DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the application 18/585,004 filed on February 22, 2024.
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claims 1-19 are rejected.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 4 and 11, Claim 4 and 11 recites the limitation "the timing offset" in Line 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 4 and 11 depend upon independent claim 1 and 8 respectively. The independent claims recite detecting timing of a low power wake up signal (LP-WUS) but make no mention of any timing offset. It is not clear what the timing offset corresponds to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2025/0184898, hereinafter Chen.
Regarding Claim 1, Chen discloses a communication apparatus comprising: a low power wakeup receiver (LP-WUR); and a processor, configured to receive signals from a network apparatus via the LP-WUR, and perform operations (Abstract; Figure 1, 3, 10, 15 and 16) comprising:
receiving at least one synchronization signal sent by the network apparatus, wherein the at least one synchronization signal comprises at least one of a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) (320 of Figure 3; Paragraph [0051] Embodiments of the present disclosure provide a solution of communication. In the solution, a low power synchronization signal (LP-SS) different from PSS/SSS is proposed, the LP-SS may be associated with information associated with a network device and may comprise an amplitude modulation sequence. As such, the synchronization with the network side in low power mode may be maintained and the communication efficiency may be improved; Paragraph [0091] The network device 110 transmits 320 the LP-SS 322 to a terminal device);
and using the at least one synchronization signal to detect timing of a low power wakeup signal (LP-WUS) (330 of Figure 3; Paragraph [0105] The network device 110 transmits 330 a wake-up signal 332 to the terminal device 120. In some embodiments, the wake-up signal 332 may be UE specific or UE group specific, and may be an on-demand signal. As such, the overhead may be reduced; Paragraph [0154] With the LP-SS, the terminal device 120 can achieve and maintain the time synchronization with the network side in a certain precision, thus the terminal device 120 may utilize the synchronization to simplify the detection of LP-WUS, and enhance the detection performance; Paragraph [0180-0182] the terminal device 120 can achieve and maintain the time synchronization with the network device 110 in a certain precision, and the terminal device 120 may further obtain and maintain the SFN. In this regard, the terminal device 120 may determine the timing for measure SSB and monitor paging quickly after waking up from the LP mode. In some example embodiments, the terminal device 120 may detect (or monitor) wake-up signals all the time, for example, utilizing the synchronization based on the received LP-SS).
Regarding Claim 2, Chen discloses the communication apparatus of Claim 1. Chen further discloses wherein the at least one synchronization signal is compliant with a 5G New Radio (NR) standard (Chen Paragraph [0036-0054] 5G).
Regarding Claim 8, Chen discloses a communication method (Abstract; Figure 1, 3, 10, 15 and 16) comprising:
receiving at least one synchronization signal via a low power wakeup receiver (LP-WUR), wherein the at least one synchronization signal comprises at least one of a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) sent by a network apparatus (320 of Figure 3; Paragraph [0051] Embodiments of the present disclosure provide a solution of communication. In the solution, a low power synchronization signal (LP-SS) different from PSS/SSS is proposed, the LP-SS may be associated with information associated with a network device and may comprise an amplitude modulation sequence. As such, the synchronization with the network side in low power mode may be maintained and the communication efficiency may be improved; Paragraph [0091] The network device 110 transmits 320 the LP-SS 322 to a terminal device);
and using the at least one synchronization signal to detect timing of a low power wakeup signal (LP-WUS) (330 of Figure 3; Paragraph [0105] The network device 110 transmits 330 a wake-up signal 332 to the terminal device 120. In some embodiments, the wake-up signal 332 may be UE specific or UE group specific, and may be an on-demand signal. As such, the overhead may be reduced; Paragraph [0154] With the LP-SS, the terminal device 120 can achieve and maintain the time synchronization with the network side in a certain precision, thus the terminal device 120 may utilize the synchronization to simplify the detection of LP-WUS, and enhance the detection performance; Paragraph [0180-0182] the terminal device 120 can achieve and maintain the time synchronization with the network device 110 in a certain precision, and the terminal device 120 may further obtain and maintain the SFN. In this regard, the terminal device 120 may determine the timing for measure SSB and monitor paging quickly after waking up from the LP mode. In some example embodiments, the terminal device 120 may detect (or monitor) wake-up signals all the time, for example, utilizing the synchronization based on the received LP-SS).
