the processing mode selection]; mix the input data using the selected set of weight values and provide output data based on the input data being mixed using set of weight values, the output data representative of the wireless, RF transmission being processed according to the selected wireless protocol [Luo: Par. 87-91 teaches mixing input data with coefficient data (weight data) to generate output data representative of wireless protocol]
However, Luo does not teach RF transmission to the semiconductor chip.
Nevertheless, Zheng, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches RF transmission to the semiconductor chip [Choi: Fig. 1; Par. 24 teaches of having inter-chip and intra-chip connected to each other over non-hopping bus which can transfer information].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Zheng for using interconnect chips for transmission. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Luo in the Zheng system in order to provide highspeed transfer of information [Zheng: Par. 23].
Regarding claim 2, the combined Luo in view of Zheng teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Luo in view of Zheng further teaches select a first set of weight values from the plurality of sets of weight values as the selected set of weight values in response to the wireless protocol being a first wireless protocol [Luo: Fig. 8; Par. 90 teaches selecting of coefficients based on mode selection]; and
select a second set of weight values from the plurality of sets of weight values as the selected set of weight values in response to the wireless protocol being a second wireless protocol [Luo: Par. 88- 94].
Regarding claim 3, the combined Luo in view of Zheng teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 2. Luo in view of Zheng further teaches wherein the first wireless protocol is for intra-device communications and the second wireless protocol is for inter-device communications [Zheng: Abstract disclosed bot intra and inter chips have different protocol].
Regarding claim 5, the combined Luo in view of Zheng teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Luo in view of Zheng further teaches wherein the semiconductor chip and the at least one processing unit are both included in a single semiconductor device [Zheng: Par. 71].
Regarding claim 6, the combined Luo in view of Zheng teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 5. Luo in view of Zheng further teaches wherein the semiconductor chip and the at least one processing unit are both included in different semiconductor device [Zheng: Fig. 1 illustrates two peripheral devices with chips].
Regarding claim 7, the combined Luo in view of Zheng teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Luo in view of Zheng further teaches wherein the selected wireless protocol includes a modulation mapping that corresponds to at least one of GFDM, FBMC, UFMC, DFDM, SCMA, NOMA, MUSA, or FTN [Luo: Par. 15 teaches protocol includes GFDM].
Regarding claim 8, the combined Luo in view of Zheng teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Luo in view of Zheng further teaches multiply a portion of the input data with one of the set of weight values to generate a weight multiplication result [Luo: Par. 26 teaches of multiply portion of input data and coefficient data]; and
accumulate the weight multiplication result to be further multiplied and accumulated with other portions of the input data and additional weight values of the set of weights values to mix the input data with the set of weight values [Luo: Par. 26 further teaches accumulated with other input data and coefficient data].
Regarding claim 9, Luo teaches An apparatus comprising [Fig. 1]; and
non-transitory computer readable media encoded with executable wherein the first semiconductor chip has a configurable baseband processor that is configured to mix input data with a first set of weight values corresponding to a first wireless protocol to be utilized in a wireless [Luo: Fig. 9; Par. 96 teaches obtaining input data associated with RF transmission]; Fig. 8, Par. 93- 94 teaches of receiving and configure to select the plurality of ;
when the input data is a first type of data and to mix the input data with a second set of weight values corresponding to a second wireless protocol to be utilized in the wireless, RF transmission to the second semiconductor chip when the input data is a second type of data [Luo: Fig. 8; Par. 87-91 teaches of calculating and selecting plurality of coefficients based on the processing mode selection; Par. 87-91 teaches mixing input data with coefficient data (weight data) to generate output data representative of wireless protocol]
However, Luo does not teach a device having a first semiconductor chip and a second semiconductor chip, RF transmission to the second semiconductor chip.
