DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the amendment and arguments filed on June 10, 2026.
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claims 1-19 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed June 10, 2026, with respect to the rejection of Claim 4 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of Claim 4 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (See Office Action).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshafie et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0284328, hereinafter Elshafie, in view of Maleki et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0394616, hereinafter Maleki.
Regarding Claim 1, Elshafie discloses a communication apparatus comprising: a low power wakeup receiver (LP-WUR); and a processor, configured to receive signals from a network apparatus via the LP-WUR, and perform operations (Abstract; Figure 1-3, 5 and 13) comprising:
receiving at least one synchronization signal sent by the network apparatus, wherein the at least one synchronization signal comprises at least one of a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and each of the PSS and the SSS is distinct from a low power synchronization signal (LP-SS) (Low power radio transceiver of Figure 5; Paragraph [0109-0116] LP WUS configuration is transmitted to the apparatus from a network apparatus; The sequence design of SSS/PSS (secondary synchronization signal/primary synchronization signal), e.g., based on a Gold sequence, may be leveraged for the LP-WUS configuration);
and using the at least one synchronization signal to detect timing of a low power wakeup signal (LP-WUS) (Paragraph [0104-0116] Transmission of low power wake up signal to the communication apparatus; The LP radio 524 may monitor for wake-up signals (WUS) more often than the main radio 522 would, e.g., due to using less power to do so, and thus an average latency of the UE 500 may be reduced).
Prior art reference Elshafie readily discloses transmission and reception of synchronization signals and a low power wake up receiver and briefly discloses synchronization but may not explicitly disclose sending a low power wakeup signal (LP-WUS) to the communication apparatus according to a timing offset between the at least one synchronization signal and the LP-WUS.
However, Maleki more specifically teaches sending a low power wakeup signal (LP-WUS) to the communication apparatus according to a timing offset between the at least one synchronization signal and the LP-WUS (Paragraph [0134-0140] the WUS/PSS configuration further comprises at least one of a periodicity and a timing of the PSS MO(s) within the PSS MW. Moreover, the WUS/PSS Offset may be specific for a specific UE/WD. Analogously, the WUS/PSS range may be specific fora specific UE/WD. By way of example, the WUS/PSS range comprised by the determined 602 WUS/PSS configuration may comprise a number of search space sets defining the length of the WUS/PSS MW. In some embodiments, the determined 602 PSS configuration further comprises at least one of a periodicity and a timing of the PSS MO(s) within the PSS MW).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Elshafie with the teachings of Maleki. Maleki provides a solution for power saving. The more compact and robust downlink control information (DCI) size is used and not to be affected by DCI format size budget that is applicable during active time. The limited user perceived throughput (UPT) loss in the UE due to wake up signal (WUS) /PSS and provides flexibility to the network (NW) to transmit WUS/PSS (Maleki Abstract; Paragraph [0001-0016]).
Regarding Claim 2, Elshafie in view of Maleki disclose the communication apparatus of Claim 1. Elshafie in view of Maleki further disclose wherein the at least one synchronization signal is compliant with a 5G New Radio (NR) standard (Elshafie Paragraph [0034]; Maleki Paragraph [0054 and 0159]).
Regarding Claim 8, Elshafie discloses a communication method (Abstract; Figure 1-3, 5 and 13), comprising:
receiving at least one synchronization signal via a low power wakeup receiver (LP-WUR), wherein the at least one synchronization signal comprises at least one of a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) sent by a network apparatus, and each of the PSS and the SSS is distinct from a low power synchronization signal (LP-SS) (Low power radio transceiver of Figure 5; Paragraph [0109-0116] LP WUS configuration is transmitted to the apparatus from a network apparatus; The sequence design of SSS/PSS (secondary synchronization signal/primary synchronization signal), e.g., based on a Gold sequence, may be leveraged for the LP-WUS configuration);
and using the at least one synchronization signal to detect timing of a low power wakeup signal (LP-WUS) (Paragraph [0104-0116] Transmission of low power wake up signal to the communication apparatus; The LP radio 524 may monitor for wake-up signals (WUS) more often than the main radio 522 would, e.g., due to using less power to do so, and thus an average latency of the UE 500 may be reduced).
Prior art reference Elshafie readily discloses transmission and reception of synchronization signals and a low power wake up receiver and briefly discloses synchronization but may not explicitly disclose sending a low power wakeup signal (LP-WUS) to the communication apparatus according to a timing offset between the at least one synchronization signal and the LP-WUS.