Regarding Claim 9, Chen discloses the communication method of Claim 8. Chen further discloses wherein the at least one synchronization signal is compliant with a 5G New Radio (NR) standard (Chen Paragraph [0036-0054] 5G).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Kittichokechai et al. WIPO Publication WO 2024/063686, hereinafter Kittichokechai.
Regarding Claim 3, Chen discloses the communication apparatus of Claim 1. Chen discloses synchronization signals including an identity of a cell and timing to synchronize but may not explicitly disclose wherein using the at least one synchronization signal to detect the timing of the LP-WUS comprises: performing cell identification according to the at least one synchronization signal; and in response to the cell identification indicating that the at least one synchronization signal is provided from a serving cell of the communication apparatus, using a timing offset between the at least one synchronization signal and the LP-WUS to synchronize the timing of the LP-WUS.
However, Kittichokechai more specifically teaches wherein using the at least one synchronization signal to detect the timing of the LP-WUS comprises: performing cell identification according to the at least one synchronization signal; and in response to the cell identification indicating that the at least one synchronization signal is provided from a serving cell of the communication apparatus, using a timing offset between the at least one synchronization signal and the LP-WUS to synchronize the timing of the LP-WUS (Page 32-35 cell identification according to the synchronization signal; Timing offset values between synchronization signal and the LP-WUS to synchronize the timing of the LP-WUS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Kittichokechai. The method has a dedicated receiver (WUR), extremely low power, simple and low-cost receiver architecture, relaxed requirements, noisier less accurate clock or oscillator, significant power saving gain is achieved by maximizing the time in which the main receiver may be in the sleep mode. The method enables for zero energy /battery-less devices, and energy harvesting operations. The coverage has considerations given the tradeoff between WUR power consumption and sensitivity. The WUR provides significant power saving for the wireless device, and its performance is highly susceptible to false alarm events for which the main radio is mistakenly woken up. The method provides efficient methods for WUS synchronization to ensure that WUS detection may be performed in an efficient and reliable manner. The method improves the data rate, latency, and/or power consumption and thereby provide benefits such as reduced user waiting time, relaxed restriction on file size, better responsiveness, and extended battery lifetime (Kittichokechai Abstract; Page 1-5 and 9-10).
Regarding Claim 10, Chen discloses the communication method of Claim 8. Chen discloses synchronization signals including an identity of a cell and timing to synchronize but may not explicitly disclose wherein using the at least one synchronization signal to detect the timing of the LP-WUS comprises: performing cell identification according to the at least one synchronization signal; and in response to the cell identification indicating that the at least one synchronization signal is provided from a serving cell, using a timing offset between the at least one synchronization signal and the LP-WUS to synchronize the timing of the LP-WUS.
However, Kittichokechai more specifically teaches wherein using the at least one synchronization signal to detect the timing of the LP-WUS comprises: performing cell identification according to the at least one synchronization signal; and in response to the cell identification indicating that the at least one synchronization signal is provided from a serving cell, using a timing offset between the at least one synchronization signal and the LP-WUS to synchronize the timing of the LP-WUS (Page 32-35 cell identification according to the synchronization signal; Timing offset values between synchronization signal and the LP-WUS to synchronize the timing of the LP-WUS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Kittichokechai. The method has a dedicated receiver (WUR), extremely low power, simple and low-cost receiver architecture, relaxed requirements, noisier less accurate clock or oscillator, significant power saving gain is achieved by maximizing the time in which the main receiver may be in the sleep mode. The method enables for zero energy /battery-less devices, and energy harvesting operations. The coverage has considerations given the tradeoff between WUR power consumption and sensitivity. The WUR provides significant power saving for the wireless device, and its performance is highly susceptible to false alarm events for which the main radio is mistakenly woken up. The method provides efficient methods for WUS synchronization to ensure that WUS detection may be performed in an efficient and reliable manner. The method improves the data rate, latency, and/or power consumption and thereby provide benefits such as reduced user waiting time, relaxed restriction on file size, better responsiveness, and extended battery lifetime (Kittichokechai Abstract; Page 1-5 and 9-10).