Nevertheless, Zheng, in the similar filed of endeavor, a device having a first semiconductor chip and a second semiconductor chip, RF transmission to the second semiconductor chip [Choi: Fig. 1; Par. 24 teaches of having inter-chip and intra-chip connected to each other over non-hopping bus which can transfer information].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Zheng for using interconnect chips for transmission. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Luo in the Zheng system in order to provide highspeed transfer of information [Zheng: Par. 23].
Regarding claim 10, the combined Luo in view of Zheng teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 9. Luo in view of Zheng further teaches a second device having a third semiconductor chip [Zheng: Par. 35 teaches of including local chip and other chips]; wherein the configurable baseband processor of the first semiconductor chip is further configured to mix the input data with a third set of weight values corresponding to a third wireless protocol to be utilized in a wireless, RF transmission [Luo: Par. 93 teaches of mixing input data with coefficients to utilized and implement on chip] to the third semiconductor chip when the input data is a third type of data [Zheng: Par. 38 teaches of multiple chips]
Regarding claim 11, the combined Luo in view of Zheng teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 10. Luo in view of Zheng further teaches wherein the first semiconductor chip includes a processor core and the third semiconductor chip includes a memory controller [Zheng: Par. 79 teaches of multiple cores with memory circuit that can store more modules].
Regarding claim 12, the combined Luo in view of Zheng teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 19. Luo in view of Zheng further teaches wherein the first semiconductor chip includes a first processor core and the second semiconductor chip includes a second processor core [Zheng: Fig.1]
Regarding claim 14 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, Luo teaches A method comprising:
receiving, at a baseband processor of a first semiconductor chip, input data for a wireless, radio frequency (RF) transmission[Fig. 1];
receive input data for a wireless, radio frequency (RF) transmission [Luo: Fig. 9; Par. 96 teaches obtaining input data associated with RF transmission];
receiving, at the baseband processor, selection of a wireless protocol of a plurality of wireless protocols to be utilized in the wireless, RF transmission to a second semiconductor chip [Luo: Fig. 8, Par. 93- 94 teaches of receiving and configure to select the plurality of ;
based on the selected wireless protocol, selecting a set of weight values from a plurality of sets of weight values [Luo: Fig. 8; Par. 87-91 teaches of calculating and selecting plurality of coefficients based on the processing mode selection]; mix the input data using the selected set of weight values and provide output data based on the input data being mixed using set of weight values [Luo: Fig. 8; Par. 90 teaches of mixing inputa data with coefficient data], the output data representative of the wireless, RF transmission being processed according to the selected wireless protocol [Luo: Par. 87-91 teaches mixing input data with coefficient data (weight data) to generate output data representative of wireless protocol]
However, Luo does not teach RF transmission to the semiconductor chip.
Nevertheless, Zheng, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches RF transmission to the semiconductor chip [Choi: Fig. 1; Par. 24 teaches of having inter-chip and intra-chip connected to each other over non-hopping bus which can transfer information].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Zheng for using interconnect chips for transmission. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Luo in the Zheng system in order to provide highspeed transfer of information [Zheng: Par. 23].
Regarding claim 16 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 17 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 19 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 20 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Claims 4, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 20200274608 A1), hereinafter “Luo”; and in view of Zheng (US 20150169495 A1), hereinafter “Zheng”; and in further view of Boehm (20220027306), hereinafter “Boehm”.
Regarding claim 4, the combined Luo in view of Zheng teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1.
However, Luo in view of Zheng does not teaches when executed by the at least one processing unit, are further configured to cause the system to cause the wireless, RF transmission using a Terahertz frequency channel.
Nevertheless, Boehm teaches when executed by the at least one processing unit, are further configured to cause the system to cause the wireless, RF transmission using a Terahertz frequency channel [Boehm: Par. 56 teaches of using Terahertz for RF transmission].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Boehm for including ranges of frequencies. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Boehm in the Luo/Zheng system in order to provide various benefits of communication that is operable in number of frequencies [Boehm: Par. 57].
Regarding claim 13 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 18 , the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412