DETAILED ACTION
This action is a response to an amendment filed on 6/12/26 in which claims 1, 3, 5-10, 12, 13, 15 and 17-25 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-9, 13, 15, 17-20 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfarhan et al. (WO 2021/207467), herein Alfarhan and Kim et al. (Pub. No.: 2023/0247721), herein Kim.
As to claim 1, Alfarhan teaches a method for preconfigured resource-based small data transmission (SDT), comprising:
transmitting, by a terminal device, a first message after selecting a configured grant (CG)-SDT (Alfarhan [0114] In one embodiment, referring to FIG. 2, a WTRU may receive configuration information including one or more UL CGs (e.g., for SDT), one or more DL CGs (e.g., for SDT), and/or one or more TBS thresholds (e.g., for SDT). The WTRU may determine, for the DL data transmission(s), a TBS, a HARQ feedback, and/or a DRB. The WTRU may determine whether to remain in Inactive mode and send HARQ feedback for the DL data transmission(s) (e.g., DL SDT) using an UL SDT resource (e.g., PUSCH resource), or to initiate random access (RA) to request an RRC connection (or RRC reconnection) based on, for example, the determined DL TBS, the determined HARQ feedback, DL DRB SDT support, and/or an UL time alignment. For example, on condition that the determined TBS is less thanthe TBS threshold, and/or the DRB supports SDT, the WTRU may send the HARQ feedback on the UL CG for SDT (e.g., as UCI on PUSCH))
wherein the first message comprises an initial uplink message sent during an initial transmission phase of the SDT, and the initial uplink message at least comprises a radio resource control (RRC) message (Alfarhan [0114] using an UL SDT resource (e.g., PUSCH resource), or to initiate random access (RA) to request an RRC connection (or RRC reconnection) based on, for example, the determined DL TBS, the determined HARQ feedback, DL DRB SDT support, and/or an UL time alignment)
Alfarhan does not teach
during operation of a first timer
and retransmitting the first message on a CG resource during the running of the first timer and without receiving a correct reception feedback from a network device, when a second timer is not running.
However Kim does teach
during operation of a first timer (Kim [0373] A wireless device may start a timer alignment timer (TAT) associated with the CG-SDT resources)
and retransmitting the first message on a CG resource during the running of the first timer and without receiving a correct reception feedback from a network device, when a second timer is not running (Kim [0371] The UE (UE-MAC entity) may receive a downlink message (e.g., DCI) identified by the CG RNTI on the PDCCH. Based on receiving the downlink message indicating an uplink grant for retransmission, the UE may restart the CG response window timer at last subframe of a PUSCH transmission indicating the uplink grant, pulse time gap (e.g., 4 subframes))
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Alfarhan and Kim, because Kim teaches us [0365] The UE may determine the timing alignment value for small data transmission for configured uplink grant to being valid based on TA validation conditions for configured uplink grant being met. The TA validation conditions for configured uplink grant may comprise at least one of: the time alignment timer for configured uplink grant is running;
As to claim 13, Alfarhan teaches a terminal device comprising:
a memory configured to store computer programs (Alfarhan Fig. 1B memory); and
a processor configured to execute the computer programs stored in the memory to cause the terminal device to: (Alfarhan Fig. 1B processor):
transmit a first message after selecting a configured grant (CG)-SDT Alfarhan [0114] In one embodiment, referring to FIG. 2, a WTRU may receive configuration information including one or more UL CGs (e.g., for SDT), one or more DL CGs (e.g., for SDT), and/or one or more TBS thresholds (e.g., for SDT). The WTRU may determine, for the DL data transmission(s), a TBS, a HARQ feedback, and/or a DRB. The WTRU may determine whether to remain in Inactive mode and send HARQ feedback for the DL data transmission(s) (e.g., DL SDT) using an UL SDT resource (e.g., PUSCH resource), or to initiate random access (RA) to request an RRC connection (or RRC reconnection) based on, for example, the determined DL TBS, the determined HARQ feedback, DL DRB SDT support, and/or an UL time alignment. For example, on condition that the determined TBS is less thanthe TBS threshold, and/or the DRB supports SDT, the WTRU may send the HARQ feedback on the UL CG for SDT (e.g., as UCI on PUSCH))
wherein the first message comprises an initial uplink message sent during an initial transmission phase of the SDT, and the initial uplink message at least comprises a radio resource control (RRC) message; (Alfarhan [0114] using an UL SDT resource (e.g., PUSCH resource), orto initiate random access (RA) to request an RRC connection (or RRC reconnection) based on, for example, the determined DL TBS, the determined HARQ feedback, DL DRB SDT support, and/or an UL time alignment)
Alfarhan does not teach
during operation of a first timer
and retransmit the first message on a CG resource during the running of the first timer and without receiving a correct reception feedback from a network device, when a second timer is not running.