Regarding Claim 14, Chen discloses a network apparatus comprising: a transmitter; and a processor, configured to send signals to a communication apparatus via the transmitter, and perform operations (Abstract; Figure 1, 3, 10, 15 and 16) comprising:
sending at least one synchronization signal to the communication apparatus, wherein the at least one synchronization signal comprises at least one of a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) (320 of Figure 3; Paragraph [0051] Embodiments of the present disclosure provide a solution of communication. In the solution, a low power synchronization signal (LP-SS) different from PSS/SSS is proposed, the LP-SS may be associated with information associated with a network device and may comprise an amplitude modulation sequence. As such, the synchronization with the network side in low power mode may be maintained and the communication efficiency may be improved; Paragraph [0091] The network device 110 transmits 320 the LP-SS 322 to a terminal device);
and sending a low power wakeup signal (LP-WUS) to the communication apparatus according to a timing offset between the at least one synchronization signal and the LP-WUS (330 of Figure 3; Paragraph [0105] The network device 110 transmits 330 a wake-up signal 332 to the terminal device 120. In some embodiments, the wake-up signal 332 may be UE specific or UE group specific, and may be an on-demand signal. As such, the overhead may be reduced; Paragraph [0154] With the LP-SS, the terminal device 120 can achieve and maintain the time synchronization with the network side in a certain precision, thus the terminal device 120 may utilize the synchronization to simplify the detection of LP-WUS, and enhance the detection performance; Paragraph [0180-0182] the terminal device 120 can achieve and maintain the time synchronization with the network device 110 in a certain precision, and the terminal device 120 may further obtain and maintain the SFN. In this regard, the terminal device 120 may determine the timing for measure SSB and monitor paging quickly after waking up from the LP mode. In some example embodiments, the terminal device 120 may detect (or monitor) wake-up signals all the time, for example, utilizing the synchronization based on the received LP-SS).
Chen readily disclose the limitations of independent claim 14 and discloses timing synchronization but may not explicitly disclose a timing offset where a low power wakeup signal (LP-WUS) to the communication apparatus according to a timing offset between the at least one synchronization signal and the LP-WUS.
However, Kittichokechai more specifically teaches a timing offset where a low power wakeup signal (LP-WUS) to the communication apparatus according to a timing offset between the at least one synchronization signal and the LP-WUS (Page 28 receiving a time offset of the WUS synchronization sequence relative to a WUS transmission occasion; Page 32-35 cell identification according to the synchronization signal; Timing offset values between synchronization signal and the LP-WUS to synchronize the timing of the LP-WUS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Kittichokechai. The method has a dedicated receiver (WUR), extremely low power, simple and low-cost receiver architecture, relaxed requirements, noisier less accurate clock or oscillator, significant power saving gain is achieved by maximizing the time in which the main receiver may be in the sleep mode. The method enables for zero energy /battery-less devices, and energy harvesting operations. The coverage has considerations given the tradeoff between WUR power consumption and sensitivity. The WUR provides significant power saving for the wireless device, and its performance is highly susceptible to false alarm events for which the main radio is mistakenly woken up. The method provides efficient methods for WUS synchronization to ensure that WUS detection may be performed in an efficient and reliable manner. The method improves the data rate, latency, and/or power consumption and thereby provide benefits such as reduced user waiting time, relaxed restriction on file size, better responsiveness, and extended battery lifetime (Kittichokechai Abstract; Page 1-5 and 9-10).
Regarding Claim 15, Chen in view of Kittichokechai disclose the network apparatus of Claim 14. Chen in view of Kittichokechai further disclose wherein the at least one synchronization signal is compliant with a 5G New Radio (NR) standard (Chen Paragraph [0036-0054] 5G; Kittichokechai Page 1, 4 and 17 5g).
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Li et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2025/0220582, hereinafter Li.
Regarding Claim 4, Chen discloses the communication apparatus of Claim 1. Chen may not explicitly discloses wherein the operations performed by the processor further comprise: receiving a parameter indicative of the timing offset from the network apparatus.
