DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This communication is in response to the application filed on 02/22/2024.
Claims 14-33 are pending in this application, with claims 14 and 24 being independent.
Attorney Information Request
For efficient and faster prosecution of the current application, please provide direct phone number and email address of an attorney filing a response to this office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 20, line 1, “the instructions further cause” should read “the instructions when execute by the processor further cause”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-17 and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfarhan et al. (US 2024/0373422 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Alfarhan”) in view of SHUMAN et al. (US 2023/0319527 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Shuman”) and further in view of Tsai et al. (US 2022/0095382 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Tsai”).
Regarding claims 14 and 24, Alfarhan discloses an apparatus and a method for the apparatus, the apparatus comprising: at least one processor (Alfarhan Fig.1B A processor); and at least one memory (Alfarhan Fig.1B A memory) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: receive, from a network entity (Alfarhan Fig.1D A gNB), a conditional activation configuration (Alfarhan Fig.9,10 Para[0182-186] A RRC signal with resources configuration information, see [0365,0372]) that: identifies a predefined candidate set of time-frequency resources in a New Radio (NR) Uu spectrum (Alfarhan Fig.9,10 Para[0182-186] The WTRU (i.e. apparatus) determines reporting resource, PUCCH resource, see [0095]); and specifies a spectral occupancy threshold (SOT) (Alfarhan Fig.9,10 Para[0182-186] A threshold) and an activation rule requiring satisfaction of the spectral occupancy threshold (Alfarhan Fig.9,10 Para[0182-186] A reporting trigger when measured RSRP and RSSI meet a condition); perform, without requesting real-time scheduling approval from the network entity, a spectral occupancy measurement on each resource in the predefined candidate set (Alfarhan Fig.9,10 Para[0182-186] The WTRU performs measurement on CSI-RS), the spectral occupancy measurement comprising: a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) (Alfarhan Fig.9,10 Para[0086,0182-186] The WTRU measures RSSI); and a cross-link interference reference signal received power (CLI-RSRP) (Alfarhan Fig.9,10 Para[0086,0182-186] The WTRU measures RSSP); determine, based on the spectral occupancy measurement, that a single candidate resource in the predefined candidate set satisfies the spectral occupancy threshold (Alfarhan Fig.9,10 Para[0086,0182-186] The WTRU selects UL reporting resources based on measurements of RSRP and SINR (i.e. RSSI) are less than the configured threshold).
Alfarhan does not explicitly disclose in response to the determining, and without further signaling from the network entity, transmit an activation signal to an ambient Internet-of-Things device on the single candidate resource in accordance with the activation rule.
However, Shuman from the same field of invention discloses in response to the determining (Shuman Para[0096] A candidate resource to send a BSM (i.e. signal) is determined based on RSRP and RSSI), and without further signaling from the network entity, transmit an activation signal to an ambient Internet-of-Things device on the single candidate resource in accordance with the activation rule (Shuman Para[0096] The BSM is sent to the third wireless device (i.e. ambient IOT), see [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Alfarhan to have the feature of “in response to the determining, and without further signaling from the network entity, transmit an activation signal to an ambient Internet-of-Things device on the single candidate resource in accordance with the activation rule” as taught by Shuman. The motivation would have been to improve device to device communication (Shuman Para[0003]).
Alfarhan in view of Shuman does not explicitly disclose after transmitting the activation signal, report to the network entity a resource index uniquely identifying the single candidate resource on which the activation signal was transmitted.
However, Tsai from the same field of invention discloses after transmitting the activation signal, report to the network entity a resource index uniquely identifying the single candidate resource on which the activation signal was transmitted (Tsai Fig.10A Para[0130] The selected beam pair with ID is reported to the TRP/gNB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Alfarhan and Shuman to have the feature of “after transmitting the activation signal, report to the network entity a resource index uniquely identifying the single candidate resource on which the activation signal was transmitted” as taught by Tsai. The motivation would have been to enhance in high frequency NR system (Tsai Para[0004]).