However Kim does teach
during operation of a first timer (Kim [0373] A wireless device may start a timer alignment timer (TAT) associated with the CG-SDT resources)
and retransmit the first message on a CG resource during the running of the first timer and without receiving a correct reception feedback from a network device, when a second timer is not running (Kim [0371] The UE (UE-MAC entity) may receive a downlink message (e.g., DCI) identified by the CG RNTI on the PDCCH. Based on receiving the downlink message indicating an uplink grant for retransmission, the UE may restart the CG response window timer at last subframe of a PUSCH transmission indicating the uplink grant, pulse time gap (e.g., 4 subframes))
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Alfarhan and Kim for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 3, the combination of Alfarhan and Kim teach the method of claim 1, wherein retransmitting transmitting the first message on the CG resource- during the operation running of the first timer and before without receiving the correct reception feedback from the network device, when the second timer is not running comprises: retransmitting transmitting the first message on a CG resource with a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process the same as an initial transmission of the first message, during the running operation of the first timer and before without receiving the correct reception feedback from the network device, when the second timer is not running. (Alfarhan [0116] sending HARQ feedback and Kim [0371] The UE (UE-MAC entity) may receive a downlink message (e.g., DCI) identified by the CG RNTI on the PDCCH. Based on receiving the downlink message indicating an uplink grant for retransmission, the UE may restart the CG response window timer at last subframe of a PUSCH transmission indicating the uplink grant, pulse time gap (e.g., 4 subframes))
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 3.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Alfarhan and Kim for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 5, the combination of Alfarhan and Kim teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: entering, by the terminal device, an RRC idle state upon expiration of the first timer and without receiving a correct reception feedback from a network device (Alfarhan [0361]-[0363] a device may transition to RRC idle after the expiration of a SDT failure detection and receiving a rejection indication from a base station)
Claims 17 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 5.
As to claim 6, the combination of Alfarhan and Kim teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: terminating a current SDT if no correct reception feedback is received from a network device after a number of transmissions and/or a transmission duration of the first message satisfies a failure condition, during the running of the first timer (Alfarhan [0361]-[0363] SDT failure may be detected after max retransmission failure)
As to claim 7, the combination of Alfarhan and Kim teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: falling back to a random access (RA)-SDT or a random access channel (RACH) procedure, if no correct reception feedback is received from a network device after a number of transmissions and/or a transmission duration of the first message satisfies a failure condition, during the running of the first timer (Kim [0371] Based on not receiving any downlink message until the CG response window timer being expired, the UE in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state may consider the CG based SDT being failed. Based on considering the CG based SDT being failed, the UE may perform random access procedure. For example, the random access procedure may comprise RACH procedure for RACH based SDT)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Alfarhan and Kim for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
Claims 19 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 7.
As to claim 8, the combination of Alfarhan and Kim teach the method of claim 6, wherein the failure condition comprises at least one of: the number of transmissions of the first message reaching a threshold; and a third timer expiring, wherein the third timer is used to time an attempt to transmit the first message (Alfarhan [0361]-[0363] SDT failure may be detected after max retransmission failure and a SDT timer expiring)
As to claim 9, the combination of Alfarhan and Kim teach the method of claim 7, wherein falling back to the RA-SDT or the RACH procedure comprises: falling back to the RA-SDT when an execution condition of the RA-SDT is satisfied; and falling back to the RACH procedure when the execution condition of the RA-SDT is not satisfied (Kim [0371] Based on not receiving any downlink message until the CG response window timer being expired, the UE in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state may consider the CG based SDT being failed. Based on considering the CG based SDT being failed, the UE may perform random access procedure. For example, the random access procedure may comprise RACH procedure for RACH based SDT)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Alfarhan and Kim for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 18, the combination of Alfarhan and Kim teach the terminal device of claim 13, wherein the processor is further configured to: terminate a current SDT if no correct reception feedback is received from a network device after a number of transmissions and/or a transmission duration of the first message satisfies a failure condition, during the running of the first timer (Alfarhan [0361]-[0363] SDT failure may be detected after max retransmission failure and a SDT timer expiring)
As to claim 20, the combination of Alfarhan and Kim teach the terminal device of claim 18, wherein the failure condition comprises at least one of: the number of transmissions of the first message reaching a threshold; and a third timer expiring, wherein the third timer is used to time an attempt to transmit the first message (Alfarhan [0361]-[0363] SDT failure may be detected after max retransmission failure and a SDT timer expiring)
As to claim 24, the combination of Alfarhan and Kim teach the method of claim 9, wherein the execution condition of the RA-SDT comprises: an RA-SDT resource existing (Kim [0371] Based on not receiving any downlink message until the CG response window timer being expired, the UE in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state may consider the CG based SDT being failed. Based on considering the CG based SDT being failed, the UE may perform random access procedure. For example, the random access procedure (resource exists) may comprise RACH procedure for RACH based SDT)
and/or a reference signal receiving power (RSRP) threshold for executing the RA-SDT being satisfied.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Alfarhan and Kim for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfarhan, Kim and Huang et al. (Pub. No.: 2022/0015187), herein Huang.
As to claim 21, the combination of Alfarhan and Kim teach the method of claim 1,
Alfarhan nor Kim teach
wherein the second timer is a configured grant retransmission timer.
However Huang does teach
wherein the second timer is a configured grant retransmission timer (Huang table 2 cg-Retransmission Timer Indicates the initial value of the configured retransmission timer)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Alfarhan, Kim and Huang, because Huang teaches us the value of cg-Retransmission Timer is always less than the value of configuredGrantTimer (Huang Table 2)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/12/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to claims 1 and 13, the client claims that neither Algarhan nor Kim teach “retransmitting the first message on a CG resource during the running of a first timer and without receiving a correct feedback from the network device, when a second timer is not running (applicant remarks page 13 last paragraph and page 14 first paragraph). The examiner respectfully disagrees. Kim teaches us [0372] CG resources for a SDT procedure may be configured on NUL and/or SUL. A wireless device may start a (response) window after CG transmission or dynamic grant (DG) transmission for CG based SDT. The wireless device may start a timer for the window based on the starting the window and [0397] A wireless device may maintain a time window for an SDT and/or one or more subsequent transmissions of an SDT. For these reasons the examiner maintains the rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 12 are allowed.
Claims 22, 23 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AYANAH S. GEORGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/AYANAH S GEORGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467