DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 3/16/2026 have been entered. Claims 2-5, 7-14, 16-18, and 21-25 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 7-10, 14, 16, 18, 21-23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tadayon (US Publication No. 2016/0368135) in view of Beck (US Publication No. 2010/0314843).
Tadayon teaches,
Re claim 21. An advanced system of cooperating solar module carrier robots for installation of solar panels on a solar tracker, comprising:
a first solar module carrier robot including a deck sized to fit at least one pallet of solar panels […] (Figs. 1(a), 2(a), and 4, robot with flat bed carrier);
a second solar module carrier robot including (paragraph [0074]: “the supply robot (or the same carrying robot) puts a new (or clean or refurbished or restored) panel in the place of the old/defective panel, with a […] artificial/robotic fingers, arm, lifter, […], suction cup, vacuum hose sucking/holding the object, […], or any other attachment devices or means (located on the robot, or as its tools).”):
a chassis comprising drive components designed to drive the second solar module carrier robot (Figs. 6 and 12; and paragraph [0117]: “FIG. 12 shows another system without rails (free-movement robot) that employs the moving mechanism of a conventional tank or a bulldozer. Alternatively, the robot can move on 3-4 wheels, or more, similar to the conventional car or vehicle. Alternatively, the robot can move based on hovercraft mechanism, jet, gasoline engine, electric motor, or any other system conventionally used in the prior art.”);
a robotic arm with a suction cup tool (paragraph [0074]: “the supply robot (or the same carrying robot) puts a new (or clean or refurbished or restored) panel in the place of the old/defective panel, with a […] artificial/robotic fingers, arm, lifter, […], suction cup, vacuum hose sucking/holding the object, […], or any other attachment devices or means (located on the robot, or as its tools). Then, the supply robot screws the panel to the frame (or secures the position in any other way).”):
[…]
a computer vision system designed to route the first and second solar module carrier robots to the solar tracker (Figure 37; and paragraphs [0064, 0129, and 0212]: “The movement of the robot is based on, e.g.: […] (2) direct vision/camera and pattern recognition to analyze and recognize objects, targets, panels, routes, and landmarks to perform its tasks, or (3) using markers or dots or color/paints, on the floor of the farm/ground, as a guide for a camera or detector, to follow the marker, to go from point A to point B in the farm, for different panels, for different tasks, assigned or scheduled by HQ or other processors.”).
Tadayon fails to specifically teach: (re claim 21) a first solar module carrier robot including a deck sized to fit at least one pallet of solar panels and designed to carry the at least one pallet of solar panels, the at least one pallet of solar panels including a plurality of solar panels;
a second solar module carrier robot including:
a robotic arm designed to:
pick up a first solar panel from the first solar module carrier robot;
hold the first solar panel in a position for installation;
release the first solar panel;
pick up a second solar panel from the first solar module carrier robot; and
hold the second solar panel in a position for installation.
Beck teaches, at Fig. 4 and 6; and paragraphs [0008, 0031 and 0041], a ground vehicle 101 carrying a stack of photovoltaic modules 117 for an automatic assembly machine 131 to lift and install using its gripper arm 133. This allows for plural panels to be carried to a worksite for efficient installation.
In view of Beck’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the system as taught by Tadayon, (re claim 21) a first solar module carrier robot including a deck sized to fit at least one pallet of solar panels and designed to carry the at least one pallet of solar panels, the at least one pallet of solar panels including a plurality of solar panels; a second solar module carrier robot including: a robotic arm designed to: pick up a first solar panel from the first solar module carrier robot; hold the first solar panel in a position for installation; release the first solar panel; pick up a second solar panel from the first solar module carrier robot; and hold the second solar panel in a position for installation, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Beck teaches a ground vehicle 101 carrying a stack of photovoltaic modules 117 for an automatic assembly machine 131 to lift and install using its gripper arm 133. This allows for plural panels to be carried to a worksite for efficient installation.
Tadayon further teaches:
Re claim 3. Further comprising a battery with a fuel-powered engine (paragraphs [0117 and 0188].
Re claim 4. Wherein the fuel-powered engine is provided in a form of a gas-powered engine (paragraph [0117]).
Tadayon fails to specifically teach: (re claim 7) wherein the deck is provided in the form of a slanted deck.