However, Maleki more specifically teaches sending a low power wakeup signal (LP-WUS) to the communication apparatus according to a timing offset between the at least one synchronization signal and the LP-WUS (Paragraph [0134-0140] the WUS/PSS configuration further comprises at least one of a periodicity and a timing of the PSS MO(s) within the PSS MW. Moreover, the WUS/PSS Offset may be specific for a specific UE/WD. Analogously, the WUS/PSS range may be specific fora specific UE/WD. By way of example, the WUS/PSS range comprised by the determined 602 WUS/PSS configuration may comprise a number of search space sets defining the length of the WUS/PSS MW. In some embodiments, the determined 602 PSS configuration further comprises at least one of a periodicity and a timing of the PSS MO(s) within the PSS MW).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Elshafie with the teachings of Maleki. Maleki provides a solution for power saving. The more compact and robust downlink control information (DCI) size is used and not to be affected by DCI format size budget that is applicable during active time. The limited user perceived throughput (UPT) loss in the UE due to wake up signal (WUS) /PSS and provides flexibility to the network (NW) to transmit WUS/PSS (Maleki Abstract; Paragraph [0001-0016]).
Regarding Claim 9, Elshafie in view of Maleki disclose the communication method of Claim 8. Elshafie in view of Maleki further disclose wherein the at least one synchronization signal is compliant with a 5G New Radio (NR) standard (Elshafie Paragraph [0034]; Maleki Paragraph [0054 and 0159]).
Regarding Claim 14, Elshafie discloses a network apparatus comprising: a transmitter; and a processor, configured to send signals to a communication apparatus via the transmitter, and perform operations (Abstract; Figure 1-3, 5 and 13) comprising:
sending at least one synchronization signal to the communication apparatus, wherein the at least one synchronization signal comprises at least one of a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and each of the PSS and the SSS is distinct from a low power synchronization signal (LP-SS) (Low power radio transceiver of Figure 5; Paragraph [0109-0116] LP WUS configuration is transmitted to the apparatus from a network apparatus; The sequence design of SSS/PSS (secondary synchronization signal/primary synchronization signal), e.g., based on a Gold sequence, may be leveraged for the LP-WUS configuration);
and sending a low power wakeup signal (LP-WUS) to the communication apparatus according to a timing offset between the at least one synchronization signal and the LP-WUS (Paragraph [0104-0116] Transmission of low power wake up signal to the communication apparatus; The LP radio 524 may monitor for wake-up signals (WUS) more often than the main radio 522 would, e.g., due to using less power to do so, and thus an average latency of the UE 500 may be reduced).
Prior art reference Elshafie readily discloses transmission and reception of synchronization signals and a low power wake up receiver and briefly discloses synchronization but may not explicitly disclose sending a low power wakeup signal (LP-WUS) to the communication apparatus according to a timing offset between the at least one synchronization signal and the LP-WUS.
However, Maleki more specifically teaches sending a low power wakeup signal (LP-WUS) to the communication apparatus according to a timing offset between the at least one synchronization signal and the LP-WUS (Paragraph [0134-0140] the WUS/PSS configuration further comprises at least one of a periodicity and a timing of the PSS MO(s) within the PSS MW. Moreover, the WUS/PSS Offset may be specific for a specific UE/WD. Analogously, the WUS/PSS range may be specific fora specific UE/WD. By way of example, the WUS/PSS range comprised by the determined 602 WUS/PSS configuration may comprise a number of search space sets defining the length of the WUS/PSS MW. In some embodiments, the determined 602 PSS configuration further comprises at least one of a periodicity and a timing of the PSS MO(s) within the PSS MW).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Elshafie with the teachings of Maleki. Maleki provides a solution for power saving. The more compact and robust downlink control information (DCI) size is used and not to be affected by DCI format size budget that is applicable during active time. The limited user perceived throughput (UPT) loss in the UE due to wake up signal (WUS) /PSS and provides flexibility to the network (NW) to transmit WUS/PSS (Maleki Abstract; Paragraph [0001-0016]).
Regarding Claim 15, Elshafie in view of Maleki disclose the network apparatus of Claim 14. Elshafie in view of Maleki further disclose wherein the at least one synchronization signal is compliant with a 5G New Radio (NR) standard (Elshafie Paragraph [0034]; Maleki Paragraph [0054 and 0159]).
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshafie in view of Maleki as applied to claim 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Kittichokechai et al. WIPO Publication WO 2024/063686, hereinafter Kittichokechai.
