DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 and 27-30 in the reply filed on 6/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 31-33 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/30/2026.
Applicant’s response to species election of a peptide consisting of SEQ ID NO: 28 is shown as follows.
The selected species reads on claims 1, 4-6. 11, 27-28, and 30; thus, claims 2-3, 7-10 and 29 are further withdrawn as directed to non-elected species.
Claim Status
Claims 1-11 and 27-33 are pending.
Claims 12-26 are cancelled.
Claims 2-3, 7-10, 29, and 31-33 are withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected invention, the election having been made on 6/30/2026.
Claims 1, 4 -6, 11, 27-28, and 30 have been examined.
Priority
This application is a DIV of 17/686,748 03/04/2022 ABN
17/686,748 is a DIV of 16/329,062 02/27/2019 ABN
16/329,062 is a 371 of PCT/JP2017/032079 09/06/2017
PCT/JP2017/032079 has PRO 62/384,333 09/07/2016
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/17/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 11, 27-28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 11 contain a peptide formula of LSSTQAQQSX1 (SEQ ID NO:34) without definition of X1, rendering the claims indefinite. Claims 2-6, 27-28, and 30 are further rejected as depending on claim
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peled et al. (US 2013/0130996 A1).
Claim 1 is drawn to a peptide comprising at least 5 consecutive amino acids from LSSTQAQQSXl (SEQ ID NO:34) and 8-12 amino acid in length.
Peled et al. show a chemokine modulator peptide of SEQ ID NO: 110 comprising the underlined SSTQA with 12 amino acids in length (claims 1) as shown follows, reading on claim 1.
With respect to claim 11, Peled et al. teach the peptide further conjugated to an immunogenic agent [0111].
With respect to claim 27, Peled et al. teach the peptide is formulated with conventional pharmaceutical carriers [0101].
Claims 1, 11, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by anticipated by Faure et al. (US 2005/0267020 A1, cited in IDS).
Claim 1 is drawn to a peptide comprising at least 5 consecutive amino acids from LSSTQAQQSXl (SEQ ID NO:34) and 8-12 amino acid in length.
Faure et al. show a peptide sequence of TLSSSTQASL (SEQ ID NO: 14 in claim 11) consisting of 10 amino acid residues and comprising 5 consecutive amino acid of underlined SSTQA in claim 11), reading on the limitation of claim 34.
With respect to claim 11, Faure et al. teach the peptide linked to a carrier of a compound or a polypeptide [0046, claim 17].
With respect to claim 27, Faure et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising the peptide and a pharmaceutical acceptable carrier of a natural or synthetic microparticle [0046].
Claims 1, 4-6, 11, 27-28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2010-222300A (referred as JP-2010, English Translation attached).
Claim 1 is drawn to a peptide comprising at least 5 consecutive amino acids from LSSTQAQQSXl (SEQ ID NO:34) and 8-12 amino acid in length.
JP-2010 shows a functional peptide sequence consisting of SSTQAQQS with 8 amino acid residues in length with 100% homology to the elected peptide species of SEQ ID NO: 28 as shown follows (Fig 23), reading on the limitations of claims 1 and 4-6.
With respect to claim 11, JP-2010 teaches the functional peptide of SSTQAQQS conjugated to carboxyacylchitosan (p61, DESCRIPTION OF EMBODIMENTS, para 2) or conjugated/immobilized to a chip (p64, 2nd last para).
With respect to claim 27, JP-2010 teaches a composition comprising the functional peptide and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient of food or drink or food additive (p74, para 2).
With respect to claims 28 and 30, JP-2010 teaches a polypeptide-containing food composition comprising the functional peptide, e.g., SSTQAQQS, (p54, last 4 lines; p61, DESCRIPTION OF EMBODIMENTS, para 2). JP-2010 further teaches the peptide in a food additive (p74, para 2).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-6, and 27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of copending Application No. 18/720, 588 (the ‘588 application, 6/9/2025). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘588 application disclosed various peptide sequences obvious to the instant claim 1.
Claims 1 and 3 of the ‘588 application disclosed a peptide comprising at least 5 consecutive amino acids from the peptide of LSSTQAQQS[YWF] in length of 5 to 15 amino acids or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, satisfying the instant claims 1, 4-6, and 27.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4-6, and 27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of copending Application No. PCT/US22/81558 (the ‘558 application, 12/14/20252). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘558 application disclosed various peptide sequences obvious to the instant claim 1.
Claims 1 and 3 of the ‘588 application disclosed a peptide comprising at least 5 consecutive amino acids from the peptide of LSSTQAQQS[YWF] in length of 5 to 15 amino acids or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, satisfying the instant claims 1, 4-6, and 27.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/J.L/Examiner, Art Unit 1658
03-September-2026
/Melissa L Fisher/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1658