Beck teaches, at Fig. 4, support plate 119 holding PV modules 117 may be slanted to match the angle of the installation surface of the PV modules. This reduces the amount of manipulation necessary to orient the panels for installation.
In view of Britcher’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the system as taught by Tadayon, (re claim 7) wherein the deck is provided in the form of a slanted deck, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Beck teaches support plate 119 holding PV modules 117 may be slanted to match the angle of the installation surface of the PV modules. This reduces the amount of manipulation necessary to orient the panels for installation.
Tadayon fails to specifically teach: (re claim 8) wherein the first solar module carrier robot further comprises one or more sensors to determine when an amount of the solar panels on the deck is getting low; (re claim 9) wherein the one or more sensors are installed on the deck; and (re claim 10) wherein the one or more sensors determine when the amount of the solar panels on the deck is getting low by weight, vision, count, or a combination thereof.
Beck teaches, at Fig. 4 and paragraph [0038], a weight sensor 139 to record the remaining quantity of stored photovoltaic modules and to prepare more panels if the quantity drops below a minimum number.
In view of Beck’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the system as taught by Tadayon, (re claim 8) wherein the first solar module carrier robot further comprises one or more sensors to determine when an amount of the solar panels on the deck is getting low; (re claim 9) wherein the one or more sensors are installed on the deck; and (re claim 10) wherein the one or more sensors determine when the amount of the solar panels on the deck is getting low by weight, vision, count, or a combination thereof, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Beck teaches a weight sensor to record the remaining quantity of stored photovoltaic modules and to prepare more panels if the quantity drops below a minimum number.
Tadayon further teaches:
Re claim 14. An advanced method for installing solar panels on a solar tracker using a system of cooperating solar module carrier robots comprising:
routing the cooperating solar module carrier robots to the solar tracker using a computer vision system (Figure 37; and paragraphs [0064, 0129, and 0212]: “The movement of the robot is based on, e.g.: […] (2) direct vision/camera and pattern recognition to analyze and recognize objects, targets, panels, routes, and landmarks to perform its tasks, or (3) using markers or dots or color/paints, on the floor of the farm/ground, as a guide for a camera or detector, to follow the marker, to go from point A to point B in the farm, for different panels, for different tasks, assigned or scheduled by HQ or other processors.”), the cooperating solar module carrier robots each being configured as vehicles for traveling along a ground surface (Figs. 6 and 12; and paragraph [0117 and 0129]: “FIG. 12 shows another system without rails (free-movement robot) that employs the moving mechanism of a conventional tank or a bulldozer. Alternatively, the robot can move on 3-4 wheels, or more, similar to the conventional car or vehicle. Alternatively, the robot can move based on hovercraft mechanism, jet, gasoline engine, electric motor, or any other system conventionally used in the prior art.”; “the robot is not on a track or rail. Instead, it is on 2 or more wheels (or using wheel/chain combination, belt/wheel combination, horizontal cylindrical roller, ball-roller mechanism, or bulldozer or tank moving mechanism), moving through the solar farm for different tasks, without railing.”);
picking up a first solar panel from a deck of a first robot of the solar module carrier robots with a robotic arm coupled to a second robot of the solar module carrier robots using a suction cup tool (Figs. 1a-e and 5a-f; and paragraphs [0074 and 0105]: “the supply robot (or the same carrying robot) puts a new (or clean or refurbished or restored) panel in the place of the old/defective panel, with a […] artificial/robotic fingers, arm, lifter, […], suction cup, vacuum hose sucking/holding the object, […], or any other attachment devices or means (located on the robot, or as its tools).”); and
moving the first solar panel into a position for installation using the computer vision system, the first panel being held by the suction cup tool (paragraph [0074]: “the supply robot (or the same carrying robot) puts a new (or clean or refurbished or restored) panel in the place of the old/defective panel, with a … artificial/robotic fingers, arm, lifter, … suction cup, vacuum hose sucking/holding the object, …. Then, the supply robot screws the panel to the frame (or secures the position in any other way).”; paragraph [0129]: “direct vision/camera and pattern recognition to analyze and recognize objects, targets, panels, routes, and landmarks to perform its tasks”);
releasing the first solar panel using the suction cup tool (paragraph [0074] teaches the robot puts a new panel into the array of panels using a suction cup. The robot inherently releases the new panel so as to leave the panel in place and to allow the robot to install further panels.).