Regarding Claim 3, Elshafie in view of Maleki discloses the communication apparatus of Claim 1. Elshafie in view of Maleki discloses synchronization signals including an identity of a cell and timing to synchronize but may not explicitly disclose wherein using the at least one synchronization signal to detect the timing of the LP-WUS comprises: performing cell identification according to the at least one synchronization signal; and in response to the cell identification indicating that the at least one synchronization signal is provided from a serving cell of the communication apparatus, using a timing offset between the at least one synchronization signal and the LP-WUS to synchronize the timing of the LP-WUS.
However, Kittichokechai more specifically teaches wherein using the at least one synchronization signal to detect the timing of the LP-WUS comprises: performing cell identification according to the at least one synchronization signal; and in response to the cell identification indicating that the at least one synchronization signal is provided from a serving cell of the communication apparatus, using a timing offset between the at least one synchronization signal and the LP-WUS to synchronize the timing of the LP-WUS (Page 32-35 cell identification according to the synchronization signal; Timing offset values between synchronization signal and the LP-WUS to synchronize the timing of the LP-WUS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Elshafie in view of Maleki with the teachings of Kittichokechai. The method has a dedicated receiver (WUR), extremely low power, simple and low-cost receiver architecture, relaxed requirements, noisier less accurate clock or oscillator, significant power saving gain is achieved by maximizing the time in which the main receiver may be in the sleep mode. The method enables for zero energy /battery-less devices, and energy harvesting operations. The coverage has considerations given the tradeoff between WUR power consumption and sensitivity. The WUR provides significant power saving for the wireless device, and its performance is highly susceptible to false alarm events for which the main radio is mistakenly woken up. The method provides efficient methods for WUS synchronization to ensure that WUS detection may be performed in an efficient and reliable manner. The method improves the data rate, latency, and/or power consumption and thereby provide benefits such as reduced user waiting time, relaxed restriction on file size, better responsiveness, and extended battery lifetime (Kittichokechai Abstract; Page 1-5 and 9-10).
Regarding Claim 10, Elshafie in view of Maleki discloses the communication method of Claim 8. Elshafie in view of Maleki discloses synchronization signals including an identity of a cell and timing to synchronize but may not explicitly disclose wherein using the at least one synchronization signal to detect the timing of the LP-WUS comprises: performing cell identification according to the at least one synchronization signal; and in response to the cell identification indicating that the at least one synchronization signal is provided from a serving cell, using a timing offset between the at least one synchronization signal and the LP-WUS to synchronize the timing of the LP-WUS.
However, Kittichokechai more specifically teaches wherein using the at least one synchronization signal to detect the timing of the LP-WUS comprises: performing cell identification according to the at least one synchronization signal; and in response to the cell identification indicating that the at least one synchronization signal is provided from a serving cell, using a timing offset between the at least one synchronization signal and the LP-WUS to synchronize the timing of the LP-WUS (Page 32-35 cell identification according to the synchronization signal; Timing offset values between synchronization signal and the LP-WUS to synchronize the timing of the LP-WUS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Elshafie in view of Maleki with the teachings of Kittichokechai. The method has a dedicated receiver (WUR), extremely low power, simple and low-cost receiver architecture, relaxed requirements, noisier less accurate clock or oscillator, significant power saving gain is achieved by maximizing the time in which the main receiver may be in the sleep mode. The method enables for zero energy /battery-less devices, and energy harvesting operations. The coverage has considerations given the tradeoff between WUR power consumption and sensitivity. The WUR provides significant power saving for the wireless device, and its performance is highly susceptible to false alarm events for which the main radio is mistakenly woken up. The method provides efficient methods for WUS synchronization to ensure that WUS detection may be performed in an efficient and reliable manner. The method improves the data rate, latency, and/or power consumption and thereby provide benefits such as reduced user waiting time, relaxed restriction on file size, better responsiveness, and extended battery lifetime (Kittichokechai Abstract; Page 1-5 and 9-10).
Claims 4, 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshafie in view of Maleki as applied to claim 1, 8 and 14 above, and further in view of Li et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2025/0220582, hereinafter Li.
Regarding Claim 4, Elshafie in view of Maleki discloses the communication apparatus of Claim 1. Elshafie in view of Maleki may not explicitly discloses wherein the operations performed by the processor further comprise: receiving, via system information, a parameter indicative of a timing offset between the at least one synchronization signal and the LP-WUS from the network apparatus.