However, Li more specifically teaches wherein the operations performed by the processor further comprise: receiving a parameter indicative of the timing offset from the network apparatus (Paragraph [0279-0302] The UE receives configuration information that includes one or more duty cycle parameters for a low power wake-up signal including a timing offset).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Li. The apparatus designs to prolong battery life improve energy efficiency and/or provide for better user experience. The apparatus desirable to reduces the power consumption with a reasonable latency. The separate LP-WUR is used to detect a LP-WUS and the main receiver is only active when a LP-WUS is detected to further reduce the power consumption (Li Abstract; Paragraph [0033-0035]).
Regarding Claim 11, Chen discloses the communication method of Claim 8. Chen may not explicitly discloses receiving a parameter indicative of the timing offset from the network apparatus.
However, Li more specifically teaches receiving a parameter indicative of the timing offset from the network apparatus (Paragraph [0279-0302] The UE receives configuration information that includes one or more duty cycle parameters for a low power wake-up signal including a timing offset).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Li. The apparatus designs to prolong battery life improve energy efficiency and/or provide for better user experience. The apparatus desirable to reduces the power consumption with a reasonable latency. The separate LP-WUR is used to detect a LP-WUS and the main receiver is only active when a LP-WUS is detected to further reduce the power consumption (Li Abstract; Paragraph [0033-0035]).
Claims 5, 6, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Mochizuki U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0337964, hereinafter Mochizuki and Feuersaenger et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0003311, hereinafter Feuersaenger.
Regarding Claim 5, Chen discloses the communication apparatus of Claim 1. Chen fails to discloses wherein the operations performed by the processor further comprise: in response to detecting the LP-WUS, starting a prohibit timer.
However, Mochizuki teaches wherein the operations performed by the processor further comprise: in response to detecting the LP-WUS, starting a prohibit timer (Paragraph [0202-0218] Wait timer in which the activation of the wake-up process is prohibited during a period set by the wait timer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Mochizuki. The wake-up process which originates in the communication terminal device without the access right to the power saving cell is limited. The communication system prevents to perform superfluously switching in the usual operating state of the power saving cell, and in the power saving state (Mochizuki Abstract; Paragraph [0057-0065]).
Chen in view of Mochizuki disclose starting a prohibit timer in which the wake up period is not activated but may not explicitly disclose during a period in which the prohibit timer is running, deactivating LP-WUS monitoring for another LP-WUS.
However, Feuersaenger more specifically teaches during a period in which the prohibit timer is running, deactivating LP-WUS monitoring for another LP-WUS (Paragraph [0177 and 0262] The processor determines whether the prohibition timer is running, and only in case it is determined that the prohibition timer is not running, the receiver monitors the downlink control channel for the particular duration of time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chen in view of Mochizuki with the teachings of Feuersaenger. The method enables improving DRX operation of the mobile terminal with regard to the response time and battery consumption opportunity provided for the mobile terminal. The method enables reducing the response time of the mobile terminal since the DRX wake-up cycle implements short intervals between wake-up opportunities of wake-up duration, thus allowing the base station to schedule the mobile terminal in a quick manner. The method enables maintaining UE operation for DRX short cycle and DRX long cycle (Feuersaenger Abstract; Paragraph [0116-0147]).
Regarding Claim 6, Chen in view of Mochizuki and Feuersaenger disclose the communication apparatus of Claim 5. Chen in view of Mochizuki and Feuersaenger further disclose wherein the operations performed by the processor further comprise: in response to the prohibit timer being expired or stopping running, activating the LP-WUS monitoring for another LP-WUS (Feuersaenger Paragraph [0262-0263] Correspondingly, instead (or in addition) to the wake-up duration enable timer, a wake-up duration prohibition timer is implemented in the UE such that the UE only monitors the PDCCH for the wake-up duration of time according to the DRX wake-up cycle, when the wake-up duration prohibition timer is not running).
Regarding Claim 12, Chen discloses the communication method of Claim 8. Chen fail to discloses in response to detecting the LP-WUS, starting a prohibit timer.
However, Mochizuki teaches in response to detecting the LP-WUS, starting a prohibit timer (Paragraph [0202-0218] Wait timer in which the activation of the wake-up process is prohibited during a period set by the wait timer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Mochizuki. The wake-up process which originates in the communication terminal device without the access right to the power saving cell is limited. The communication system prevents to perform superfluously switching in the usual operating state of the power saving cell, and in the power saving state (Mochizuki Abstract; Paragraph [0057-0065]).