Tadayon fails to specifically teach: (re claim 14) the first robot carrying a plurality of solar panels on the deck, the first solar panel being one of the plurality of solar panels;
picking up a second solar panel from the deck of the first robot with the robotic arm using the suction cup tool, the second solar panel being one of the plurality of solar panels; and
moving the second solar panel into a position for installation using the computer vision system, the second panel being held by the suction cup tool.
Beck teaches, at Fig. 4 and 6; and paragraphs [0008, 0031 and 0041], a ground vehicle 101 carrying a stack of photovoltaic modules 117 for an automatic assembly machine 131 to lift and install using its gripper arm 133. This allows for plural panels to be carried to a worksite for efficient installation.
In view of Beck’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the method as taught by Tadayon, (re claim 14) the first robot carrying a plurality of solar panels on the deck, the first solar panel being one of the plurality of solar panels; picking up a second solar panel from the deck of the first robot with the robotic arm using the suction cup tool, the second solar panel being one of the plurality of solar panels; and moving the second solar panel into a position for installation using the computer vision system, the second panel being held by the suction cup tool, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Beck teaches a ground vehicle 101 carrying a stack of photovoltaic modules 117 for an automatic assembly machine 131 to lift and install using its gripper arm 133. This allows for plural panels to be carried to a worksite for efficient installation.
Tadayon further teaches:
Re claim 16. Wherein moving the first solar panel into the position for installation comprises:
advancing the first solar panel forward, rotating the first solar panel, or a combination thereof; and aligning the first solar panel with one or more mounting components on the solar tracker (Figs. 37-38 and paragraphs [0064, 0074, 0105, 0129, and 0212-0213]).
Tadayon fails to specifically teach: (re claim 18) further comprising: monitoring an amount of solar panels on the first robot of the solar module carrier robots using one or more sensors.
Beck teaches, at Fig. 4 and paragraph [0038], a weight sensor 139 to record the remaining quantity of stored photovoltaic modules and to prepare more panels if the quantity drops below a minimum number.
In view of Beck’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the method as taught by Tadayon, (re claim 18) further comprising: monitoring an amount of solar panels on the first robot of the solar module carrier robots using one or more sensors, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Beck teaches a weight sensor to record the remaining quantity of stored photovoltaic modules and to prepare more panels if the quantity drops below a minimum number.
Tadayon further teaches:
Re claim 22. Wherein the robotic arm of the second solar module carrier robot is further designed to:
install the first solar panel to the solar tracker; and
install the second solar panel to the solar tracker (paragraph [0074]: “the supply robot (or the same carrying robot) puts a new (or clean or refurbished or restored) panel in the place of the old/defective panel, with a […] artificial/robotic fingers, arm, lifter, […], suction cup, vacuum hose sucking/holding the object, […], or any other attachment devices or means (located on the robot, or as its tools). Then, the supply robot screws the panel to the frame (or secures the position in any other way).” The robots are intended to be reused; that is, they will install more than one panel over their lifetimes.).
Re claim 23. Wherein each position for installation of the first and second solar panels comprises a position proximate one or more mounting components of the solar tracker (Fig. 21(a): each panel is installed on a base).
Re claim 25. Wherein each position for installation of the first and second solar panels comprises a position proximate one or more mounting components of the solar tracker (Fig. 21(a): each panel is installed on a base).
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tadayon (US Publication No. 2016/0368135) as modified by Beck (US Publication No. 2010/0314843), as applied to claim 21, and further in view of Examiner’s Official Notice.
The teachings of Tadayon have been discussed above. Tadayon fails to specifically teach: (re claim 2) wherein the chassis further comprises a direct current (DC) drive motor configured to operate the robotic arm.
The examiner is taking Official Notice that DC drive motors are well known for operating robotic arms.
In view of the Examiner’s Official Notice, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the system as taught by Tadayon, (re claim 2) wherein the chassis further comprises a direct current (DC) drive motor configured to operate the robotic arm, with a reasonable expectation of success, since DC drive motors are well known for operating robotic arms.
