DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 identifies that the memory is two separate memories, one on a terminal and another on a printer. However, claim 1 identifies that the processor controls all operations of the system, which includes both memories. It is not reasonable, nor consistent with the disclosure, to assume that the processor would control all operations on two separate devices wherein it is not clear as to what device the processor is a part of. A user terminal is considered a separate apparatus from the printing apparatus. When considered as separate apparatuses, with separate memory for performing different functions, then a separate processor for each apparatus is typically used. Therefore, clarification is needed as to the construction of the system and as to which apparatus is performing which function. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nogawa (US 2023/0136409) in view of Fujita (US 2021/0294552).
Regarding Claim 1, Nogawa teaches an information processing system (Paragraph 47) comprising at least one processor,
wherein when adjustment processing of adjusting image quality of printing by repeating printing and setting of an adjustment value a plurality of times (Paragraph 50, wherein the print quality can be adjusted in different fashions, including real-time) is interrupted during an execution of the adjustment processing, the processor causes a memory to store an interruption adjustment value that is an adjustment value at the time of interruption (Paragraphs 50, 106, and 108, wherein the log data includes information pertaining to adjustment values, which are stored. This can be a result of an interruption).
Nogawa does not teach performs the adjustment processing using the interruption adjustment value stored in the memory after a cause of the interruption is eliminated.
Fujita does teach performs the adjustment processing using the interruption adjustment value stored in the memory after a cause of the interruption is eliminated (Paragraph 284, wherein if there is an error, the quality adjustments that are stored can be referenced when resumption from the error is performed.).
Nogawa and Fujita are combinable because they both deal with image quality adjustments for printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Nogawa with the teachings of Fujita for the purpose of better controlling the quality adjustments for printing (Fujita: Paragraph 13).
Regarding Claim 2, Fujita further teaches wherein
the memory includes a first memory included in a printing apparatus that executes the adjustment processing and a second memory included in a user terminal that can instruct the printing apparatus to execute the adjustment processing, and the processor causes the first memory included in the printing apparatus that executes the adjustment processing to store the interruption adjustment value in association with identification information for identifying the adjustment processing that has been interrupted, and causes the second memory included in the user terminal that can instruct the printing apparatus to execute the adjustment processing to store adjustment processing information including the identification information for identifying the adjustment processing that has been interrupted and interruption information indicating that the adjustment processing has been interrupted (Paragraph 162, wherein the quality instruction is generated from the server, terminal, based on information stored in the production system, printing apparatus, paragraph 257).
Nogawa and Fujita are combinable because they both deal with image quality adjustments for printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Nogawa with the teachings of Fujita for the purpose of better controlling the quality adjustments for printing (Fujita: Paragraph 13).
Regarding Claim 3, Fujita further teaches wherein
when the adjustment processing has been completed, the processor causes the first memory to store a completion adjustment value that is an adjustment value after completion, and causes the second memory to store adjustment processing information including identification information for identifying the adjustment processing that has been completed and completion information indicating that the adjustment processing has been completed (Paragraph 300, wherein completion are stored).
Nogawa and Fujita are combinable because they both deal with image quality adjustments for printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Nogawa with the teachings of Fujita for the purpose of better controlling the quality adjustments for printing (Fujita: Paragraph 13).
Regarding Claim 4, Fujita further teaches wherein
when the adjustment processing information including the interruption information is selected in the user terminal, the processor accepts a selection as to whether to readjust the image quality by performing the adjustment processing using the interruption adjustment value or to adjust the image quality by executing the adjustment processing from the beginning (Paragraph 172, wherein the user can select the adjustment).
Nogawa and Fujita are combinable because they both deal with image quality adjustments for printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Nogawa with the teachings of Fujita for the purpose of better controlling the quality adjustments for printing (Fujita: Paragraph 13).
Regarding Claim 5, Nogawa further teaches wherein
when a related member related to the adjustment processing is replaced in the printing apparatus, the processor causes the second memory to store a replacement date and time of the related member according to replacement information of the related member (Paragraph 189, wherein replacement information is stored).
Regarding Claim 6, Nogawa further teaches wherein
when the adjustment date and time of the adjustment processing information is earlier than the replacement date and time, the processor does not execute the adjustment processing using the interruption adjustment value corresponding to the adjustment processing information (Paragraph 200, wherein the replacement is done when appropriate).
Regarding Claim 7, Nogawa further teaches wherein
when the adjustment date and time of the adjustment processing information is earlier than the replacement date and time, the processor displays, on a display unit of the user terminal, information indicating that the adjustment processing using the interruption adjustment value is not accepted and an execution of the adjustment processing from the beginning is prompted (Paragraph 225, wherein priorities are displayed based on what is needed).
Regarding Claim 9, Nogawa further teaches wherein
the processor displays, on a display unit of the user terminal, the adjustment processing information including the interruption information in a selectable manner (Paragraph 225, wherein priorities are displayed based on what is needed).
Regarding Claim 10, Nogawa further teaches wherein
when displaying a list display screen of the adjustment processing information on the display unit of the user terminal, the processor adds a warning symbol to the adjustment processing information including the interruption information and displays the adjustment processing information (Paragraph 225 and 226, wherein priorities and differences can be emphasized, which is similar to a warning).
Regarding Claim 11, Nogawa further teaches wherein
when the adjustment processing information is assigned to a medium, the processor displays, based on a content of the adjustment processing information stored in the second memory, only the adjustment processing information for which the adjustment processing has been completed on a display unit of the user terminal (Paragraphs 217 and 218, wherein information about the paper adjustments that have been made is displayed).
Regarding Claim 12, the limitations are similar to those treated in and are met by the references as discussed in claim 1 above.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nogawa (US 2023/0136409) in view of Fujita (US 2021/0294552) further in view of official notice.
Regarding Claim 8, Nogawa in view of Fujita does not teach wherein
the processor deletes, according to replacement information of the related member, the adjustment processing information corresponding to the related member before replacement from the memory.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to remove information that is no longer needed when making adjustments. If a part has been replaced, the previous adjustments are not valid as they correspond to the old part. Therefore, storing that information is unnecessary and can cause an incorrect adjustment. Therefore, that old data should be deleted.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the teachings of Nogawa with the teachings of Fujita with removing old data for the purpose of ensuring that the proper adjustment data is stored and unnecessary and old data is removed to prevent incorrect adjustments.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS PACHOL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699