DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 16-19, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frenne et al (US 2023/0042806, “Frenne”).
Re claims 1, 17, 29 and 30, Frenne discloses grouping a set of resource blocks (RBs) of a slot into multiple physical resource block groups (PRGs) having multiple PRG sizes (figure 8; paragraph [0079]); and communicating with a network entity/a user equipment based on multiple precoding matrices respectively associated with the multiple PRGs having the multiple PRG sizes (figure 8; paragraph [0125]).
Re claims 2, 4 and 19, Frenne discloses receiving/transmitting a network indication of the multiple PRG sizes for the slot via downlink channel information (DCI) (figure 15, step 1503).
Re claims 3 and 18, Frenne discloses determine, based on characteristics associated with the set of RBs, the multiple PRG sizes for the slot (figure 8; paragraph [0087]).
Re claim 16, Frenne discloses transmitting or receiving communication that is precoded based on the multiple PRGs that have different PRG sizes over a frequency domain of the communication (figure 8; paragraph [0091]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 15 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frenne in view of Rico Alvarino et al (US 2020/0145974, “Rico”).
Re claims 14, 15 and 27, Frenne discloses all of the limitations of the base claim, but fails to disclose transmitting/receiving a capability indication for a capability to support the multiple PRG sizes. However, Rico discloses transmitting/receiving a capability indication for a capability to support PRG size (paragraph 0049]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Frenne with Rico for the benefit of utilizing appropriate decoder and/or channel estimator for wireless communications.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frenne in view of Kim (US 2019/0253220).
Re claim 20, Frenne discloses all of the limitations of the base claim, but fails to disclose the network indication is comprised in a cyclic redundancy check (CRC). However, Kim discloses DCI having a CRC (paragraph [0085]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Frenne with Kim for the benefit of providing a size of PRG by utilizing CRC in DCI.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frenne in view of Rico and further in view of Kim.
Re claim 28, Frenne discloses all of the limitations of the base claim, but fails to disclose transmitting one or more of: a minimum resolution for RB units in the set of RBs, a number of binary bits for transmitting each PRG size of the multiple PRG sizes, a length of cyclic redundancy check (CRC) corresponding to the multiple PRG sizes, or a code indication of an encoding code used for encoding a stream of bits representing the multiple PRG sizes. However, Kim discloses transmitting a number of binary bits for transmitting each PRG size of the multiple PRG sizes (paragraph [0088]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Frenne with Kim for the benefit of providing a size of PRG by utilizing PRB bundling size indicator.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-13 and 21-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HONG S CHO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467