Tadayon fails to specifically teach: (re claim 5) wherein the fuel-powered engine is provided in a form of a diesel-powered engine.
The examiner is taking Official Notice that diesel-powered engines are art recognized functional equivalents of gasoline powered engines and may be substituted for gasoline powered engines while still providing power.
In view of the Examiner’s Official Notice, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the system as taught by Tadayon, (re claim 5) wherein the fuel-powered engine is provided in a form of a diesel-powered engine, with a reasonable expectation of success, since diesel-powered engines are art recognized functional equivalents of gasoline powered engines and may be substituted for gasoline powered engines while still providing power.
Claims 11-13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tadayon (US Publication No. 2016/0368135) as modified by Beck (US Publication No. 2010/0314843) as applied to claim 21, and further in view of Jacobsen et al. (US Publication No. 2014/0246257).
The teachings of Tadayon have been discussed above. Tadayon fails to specifically teach: (re claim 11) further comprising: a mechanical hitch; and an electrical mating interface; and (re claim 12) wherein the first solar module carrier robot may be provided in the form of a vehicle designed to couple to a front end or a back end of the second solar module carrier robot using the mechanical hitch and the electrical mating interface.
Jacobsen teaches, at Fig. 1 and paragraph [0041], linking robotic transport modules with an actuated coupling assemblage so that the transport modules may be used to cooperatively traverse complex terrain while carrying their payload. Jacobsen further illustrates, at Fig. 17, a mechanical electrical data interface located in each coupling assemblage 1 and 2.
In view of Jacobsen’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the system as taught by Tadayon, (re claim 11) further comprising: a mechanical hitch; and an electrical mating interface; and (re claim 12) wherein the first solar module carrier robot may be provided in the form of a vehicle designed to couple to a front end or a back end of the second solar module carrier robot using the mechanical hitch and the electrical mating interface, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Jacobsen teaches linking robotic transport modules with an actuated coupling assemblage so that the transport modules may be used to cooperatively traverse complex terrain while carrying their payload.
Tadayon fails to specifically teach: (re claim 13) wherein the chassis further comprises one or more cooling lines into and out of a housing of the chassis.
Jacobsen teaches, at paragraph [0042], using a heat exchanger to cool electronic components by pulling heat from the internal electronic components to the environment surrounding the robot. This prevents such electronic components from overheating.
In view of Jacobsen’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the system as taught by Tadayon, (re claim 13) wherein the chassis further comprises one or more cooling lines into and out of a housing of the chassis, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Jacobsen teaches using a heat exchanger to cool electronic components by pulling heat from the internal electronic components to the environment surrounding the robot. This prevents such electronic components from overheating.
Tadayon fails to specifically teach: (re claim 17) wherein the first robot is provided in the form of a vehicle designed to couple to a front end or a back end of the second robot using a mechanical hitch, an electrical mating interface, or a combination thereof.
Jacobsen teaches, at Fig. 1 and paragraph [0041], linking robotic transport modules with an actuated coupling assemblage so that the transport modules may be used to cooperatively traverse complex terrain while carrying their payload. Jacobsen further illustrates, at Fig. 17, a mechanical electrical data interface located in each coupling assemblage 1 and 2.
In view of Jacobsen’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the method as taught by Tadayon, (re claim 17) wherein the first robot is provided in the form of a vehicle designed to couple to a front end or a back end of the second robot using a mechanical hitch, an electrical mating interface, or a combination thereof, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Jacobsen teaches linking robotic transport modules with an actuated coupling assemblage so that the transport modules may be used to cooperatively traverse complex terrain while carrying their payload.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 24 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7, filed 3/16/2026, with respect to the double patenting rejection of claims 14-18, the 35 USC § 102 rejection of claims 1-18 in view of Zhou (2021/0205997), and the priority claim have been fully considered and are persuasive. The double patenting rejection of claims 14-18 and the 35 USC § 102 rejection of claims 1-18 in view of Zhou (2021/0205997) have been withdrawn, and the priority benefit has been accepted.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, filed 3/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 21 under 35 USC § 102 in view of Tadayon have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made further in view of Beck (US Publication No. 2010/0314843) as discussed above.