However, Li more specifically teaches wherein the operations performed by the processor further comprise: receiving, via system information, a parameter indicative of a timing offset between the at least one synchronization signal and the LP-WUS from the network apparatus. (Paragraph [0279-0302] The UE receives configuration information that includes one or more duty cycle parameters for a low power wake-up signal including a timing offset).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Elshafie in view of Maleki with the teachings of Li. The apparatus designs to prolong battery life improve energy efficiency and/or provide for better user experience. The apparatus desirable to reduces the power consumption with a reasonable latency. The separate LP-WUR is used to detect a LP-WUS and the main receiver is only active when a LP-WUS is detected to further reduce the power consumption (Li Abstract; Paragraph [0033-0035]).
Regarding Claim 11, Elshafie in view of Maleki discloses the communication method of Claim 8. Elshafie in view of Maleki may not explicitly discloses receiving a parameter indicative of a timing offset between the at least one synchronization signal and the LP-WUS from the network apparatus.
However, Li more specifically teaches receiving a parameter indicative of a timing offset between the at least one synchronization signal and the LP-WUS from the network apparatus. (Paragraph [0279-0302] The UE receives configuration information that includes one or more duty cycle parameters for a low power wake-up signal including a timing offset).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Elshafie in view of Maleki with the teachings of Li. The apparatus designs to prolong battery life improve energy efficiency and/or provide for better user experience. The apparatus desirable to reduces the power consumption with a reasonable latency. The separate LP-WUR is used to detect a LP-WUS and the main receiver is only active when a LP-WUS is detected to further reduce the power consumption (Li Abstract; Paragraph [0033-0035]).
Regarding Claim 16, Elshafie in view of Maleki disclose the network apparatus of Claim 14 Elshafie in view of Maleki may not explicitly disclose wherein the operations performed by the processor further comprise: configuring the timing offset; and sending a parameter indicative of the timing offset to the communication apparatus.
However, Li more specifically teaches wherein the operations performed by the processor further comprise: configuring the timing offset; and sending a parameter indicative of the timing offset to the communication apparatus (Paragraph [0279-0302] The UE receives configuration information that includes one or more duty cycle parameters for a low power wake-up signal including a timing offset).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Elshafie in view of Maleki with the teachings of Li. The apparatus designs to prolong battery life improve energy efficiency and/or provide for better user experience. The apparatus desirable to reduces the power consumption with a reasonable latency. The separate LP-WUR is used to detect a LP-WUS and the main receiver is only active when a LP-WUS is detected to further reduce the power consumption (Li Abstract; Paragraph [0033-0035]).
Claims 5, 6, 12, 13, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshafie in view of Maleki as applied to claim 1, 8 and 14 above, and further in view of Mochizuki U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0337964, hereinafter Mochizuki and Feuersaenger et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0003311, hereinafter Feuersaenger.
Regarding Claim 5, Elshafie in view of Maleki discloses the communication apparatus of Claim 1. Elshafie in view of Maleki fail to discloses wherein the operations performed by the processor further comprise: in response to detecting the LP-WUS, starting a prohibit timer.
However, Mochizuki teaches wherein the operations performed by the processor further comprise: in response to detecting the LP-WUS, starting a prohibit timer (Paragraph [0202-0218] Wait timer in which the activation of the wake-up process is prohibited during a period set by the wait timer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Elshafie in view of Maleki with the teachings of Mochizuki. The wake-up process which originates in the communication terminal device without the access right to the power saving cell is limited. The communication system prevents to perform superfluously switching in the usual operating state of the power saving cell, and in the power saving state (Mochizuki Abstract; Paragraph [0057-0065]).
Elshafie in view of Maleki and Mochizuki disclose starting a prohibit timer in which the wake up period is not activated but may not explicitly disclose during a period in which the prohibit timer is running, deactivating LP-WUS monitoring for another LP-WUS.
However, Feuersaenger more specifically teaches during a period in which the prohibit timer is running, deactivating LP-WUS monitoring for another LP-WUS (Paragraph [0177 and 0262] The processor determines whether the prohibition timer is running, and only in case it is determined that the prohibition timer is not running, the receiver monitors the downlink control channel for the particular duration of time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Elshafie in view of Maleki and Mochizuki with the teachings of Feuersaenger. The method enables improving DRX operation of the mobile terminal with regard to the response time and battery consumption opportunity provided for the mobile terminal. The method enables reducing the response time of the mobile terminal since the DRX wake-up cycle implements short intervals between wake-up opportunities of wake-up duration, thus allowing the base station to schedule the mobile terminal in a quick manner. The method enables maintaining UE operation for DRX short cycle and DRX long cycle (Feuersaenger Abstract; Paragraph [0116-0147]).