Regarding claims 15 and 25, Alfarhan in view of Shuman and Tsai discloses the apparatus and the method as explained above for Claim 1. Alfarhan further discloses wherein the conditional activation configuration specifies the predefined candidate set of time-frequency resources as a bounded set defined by a time duration, carrier frequency, and bandwidth (Alfarhan Para[0084,0087] The CSI-RS reporting resources are in a time-frequency domain and cover the full bandwidth).
Regarding claims 16 and 26, Alfarhan in view of Shuman and Tsai discloses the apparatus and the method as explained above for Claim 1. Alfarhan further discloses wherein performing the spectral occupancy measurement comprises measuring received signal strength indicator (RSSI) values for each resource in the predefined candidate set without synchronizing to the network entity on those resources (Alfarhan Para[0093] The WTRU measures channel condition i.e. RSSI).
Regarding claims 17 and 27, Alfarhan in view of Shuman and Tsai discloses the apparatus and the method as explained above for Claim 1. Alfarhan further discloses wherein determining that the single candidate resource satisfies the spectral occupancy threshold comprises determining that the measured RSSI for the single candidate resource is less than the spectral occupancy threshold (Alfarhan Fig.9,10 Para[0086,0182-186] The measured channel condition i.e. SINR, RSSI is less than the configured threshold).
Claims 18-20 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfarhan in view of Shuman, Tsai and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2024/0179726 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Wang”).
Regarding claims 18 and 28, Alfarhan in view of Shuman and Tsai discloses the apparatus and the method as explained above for Claim 1. Alfarhan in view of Shuman and Tsai does not explicitly disclose wherein performing the spectral occupancy measurement further comprises measuring cross-link interference reference signal received power (CLI-RSRP) associated with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) on at least one resource in the predefined candidate set.
However, Wang from the same field of invention discloses wherein performing the spectral occupancy measurement further comprises measuring cross-link interference reference signal received power (CLI-RSRP) associated with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) on at least one resource in the predefined candidate set (Wang Para[0094] The RSRP measurement using knowledge of power levels of DMRS for a sidelink resource selection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Alfarhan, Shuman and Tsai to have the feature of “wherein performing the spectral occupancy measurement further comprises measuring cross-link interference reference signal received power (CLI-RSRP) associated with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) on at least one resource in the predefined candidate set” as taught by Wang. The motivation would have been to enhance latency and reliability (Wang Para[0005]).
Regarding claims 19 and 29, Alfarhan in view of Shuman, Tsai and Wang discloses the apparatus and the method as explained above for Claim 1. Shuman further disclose wherein the determining that the single candidate resource satisfies the spectral occupancy threshold comprises determining that both the RSSI and the CLI-RSRP measured for the single candidate resource are less than the spectral occupancy threshold (Shuman Para[0096] The RSRP and RSSI are less than a threshold for a candidate resource).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Alfarhan, Tsai and Wang to have the feature of “wherein the determining that the single candidate resource satisfies the spectral occupancy threshold comprises determining that both the RSSI and the CLI-RSRP measured for the single candidate resource are less than the spectral occupancy threshold” as taught by Shuman. The motivation would have been to improve device to device communication (Shuman Para[0003]).
Regarding claims 20 and 30, Alfarhan in view of Shuman, Tsai and Wang discloses the apparatus and the method as explained above for Claim 1. Tsai further disclose wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to select a transmit power level for transmitting the activation signal based on the measured spectral occupancy of the single candidate resource (Tsai Fig.10A Para[] The UL transmit power is adjusted after RSRP and RSSI measurements).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Alfarhan, Shuman and Wang to have the feature of “wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to select a transmit power level for transmitting the activation signal based on the measured spectral occupancy of the single candidate resource” as taught by Tsai. The motivation would have been to enhance in high frequency NR system (Tsai Para[0004]).