Applicant remarks, on pages 8-9:
Additionally, Tadayon does not disclose a second solar module carrier robot including a robotic arm with a suction cup tool designed to: "pick up a first solar panel from the first solar module carrier robot; hold the first solar panel in a position for installation; release the first solar panel; pick up a second solar panel from the first solar module carrier robot; and hold the second solar panel in a position for installation" as claimed in independent claim 21. While Tadayon discloses a lifter robot and a flat bed carrier robot (or a combination thereof), these robots are designed to lift and carry away a single solar panel for removal, as in FIGS. 1(a)-1(e), or carry and lift a single solar panel for placement, as in FIGS. 5e-5f. Such a configuration is incapable of performing the steps of picking up a first solar panel, holding the first solar panel, releasing the first solar panel, and then picking up a second solar panel from the first solar module carrier robot and holding the second solar panel in a position for installation, as claimed in independent claim 21.
It is noted that the claim language does not require the second solar panel to be placed immediately after the first solar panel is placed. The robots in the system of Tadayon are intended to be reused; that is, they will install more than one panel over their lifetimes.
Applicant remarks, on page 9:
Moreover, while the Office Action alleges that Tadayon discloses a suction cup tool, citing paragraph [0074], Applicant asserts that even if Tadayon lists a "...suction cup, vacuum hose sucking/holding the object..." in an extended list of things that can put a new solar panel in the place of an old/defective solar panel, such a list is not enabling. As stated in MPEP 2121, "The disclosure in an assertedly anticipating reference must provide an enabling disclosure of the desired subject matter; mere naming or description of the subject matter is insufficient, if it cannot be produced without undue experimentation. Elan Pharm., Inc. v. Mayo Found. For Med. Educ. & Research, 346 F.3d 1051" (emphasis added). In particular, listing "a suction cup" without anything more, especially with the suction cup being listed as an alternative to a "vacuum hose sucking/holding the object" and as an alternative to an "arm, lifter, crane" cannot anticipate claim 21 as it is merely listing subject matter that cannot be produced without undue experimentation.
It would not take undue experimentation for one of ordinary skill in the art to determine how to lift a solar panel using a suction cup tool on a robotic arm as this is well known in the art as demonstrated by Di Stefano et al. (US 2020/0350850), which teaches at Fig. 7, suction cups V may be mounted on a robot 24 for picking up solar panels 25 as demonstrated in Fig. 6.
Applicant remarks, on pages 11-12:
The Office Action alleges that Tadayon discloses most of the limitations of independent claim 14 including that Tadayon discloses routing the cooperating solar module carrier robots and picking up a solar panel from deck of a first robot of the solar module carrier robots with a robotic arm coupled to a second robot of the solar module carrier robots using a suction cup tool. Applicant respectfully disagrees and further asserts that Tadayon at least does not disclose "moving the first solar panel into a position for installation using the computer vision system, the first panel being held by the suction cup tool; releasing the first solar panel using the suction cup tool; picking up a second solar panel from the deck of the first robot with the robotic arm using the suction cup tool, the second solar panel being one of the plurality of solar panels; and moving the second solar panel into a position for installation using the computer vision system, the second panel being held by the suction cup tool" as claimed in amended independent claim 14.
For instance, as discussed above with respect to independent claim 21, Tadayon only discloses robots configured to lift and carry away a single solar panel for removal, or carry and lift a single solar panel for placement. These robots are incapable of performing the claimed steps of independent claim 14. Further, Tadayon is silent with respect to moving of a solar panel picked up by a robotic arm into a position for installation uses a computer vision system. The Office Action alleges Tadayon discloses a computer vision system, citing Figure 37 and paragraphs [0064], [0129], and [0212]. However, even if these portions of Tadayon disclose a computer vision system, which Applicant does not concede is proper, these portions of Tadayon do not disclose that such an alleged computer vision system is used in moving, via a robotic arm, a solar panel into a position for installation as claimed.
Tadayon teaches, at paragraph [0129], the robots of Tadayon use vision analysis methods to analyze and recognize objects, targets, panels, routes, and landmarks to perform their tasks. Tadayon senses its environment through vision sensors to perform its tasks, which include putting new panels in place using robotic arms as disclosed at paragraph [0074].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SPENCER D PATTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656