Regarding Claim 6, Elshafie in view of Maleki, Mochizuki and Feuersaenger disclose the communication apparatus of Claim 5. Elshafie in view of Maleki, Mochizuki and Feuersaenger further disclose wherein the operations performed by the processor further comprise: in response to the prohibit timer being expired or stopping running, activating the LP-WUS monitoring for another LP-WUS (Feuersaenger Paragraph [0262-0263] Correspondingly, instead (or in addition) to the wake-up duration enable timer, a wake-up duration prohibition timer is implemented in the UE such that the UE only monitors the PDCCH for the wake-up duration of time according to the DRX wake-up cycle, when the wake-up duration prohibition timer is not running).
Regarding Claim 12, Elshafie in view of Maleki discloses the communication method of Claim 8. Elshafie in view of Maleki fail to discloses in response to detecting the LP-WUS, starting a prohibit timer.
However, Mochizuki teaches in response to detecting the LP-WUS, starting a prohibit timer (Paragraph [0202-0218] Wait timer in which the activation of the wake-up process is prohibited during a period set by the wait timer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Elshafie in view of Maleki with the teachings of Mochizuki. The wake-up process which originates in the communication terminal device without the access right to the power saving cell is limited. The communication system prevents to perform superfluously switching in the usual operating state of the power saving cell, and in the power saving state (Mochizuki Abstract; Paragraph [0057-0065]).
Elshafie in view of Maleki and Mochizuki disclose starting a prohibit timer in which the wake up period is not activated but may not explicitly disclose during a period in which the prohibit timer is running, deactivating LP-WUS monitoring for another LP-WUS.
However, Feuersaenger more specifically teaches during a period in which the prohibit timer is running, deactivating LP-WUS monitoring for another LP-WUS (Paragraph [0177 and 0262] The processor determines whether the prohibition timer is running, and only in case it is determined that the prohibition timer is not running, the receiver monitors the downlink control channel for the particular duration of time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Elshafie in view of Maleki and Mochizuki with the teachings of Feuersaenger. The method enables improving DRX operation of the mobile terminal with regard to the response time and battery consumption opportunity provided for the mobile terminal. The method enables reducing the response time of the mobile terminal since the DRX wake-up cycle implements short intervals between wake-up opportunities of wake-up duration, thus allowing the base station to schedule the mobile terminal in a quick manner. The method enables maintaining UE operation for DRX short cycle and DRX long cycle (Feuersaenger Abstract; Paragraph [0116-0147]).
Regarding Claim 13, Elshafie in view of Maleki, Mochizuki and Feuersaenger disclose the communication method of Claim 12. Elshafie in view of Maleki, Mochizuki and Feuersaenger further disclose in response to the prohibit timer being expired or stopping running, activating the LP-WUS monitoring for another LP-WUS (Feuersaenger Paragraph [0262-0263] Correspondingly, instead (or in addition) to the wake-up duration enable timer, a wake-up duration prohibition timer is implemented in the UE such that the UE only monitors the PDCCH for the wake-up duration of time according to the DRX wake-up cycle, when the wake-up duration prohibition timer is not running).
Regarding Claim 17, Elshafie in view of Maleki disclose the network apparatus of Claim 14. Elshafie in view of Maleki fail to disclose wherein the operations performed by the processor further comprise: in response to sending the LP-WUS, starting a prohibit timer.
However, Mochizuki teaches wherein the operations performed by the processor further comprise: in response to sending the LP-WUS, starting a prohibit timer (Paragraph [0202-0218] Wait timer in which the activation of the wake-up process is prohibited during a period set by the wait timer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Elshafie in view of Maleki with the teachings of Mochizuki. The wake-up process which originates in the communication terminal device without the access right to the power saving cell is limited. The communication system prevents to perform superfluously switching in the usual operating state of the power saving cell, and in the power saving state (Mochizuki Abstract; Paragraph [0057-0065]).
Elshafie in view of Maleki and Mochizuki disclose starting a prohibit timer in which the wake up period is not activated but may not explicitly disclose during a period in which the prohibit timer is running, deactivating LP-WUS monitoring for another LP-WUS.