Chen in view of Mochizuki disclose starting a prohibit timer in which the wake up period is not activated but may not explicitly disclose during a period in which the prohibit timer is running, deactivating LP-WUS monitoring for another LP-WUS.
However, Feuersaenger more specifically teaches during a period in which the prohibit timer is running, deactivating LP-WUS monitoring for another LP-WUS (Paragraph [0177 and 0262] The processor determines whether the prohibition timer is running, and only in case it is determined that the prohibition timer is not running, the receiver monitors the downlink control channel for the particular duration of time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chen in view of Mochizuki with the teachings of Feuersaenger. The method enables improving DRX operation of the mobile terminal with regard to the response time and battery consumption opportunity provided for the mobile terminal. The method enables reducing the response time of the mobile terminal since the DRX wake-up cycle implements short intervals between wake-up opportunities of wake-up duration, thus allowing the base station to schedule the mobile terminal in a quick manner. The method enables maintaining UE operation for DRX short cycle and DRX long cycle (Feuersaenger Abstract; Paragraph [0116-0147]).
Regarding Claim 13, Chen in view of Mochizuki and Feuersaenger disclose the communication method of Claim 12. Chen in view of Mochizuki and Feuersaenger further disclose in response to the prohibit timer being expired or stopping running, activating the LP-WUS monitoring for another LP-WUS (Feuersaenger Paragraph [0262-0263] Correspondingly, instead (or in addition) to the wake-up duration enable timer, a wake-up duration prohibition timer is implemented in the UE such that the UE only monitors the PDCCH for the wake-up duration of time according to the DRX wake-up cycle, when the wake-up duration prohibition timer is not running).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Bala et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2025/0274868, hereinafter Bala.
Regarding Claim 7, Chen discloses the communication apparatus of Claim 1. Chen discloses LP-WUS monitoring but may not explicitly disclose activating or deactivating LP-WUS monitoring based on preconfigured criteria or signaling.
However, Bala more specifically teaches activating or deactivating LP-WUS monitoring based on preconfigured criteria or signaling (Paragraph [0154] The activation and/or deactivation indication may be carried with the LP WUS. In an example, the indication may be carried in a WUS payload (e.g., as part of the first information in one or more examples herein). The payload may be part of common signaling (e.g., potentially monitored by some or all WTRUs), group common signaling (e.g., potentially monitored by a group of WTRUs), or WTRU specific signaling. A WTRU, based on a determination that a deactivation indication has been received (e.g., based on a value of the activation-deactivation indication), may stop monitoring the LP WUS (e.g., by deactivating the low-power receiver) and/or send an indication (e.g., to the main receiver, which is the receiver other than a low-power receiver) to turn on or activate the main receiver. The indication may be carried in a physical signal. For example, a WTRU may determine that a deactivation indication has been received if a specific SYNC signal is detected. The SYNC signal may be part of a preamble and/or may be transmitted periodically, for example, for synchronization purposes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Bala. Bala provides a solution in which transmission can be decoded in an efficient manner and an on-off resource pattern in an efficient manner (Bala Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0010]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Kittichokechai as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Li.
Regarding Claim 16, Chen in view of Kittichokechai disclose the network apparatus of Claim 14. Chen in view of Kittichokechai may not explicitly disclose wherein the operations performed by the processor further comprise: configuring the timing offset; and sending a parameter indicative of the timing offset to the communication apparatus.
However, Li more specifically teaches wherein the operations performed by the processor further comprise: configuring the timing offset; and sending a parameter indicative of the timing offset to the communication apparatus (Paragraph [0279-0302] The UE receives configuration information that includes one or more duty cycle parameters for a low power wake-up signal including a timing offset).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chen in view of Kittichokechai with the teachings of Li. The apparatus designs to prolong battery life improve energy efficiency and/or provide for better user experience. The apparatus desirable to reduces the power consumption with a reasonable latency. The separate LP-WUR is used to detect a LP-WUS and the main receiver is only active when a LP-WUS is detected to further reduce the power consumption (Li Abstract; Paragraph [0033-0035]).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Kittichokechai as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Mochizuki and Feuersaenger.
