Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song et al. (KR 10-1905068 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Rathbun teaches a front fork (Fig 1-2) for a bicycle, the front fork comprising:
a leg (Fig 1-3) including a first tube (210) and a second tube (110), the first tube having a first end and a second end opposite the first end (Fig 1-3), the second tube having a third end and a fourth end opposite the third end (Fig 1-3), the first and second tubes configured in a telescopic arrangement (Fig 1-3), the first and second tubes moveable between a fully extended position and a fully compressed position;
a spring and/or damper (300) disposed in the leg (Fig 6); and
a bumper (710) disposed in the second tube near the fourth end (Fig 3), the bumper to be contacted during a bottoming-out event before the first and second tubes reach the fully compressed positioned, wherein a position of the bumper is adjustable, independent of the spring and/or damper (710 adjusts independent of 300 at least when 400 is fixed by 520/230 as seen in figs.3 and 4a), in the second tube (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 2, Song teaches that the second end of the first tube is disposed within the second tube (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 3, Song teaches that the second tube includes a wheel attachment portion extending from the fourth end, the wheel attachment portion to be coupled to a hub on a wheel of the bicycle (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 4, Song teaches a bumper carrier (730) in the second tube, the bumper coupled to the bumper carrier, wherein the bumper carrier is axially moveable to adjust the position of the bumper in the second tube (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 5, Song teaches that an upper portion of the bumper carrier radially constrains the bumper (Fig 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 16 and 18-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 6 recites that the bumper carrier is threadably coupled with the body, such that rotation of the bumper carrier causes the bumper carrier and the bumper to move axially in the second tube.
Claim 7 recites that the seal head is configured to contact the bumper during the bottoming-out event such that the bumper is compressed between the seal head and the bumper carrier.
Claim 9 recites an adjuster pin extending through an opening in the fourth end of the second tube, the adjuster pin accessible by a user, wherein rotation of the adjuster pin causes rotation of the bumper carrier.
Claim 15 recites that the bottom-out pad to be engaged by the first tube when the first and second tubes are in the fully compressed position.
Claim 16 recites a bumper carrier disposed in the lower tube, the bumper coupled to the bumper carrier combined with an adjuster pin to cause axial movement of the bumper in the lower tube. Additionally, it is not reasonable to call element 120 a carrier because it does not carry the bumper 710. It is the other way around.
Since the prior art (e.g. Song) teaches fork that lack said features, the prior art does not anticipate the claimed subject matter.
For illustration purposes, Fig 5A-5B of the examined disclosure shows the bumper, which is different than the bumper taught by the prior art of record (Fig. 3 of Song and Fig. 1 of Rathbun, etc.)
Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to a skilled artisan to have modified the prior art in order to arrive at the claimed invention without resorting to impermissible hindsight.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (Section II, pp.7-8, 9/14/2026 Remarks) that the Song bumper is not adjustable “independent of the spring and/or damper” as newly amended into claim 1. This is not persuasive. The Song bumper (710) is adjustable (e.g., upward via 730) in a manner that is independent of the damper (300) at least when element (400) is captured by elements (520, 230) as shown in figs.3 and 4a, such that biasing of spring (120) by bumper (710) is NOT transferred to spring (220) nor to damper (300).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOSAM SHABARA/Examiner, Art Unit 3618
/VICTOR L MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618