However, Feuersaenger more specifically teaches during a period in which the prohibit timer is running, deactivating LP-WUS transmission for another LP-WUS (Paragraph [0177 and 0262] The processor determines whether the prohibition timer is running, and only in case it is determined that the prohibition timer is not running, the receiver monitors the downlink control channel for the particular duration of time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Elshafie in view of Maleki and Mochizuki with the teachings of Feuersaenger. The method enables improving DRX operation of the mobile terminal with regard to the response time and battery consumption opportunity provided for the mobile terminal. The method enables reducing the response time of the mobile terminal since the DRX wake-up cycle implements short intervals between wake-up opportunities of wake-up duration, thus allowing the base station to schedule the mobile terminal in a quick manner. The method enables maintaining UE operation for DRX short cycle and DRX long cycle (Feuersaenger Abstract; Paragraph [0116-0147]).
Regarding Claim 18, Elshafie in view of Maleki, Mochizuki and Feuersaenger disclose the network apparatus of Claim 17. Elshafie in view of Maleki, Mochizuki and Feuersaenger further disclose wherein the operations performed by the processor further comprise: in response to the prohibit timer being expired or stopping running, activating the LP-WUS transmission for another LP-WUS (Feuersaenger Paragraph [0262-0263] Correspondingly, instead (or in addition) to the wake-up duration enable timer, a wake-up duration prohibition timer is implemented in the UE such that the UE only monitors the PDCCH for the wake-up duration of time according to the DRX wake-up cycle, when the wake-up duration prohibition timer is not running).
Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshafie in view of Maleki as applied to claim 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Bala et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2025/0274868, hereinafter Bala.
Regarding Claim 7, Elshafie in view of Maleki discloses the communication apparatus of Claim 1. Elshafie in view of Maleki discloses LP-WUS monitoring but may not explicitly disclose activating or deactivating LP-WUS monitoring based on preconfigured criteria or signaling.
However, Bala more specifically teaches activating or deactivating LP-WUS monitoring based on preconfigured criteria or signaling (Paragraph [0154] The activation and/or deactivation indication may be carried with the LP WUS. In an example, the indication may be carried in a WUS payload (e.g., as part of the first information in one or more examples herein). The payload may be part of common signaling (e.g., potentially monitored by some or all WTRUs), group common signaling (e.g., potentially monitored by a group of WTRUs), or WTRU specific signaling. A WTRU, based on a determination that a deactivation indication has been received (e.g., based on a value of the activation-deactivation indication), may stop monitoring the LP WUS (e.g., by deactivating the low-power receiver) and/or send an indication (e.g., to the main receiver, which is the receiver other than a low-power receiver) to turn on or activate the main receiver. The indication may be carried in a physical signal. For example, a WTRU may determine that a deactivation indication has been received if a specific SYNC signal is detected. The SYNC signal may be part of a preamble and/or may be transmitted periodically, for example, for synchronization purposes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Elshafie in view of Maleki with the teachings of Bala. Bala provides a solution in which transmission can be decoded in an efficient manner and an on-off resource pattern in an efficient manner (Bala Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0010]).
Regarding Claim 19, Elshafie in view of Maleki disclose the network apparatus of Claim 14. Elshafie in view of Maleki disclose LP-WUS monitoring but may not explicitly disclose wherein activation or deactivation of LP-WUS monitoring is based on preconfigured criteria or signaling.
However, Bala more specifically teaches wherein activation or deactivation of LP-WUS monitoring is based on preconfigured criteria or signaling (Paragraph [0154] The activation and/or deactivation indication may be carried with the LP WUS. In an example, the indication may be carried in a WUS payload (e.g., as part of the first information in one or more examples herein). The payload may be part of common signaling (e.g., potentially monitored by some or all WTRUs), group common signaling (e.g., potentially monitored by a group of WTRUs), or WTRU specific signaling. A WTRU, based on a determination that a deactivation indication has been received (e.g., based on a value of the activation-deactivation indication), may stop monitoring the LP WUS (e.g., by deactivating the low-power receiver) and/or send an indication (e.g., to the main receiver, which is the receiver other than a low-power receiver) to turn on or activate the main receiver. The indication may be carried in a physical signal. For example, a WTRU may determine that a deactivation indication has been received if a specific SYNC signal is detected. The SYNC signal may be part of a preamble and/or may be transmitted periodically, for example, for synchronization purposes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Elshafie in view of Maleki with the teachings of Bala. Bala provides a solution in which transmission can be decoded in an efficient manner and an on-off resource pattern in an efficient manner (Bala Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0010]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
IVAN O. LATORRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409
/IVAN O LATORRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409