Regarding Claim 17, Chen in view of Kittichokechai disclose the network apparatus of Claim 14. Chen in view of Kittichokechai fail to disclose wherein the operations performed by the processor further comprise: in response to sending the LP-WUS, starting a prohibit timer.
However, Mochizuki teaches wherein the operations performed by the processor further comprise: in response to sending the LP-WUS, starting a prohibit timer (Paragraph [0202-0218] Wait timer in which the activation of the wake-up process is prohibited during a period set by the wait timer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Mochizuki. The wake-up process which originates in the communication terminal device without the access right to the power saving cell is limited. The communication system prevents to perform superfluously switching in the usual operating state of the power saving cell, and in the power saving state (Mochizuki Abstract; Paragraph [0057-0065]).
Chen in view of Mochizuki disclose starting a prohibit timer in which the wake up period is not activated but may not explicitly disclose during a period in which the prohibit timer is running, deactivating LP-WUS monitoring for another LP-WUS.
However, Feuersaenger more specifically teaches during a period in which the prohibit timer is running, deactivating LP-WUS transmission for another LP-WUS (Paragraph [0177 and 0262] The processor determines whether the prohibition timer is running, and only in case it is determined that the prohibition timer is not running, the receiver monitors the downlink control channel for the particular duration of time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chen in view of Mochizuki with the teachings of Feuersaenger. The method enables improving DRX operation of the mobile terminal with regard to the response time and battery consumption opportunity provided for the mobile terminal. The method enables reducing the response time of the mobile terminal since the DRX wake-up cycle implements short intervals between wake-up opportunities of wake-up duration, thus allowing the base station to schedule the mobile terminal in a quick manner. The method enables maintaining UE operation for DRX short cycle and DRX long cycle (Feuersaenger Abstract; Paragraph [0116-0147]).
Regarding Claim 18, Chen in view of Kittichokechai, Mochizuki and Feuersaenger disclose the network apparatus of Claim 17. Chen in view of Kittichokechai, Mochizuki and Feuersaenger further disclose wherein the operations performed by the processor further comprise: in response to the prohibit timer being expired or stopping running, activating the LP-WUS transmission for another LP-WUS (Feuersaenger Paragraph [0262-0263] Correspondingly, instead (or in addition) to the wake-up duration enable timer, a wake-up duration prohibition timer is implemented in the UE such that the UE only monitors the PDCCH for the wake-up duration of time according to the DRX wake-up cycle, when the wake-up duration prohibition timer is not running).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Kittichokechai as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Bala.
Regarding Claim 19, Chen in view of Kittichokechai disclose the network apparatus of Claim 14. Chen in view of Kittichokechai disclose LP-WUS monitoring but may not explicitly disclose wherein activation or deactivation of LP-WUS monitoring is based on preconfigured criteria or signaling.
However, Bala more specifically teaches wherein activation or deactivation of LP-WUS monitoring is based on preconfigured criteria or signaling (Paragraph [0154] The activation and/or deactivation indication may be carried with the LP WUS. In an example, the indication may be carried in a WUS payload (e.g., as part of the first information in one or more examples herein). The payload may be part of common signaling (e.g., potentially monitored by some or all WTRUs), group common signaling (e.g., potentially monitored by a group of WTRUs), or WTRU specific signaling. A WTRU, based on a determination that a deactivation indication has been received (e.g., based on a value of the activation-deactivation indication), may stop monitoring the LP WUS (e.g., by deactivating the low-power receiver) and/or send an indication (e.g., to the main receiver, which is the receiver other than a low-power receiver) to turn on or activate the main receiver. The indication may be carried in a physical signal. For example, a WTRU may determine that a deactivation indication has been received if a specific SYNC signal is detected. The SYNC signal may be part of a preamble and/or may be transmitted periodically, for example, for synchronization purposes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chen in view of Kittichokechai with the teachings of Bala. Bala provides a solution in which transmission can be decoded in an efficient manner and an on-off resource pattern in an efficient manner (Bala Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0010]).
Conclusion
IVAN O. LATORRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409
/IVAN O LATORRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409