Claims 21 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfarhan in view of Shuman, Tsai, Wang and further in view of MACKENZIE et al. (US 2017 /0150460 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Mackenzie”).
Regarding claims 21 and 31, Alfarhan in view of Shuman, Tsai and Wang discloses the apparatus and the method as explained above for Claim 1. Alfarhan in view of Shuman, Tsai and Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein transmitting the activation signal comprises transmitting the activation signal during a synchronized uplink time slot of a time division duplex (TDD) frame.
However, Mackenzie from the same field of invention discloses wherein transmitting the activation signal comprises transmitting the activation signal during a synchronized uplink time slot of a time division duplex (TDD) frame (Mackenzie Para[0065-68] The transmission within TDD frame are synchronized).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Alfarhan, Shuman, Tsai and Wang to have the feature of “wherein transmitting the activation signal comprises transmitting the activation signal during a synchronized uplink time slot of a time division duplex (TDD) frame” as taught by Mackenzie. The motivation would have been to reduce interference (Mackenzie Para[0004]).
Claims 22 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfarhan in view of Shuman, Tsai, Wang, Mackenzie and further in view of IBRAHIM et al. (US 2024/0298198 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Ibrahim”).
Regarding claims 22 and 32, Alfarhan in view of Shuman, Tsai, Wang and Mackenzie discloses the apparatus and the method as explained above for Claim 1. Alfarhan in view of Shuman, Tsai, Wang and Mackenzie does not explicitly disclose wherein the activation rule further specifies that the activation signal is deferred by a time offset when no resource in the predefined candidate set satisfies the spectral occupancy threshold.
However, Ibrahim from the same field of invention discloses wherein the activation rule further specifies that the activation signal is deferred by a time offset when no resource in the predefined candidate set satisfies the spectral occupancy threshold (Ibrahim Para[0147,0166] The UE refrains from sending report when measurements are not satisfying a threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Alfarhan, Shuman, Tsai, Wang and Mackenzie to have the feature of “wherein the activation rule further specifies that the activation signal is deferred by a time offset when no resource in the predefined candidate set satisfies the spectral occupancy threshold” as taught by Ibrahim. The motivation would have been to enhance in high frequency NR system (Ibrahim Para[0004]).
Claims 23 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfarhan in view of Shuman, Tsai, Wang, Mackenzie, Ibrahim and further in view of Tang et al. (US 2020/0267523 Al, hereinafter referred to as “Tang”).
Regarding claims 23 and 33, Alfarhan in view of Shuman, Tsai, Wang, Mackenzie and Ibrahim discloses the apparatus and the method as explained above for Claim 1. Alfarhan in view of Shuman, Tsai, Wang, Mackenzie and Ibrahim does not explicitly disclose wherein reporting the resource index to the network entity comprises reporting an index that uniquely identifies the single candidate resource within the predefined candidate set and associates the resource index with the ambient Internet-of-Things device.
However, Tang from the same field of invention discloses wherein reporting the resource index to the network entity comprises reporting an index that uniquely identifies the single candidate resource within the predefined candidate set and associates the resource index with the ambient Internet-of-Things device (Tang Fig.3 Para[0048] The terminal reports available resource usable for D2D communication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Alfarhan, Shuman, Tsai, Wang, Mackenzie and Ibrahim to have the feature of “wherein reporting the resource index to the network entity comprises reporting an index that uniquely identifies the single candidate resource within the predefined candidate set and associates the resource index with the ambient Internet-of-Things device” as taught by Tang. The motivation would have been to enhance in high frequency NR system (Tang Para[0004]).
Although specific columns, figures, reference numerals, lines of the reference(s), etc. have been referred to, Applicant should consider the entire applied prior art reference(s).
Additional References
The following prior arts are made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
1. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0256591 to Wang (Fig.7 and associated paragraphs)
Conclusion
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/defau1Vfiles/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/Sudesh M. Patidar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415